Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 8/13/2026. Currently claims 1-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8, filed 8/13/2026, with respect to the previous objection of the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-9, filed 8/13/2026, with respect to the previous rejections of claims 4-5 and 7-21 under 35 USC 112(a) and/or 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections of claims 4-5 and 7-21 under 35 USC 112(a) and/or 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-12, filed 8/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of:
claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-9, 12, 14 and 17-18 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen in view of Ross
claim(s) 3, 11 and 13 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Yamaji
claim(s) 5-6, 15-16 and 19-21 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Nam
claim(s) 10 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Gazit
have been fully considered and are persuasive based on the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the additional references of Srivastava et al (US 20180368765) and/or Addison et al (US 20120253140).
While the grounds of rejection have changed for claim 17 based on amendments to the claim including others than the one about to be discussed, one argument should be addressed with respect to claim 17. Applicant argues the following:
“Applicant respectfully submits that independent claims 7 and 17 are distinguished
over the cited art for substantially the same reasons as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Specifically, applicant asserts that the cited art fails to disclose or suggest "measuring, through a wearable device a respiratory rate of said individual by subjecting him/her to a dynamic test in accordance with said predefined protocol," as recited in claims 7 and 17. Claims 8-16 and 18-21 depend from claim 7 or 17 and thus incorporate the limitations thereof. As such, applicant submits that claims 7-16 and 17-21 are also distinguished over the cited art and withdrawal of the rejections is respectfully requested.” [see pg. 11 of applicant’s arguments received on 8/13/2026].
However, claim 17 recites the following limitation:
memory adapted to implement characteristic curves of cardiac and/or
respiratory parameters of said individual, said characteristic curves being obtained during the steps of:
a) subjecting said individual to a cardiopulmonary stress test suitable for
detecting, over time, a respiratory rate and other cardiac or respiratory parameters
of said individual; and
b) determining respective characteristic curves of said individual, with said
respiratory rate as dependent variable and one of said other cardiac or respiratory
parameters as independent variable;
or, alternatively, during the steps of:
a) subjecting a plurality of subjects to a cardiopulmonary stress test
according to a predefined protocol, said cardiopulmonary stress test being adapted
to detect, over time, a respiratory rate and other cardiac or respiratory parameters
of said plurality of subjects;
b) for each one of said subjects, determining respective characteristic
curves, with said respiratory rate as dependent variable and one of said other
cardiac or respiratory parameters as independent variable;
c) measuring, through a wearable device, in particular a chest belt, a respiratory rate of said individual by subjecting him/her to a dynamic test, in accordance with said predefined protocol;
d) determining respective second characteristic curves of said individual, with said respiratory rate as dependent variable and one of said other cardiac or respiratory parameters as independent variable; and
e) identifying first characteristic curves of said individual, said first characteristic curves of said individual being, among all the characteristic curves of said subjects, those belonging to a subject which approximate most closely those of said individual.
As noted in bold the limitation of claim 17 which applicant argues is not taught by the prior art is part of an alternative limitation. Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation (i.e. standard under which claims are examined) the memory is required to recite either a) and b) OR a), b), c), d) and e). If applicant intended something different than this interpretation, applicant needs to amend to the language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-9, 12, 14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen et al (EP 3643227 cited reference 4 under foreign patent documents on IDS received on 12/15/2022 with a copy in English provided by applicant) hereafter known as Korhonen in view of Ross et al (US 20040186390) hereafter known as Ross in view of Srivastava et al (US 20180368765) hereafter known as Srivastava.
Independent claim
Regarding claim 1:
Korhonen discloses:
A method for providing real-time information about the cardiac and/or respiratory performance of an individual [see abstract… “The invention relates to a method for providing an approximation of a minimum heart rate. (minHR) from collected heart rate data of a user.” And paras 20-21… “Segmentation may enable providing segments including physiologically coherent data. Segments may be categorized in order to provide reliable results on bodily states.”], comprising the steps of:
c) detecting, through a wearable device [see para 59… “The apparatus of figure may comprise a controller CTRL, or a heart rate module, configured to receive a signal from a pulse sensor or a heart rate sensor. The heart rate sensor may be attached to a user. An (external) apparatus configured to monitor heart rate may comprise a monitor device, a heart rate monitor, a pulse rate monitor, a biometric device, a personal monitor, a portable monitor or a wearable monitor.”], the current respiratory rate of said individual [see para 20…. “The phys-iological phenomena may be a respiration rate, oxygen consumption (VO2) and/or an excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC). For example, the respiration rate may be derived from the collected heart rate data, for example as a beat-by-beat derived respiration rate.];
d) determining, based on the current respiratory rate of said individual, the other current cardiac or respiratory parameters of said individual [see para 20…. “The oxygen consumption (VO2) may be estimated based on collected heart rate data, the derived respiration rate and/or on/off response information derived from the collected heart rate data, such that an exercise intensity (%VO2max) may be calculated first, and the absolute oxygen consumption (ml/kg/min or ml/min) after that by multiplying intensity with person's VO2max. Intensity may be calculated alternatively by dividing movement based VO2 estimate by person's VO2max. If the oxygen consumption (VO2) is measured, respiration rate may not be needed at all, in which case, it may be that only the oxygen consumption (VO2) and EPOC are used. Alternatively, all three may be utilized. The excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC) may be estimated based on the collected data of the heart rate measurement. The excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC) may be estimated based on intensity and duration of an exercise.”];
