Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the legal phraseology such as “means” or “comprises” or “comprising” or “said” often used in patent claims should be avoided in the abstract. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15, 17, 21-28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2312908A cited by applicant. Regarding claims 14 and 26-27, EP 2312908A discloses induction hob (Figure 4, par. 0009) comprising an inductor (12a-12d); an insulating layer unit (30) electrically insulating the inductor (12a-12d); and a detection coil (16) for object recognition, said detection coil (16) connected to the insulating layer (30, par. 0009-par. 0026). For better understanding it is emphasized at this point that the temperature-resistant film (30) inevitably, and therefore implicitly, provides for electrical insulation with respect to the inductor (12a-12d). Furthermore, the detection coils (16) are applied to or printed onto the film (30). The detection coils (16) are thus also connected to the insulation layer unit (30). Regarding claims 15, 17, 22, 28, 30, the term “integrated” could be mean encapsulation in the insulation layer unit, even though this does not seem to be technically feasible. Furthermore, “the printing” of claims 17 and 30, which also refers back indirectly to claims 15 and 28, can also be regarded as “integrated”. This is disclosed by EP 2312908A. The same can be applied to the integration specified in claim 22. Regarding claim 21, EP 2312908A discloses a further detection coil (16) connected to the insulating layer unit (30, par. 0020). Regarding claims 23 and 33, EP 2312908A discloses all detection coils (16) inherently connected to a control unit (26). Regarding claims 24 and 25, EP 2312908A discloses inductor matrix, said inductor forming part of the inductor matrix (2x2) or even inductor vectors (2x1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18-20, 29 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2312908A cited by applicant, in view of EP 3139702B1. Regarding claims 16, 18-19, 29 and 31, EP 2312908A discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except the insulating layer unit includes a first insulating layer element and a second insulating layer element, said detection coil being arranged between the first insulating layer element and the second insulating layer element. EP 3139702B1 discloses insulating layer unit includes a first insulating layer element (14) and a second insulating layer element (16), said detection coil (20) being arranged between the first insulating layer element (14) and the second insulating layer element (16). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to utilize in EP 2312908A the insulating layer unit includes a first insulating layer element and a second insulating layer element, said detection coil being arranged between the first insulating layer element and the second insulating layer element as taught by EP 3139702B1 in order to isolate the detection coil from other devices. Regarding claims 20 and 32, the term “adapted” does not have a precise meaning and must therefore be considered unclear. EP 3139702B1 discloses, in figure 1, the second insulation layer (16) element would also be adapted to the coil (15).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: LU 81401A1 discloses induction heated hob, as well as inducer and safety device for incorporating therein. Liu et al (US 2010/0237064) discloses electromagnetic module of electronic apparatus and manufacturing process thereof.
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 December 11, 2025