DETAILED ACTION
2. Please note that the examiner for this application has changed. Please address future correspondence to Robert T. Crow (Art Unit 1683) whose telephone number is (571) 272-1113.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 26 February 2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 26 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 February 2026.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12-15, 17-22, 24, and 29 are under prosecution.
Notice to Comply with Requirements for Patent Applications Containing Nucleotide Sequence And/Or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosure.
4. This application contains sequence disclosures that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 through 1.825 for the reason(s) set forth below.
Specifically, the application fails to comply with CFR 1.821(d), which states:
(d) Where the description or claims of a patent application discuss a sequence that is set forth in the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with paragraph (c) of this section, reference must be made to the sequence by use of the sequence identifier, preceded by “SEQ ID NO:” in the text of the description or claims, even if the sequence is also embedded in the text of the description or claims of the patent application.
5. At least page 70 of the Specification discloses a nucleotide sequence that is not identified by a SEQ ID NO.
6. For compliance with sequence rules, it is necessary to include the sequence in the “Sequence Listing” and identify them with SEQ ID NO. In general, any sequence that is disclosed and/or claimed as a string of particular bases or amino acids, and that otherwise meets the criteria of CFR 1.821(a), must be set forth in the “Sequence Listing.” See MPEP 2422.03.
7. While the Examiner has made every attempt to check the Specification for sequence compliance, Applicant is required to carefully check the entire Specification for any and all issues regarding sequence compliance.
8. For the response to this Office Action to be complete, Applicant is REQUIRED to comply with the Requirements for Patent Applications Containing Nucleotide Sequence And/Or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures. Failure to comply with the Requirements will be considered nonresponsive.
Information Disclosure Statement
9. The Information Disclosure Statements filed 14 February 2023 and 26 February 2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
It is noted that the listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
10. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
11. The use of trade names or marks used in commerce (including but not necessarily limited to PyroPhage, Lucigen, and Bioron), has been noted in this application. Any trade names or marks should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
14. While this application includes one or more claim limitations that invokes U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the limitation discussed below is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Despite the lack of the word “means,” the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The claim limitation is “a blocking moiety to prevent…” in claim 24.
Because this claim limitation is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is broadly interpreted as encompassing any structure capable of performing the claimed function, including but not limited to any structures described in the instant specification.
15. If Applicant does intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant may present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
16. It is also noted that while claim 1 recites a “stalling moiety,” claims 19 and 22 each recite “stalling units,” which are interpreted as the same as a stalling “moiety.”
17. It is further noted that claim 12 recited “an adaptor,” which is not necessarily the same as the recited “an adaptor” or clam 13 or the recited “a hairpin adaptor” of claims 14 or 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
19. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12-15, 17-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the Applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 1 (upon which claims 2-5, 7, 9-10, 12-15, 17-22, and 24 depend) is indefinite in each of the following:
I. The recitation “the first opening of a transmembrane nanopore having a first opening” because the first recitation of the “first opening” lacks antecedent basis and because the limitation appears to be a circular definition of itself.
II. The recitation “the nanopore,” which lacks antecedent basis in the previous recitation of “a transmembrane nanopore.” This imitation is also resent in each of claims 2-4, 9 and 22. It is suggested that Applicant use consistent language when claiming the nanopore, in particular so that apparently redundant language, such as “the nanopore spans a membrane,” as found in claims 2 and 3, is avoided.
B. Claims 4, 19, 22 are each indefinite in the recitation “preferably,” as it is unclear if the “preferable” limitation is actually required by the claims.
For the purposes of examination, any limitation listed prefaced with “preferably” is interpreted as a possible, but not required, limitation.
C. Claims 19 and 22 are indefinite in each of the following:
I. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
II. The two recitations of “and/or” in the list of fluorophores, as the use of multiple recitation of “and/or” renders the claim unclear as to what the alternative groups are.
D. Claim 21 is indefinite in the recitation “stepping the applied force one or more times between the destalling force and the read force.” Claim 20, upon which claim 21, requires applying a destalling force; thus, the applied force is the destalling force, and it is unclear how it can be applied between itself and the read force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
22. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10,12-13, 17-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heron et al. (U.S. Patent application Publication No. US 2016/0010147 A1, published 14 January 2016).
Regarding claim 1, Heron et al. teach a method of characterizing a target polynucleotide (Abstract) comprising providing a transmembrane nanopore (paragraph 0005) having a first opening and a second opening (i.e., on cis and trans sides of a chamber; paragraph 0082), contacting the nanopore with a motor protein, in the form of a stalled helicase, and a polynucleotide (paragraph 0005). Heron et al. further teach the helicase is stalled on a stalling moiety (e.g., an adaptor; paragraph 0089), as well as taking one or measurements as the motor protein moves the target polynucleotide through the openings of the nanopore, thereby characterizing the target polynucleotide (paragraphs 0008-0009).
With respect to the limitations “thereby destalling the motor protein,” it is noted that the subject matter of a properly construed claim is defined by the terms that limit its scope. It is this subject matter that must be examined. As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. “Thereby” clauses are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. See MPEP 2103 I.C. and MPEP § 2111.04.
It is also noted that a “thereby” clause, such as that in claim 1, must give “meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps.” See MPEP § 2111.04.