e) providing real-time information about the cardiac and/or respiratory performance of said individual on the basis of the other current cardiac or respiratory parameters determined at step d) [see para 2… “The measured heart rate reactions and heart rate variability may be analyzed in order to provide further information, for example on different bodily states of a user. Bodily slates of a user may relate to stress, recovery and physical activity. Information on bodily states may be utilized widely to explore and improve well-being, health and performance.” And para 21… “Further analysis may be used to provide reliable results on bodily states Segmentation may be utilized in offline analysis. Segmentation may enable providing segments including physiologically coherent data. Segments may be categorized in order to provide reliable results on bodily states. The bodily states may relate to physical activity, to a recovery state, to a stress state and/or to any other bodily state. Some segments may remain unrecognized, without a detected bodily state. For on-line measurement, where the collected data ls handled in real time, data points me handled instead of segments.” And para 20… “The phys-iological phenomena may be a respiration rate” and para 7… “A minimum heart rate is a physical characteristic of a person. The minimum heart rate represents the lowest heart rate a person can achieve, as opposite to maximal heart rate representing the highest heart rate a person can achieve. The minimum heart rate value approximation may enable for example accurate evaluation of normal physiological range of heart rate parameters for a given person. which may be utilized in various physiological analytics related to heart rate parameters as well as reflect person's health status and performance. A high minimum heart rate may reflect suboptimal health status of a person, such as elevated stress, blood pressure. or increased risk of cardiovascular diseases. A low minimum heart rate may be indicative to big size of heart, high stroke volume, and high parasympathetic modulation of the heart related to a relaxed body state”]
However, while Korhonen is directed to analyzing a body state related to physical activity and/or the recovery state [see para 21… “Further analysis may be used to provide reliable results on bodily states Segmentation may be utilized in offline analysis. Segmentation may enable providing segments including physiologically coherent data. Segments may be so categorized in order to provide reliable results on bodily states. The bodily states may relate to physical activity, to a recovery state, to a stress state and/or to any other bodily state.”], Korhonen is silent as to all the details of the physical activity and how it is used specifically to determine respiration parameters. Thus, Korhonen fails to disclose “a) subjecting said individual to a cardiopulmonary stress test suitable for detecting, over time, a respiratory rate and other cardiac or respiratory parameters of said individual” or “b) determining respective characteristic curves of said individual, with said respiratory rate as dependent variable and one of said other cardiac or respiratory parameters as independent variable”. Also as Korhonen fails to disclose step (d), Korhonen fails to fully disclose “d) determining, based on the current respiratory rate of said individual and said characteristic curves obtained at step b ), the other current cardiac or respiratory parameters of said individual”. Finally, Korhonen only discloses detecting respiratory rate via derived heart rate data (not measurement) and therefore fails to fully disclose “c) measuring, through a wearable device, the current respiratory rate of said individual”
Ross discloses in the analogous art of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics [see para 2… “This invention relates to respiratory analyzers and metabolic rate measurements, for example to indirect calorimeters” and para 143… “The computation module may be a modified device, such as a cell phone, physiological monitor, watch, heart rate sensor disposed on a strap, other accessory, activity monitor mounted on a belt or otherwise supported by the body of a subject, or some other device.”] a known way to use a diagnostic device to determine respiration rate based on physical activity with a wearable heart monitor includes specifically using a predetermined calibration function (i.e. characteristic curves) of a heart rate and that this function (i.e. characteristic curves) can be found by measuring both a physiological parameter simultaneously with a heart rate as an individual undergoes different speeds of exercise/ physical activity (i.e. subjecting an individual to a cardiopulmonary stress test) [see paras 210-219… “Using a predetermined calibration function between heart rate and other physiological parameter (such as metabolic rate, respiratory quotient, fat burning rate, and the like), the other physiological parameter can be determined from a heart rate measurement. The calibration of a heart rate monitor allows a physiological parameter (other than heart rate) to be determined from a measured heart rate using a calibration function. The calibration function can be found by measuring the physiological parameter and heart rate simultaneously as a subject is at rest and/or exercises at one or more levels of exercise intensity.” And “Hence, a physiological parameter (such as metabolic rate) of a subject can be monitored using a heart rate monitor alone by providing a heart rate monitor to the subject having the calibration function stored in the memory of the heart rate monitor, determining a heart rate of the subject, and providing a software application program to determine the corresponding value of the physiological parameter using the calibration function and the determined heart rate.” And “For example, a wrist-mounted heart rate monitor can be calibrated by determining a calibration function between heart rate and metabolic rate, the latter determined by the respiratory analyzer. A calibration function can be established between heart rate and other physiological parameters, such as respiratory parameters” and para 149… “A respiratory analyzer according to the present invention may be provided with a software application program, for example executable by a processor within the computation module, to calculate flow volumes, oxygen consumption, carbon dioxide production, metabolic rate, ventilatory equivalents, fat burning rate, fat burning total, carbohydrate burning rate, other metabolic parameters, respiratory frequency,”] and discloses using multiple of these calibration functions to find a plurality of respiratory parameters (i.e. missing feature of step d) [see para 219… “For example, the physiological signal may be heart rate, heart rate and other physiological data, or some other data. The first and second calibration functions can be determined during a calibration session, for example by having a subject breathe through a respiratory analyzer while performing one or more exercises. During the calibration session, physiological signals may be stored in memory, and metabolic rate, oxygen consumption, or some other parameter or combination of parameters transmitted from the respiratory analyzer to the computing device.”]. Ross further discloses this physical activity occurs on a treadmill [see para 173… “Exercises of one or more intensity levels (for example at different treadmill belt speeds and gradients) can be performed.”]
