DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 8-10 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Claims 1-7, 11-18, and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/27/2025.
Claims 8-10 and 19-20 have been examined on their merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the phrase “thereby obtaining at least about 6 x 107 chondrocytes from harvested culture” in lines 4-5. While it is clear that this phrase is referring to the expanded chondrocytes, the format is improper since there is no prior recitation of a cell culture or a cell culture harvest for the cells to be obtained from.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites the phrase “at least 8 weeks” and then includes additional values as alternatives. It appears that Applicant intends for these alternatives to be included as also “at least” as alternative open-ended ranges and thus the phrase ‘at least” should be before each one of these alternatives for proper format.
For examination purposes claim 20 will be interpreted as “wherein step e. is performed in vitro for at least 8 weeks, at least 10 weeks, at least 12 weeks, at least 13 weeks, at least 14 weeks, at least 15 weeks, at least 16 weeks, or at least 17 weeks”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesti et al (WO 2016/092106-from IDS filed 12/19/2022) in view of JP 2016513979 (hereinafter JP ‘979).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Kesti disclose a method for preparing a three-dimensional composition by printing bio-ink that contains chondrocytes, gellan gum and alginate in layers onto a surface in the shape of a nose or ear implant to obtain a biopolymer formulation, crosslinking the biopolymer formulation and maturing the three-dimensional composition during 8 weeks of culture thereby allowing the chondrocytes to produce extracellular matrix to form the three-dimensional composition with suitable stability for implantation (pages 18-19, example 1c and example 2). The bioink composition is disclosed as homogenous and mixed with chondrocytes (page 19 example 2) and thus the biopolymer formulation is also deemed to be homogenous. The chondrocytes are disclosed as isolated from bovine tissue (page 19 example 2) would require cell culture expansion steps to arrive at the disclosed cell density for mixing in the bio-ink preparation. Kesti disclose using cell concentrations of 3 x 106 cells/ml – 50 x 106 cells/ml (5 x 107 cells/ml) (page 13 line 9) and wherein their polymer blend was mixed with 6 x 106 cells/ml (page 18 Example 1c), but can contain 106 to 107 cartilage cells per ml (page 7 line 24). This cell concentration falls within the claimed range of Applicant’s three-dimensional composition product (Applicant’s claim 1).
While Kesti do not disclose the E-modulus of their composition, the resulting hydrogel has a high stiffness, the same starting materials and crosslinker and a maturation process of at least 8 weeks and thus the E-modulus would be at least close to the claimed E-modulus of at least 180 kPa and obtainable by routine optimization if not the same.
JP ‘979 disclose a method for printing a bio-ink for printing live tissue for treating a tissue defect (abstract). A suitable elastic modulus for printed cartilage is approximately 200 kPa and higher (page 5, second paragraph). The cell density of the bio-ink is disclosed as about 6 x 106 cell/mL or more (page 5, second paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the elastic modulus of the Kesti composition to at least 200 kPa or more because JP’979 indicate that this is a suitable elastic modulus for a bio-ink composition intended for printed cartilage. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because JP’979 and Kesti are both using bio-ink containing cartilage cells at a density of 6 x 106 cells/ml for printing cartilage tissue for implant use.
Kesti do not disclose using a cell number of at least about 6 x 107 chondrocytes from harvested culture.
JP’979 disclose wherein isolated chondrocytes are seeded into T175 tissue culture flasks at 5 million cells per flask for expansion as monolayers for 1-2 weeks in primary culture and the human chondrocytes are ready for use (e.g. bioprinted) (page 16, last paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand isolated chondrocytes in vitro to obtain at least about 6 x 107 chondrocytes from a harvested culture in the method of Kesti because JP’979 teach and suggest that expanding chondrocytes for 1 to 2 weeks is beneficial to provide sufficient number of cells for use in bioprinting. The total number of cells would allow for larger implants and multiple implants and sufficient cells for backups and research. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because JP’979 disclose the culture conditions for expansion of chondrocytes.
Regarding claims 9-10, Kesti disclose a bio-ink embodiment comprising 3.5% gellan gum, 3% alginate, tissue particles and 6 X106 chondrocytes/ml and a homogeneous biopolymer formulation and 8 weeks of culture (pages 18-19 example 1c, example 2). In certain embodiments the gellan gum is approximately 3% or 1-6% (w/v) and the alginate is approximately 2% or 0.5-8% (w/v) (page 7 lines 16-24).
With regard to the concentrations of gellan gum and alginate in the composition, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
The selection of specific concentrations clearly would have been a routine matter of optimization and experimentation on the part of the artisan of ordinary skill, said artisan recognizing that the amount and viability of the cells cultured would have been affected by these concentrations.
Regarding claim 19, Kesti disclose wherein their cells are autologous, human cells, specifically autologous chondrocytes (page 12 lines 20-29). Auricular cartilage is disclosed as a suitable source for tissue particles used with the bio-ink (page 17 lines 24-35) and the products printed are indicated for patient specific auricular grafts (page 9 lines 24-30). While Kesti is silent with regard to the specific site of the source of the chondrocytes used in their bio-ink method, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use auricular chondrocytes in the method of Kesti because Kesti suggest that this is a suitable source for the tissue particles in their bio-ink. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Kesti indicate that their bio-ink graft products can be used to repair damaged auricular tissue.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Kesti and JP’979 render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tew et al., “Poly (Lactic Acid) Copolymer Hydrogels and Related Methods of Drug Delivery”, WO 2006/007402 A2, (see page 4 elastic modulus of cartilage tissue).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631