DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9, 11, and 14-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the liquid crystal exists in a twist orientation state when no voltage is applied and exists in a vertical orientation state when a voltage is applied, wherein liquid crystal molecules in the liquid crystal layer in the twist orientation state have a spiral structure in which light axes are oriented while being twisted along a virtual helix axis, wherein the virtual helix axis is formed to be parallel to a thickness direction of the liquid crystal layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yon et al. (KR 10-2016-0100575) in view of Lu et al. (CN 103969877).
Regarding claim 1, Yon et al. (figure 1) discloses a light modulating device, comprising:
a first substrate having a first surface (101);
a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer or an adhesive layer formed on the first surface of the first substrate (104; see at least abstract and example 4);
a second substrate having a first surface (102),
wherein the first surface of the second substrate faces the first surface of the first substrate;
a liquid crystal alignment film (vertical alignment film 201) formed on the first surface of the second substrate (102);
a liquid crystal layer (103) disposed between the first and second substrates; and
a partition wall spacer (105), wherein the partition wall spacer maintains a distance between the first and second substrates,
wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer or an adhesive layer is a silicone-based pressure-sensitive adhesive or adhesive which imparts a vertical orientation force to an adjacent liquid crystal compound (see at least example 1) or adhesive which imparts a vertical orientation force to an adjacent liquid crystal compound (104 is an adhesive having a vertically oriented force).
Yon et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Yon et al. is silent regarding the liquid crystal layer is capable of being configured in a twist orientation. Lu et al. (figures 1-3B) teaches wherein the liquid crystal exists in a twist orientation state when no voltage is applied and exists in a vertical orientation state when a voltage is applied (figures 3A-3B; see at least abstract), wherein liquid crystal molecules in the liquid crystal layer in the twist orientation state have a spiral structure in which light axes are oriented while being twisted along a virtual helix axis, wherein the virtual helix axis is formed to be parallel to a thickness direction of the liquid crystal layer (figures 3A-3B; see at least abstract), wherein a ratio of the thickness of the liquid crystal layer relative to a pitch of the liquid crystal layer in the twist orientation state is more than 2.8 and 8 or less (7 / 2 = 3.5; see at least abstract and paragraph 0033). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid crystal layer as taught by Kim et al. in order to achieve a light controlling apparatus and a transparent display device having a transparent mode and a light-shielding mode. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a ratio of the thickness of the liquid crystal layer relative to a pitch of the liquid crystal layer in the twist orientation being more than 2.8 and 8 or less, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Note that the ratio of the thickness of the liquid crystal layer relative to a pitch of the liquid crystal layer in the twist orientation disclosed by Lu et al. is within the range of 2.8 and 8 or less as recited in claim 1. Therefore, the ratio of the thickness of the liquid crystal layer relative to a pitch of the liquid crystal layer in the twist orientation recited in claim 1 would have been obvious in view of the thickness disclosed by Kim et al. (See In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 197, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Yon et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein an alignment film is not formed on the first substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Lu et al. (figures 1-3B) teaches wherein the liquid crystal layer has a thickness in a range of 0.1 µm to 50 µm (see at least abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, Lu et al. (figures 1-3B) teaches wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a liquid crystal compound and a chiral dopant (see at least abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Lu et al. (figures 1-3B) teaches wherein the liquid crystal layer further comprises a dichroic dye (see at least abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Yon et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the liquid crystal alignment film is a vertical alignment film or a horizontal alignment film.
Regarding claim 14, Lu et al. (figures 1-3B) teaches wherein the light modulating device exhibits a minimum transmittance when no voltage is applied.
The limitation, “wherein the light modulating device exhibits a minimum transmittance when no voltage is applied” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Kim et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 15, Yon et al. (figure 1) discloses a window, comprising: the light modulating device of claim 1.
Claims 3-4, 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Lu et al.; further in view of O’Keeffe et al. (EP 2998786).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Kim et al. is silent regarding wherein the partition wall spacer is a honeycomb type spacer, a quadrangle spacer or a random type spacer. O’Keeffe et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein the partition wall spacer is a honeycomb type spacer, a quadrangle spacer or a random type spacer (figure 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacer as taught by O’Keeffe et al. in order to minimize haze in the transparent state of a polymer dispersed liquid crystal film and improve the viewing angle.
Regarding claim 4, O’Keeffe et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein the partition wall spacer has a pitch in a range of 100 µm to 1,000 µm (see at least page 4; 4th paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, O’Keeffe et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein a ratio of the pitch of the partition wall spacer relative to the thickness of the liquid crystal layer is in a range of 10 to 100 (see at least page 5; 4th paragraph and page 4; 4th paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, O’Keeffe et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein a ratio of the pitch of the partition wall spacer relative to the pitch of the liquid crystal layer is in a range of 50 to 500 (see at least page 5; 4th paragraph and page 4; 4th paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871