Srivastava discloses in the analogous art of cardiac and/or respiratory diagnosis [Para 25… “Various embodiments herein may generally detect the periods and amounts of activity/exertion to quantify the EPR based on changes in blood pressure. The system can report one or more EPR metrics to the patient and/or a healthcare provider, or to another process (e.g. to a therapy device). Exemplary therapy devices may include neuromodulation therapy devices, such as spinal cord stimulation, vagus nerve stimulation, or sympathetic modulation therapy devices, a carotid baroreceptors stimulation device, a drug pump device, or other hypertension therapy devices, or combinations thereof.”] including a respiratory sensor on a wearable device and using this sensor on the wearable device to measure respiratory rate for the purpose of providing an indication of activity level in a user [see Fig. 2 element 12 (respiratory sensor) and element 28 (wearable device) and para 26… “In still yet other embodiments, the first sensor 12 may be a barometer/altimeter or a GPS. In still yet other embodiments, the first sensor 12 may include a respiratory sensor that may, for example, detect a respiratory rate or tidal volume, which may provide an indication of activity level of the user 14."]
Since Korhonen is silent as to all the details of how physical activity is used to determine respiration parameters, and Ross discloses a known way by applying a stress test to determine characteristic curves for multiple respiratory parameters including respiratory rate, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen to apply a stress test and determine characteristic curves to determine the respiration rate similar to Ross (i.e. thereby reciting steps a and b and fully reciting step d) as this is a known way in the analogous field of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics to use physical activity to determine respiration parameters.
Since Korhonen in view of Ross discloses one independent way to determine respiratory rate (i.e. detecting the respiratory rate via heart rate information) and Srivastava discloses another independent way to detect respiratory rate (i.e. measuring respiratory rate via a respiratory sensor), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross to include a respiratory sensor as part of the wearable device and to measure the respiratory rate similarly to that disclosed by Srivastava (i.e. thereby reciting step c) because the combination two ways of determining respiratory rate would lead to the expectation of a more accurate respiratory rate than either independent way alone, thereby leading to an accurate determination of activity level.
Independent claim
Regarding claim 7:
Korhonen discloses:
A method for providing real-time information about the cardiac and/or respiratory performance of an individual [see abstract… “The invention relates to a method for providing an approximation of a minimum heart rate. (minHR) from collected heart rate data of a user.” And paras 20-21… “Segmentation may enable providing segments including physiologically coherent data. Segments may be categorized in order to provide reliable results on bodily states.”], comprising the steps of:
c) detecting, through a wearable device [see para 59… “The apparatus of figure may comprise a controller CTRL, or a heart rate module, configured to receive a signal from a pulse sensor or a heart rate sensor. The heart rate sensor may be attached to a user. An (external) apparatus configured to monitor heart rate may comprise a monitor device, a heart rate monitor, a pulse rate monitor, a biometric device, a personal monitor, a portable monitor or a wearable monitor.”], a respiratory rate of said individual [see para 20…. “The phys-iological phenomena may be a respiration rate, oxygen consumption (VO2) and/or an excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC). For example, the respiration rate may be derived from the collected heart rate data, for example as a beat-by-beat derived respiration rate.];
f) detecting, through said wearable device [see para 59… “The apparatus of figure may comprise a controller CTRL, or a heart rate module, configured to receive a signal from a pulse sensor or a heart rate sensor. The heart rate sensor may be attached to a user. An (external) apparatus configured to monitor l1eart rate may comprise a monitor device, a heart rate monitor, a pulse rate monitor, a biometric device, a personal monitor, a portable monitor or a wearable monitor.”], the current respiratory rate of said individual [see para 20…. “The phys-iological phenomena may be a respiration rate, oxygen consumption (VO2) and/or an excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC). For example, the respiration rate may be derived from the collected heart rate data, for example as a beat-by-beat derived respiration rate.];
g) determining, based on the current respiratory rate of said individual, the other current cardiac or respiratory parameters of said individual [see para 20…. “The oxygen consumption (VO2) may be estimated based on collected heart rate data, the derived respiration rate and/or on/off response information derived from the collected heart rate data, such that an exercise intensity (%VO2max) may be calculated first, and the absolute oxygen consumption (ml/kg/min or ml/min) after that by multiplying intensity with person's VO2max. Intensity may be calculated alternatively by dividing movement based VO2 estimate by person's VO2max. If the oxygen consumption (VO2) is measured, respiration rate may not be needed at all, in which case, it may be that only the oxygen consumption (VO2) and EPOC are used. Alternatively, all three may be utilized. The excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC) may be estimated based on the collected data of the heart rate measurement. The excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC) may be estimated based on intensity and duration of an exercise.”];
h) providing real-time information about the cardiac and/or respiratory performance of said individual on the basis of the other current cardiac and/or respiratory parameters determined at step g) ) [see para 2… “The measured heart rate reactions and heart rate variability may be analyzed in order to provide further information, for example on different bodily states of a user. Bodily states of a user may relate to stress, recovery and physical activity. Information on bodily states may be utilized widely to explore and improve well-being, health and performance.” And para 21… “Further analysis may be used to provide reliable results on bodily states Segmentation may be utilized in offline analysis. Segmentation may enable providing segments including physiologically coherent data. Segments may be categorized in order to provide reliable results on bodily states. The bodily states may relate to physical activity, to a recovery state, to a stress state and/or to any other bodily state. Some segments may remain unrecognized, without a detected bodily state. For on-line measurement, where the collected data ls handled in real time, data points me handled instead of segments.” And para 20… “The phys-iological phenomena may be a respiration rate” and para 7… “A minimum heart rate is a physical characteristic of a person. The minimum heart rate represents the lowest heart rate a person can achieve, as opposite to maximal heart rate representing the highest heart rate a person can achieve. The minimum heart rate value approximation may enable for example accurate evaluation of normal physiological range of heart rate parameters for a given person. which may be utilized in various physiological analytics related to heart rate parameters as well as reflect person's health status and performance. A high minimum heart rate may reflect suboptimal health status of a person, such as elevated stress, blood pressure. or increased risk of cardiovascular diseases. A low minimum heart rate may be indicative to big size of heart, high stroke volume, and high parasympathetic modulation of the heart related to a relaxed body state”].
