Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch (US 2,714,070) new cited, in view of Hakamata et al (US 5,133,825) previously cited. Regarding claims 1 and 6, Welch discloses a microwave heating apparatus and method comprising a main cavity (11) that define an inner and outer portion of device, the main cavity (11) being provided with at least one wall (Figure 1), the main cavity (11) being configured to receive at least one source (13) of electromagnetic wave emission configured to emit electromagnetic waves directly into the main cavity (11). However, Welch does not disclose at least one wall of the main cavity comprises at least one portion bent at an acute angle formed against a vertical centerline of reference of the main cavity, wherein that at least one wall of the main cavity, a permanent magnet element is arranged. Hakamata discloses at least one wall of the main cavity comprises at least one portion bent at an acute angle formed against a vertical centerline of reference of the main cavity (1, Figure 6), wherein that at least one wall of the main cavity, a permanent magnet element is arranged (Figure 6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to utilize in Welch at least one wall of the main cavity comprises at least one portion bent at an acute angle formed against a vertical centerline of reference of the main cavity, wherein that at least one wall of the main cavity, a permanent magnet element is arranged as taught by Hakamata in order to improve distribution of electromagnetic waves. Regarding claim 2, Hakamata discloses the angle but does not specify the angle being provided between 150 and 400 . It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the angle being provided between 150 and 400 in order to suitable for user specific application.
Claim(s) 3-4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch (US 2,714,070) new cited, in view of Hakamata et al (US 5,133,825) previously cited and further in view of Mizutani (US 4,629,849) previously cited. Regarding claim 3, Welch/Hakamata discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except at least one auxiliary cavity arranged inside the main cavity, between the source and the outer portion, the auxiliary cavity bounding an auxiliary region for reflecting at least part of the electromagnetic waves generated by the source. Mizutani discloses at least one auxiliary cavity arranged inside the main cavity, between the source and the outer portion, the auxiliary cavity bounding an auxiliary region for reflecting at least part of the electromagnetic waves generated by the source (col. 9, lines 51-60, Figures 4-7). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to utilize in Welch/Hakamata at least one auxiliary cavity arranged inside the main cavity, between the source and the outer portion, the auxiliary cavity bounding an auxiliary region for reflecting at least part of the electromagnetic waves generated by the source as taught by Mizutani in order to reflect microwave energy to heat the object. Regarding claim 4, in combination of references Welch/Hakamata, and Mizutani also discloses the auxiliary reflection region has a rectangular transverse profile (col. 9, lines 51-60 in Mizutani). Regarding claim 7, Mizutani discloses the suitable reflection of at least some of the electromagnetic waves emitted by the source in at least one portion of an auxiliary cavity arranged inside the main cavity, between the source and outer portion (col. 9, lines 51-60, Figures 4-7).
Claim(s) 9-13 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch (US 2,714,070) new cited, in view of Hakamata et al (US 5,133,825) previously cited and further in view of JPH0437634A previously cited by applicant. Regarding claim 9, Welch/Hakamata discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except a conveyor of a material to be heated and a material feed zone on the conveyor, the system further comprising a material heating zone, the material feed zone being arranged before the material heating zone, the material heating zone comprising at least one microwave heating chamber provided with at least one microwave heating device. JPH0437634A discloses a conveyor (22) of a material (14) to be heated and a material feed zone (21) on the conveyor (22), the system further comprising a material heating zone (27), the material feed zone (21) being arranged before the material heating zone (27), the material heating zone comprising at least one microwave heating chamber (25) provided with at least one microwave heating device (46). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize in Welch/Hakamata conveyor of a material to be heated and a material feed zone on the conveyor, the system further comprising a material heating zone, the material feed zone being arranged before the material heating zone, the material heating zone comprising at least one microwave heating chamber provided with at least one microwave heating device as taught by JPH0437634A in order to provide continuous heating to the heating object. Regarding claim 10, JPH0437634A discloses plates of dielectric material (35) arranged on the conveyor (22). Regarding claim 11, Welch discloses at least on microwave containment housing around at least one device (Figure 1). Regarding claims 12-13, JPH0437634A discloses a conveyor (22) of a material (14) to be heated and a material feed zone (21) on the conveyor (22), the system further comprising a material heating zone (27), the material feed zone (21) being arranged before the material heating zone (27), the material heating zone comprising at least one microwave heating chamber (25) provided with at least one microwave heating device (46). Regarding claims 16-17, JPH0437634A discloses at least one sealing plate (35) adapted to seal a lower opening of the main cavity, wherein the at least one sealing plate comprising a Teflon plate.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch (US 2,714,070) new cited, in view of Hakamata et al (US 5,133,825) previously cited, JPH0437634A previously cited by applicant and further in view of WO 2016/179317 previously cited. Regarding claims 14, Welch/Hakamata/JPH0437634A discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except the at least one microwave containment housing, being comprises a Faraday cage. WO 2016/179317 discloses at least one microwave containment housing, being comprises a Faraday cage (specification page 1, lines 28-30, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize in Welch/Hakamata/JPH0437634A the at least one microwave containment housing, being comprises a Faraday cage as taught by WO 2016/179317 in order to prevent microwave transmission out of the oven.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welch (US 2,714,070) new cited, in view of Hakamata et al (US 5,133,825) previously cited, JPH0437634A previously cited by applicant, WO 2016/179317 previously cited and further in view of DE 20018925U1 previously cited. Regarding claim 15, Welch/Hakamata/JPH0437634A/WO2016/179317 discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except the at least one microwave containment extent over at least a portion of a belt conveyor. DE 20018925U1 discloses at least one microwave containment housing (2) extent over at least a portion of a belt conveyor (20, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize in Welch/Hakamata/JPH0437634A/WO2016/179317 the at least one microwave containment extent over at least a portion of a belt conveyor as taught by DE 20018925U1 in order to transfer the heating object through the cavity within the housing.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 9-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 April 29, 2026