Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, and Species A1, B5, C3, and D3 in the reply filed on 08/26/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
However because Applicant’s election of B5 and its characterization, the examiner withdraws the requirement for election of a single species within species group B.
The examiner will examine and search Group I, and species A1, C3, and D3, and claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(a)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites “near – 1R” in line 1. The written description does not disclose “near – 1R” anywhere.
This appears to be a typographical error and the examiner will interpret “near – 1R” as “near -IR” in order to make sense of claim 2. Correction is required.
112(b)
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claim 3 (line 2) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, the examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of the presently claimed invention as defined by claim 3.
In order to provide an initial examination and search the examiner will interpret the word “about” in claim 3 as being deleted.
The term “about” in claim 4 (line 2) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, the examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of the presently claimed invention as defined by claim 4.
In order to provide an initial examination and search the examiner will interpret the word “about” in claim 4 as being deleted.
The term “about” in claim 5 (line 2) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, the examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of the presently claimed invention as defined by claim 5.
In order to provide an initial examination and search the examiner will interpret the word “about” in claim 5 as being deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8989898 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herekar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0207029).
Regarding claim 1, Herekar et al. disclose a system for treating an eye, the system comprising:
a laser (see [0020], [0022], and [0312] for example) configured to generate a laser beam; and
a diffractive optical element (“beam splitter 626,” see [0306] and figure 7) configured to split the laser beam into a predetermined pattern and direct the patterned laser beam to a treatment zone of the eye.
Regarding claims 2-3, Herekar et al. disclose the claimed invention, see the wavelength of near IR wavelength of “810 nm” in [0308].
Regarding claim 4, Herekar et al. disclose the claimed invention, see the power range 200 mW to 400 mW in [0043].
Regarding claim 5, Herekar et al. disclose the claimed invention, see [0178].
Regarding claims 6-7, Herekar et al. disclose the claimed invention, see [0062], [0338] and figures 4A-6B.
Regarding claim 8, Herekar et al. disclose the claimed invention, see [0062], [0338] and figures 4B-4C and 6A-6B.
Regarding claim 9, Herekar et al. disclose the claimed invention, see “hand held probe” in [0006], “handpiece” in [0024], and [0083] for example.
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792