However, while Korhonen is directed to analyzing a body state related to physical activity and/or the recovery state [see para 21… “Further analysis may be used to provide reliable results on bodily states Segmentation may be utilized in offline analysis. Segmentation may enable providing segments including physiologically coherent data. Segments may be so categorized in order to provide reliable results on bodily states. The bodily states may relate to physical activity, to a recovery state, to a stress state and/or to any other bodily state.”], Korhonen is silent as to all the details of the physical activity and how it is used specifically to determine respiration parameters. Thus, Korhonen fails to disclose the steps of:
a) subjecting a plurality of subjects to a cardiopulmonary stress test according to a predefined protocol, said cardiopulmonary stress test being adapted to detect, over time, a respiratory rate and other cardiac or respiratory parameters of said plurality of subjects;
b) for each one of said subjects, determining respective characteristic curves, with said respiratory rate as dependent variable and one of said other cardiac or respiratory parameters as independent variable;
d) determining respective second characteristic curves of said individual, with said respiratory rate as dependent variable and one of said other cardiac or respiratory parameters as independent variable;
e) identifying first characteristic curves of said individual, said first characteristic curves of said individual being, among all the characteristic curves of said subjects, those belonging to a subject which approximate most closely those of said individual;
And because Korhonen fails to disclosed determining or identifying characteristic curves, Korhonen fails to fully disclose the steps of: “g) determining, based on the current respiratory rate of said individual and said first characteristic curves of said individual, the other current cardiac or respiratory parameters of said individual” as claimed. Finally, Korhonen fails to disclose measuring respiratory rate and doing the measurement during the dynamic test therefore fails to fully disclose “c) measuring, through a wearable device, by subjecting him/her to a dynamic test, in accordance with said predefined protocol”
Ross discloses in the analogous art of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics [see para 2… “This invention relates to respiratory analyzers and metabolic rate measurements, for example to indirect calorimeters” and para 143… “The computation module may be a modified device, such as a cell phone, physiological monitor, watch, heart rate sensor disposed on a strap, other accessory, activity monitor mounted on a belt or otherwise supported by the body of a subject, or some other device.”] a known way to use a diagnostic device to determine respiration rate based on physical activity / exercise with a wearable heart monitor includes using predetermined calibration functions (i.e. step d’s second characteristic curves) of a heart rate which is found by measuring both a physiological parameter simultaneously with a heart rate as individuals undergo different speeds of exercise/physical activity (i.e. step a, step b and detecting physiological parameters while subjecting him/her to a dynamic test) [see paras 210-219… “Using a predetermined calibration function between heart rate and other physiological parameter (such as metabolic rate, respiratory quotient, fat burning rate, and the like), the other physiological parameter can be determined from a heart rate measurement. The calibration of a heart rate monitor allows a physiological parameter (other than heart rate) to be determined from a measured heart rate using a calibration function. The calibration function can be found by measuring the physiological parameter and heart rate simultaneously as a subject is at rest and/or exercises at one or more levels of exercise intensity.” And “Hence, a physiological parameter (such as metabolic rate) of a subject can be monitored using a heart rate monitor alone by providing a heart rate monitor to the subject having the calibration function stored in the memory of the heart rate monitor, determining a heart rate of the subject, and providing a software application program to determine the corresponding value of the physiological parameter using the calibration function and the determined heart rate.” And “For example, a wrist-mounted heart rate monitor can be calibrated by determining a calibration function between heart rate and metabolic rate, the latter determined by the respiratory analyzer. A calibration function can be established between heart rate and other physiological parameters, such as respiratory parameters” and para 149… “A respiratory analyzer according to the present invention may be provided with a software application program, for example executable by a processor within the computation module, to calculate flow volumes, oxygen consumption, carbon dioxide production, metabolic rate, ventilatory equivalents, fat burning rate, fat burning total, carbohydrate burning rate, other metabolic parameters, respiratory frequency,”] and Ross discloses further correcting specific terms in function or the functions based on the demographic of the groups for the individual (i.e. step e’s identifying first characteristic curves) [see para 258… “the ratio of RHR to MHR, or the individual terms, may be adjusted by a correction term, for example scaled by a power coefficient or multiplied by a numerical coefficient. Such correction terms can be determined for the individual or for demographic groups.”] and discloses using multiple of these calibration functions to find a plurality of respiratory parameters (i.e. missing feature of step g) [see para 219… “For example, the physiological signal may be heart rate, heart rate and other physiological data, or some other data. The first and second calibration functions can be determined during a calibration session, for example by having a subject breathe through a respiratory analyzer while performing one or more exercises. During the calibration session, physiological signals may be stored in memory, and metabolic rate, oxygen consumption, or some other parameter or combination of parameters transmitted from the respiratory analyzer to the computing device.”]. Finally, Ross further discloses this physical activity occurs on a treadmill [see para 173… “Exercises of one or more intensity levels (for example at different treadmill belt speeds and gradients) can be performed.”]
