DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Serial No. 2004/0009727), in view of Yeager et al. (US Patent No. 6627704), as cited on the IDS, as evidenced by Brauckman et al. (US Serial No. 2024/0207456).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, and 15; Lin et al. teaches a composition comprising a polybutadiene dimethacrylate (CN-301, Sartomer) [Ex7], one or more coagents such as triallyl (iso)cyanurate and butylene glycol dimethacrylate [0080], a free radical initiator, such benzoyl peroxide and dicumyl peroxide (photoinitiator) [0062], and a UV absorber (i.e. photo-blocker) [0040]. Lin et al. teaches the triallyl (iso)cyanurate coagent is suitably employed in a concentration of 1 to 40% by weight based upon the weight of the copolymer [0066]. Looking to Example 9 as a starting point, in the instance the triallyl isocyanate is employed in an amount of 60 mg (33% by weight of the copolymer, as calculated by Examiner), the amount of triallyl isocyanate based on the entire composition is 26.5% by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP §2144.05. Furthermore, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); See MPEP §2123.
Lin et al. fails to teach the composition further comprises at least one functionalized poly (phenylene ether) having the structure required by instant claim 1. Yeager et al. teaches a composition comprising a functionalized poly(arylene ether) [col2, line13-col5, line10], an acryloyl monomer, such as tris(2-hydroxyethyl) isocyanurate tri(meth)acrylate (ethylenically unsaturated isocyanurate) [col10, line36-col11, line10], 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, cyclohexane dimethanol dimethacrylate, and stearyl (meth)acrylate [col12, line30-42], and low viscosity oligomers, such as polybutadiene urethane diacrylate CN302 ((meth)acrylated polydiene) [col11, line37-52].
Yeager et al. teaches the capped poly(arylene ether) [col2, line13-col5, line10] is represented by the structure Q(J-K)y, wherein J comprises recurring units having the structure, wherein R1 and R3 are hydrogen and R2 and R4 are a C1 alkyl.
The capping group K may be the following structure, wherein Y is a carbonyl, R6 and R8 are hydrogen, and R7 is a C1 alkyl group.
Q is the residuum of a phenol, having the structure below, where X is a C3 alkyl (propyl), and n is 2 [col2, line13-col3, line42].
Lin et al. and Yeager et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field endeavor, namely compositions having dielectric properties, suitable for use in circuit boards. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art, would have found it obvious to add the poly(arylene ether) compound, as taught by Yeager et al., to the composition of Lin et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a desirable balance of toughness and processability, as suggested by Yeager et al. [col2, line1-12].
Brauckman et al. provides evidence that benzoyl peroxide and dicumyl peroxide necessarily possess the capability of functioning as a photoinitiator [0077].
Regarding claims 2 and 11; Lin et al. teaches coagents such as ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, butylene glycol dimethacrylate (e.g. 1,4-butanediol dimethacrylate), a trifunctional methacrylate such as SR 9009 [0066]. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions (in this case compounds) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP §2144.06.
Regarding claim 8; Lin et al. does not require the use of bismaleimide resin, thus the composition is free of bismaleimide resins.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 16; Lin et al. teaches a suitable compounds for the present invention is, for example, ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, however fails to teach the at least one diluent is a cycloalkyl difunctional methacrylate. Yeager et al. teaches suitable monomers to be used in the composition include stearyl acrylate, ethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate, and cyclohexanediol di(meth)acrylate [col12, line30-42]. Therefore, Yeager et al. teaches that ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, stearyl acrylate, and cyclohexanediol dimethacrylate are functional equivalents for the purpose of functioning as compounds suitable for use in achieving a composition for circuit boards having dielectric properties. It is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP § 2144.06). It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions (in this case compounds) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP §2144.06.
Regarding claim 12; wherein the initiators listed by Lin et al. function as photoinitiators, no thermal initiators are present.
Regarding claim 13; Lin et al. teaches the composition further comprises flame retardants [0040].
Regarding claim 14; Lin et al. teaches the composition may comprise particulates such as silica, however fails to teach the fillers required by the claim. Yeager et al. teaches suitable fillers to be used in the composition include silica and alumina [col15, line61-col16, line28]. Therefore, Yeager et al. teaches that silica and alumina are functional equivalents for the purpose of functioning as fillers to achieve desired mechanical properties. It is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP § 2144.06).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Serial No. 2004/0009727), in view of Yeager et al. (US Patent No. 6627704), as cited on the IDS, as evidenced by Brauckman et al. (US Serial No. 2024/0207456), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshigahara et al. (WO 2019/044051), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Lin et al. in view of Yeager et al. render obvious the basic claimed composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7; Lin et al. teaches suitable initiators include benzoyl peroxide, however fails to teach the initiators required by the claim. Yoshigahara et al. teaches compositions having dielectric properties, suitable for use in the manufacture of circuit boards, comprising initiators such as benzoyl peroxide and benzophenone derivatives [para bridging p12-13]. Therefore, Yoshigahara et al. teaches that benzoyl peroxide and benzophenone derivatives are functional equivalents for the purpose of initiating compositions suitable for use in printed circuit board compositions. It is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP § 2144.06).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue, in reviewing the examples of Lin, relative amounts of coagent to copolymer are less than 9.1%. While Applicants make arguments directed to the examples of Lin et al., applicants are reminded that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); See MPEP §2123. Lin et al. teaches the triallyl (iso)cyanurate coagent is suitably employed in a concentration of 1 to 40% by weight based upon the weight of the copolymer [0066]. Looking to Example 9 as a starting point, in the instance the triallyl isocyanate is employed in an amount of 33% by weight of the copolymer (i.e. 60 mg), the amount of triallyl isocyanate based on the entire composition is 26.5% by weight, thus falling within the claimed range.
As such, Lin et al. (US Serial No. 2004/0009727), in view of Yeager et al. (US Patent No. 6627704), as evidenced by Brauckman et al. (US Serial No. 2024/0207456) still render obvious the basic claimed composition as required by the instant claim language.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767