DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 12/15/2022 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following species represented by formula (I) in claim 1:
-alpha-synuclein targeting ligand TL-3,
-Degron D1-a, and
-the linker present in Compound 7 having the structure:
, wherein the Degron is attached to the left side of the linker and the TL is attached to the right side of the linker in the reply filed on 9/02/2025 is acknowledged. Applicants assert that Claims 1, 6 and 13-20 are readable thereon. A search of the prior art renders the selected species to be obvious. In addition to the elected species, the examiner has expanded the search to include,
-Alpha-synuclein targeting ligand TL-1, wherein X is the phenol and R1 is Nitro, and TL-2; and
-Degron also includes D1-b.
-Linker includes the alkyl linker, as well as, variations in linker length.
Note: In both the alkyl and PEG linkers, the -R’C(O)N(R’)R’- is towards the Degron as set forth above. .
Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-6 and 11-20 read on the species and expanded species search. Claims 3 and 7-10 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 12/15/2022, 5/21/2024, 6/12/2024 and 6/13/2025 have been considered except where lined through.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the instant case, claim 1 is drawn to a bispecific compound having the formula
. Accordingly, each of the “segments” are linked via a covalent bond and not meant to be in isolation. However, claim 1 recites that the Linker (L) terminates at either or both termini in -R’C(O)N(R’)R’-, wherein R’ is H or C1-C6 alkyl. It would appear that the bond occurs at the R’ attached to the carbon or nitrogen. As such, it is unclear how this can occur is R’ is hydrogen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arvinas Operations (WO2020/041331A1, 2020-02-27, IDS) in view of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (WO2019/014429A1, 2019-01-17) referred to herein as Dana.
Arvinas Operations teaches a bifunctional compound having an alpha-synuclein protein targeting moiety at one end, a linker and an E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule at the other end (Abstract). Arvinas Operations further provides numerous examples of the bifunctional compounds having the formula Targeting Moeity-Linker-E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule including, but not limited to,
,
,
, and
(page 404, Table 1, compounds 2, 3, 59 and 63). Moreover, Arvinas Operations teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising at least one bifunctional compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (paragraph 00328). Lastly, Arvinas Operations teaches that the composition are useful in methods of treating a disease condition associated with accumulation or aggregation of alpha synuclein such as Parkinson Disease or dementia (paragraph 0007).
Arvinas Operations differs from the instant claims in that the linker does not terminate at the E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule in a -R’C(O)N(R’)R’- or that the E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule is
. Moreover, Arvinas Operations does not teach that the linker is an alkyl liker terminating at the E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule in a -R’C(O)N(R’)R’-
Dana teaches compounds of Formula I: T-L-E, wherein T is a tau protein binding moiety, E is an E3 ubiquitin binding moiety and L is a substituted or unsubstituted alkylene, substituted or unsubstituted alkenylene, substituted or unsubstituted alkynylene, substituted or unsubstituted arylene, substituted or unsubstituted heterocyclylene, substituted or unsubstituted arylene, substituted or unsubstituted heteroarylene, substituted or unsubstituted heteroalkylene, a bond or a variety of substituted heteroatoms (paragraph 00121). With regards to the E, Dana et al. teach that E includes, but is not limited to,
,
,
,
,
,
, wherein q is 1-4 (claims 46-53 of Dana). For example, Dana teaches a compound having the formula
(page 128, 1st compound).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the linking group or substitute the E3 ubiquitin binding moiety as taught by Arvinas Operations so that the linking group is either a PEG or alkyl which terminates with a -R’C(O)N(R’)R’- or that the E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule is
in view of the teachings of Dana.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification or substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Dana teaches that both PEG and alkyl linkers ending in -R’C(O)N(R’)R’- can be linked to E3 ubiquitin ligase binding moieties and further, E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule
is an alternative E3 ubiquitin ligase binding molecule to choose from.
It should be noted that the specification (example 13) teaches an in vitro experiment showing that the compounds can permeate the cell and engage the E3-ligase CRBN. However, the specification does not appear to show a criticality of the linker or the E3 ubiquitin ligase binding moiety.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626