Srivastava discloses in the analogous art of cardiac and/or respiratory diagnosis [Para 25… “Various embodiments herein may generally detect the periods and amounts of activity/exertion to quantify the EPR based on changes in blood pressure. The system can report one or more EPR metrics to the patient and/or a healthcare provider, or to another process (e.g. to a therapy device). Exemplary therapy devices may include neuromodulation therapy devices, such as spinal cord stimulation, vagus nerve stimulation, or sympathetic modulation therapy devices, a carotid baroreceptors stimulation device, a drug pump device, or other hypertension therapy devices, or combinations thereof.”] including a respiratory sensor on a wearable device and using this sensor on the wearable device to measure respiratory rate for the purpose of providing an indication of activity level in a user [see Fig. 2 element 12 (respiratory sensor) and element 28 (wearable device) and para 26… “In still yet other embodiments, the first sensor 12 may be a barometer/altimeter or a GPS. In still yet other embodiments, the first sensor 12 may include a respiratory sensor that may, for example, detect a respiratory rate or tidal volume, which may provide an indication of activity level of the user 14."]
Since Korhonen is silent as to all the details of how physical activity is used to determine respiration parameters, and Ross discloses a known way by applying a stress test is to determine second characteristic curves for multiple respiratory parameters including respiratory rate and to adjust using data from first characteristic curves, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen to apply a stress and determine characteristic curves similar to Ross (i.e. thereby reciting steps a, b, d, e and fully reciting step g) as this is a known way in the analogous field of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics to use physical activity to determine respiration parameters.
Since Korhonen in view of Ross discloses one independent way to determine respiratory rate (i.e. detecting the respiratory rate via heart rate information) and Srivastava discloses another independent way to detect respiratory rate (i.e. measuring respiratory rate via a respiratory sensor), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross to include a respiratory sensor as part of the wearable device and to measure the respiratory rate similarly to that disclosed by Srivastava (i.e. thereby reciting step c) because the combination two ways of determining respiratory rate would lead to the expectation of a more accurate respiratory rate than either independent way alone, thereby leading to an accurate determination of activity level.
Independent claim
Regarding claim 17:
A device wearable by an individual [see Fig. 4 and para 59….“The heart rate sensor may be attached to a user. An (external) apparatus configured to monitor heart rate may comprise a monitor device, a heart rate monitor, a pulse rate monitor, a biometric device, a personal monitor, a portable monitor or a wearable monitor.”], comprising:
-a pulse sensor for detecting respiratory rate of said individual [see Fig. 4 “pulse sensor” and para 20…. “The phys-iological phenomena may be a respiration rate, oxygen consumption (VO2) and/or an excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC). For example, the respiration rate may be derived from the collected heart rate data, for example as a beat-by-beat derived respiration rate.];
-a power supply [see Fig. 4 and para 60-62. For a controller and/or microprocessor and/or circuit elements of the device to operate as described in these sections they must inherently be powered by some type of power source (i.e. battery, AC outlet etc). Therefore, while not explicitly disclosed, it is understood that a power source is inherently disclosed];
- an integrated circuit [see Fig. 4 element APPL and para 62… “Moreover, it is noted that all or selected modules of the apparatus Figures 3 and 4 may be implemented using an integral circuit, for example an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)”];
- a microcontroller [see Fig. 4 “µP’ and para 56… “The minimum heart rate approximation module APPL may be configured to process the received signal, with aid of the microprocessor μP and data stored/recorded to the memory MEM.”];
- a data transceiver [see para 60… “Apparatus of figure 4 and figure 3 may comprise a web service, a computer, a mobile phone, a server for storing and processing the data. The communication may be realized via wired or wireless communications.”];
- memory adapted to implement characteristic curves of cardiac and/or respiratory parameters of said individual [see Fig. 4 element MEM and para 61… “The mm HR approximation module APPL may be implemented as an application computer program stored m a memory, for example to the at least one memory MEM.”]
However, while Korhonen is directed to analyzing a body state related to physical activity and/or the recovery state [see para 21… “Further analysis may be used to provide reliable results on bodily states Segmentation may be utilized in offline analysis. Segmentation may enable providing segments including physiologically coherent data. Segments may be so categorized in order to provide reliable results on bodily states. The bodily states may relate to physical activity, to a recovery state, to a stress state and/or to any other bodily state.”], Korhonen is silent as to all the details of the physical activity and how it is used specifically to determine respiration parameters. Thus, Korhonen fails to disclose the memory as reciting the steps of:
“a) subjecting said individual to a cardiopulmonary stress test suitable for detecting, over time, a respiratory rate and other cardiac or respiratory parameters of said individual”; and
“b) determining respective characteristic curves of said individual, with said respiratory rate as dependent variable and one of said other cardiac or respiratory parameters as independent variable” as recited by claim 17.
