Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on February 18th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuichi (JP 2017050112A) and further in view of Yamamoto (US 2020/0152985 A1), Oh (US 2009/0305139 A1), and Igarashi (US 6573004 B1).
Regarding claims 1-5, Tokuichi teaches a binder comprising a water-soluble polymer and a water-insoluble polymer [0011] where the water-soluble polymer may be polyvinyl alcohol [0038] and the water-insoluble polymer swells in an electrolyte [0024]. Tokuichi continues to teach a range for swelling of the water-soluble polymer where the degree is “preferably 1.1 times or more” [0024]. When the degree of swelling is greater than 1.1, the ionic conductivity of the active material layer can be sufficiently secured and the internal resistance of the secondary battery can be sufficiently lowered [0024]. However, Tokuichi’s degree of swelling (henceforth DegSwellToku) is defined differently that the Applicant’s claimed equation of [(W2 – W1) / W1] * 100% (henceforth DegSwellApp). Using the Applicant’s variables, DegSwellToku is defined as W1/W2 [0061]. The bullets below describe the mathematical conversion from DegSwellToku to DegSwellApp.
DegSwellToku = W2/W1
DegSwellToku - W1/W1 = W2/W1 - W1/W1
DegSwellToku - 1 = (W2 – W1) / W1
(DegSwellToku - 1) * 100% = [(W2 – W1) / W1] * 100%
(DegSwellToku - 1) * 100% = DegSwellApp.
Therefore, the claimed degree of swelling is equivalent to the degree of swelling taught by Tokuichi + 1 and then multiplied by 100%.
Since Tokuichi teaches that the degree of swelling is 1.1 or greater, that corresponds to a value of ((1.1 – 1) * 100%) = 10%, which overlaps with the claimed range of degree of swelling. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a binder comprising a polymer with a degree of swelling of 10% or more in order to achieve good ionic conductivity and lower internal resistance of an active material layer.
Tokuichi fails to teach that the polyvinyl alcohol has a cross-linked structure. Yamamoto is analogous art to Tokuichi because both discuss materials used in lithium-ion batteries. Yamamoto teaches that when a water-soluble polymer, such as polyvinyl alcohol, can be crosslinked “the strength and stability of the functional layer” containing the polymer can be increased ([0119]; as required by claim 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a crosslinked version of polyvinyl alcohol to ensure that the functional layer including the polymer can be stronger and stabler.
Tokuichi and Yamamoto fail to teach the claimed modification rate of the polyvinyl alcohol polymer. Igarashi is analogous art to Tokuichi and Yamamoto because all of these references discuss materials used in secondary batteries. Igarashi teaches that a binder for an electrolyte should have 30% - 95% of polyvinyl alcohol monomers (see structure I below) while at least 5% of the recurring units are another structure (such as structure II below; abstract, columns 3 and 4). This results in a secondary battery that exhibits a minimized reduction of battery capacity (column 3, lines 21 – 29). A binder mainly comprised of polyvinyl alcohol monomers with only 5% of monomers of another structure overlaps with the claimed range of modification rates of 0.02% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a binder comprised of polyvinyl alcohol monomers with a 5% substitution rate to minimize the reduction of the final battery’s capacity.
Oh is analogous art to Tokuichi, Yamamoto, and Igarashi because they all disclose materials used in lithium ion batteries. Oh teaches that using polyvinyl alcohol in a binder with a saponification degree lower than 80% can result in a lowering of adhesive strength ([0016] and [0024]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use polyvinyl alcohol with a saponification rate of greater than 80% to ensure that a binder comprising polyvinyl alcohol has sufficient adhesive strength.
Claims 1, 2, and 3 include limitations drawn to viscosities of polyvinyl alcohol measured at different mass percents, shear rates, and in various solvents. Igarashi teaches that the polyvinyl alcohol should be comprised of a monomer different that the polyvinyl alcohol monomers (see [0028] of the specification as filed) and a modification rate of 5% by mole (overlapping with the Applicant’s modification rate, see [0033] and [0034] of the specification as filed). Yamamoto teaches that the polyvinyl alcohol comprises a crosslinked structure as mentioned in paragraph [0039] of the Applicant’s specification. Oh teaches that the saponification rate of the polyvinyl alcohol should not be less than 80%, identical to one of the ranges disclosed in the Applicant’s specification in paragraph [0038]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the polyvinyl alcohol taught by the combination of Tokuichi, Igarashi, Yamamoto, and Oh would have a viscosity within the claimed rangse (and by extension, a thixotropic index within the claimed ranges) if measured at the same conditions claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 6, Tokuichi teaches a “gel amount” [0025] that is equivalent to the amount of polymer that is retained after being soaked in an organic, aprotic solvent [0062], similar to diethyl carbonate. Tokuichi teaches that this gel amount should be between 80% - 95% to ensure that the “strength and flexibility of the negative electrode mixture layer are sufficiently enhanced” [0025]. This gel amount measures the same property as the claimed elution rate, but is defined in an opposite manner. Rather than determine the amount of polymer that is eluted out after being soaked in an organic solvent (as claimed), Tokuichi’s gel amount is based on the amount of polymer that remains after soaking. The Applicant’s equation, ElutionApp, is [(W1 – W3)/W1) * 100%] and Tokuichi’s equation, GelToku is defined as (W3/W1) * 100% [0062].
GelToku = (W3/W1) * 100%
- GelToku = - [(W3/W1) * 100%]
100% * (W1/W-1) – GelToku = 100% * (W1-/W1) – [(W3/W1) * 100%]
100% * 1 – GelToku = 100% * [(W1 – W3) / W1]
100% - GelToku = ElutionApp
Therefore, the claimed elution rate is equivalent 100% - the gel amount taught by Tokuichi.
Since Tokuichi teaches that the gel amount may be 95%, that corresponds with a value of 100% - 95% = 5%, which corresponds to one of the endpoints of the claimed range of elution rate. Therefore, Tokuichi teaches that the elution rate may be preferably be 5%, overlapping with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a polymer binder with the elution rate taught by Tokuichi in order to ensure that the final active material layer has good strength and flexibility.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ryu (US 2007/0264568 A1) a degree of saponification (90% or higher; [0023]). This overlaps with the degree of saponification (80% to 99.99% by mole or less; [0038] of the specification as filed) taught by the Applicant.
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722