RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S AMENDMENT
1. Applicants amendment filed on 06/03/26 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 1,2,5, 6, 7, 10, 21-25,57-66,71-76,78-80, 82,88,90,91 are pending.
3. Claims 6,7,10 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 1,2,5,21-25,57-66,71-76,78-80,82,89,90 and 91 read on a method of treating cervical cancer in a subject are under consideration in the instant application.
The following new ground of rejection is necessitated by the amendment filed on 06/03/26.
5. Claims 1,2,5,21-25,57-66, 71-76,78-80,82,89,90 and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 20210177987 in view of newly cited Seattle Genetics highlights ( BioForest, 2017, September 8)
US Patent ‘987 teaches a method of treating cervical cancer, in a subject comprising administering to the subject tisotumab vedotin. US Patent ‘987 teaches that tisotumab vedotin is administered at the dose of 1.2 mg/kg to 2.2 mg/kg. US Patent ‘987 teaches that each cycle of administering is once in 3 weeks. US Patent ‘987 teaches that subject might be previously treated with bevacizumab and or paclitaxel. US Patent ‘987 teaches that the subject might have ECOG score of 0 or 1. US Patent ‘987 teaches that objective response rate is between 10 to about 40 % and that the duration of response is at least 1 to 10 months . US Patent ‘987 teaches that cervical cancer can be adenocarcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma or metastatic cervical cancer.
US Patent ‘987 teaches that the subject has been previously treated with an agent that is not antibody-drug conjugate, such as paclitaxel. US Patent ‘987 teaches that a subject has receive at least one prior line of systemic therapy. US Patent ‘987 teaches that the subject has a TF H-score of at least 1. US Patent’987 teaches that the subject has one or more adverse events including conjunctivitis and/or keratitis( see entire document, abstract and paragraphs 0006, 009, 0015, 0019, 0026, 0032, 0082,0083 0173, 0176, 0284 in particular)
US Patent ‘987 does not explicitly teaches treating cervical cancer in a subject that is less than 65 years old.
Newly cited Seattle Genetics highlights teaches a preliminary clinical data for the use of tisotumab vedotin in a patient suffering from cervical cancer, wherein the patient has been previously treated with bevacizumab. Seattle Genetics highlights teaches that clinical trail involved 34 patient of various age group and gender. ( see entire document).
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify an optimal age group of the patient to be treated according teaching of US Patent ‘987 to with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests the promising clinical data for the use of tisotumab vedotin in a patient suffering from cervical cancer within various age group.
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 part II A.
It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious).
From the teachings of the references, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
7. Claims 1,2,5,21-25,57-66, 71-76,78-80,82,89,90 and 91 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,841, claims 1-36 of US Patent 12453,781, claims 1-25 of US Patent 12,246025 each in view of newly cited Seattle Genetics highlights ( BioForest, 2017, September 8)
Claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,841, claims 1-36 of US Patent 12,453,378, claims 1-25 of US Patent 12,246025 each recite a method of treating a cervical cancer in a subject comprising administering to the subject tisotumab vedotin and wherein the subject has been previously treated with bevacizumab.
Newly cited Seattle Genetics highlights teaches a preliminary clinical data for the use of tisotumab vedotin in a patient suffering from cervical cancer, wherein the patient has been previously treated with bevacizumab. Seattle Genetics highlights teaches that clinical trail involved 34 patient of various age group and gender. ( see entire document).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify an optimal age group of the patient to be treated according method recited in Claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,841, claims 1-36 of US Patent 12,453,378, claims 1-25 of US Patent 12,246025 with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art teaches the promising clinical data for the use of tisotumab vedotin in a patient suffering from cervical cancer within various age group.
8. The claims 1,2,5,21-25,57-66, 71-76,78-80,82,89,90 and 91 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application Nos 17/775279; 17/771784; 16/760373; 18/451780; 17/053346; 18/798557; 18/863144 each in view of Seattle Genetics highlights ( BioForest, 2017, September 8)
Claims of copending Application Nos 17/775279; 17/771784; 16/760373; 18/451780; 17/053346; 18/798557; 18/863144 each recited a method of treating a cervical cancer in a subject comprising administering to the subject tisotumab vedotin and wherein the subject has been previously treated with bevacizumab.
Newly cited Seattle Genetics highlights teaches a preliminary clinical data for the use of tisotumab vedotin in a patient suffering from cervical cancer, wherein the patient has been previously treated with bevacizumab. Seattle Genetics highlights teaches that clinical trail involved 34 patient of various age group and gender. ( see entire document).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify an optimal age group of the patient to be treated according method recited in Claims of copending Application Nos 17/775279; 17/771784; 16/760373; 18/451780; 17/053346; 18/798557; 18/863144with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art teaches the promising clinical data for the use of tisotumab vedotin in a patient suffering from cervical cancer within various age group.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
9. No claim is allowed.
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609(B)(2)(i). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Gregory Emch can be reached on 571/ 272-8149
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644