Additionally, Korhonen disclose pulse sensor instead of a “respiratory rate sensor for measuring the respiratory rate of said individual”
Ross discloses in the analogous art of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics [see para 2… “This invention relates to respiratory analyzers and metabolic rate measurements, for example to indirect calorimeters” and para 143… “The computation module may be a modified device, such as a cell phone, physiological monitor, watch, heart rate sensor disposed on a strap, other accessory, activity monitor mounted on a belt or otherwise supported by the body of a subject, or some other device.”] a known way to use a diagnostic device to determine respiration rate based on physical activity with a wearable heart monitor includes using a predetermined calibration function (i.e. characteristic curves) of a heart rate and that this function (i.e. characteristic curves) can be found by measuring both physiological parameters simultaneously with a heart rate as an individual undergoes different speeds of exercise/physical activity (i.e. subjecting an individual to a cardiopulmonary stress test) [see paras 210-219… “Using a predetermined calibration function between heart rate and other physiological parameter (such as metabolic rate, respiratory quotient, fat burning rate, and the like), the other physiological parameter can be determined from a heart rate measurement. The calibration of a heart rate monitor allows a physiological parameter (other than heart rate) to be determined from a measured heart rate using a calibration function. The calibration function can be found by measuring the physiological parameter and heart rate simultaneously as a subject is at rest and/or exercises at one or more levels of exercise intensity.” And “Hence, a physiological parameter (such as metabolic rate) of a subject can be monitored using a heart rate monitor alone by providing a heart rate monitor to the subject having the calibration function stored in the memory of the heart rate monitor, determining a heart rate of the subject, and providing a software application program to determine the corresponding value of the physiological parameter using the calibration function and the determined heart rate.” And “For example, a wrist-mounted heart rate monitor can be calibrated by determining a calibration function between heart rate and metabolic rate, the latter determined by the respiratory analyzer. A calibration function can be established between heart rate and other physiological parameters, such as respiratory parameters” and para 149… “A respiratory analyzer according to the present invention may be provided with a software application program, for example executable by a processor within the computation module, to calculate flow volumes, oxygen consumption, carbon dioxide production, metabolic rate, ventilatory equivalents, fat burning rate, fat burning total, carbohydrate burning rate, other metabolic parameters, respiratory frequency,”] Ross further discloses this physical activity occurs on a treadmill [see para 173… “Exercises of one or more intensity levels (for example at different treadmill belt speeds and gradients) can be performed.”]
Srivastava discloses in the analogous art of cardiac and/or respiratory diagnosis [Para 25… “Various embodiments herein may generally detect the periods and amounts of activity/exertion to quantify the EPR based on changes in blood pressure. The system can report one or more EPR metrics to the patient and/or a healthcare provider, or to another process (e.g. to a therapy device). Exemplary therapy devices may include neuromodulation therapy devices, such as spinal cord stimulation, vagus nerve stimulation, or sympathetic modulation therapy devices, a carotid baroreceptors stimulation device, a drug pump device, or other hypertension therapy devices, or combinations thereof.”] including a respiratory sensor and using this sensor on the wearable device to measure respiratory rate for the purpose of providing an indication of activity level in a user [see Fig. 2 element 12 (respiratory sensor) and element 28 (wearable device) and para 26… “In still yet other embodiments, the first sensor 12 may be a barometer/altimeter or a GPS. In still yet other embodiments, the first sensor 12 may include a respiratory sensor that may, for example, detect a respiratory rate or tidal volume, which may provide an indication of activity level of the user 14."]
Since Korhonen is silent as to all the details of how physical activity is used to determine respiration parameters, and Ross discloses a known way by applying a stress test to determine characteristic curves for multiple respiratory parameters including respiratory rate, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen to apply a stress test and determine characteristic curves to determine the respiration rate similar to that disclosed by Ross (i.e. thereby reciting steps a and b) as this is a known way in the analogous field of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics to use physical activity to determine respiration parameters.
Since Korhonen in view of Ross discloses one independent way to determine respiratory rate (i.e. detecting the respiratory rate via heart rate information of a pulse sensor) and Srivastava discloses another independent way to detect respiratory rate (i.e. measuring respiratory rate via a respiratory sensor), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross to include a respiratory sensor as part of the wearable device and to measure the respiratory rate similarly to that disclosed by Srivastava (i.e. thereby reciting “respiratory rate sensor for measuring the respiratory rate of said individual”) because the combination two ways of determining respiratory rate would lead to the expectation of a more accurate respiratory rate than either independent way alone, thereby leading to an accurate determination of activity level.
Dependent claims:
Regarding claims 2, 12:
Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claims 1 and 7 above. Additionally, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses obtaining other respiratory parameters that comprise maximum oxygen consumption, heart rate, end-expiratory partial oxygen pressure [see para 20 of Korhonen… “The physiological phenomena may be a respiration rate, oxygen consumption (VO2) and/or an excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC). For example, the respiration rate may be derived from the collected heart rate data, for example as a beat-by-beat derived respiration rate. The HR and the respiration rate have a correlation with the oxygen consumption (VO2). The oxygen consumption (VO2) may be estimated based on collected heart rate data, the derived respiration rate and/or on/off response information derived from the collected heart rate data, such that an exercise intensity (%VO2max) may be calculated first, and the absolute oxygen consumption (ml/kg/min or ml/min) after that by multiplying intensity with person's VO2max. Intensity may be calculated alternatively by dividing movement based VO2 estimate by person's VO2max. If the oxygen consumption (VO2) is measured, respiration rate may not be needed at all, in which case, it may be that only the oxygen consumption (VO2) and EPOC are used. Alternatively, all three may be utilized. The excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC) may be estimated based on the collected data of the heart rate measurement. The excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC) may be estimated based on intensity and duration of an exercise.”]
However, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastavafails to disclose said other cardiac or respiratory parameters include the additional parameters of “current volume; maximum carbon dioxide consumption; end-expiratory partial carbon dioxide pressure” as recited by claims 2 and 11
Ross further discloses using the calibration functions (i.e. using the characteristic curves) to obtain additional respiration parameters including current volume, maximum carbon dioxide consumption and end-expiratory partial carbon dioxide pressure [para 213… “A calibration function can be established between heart rate and other physiological parameters, such as respiratory parameters (oxygen consumption, carbon dioxide production, respiratory quotient, end tidal oxygen, end tidal carbon dioxide, concentration of other respiratory components such as acetone, other ketones, and the like)” and para 213… “A calibration function can be established between heart rate and other physiological parameters, such as respiratory parameters (oxygen consumption, carbon dioxide production, respiratory quotient, end tidal oxygen, end tidal carbon dioxide, concentration of other respiratory components”] to help provide feedback to customize programs to help individuals [see para 178… “Respiratory analyzers according to embodiments of the present invention can be used in health improvement programs for cardiac patients and other recuperating subjects… A cardiac rehabilitation program can be modified by the results, or the pace of a rehabilitation program correlated with determined oxygen consumption or cardiac output of the patients.”]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava by additionally, using the calibration function to analyze volume and carbon dioxide in the respiration and the parameters related to carbon dioxide similarly to that disclosed by Ross (thereby reciting current volume, maximum carbon dioxide consumption and end-expiratory partial carbon dioxide pressure) because this will help further improve the feedback as to a user’s respiration.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, see para 60 of Korhonen [see “Apparatus of figure 4 and figure 3 may comprise a web service, a computer, a mobile phone, a server for storing and processing the data. The communication may be realized via wired or wireless communications”] and para 13 of Korhonen [see “Figure 3 illustrates a method for an applied function according to an embodiment. illustrates an apparatus for approximating a minimum heart rate according to an embodiment. Figure 4 illustrates an apparatus for approximating a minimum heart rate according to an embodiment.”] which describe Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava as presenting the information on a smartphone
Regarding claim 8:
Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claim 7 and different speeds on a treadmill [see rejection to claim 7 above].
However, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava fails to disclose “starting from a speed of 8 km/h” or “whereon said dynamic test is carried with a speed increment of 1 km/h per minute until physical exhaustion of the individual” of claim 8.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava to recite the claimed features of “starting from a speed of 8 km/h” and “whereon said dynamic test is carried with a speed increment of 1 km/h per minute until physical exhaustion of the individual” of claim 8 because as explained previously Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastavadiscloses a stress test in the form of using a exertion on treadmill with different changes in speed; therefore, absent unpredictable results one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the claimed features through routine experimentation through the application of known factors to achieve a known result when optimizing the stress test.
Regarding claim 9:
Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claim 7 as outlined above.
However, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava fails to disclose “wherein said characteristic curves of each one of said subjects are collected in a database” as recited by claim 9.
Ross further discloses data related to the cardiac and/or respiratory performance of an individual being stored on a database for analysis and review at a remote computer [see para 50… “The computation module also (optionally) receives data from physiological sensor 58, activity monitor 60, and diet log recording 62, and data may be transmitted over communications network 54 for storage, analysis, or review at remote computer 56. The remote computer may provide a database for storage of respiratory parameters, metabolic rate, or other physiological parameters.”]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava by storing the cardiac and/or respiratory performance data (i.e. including the reference curves) on a database similar to that disclosed by Ross (i.e. thereby reciting claim 9) so that the data can be further analyzed at any location.
Regarding claim 18, see Fig. 4 element labelled “pulse sensor” of Korhonen and para 20 of Korhonen [see “For example, the respiration rate may be derived from the collected heart rate data, for example as a beat-by-beat derived respiration rate.”] which discloses heart rate sensor as recited by this claim.
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Yamaji et al (US 20170231576) hereafter known as Yamaji.
Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claims 1 and 7 as outlined above.
However, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava fails to disclose “wherein said respective characteristic curves of said individual comprise second-degree or third-degree polynomial functions respectively obtained through a second-degree or third-degree polynomial fitting of a respective cardiac or respiratory parameter.” as recited by claims 3 and 13 or “wherein the identification of the first characteristic curves of said individual of step e) is accomplished by using statistical techniques or machine learning techniques” as recited by claim 11.
Yamaji discloses in the analogous art of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics [see para 2… “The embodiment(s) discussed herein is related to a sensor information processing apparatus.” and abstract… “A filter to cut at least a harmonic component of a frequency component derived from breathing of a person to be observed is applied to a detected signal of a wireless sensor, and a heartbeat component of the person is detected in a signal having passed through the filter.”] using the statistic technic of curve fitting (i.e. claim 11) in the form of fitting a second degree polynomial (i.e. claims 3 and 13) to fit the heart beat data to derive specific relational equations (i.e. characteristic curves) that determine the breathing rate (i.e. respiration rate) from the heart rate [see para 228-231].
Since Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava is directed to determining the respiration rates based on heart rate using determined functions (i.e. characteristic curves) as discussed in rejections to independent claims 1 and 7 above, but does not disclose all the details as to how these functions are found and Yamaji discloses using the technique of curve fitting second degree polynomials as a known way to determine these functions, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava’s method to include the use this curve fitting to determine these functions because this is a known technique in the field of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics to produce a known result.
