DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2,4-6 and 8-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear if the snap fit connection of the last two lines of the claim is the same snap fit of line 5, or if there are two different snap fit elements in the claim.
The remainder of the claims are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2,4-6, 8-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein (2016/0222637) in view of Tasi (2007/0196177).
Regarding claim 1, Stein shows a sanitary insert part, comprising a housing (8) having a downstream side (bottom) and an upstream side (top), the downstream side (3) having an outlet structure (the outlet of 8) formed thereon, an upstream screen (19), is arranged on the upstream side (fig 8), wherein the upstream screen is connected to the outlet structure via a connecting element (10) formed on the housing which runs through an interior space of the housing (fig 8) and wherein a portion of the connecting element (10) is configured to be inserted through an opening in the upstream screen (10 is inserted through the opening at the bottom of the screen 19 formed by the rim of the screen) to form the connection.
But fails to disclose that the connection is a snap fit connection.
Tasi teaches snap fit connection between the screen and a connecting element 322.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to make the connection between the screen and the connecting element a snap fit connection in order to have the screen securely attached to the connecting element.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the interior space of the housing has at least one functional unit (101), arranged therein through which the connecting element (10) is inserted.
Regarding claim 4, Stein as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to show the at least one functional unit is snap- fitted to the connecting element.
The examiner notes that snap fitting two elements together is well known in the art. Tasi even teaches snapping one element (40) into another element (322).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to snap fit the at least one functional unit is snap- fitted to the connecting element in order to allow for easy assembly and disassembly.
Regarding claim 5, wherein a snap-fit interface is formed in the connecting element (between 10 and 18).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the upstream screen is plugged onto the connecting element (fig 7).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the at least one functional unit is a jet splitter (101 has multiple outlet so therefore is splits the flow into separate jets) and wherein the housing, at least below the jet splitter, in the interior space (fig 8), is formed in an undercut-free manner (fig 8), and has a cylindrical inner contour (fig 8).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the connecting element (10) is in the form of a holding pin (fig 8).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the connecting element is arranged on a longitudinal central axis of the housing (fig 8).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the outlet structure is formed on the housing (fig 8).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the upstream screen (40) is supported at its outer periphery against the housing (fig 4).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the housing (101) is of single-part form.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the functional unit is at least one of: a jet splitter (101 has multiple outlets so it splits up water jets).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein (2016/0222637) as modified by Tasi (2007/0196177) above in view of Grether et al.(2009/0224067).
Regarding claim 14, Stein as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the housing is received by a screw sleeve, in particular for forming at least one aeration channel.
Grether et al shows a sanitary part (1) including wherein the housing (3 and the element below 3) is received by a screw sleeve (2), in particular for forming at least one aeration channel (between 2 and the element below 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use the screw sleeve (2) of Grether et al to attach the sanitary element of Stein as modified above to the sink outlet in order to have the sink dispense aerated water. The aeration channel will inherently be located between the sleeve 2 and the body of Stein.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aghnides (2,962,225) in view of Tasi (2007/0196177), further in view of Zhou (2014/0300010)
Regarding claim 16, Aghnides shows a sanitary insert part (fig 1), comprising: a housing (18, 17, 21) having a downstream side (bottom), an upstream side (top), and an interior space (inside of 21), the housing comprising an outlet structure (12) formed on the downstream side of the housing, the housing further comprising a connecting element (19) formed on the housing, wherein the connecting element runs through the interior space of the housing (fig 1), wherein a thickening (20) is formed on the connecting element; and an upstream screen (the upper screen 7 is upstream to the lower screen 7) arranged on the upstream side of the housing (upstream screen 7 is above the lowest downstream part of the housing (fig 1), wherein the thickening formed on the connecting element is configured to be inserted through an opening defined by the upstream screen (fig 1)
But fails to disclose that the upstream screen is configured to be snap-fitted to the outlet structure via a snap-action connection produced by an interaction of the thickening formed on the connecting element
And wherein radial slits are formed in the upstream screen to define the opening.
Tasi teaches snap fit connection between the screen and a connecting element 322 produced by an interaction of the thickening (45) formed on the connecting element
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to make the connection between the screen and the connecting element a snap fit connection in order to have the screen securely attached to the connecting element.
The above combination still fails to disclose wherein radial slits are formed in the upstream screen to define the opening for the snap fit connection.
Zhou teaches a scree that is made of radial slits are formed in the screen (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to make the screen forms of radial slits, in order to make the screen easier to manufacture as it can be molded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/3/2025 with respect to the 103 rejection of Stein in view of Tasi have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner notes that Stein teaches element 10 is inserted through the opening at the bottom of the screen 19 formed by the rim of the screen. This si shown in figure 5. The Tasi reference is just used to substitute the push pin connection 18 of Stein for a snap fit connection
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 1/7/2026