Claim(s) 5-6, 15-16, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava as applied to claims 1, 7 and 17 above, and further in view of Nam et al (EP 3318179 cited reference 5 under foreign patent documents on IDS received on 12/15/2022 with a copy in English provided by applicant)
Regarding claims 5-6, 15-16 and 19-20
Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava disclose the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claim 1, 7 and 17 as outlined above which includes a wearable device.
However, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava fails to disclose “wherein said wearable device comprises a chest belt” as recited by claims 5 and 15, “wherein said chest belt measures said respiratory rate of the individual through detection of extension of a material of said chest belt” as recited by claim 6, “wherein said chest belt measures said respiratory rate of the individual by detecting extension of a material of said chest belt” as recited by claim 16, “wherein said wearable device comprises a chest belt” as recited by claim 19, “wherein said chest belt is adapted to measure the respiratory rate of said individual through detecting extension of a material of said chest belt” as recited by claim 20.
Nam discloses in the analogous art of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics [see para 1… “The present invention relates to a method for simultaneously measuring a respiration rate and a heart rate using dual cameras of a smartphone.”] using cameras with impedance belts worn around the abdomen and chest (i.e. chest belt) as a known way to determine respiration rate of a human [see paras 15-16… “As shown in FIGS. 1a and 1b for a method for measuring a respiration rate and a heart rate using dual cameras of a smartphone according to an embodiment of the present invention, a smartphone 110, a chest impedance belt 130, an abdomen impedance belt 140, and a monitoring device 150 are provided. First, a human wears impedance belts on the chest and abdomen to collect data. The chest and abdomen impedance belts 130 and 140 are intended to measure an actual respiration rate of a human, and are coupled to the monitoring device 150”.]
Since Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses one independent way to determine respiration rate (i.e. using heart rate with calculated curves) and Nam discloses another independent way to determine respiration (i.e. using cameras with impedance belts), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross by including cameras with impedance belts similarly to that disclosed by Nam (i.e. thereby reciting claims 5-6, 15-16 and 19-20) to determine respiration rate because absent unpredictable results the combination of two independent ways to determine respiration rate would be expected to lead to a more accurate respiration rate (and if not the same level of accuracy) than either independent way alone.
Regarding claim 21:
Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses:
A system for providing real-time information about the cardiac and/or respiratory performance of an individual [see Fig. 4 and para 13… “Figure 4 illustrates an apparatus for approximating a minimum heart rate according to an embodiment.”], comprising a wearable device according to claim 17 [see rejection to claim 17 above].
However, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava fails to disclose “a wearable garment adapted to transmit a signal indicative of the respiratory rate of said individual” to the wearable device according to claim 17 as recited by claim 21.
Nam discloses in the analogous art of respiratory and/or cardiac diagnostics [see para 1… “The present invention relates to a method for simultaneously measuring a respiration rate and a heart rate using dual cameras of a smartphone.”] using cameras with impedance belts worn around the abdomen and chest (i.e. wearable garment) as a known way to determine respiration rate of a human [see paras 15-16… “As shown in FIGS. 1a and 1b for a method for measuring a respiration rate and a heart rate using dual cameras of a smartphone according to an embodiment of the present invention, a smartphone 110, a chest impedance belt 130, an abdomen impedance belt 140, and a monitoring device 150 are provided. First, a human wears impedance belts on the chest and abdomen to collect data. The chest and abdomen impedance belts 130 and 140 are intended to measure an actual respiration rate of a human, and are coupled to the monitoring device 150”.]
Since Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses one independent way to determine respiration rate (i.e. using heart rate with calculated curves) and Nam discloses another independent way to determine respiration (i.e. using cameras with impedance belts), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava by including cameras with impedance belts similarly to that disclosed by Nam (i.e. thereby reciting claim 21) to determine respiration rate because absent unpredictable results the combination of two independent ways to determine respiration rate would be expected to lead to a more accurate respiration rate (and if not the same level of accuracy) than either independent way alone.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava as applied to claims 7 and 9 above, and further in view of Addison et al (US 20120253140) hereafter known as Addison
Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claims 7 and 9 as outlined above.
However, Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava fails to disclose “wherein said characteristic curves are classified on the basis of anthropometric data of the subjects, the anthropometric data comprising sex, height, weight and age of the subject.” as recited by claim 10.
Addison discloses in the analogous art of diagnostics related to respiration [see abstract… “Methods and systems are disclosed for determining physiological information about a patient's autonomic nervous system based on at least one physiological signal measured from the patient and at least one known characteristic of a patient's respiration.”] that classifying and evaluating patients with similar age, race, gender (i.e. sex), weight, height and physical build (i.e. inclusive of anthropometric data as claimed) is a known way to compare patient metrics relative reference metrics [see para 87… “The metrics of RSA parameterized by respiration protocol may be compared to reference metrics related to the patient or reference metrics related to a group of patients. Parameterized metrics and reference metrics may be compared in a relative manner, absolute manner, or a combination thereof.” And “In an embodiment, reference metrics may be related to a history of a group of patients. This group of patients may or may not include the patient, and may be selected based age, race, gender, weight, height, physical build, any other suitable characteristic related to the patient, or a combination thereof.” ]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Korhonen in view of Ross in view of Srivastava’s characteristic curves based on age, race, gender, weight, height and physical build similarly to that described by Addison as this would allow for relative comparisons between patients with similar characteristics thereby providing an ability to determine if the data is outside what is normal for people with characteristics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SEBASTIAN X LUKJAN
/SXL/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/NIKETA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792