It is also noted that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930); Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959)). See MPEP §2144.04 IV C. Thus, any order of contacting the target polynucleotide, the stalled motor protein, and/or the transmembrane nanopore is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
MPEP 716.01(c) makes clear that “[t]he arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record” (In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965)). Thus, counsel’s mere arguments cannot take the place of evidence in the record.
Regarding claims 2-3, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the nanopore spans a membrane (paragraph 0224), and that the motor protein (i.e. helicase) threads the target polynucleotide to either the cis from the trans side (i.e., claim 2) or vice versa (i.e., claim 3; paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the motor protein (i.e., helicase) works against the direction of an applied force (i.e., potential; (paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the motor protein is a Dda helicase (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach an adaptor, which is part of a spacer (paragraph 0011), which is attached to an end of the target polynucleotide (paragraph 0244).
Regarding claims 9-10, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the target polynucleotide is single stranded and has a leader sequence, in the form of an adaptor (paragraph 0011), wherein the adaptor is at the end of the target polynucleotide (paragraph 0244). Heron et al. also teach the motor protein is stalled on an adaptor attached to the second end (paragraph 0011), as well as a leader sequence at an end of the polynucleotide (paragraph 0113), which is captured by the nanopore (paragraph 0087).
Regarding claims 12-13, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the target polynucleotide comprises a double stranded portion, and thus has first and second strands hybridized to each other (paragraph 0114), and that the target polynucleotide has a leader sequence, in the form of an adaptor (paragraph 0011). The adaptor is at the end of the target polynucleotide (paragraph 0244). Heron et al. also teach the motor protein is stalled on the adaptor attached to the second end (paragraph 0011).
Regarding claims 17-18, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the target polynucleotide comprises a double stranded portion, and thus has an oligonucleotide hybridized thereto, and a leader sequence on a single stranded portion (paragraph 0114), wherein the leader is a poly dT sequence (paragraph 0106), which is complementary to the polyA tag of an mRNA. It is noted that the claim does not require any binding of the tag to any complementary sequence.
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the motor protein (i.e., helicase) is stalled on a spacer (paragraph 0005), wherein the spacer comprises a hairpin (paragraph 0120).
Regarding claims 20-21, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach applying a destalling force (i.e., a potential) to allow the polynucleotide to pass through the nanopore (paragraph 0080).
With respect to the relative force of the read force and the destalling force, it is noted that the courts have found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Thus, the claimed lower destalling force/higher read force merely represents routine optimization of the oread conditions and destalling conditions.
Applicant is again cautioned to not merely rely upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record.
Regarding claim 22, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach the target polynucleotide comprises multiple spacers, each of which has a blocking group (i.e., blocking molecule; paragraph 0239), and that the blocking molecules stall the helicase (paragraph 0129). Thus, a blocking molecule is a pausing moiety.
With respect to the limitations “wherein the motor protein is stalled,” wherein contacting…retards the movement…,” and “thereby causing the protein motor to destall,” it is noted that the subject matter of a properly construed claim is defined by the terms that limit its scope. It is this subject matter that must be examined. As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. “Thereby” clauses are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim.
It is also reiterated that a “thereby” clause, such as that in claim 22, must give “meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps.”
Regarding claim 24, the method of claim 1 is discussed above. Heron et al. teach a blocking moiety; i.e., the end of the polynucleotide is capture by the pore (paragraph 0082). Thus, because the target is captured by the pore, the target polynucleotide is prevented from disengaging from the helicase (i.e., motor protein).
23. Claims 14-15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heron et al. (U.S. Patent application Publication No. US 2016/0010147 A1, published 14 January 2016) as applied to claims 1 and 12, and further in combination with Davis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0244340 A1, published 19 September 2013).
It is noted that while claims 20-21 have been rejected as described above, the claims are also obvious using the interpretation outlined below.
Regarding claims 14-15 and 20-21, the methods of claims 1 and 12 are discussed above in Section 22.
Heron et al. also teach the methods have the added advantage of controlling the movement of polynucleotides (paragraph 0005). Thus, Heron et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
While Heron et al. teach the use of hairpins to link two strands (paragraph 0108), Heron et al. do not teach the motor protein (i.e., helicase) is stalled on the hairpin (i.e., claims 14-15).
However, Davis et al. teach methods of nanopore sequencing of target polynucleotides (Abstract), wherein hairpins are used to stall the progression of the polynucleotide through the nanopore, and that the motor protein is on the nanopore (Figure 11 and paragraph 0155); thus, the motor protein is stalled at the hairpin (i.e., claims 14-15), which has the added advantage of allowing a set of electrical signals from the polynucleotide to be obtained (paragraph 0155). Davis et al. also teach reversing the current across the nanopore using a voltage opposite that of the tag detection (i.e., the read force of claims 20-21; paragraph 0092). Davis et al. further teach reversing the direction of the target polynucleotide when it becomes stalled (i.e., trapped) has the added advantage of allowing resequencing of the molecule (paragraph 0150). Thus, Davis et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Heron et al. and Davis et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed methods with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the combination because said combination would have resulted in methods having the added advantages of:
Controlling the movement of polynucleotides as explicitly taught by Heron et al. (paragraph 0005);
Allowing a set of electrical signals from the polynucleotide to be obtained as explicitly taught by Davis et al. (paragraph 0155); and
Allowing resequencing of the molecule as explicitly taught by Davis et al. (paragraph 0150).
In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of the cited prior art could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques of the cited prior art predictably result in techniques useful for sequencing polynucleotides.
24. Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0244340 A1, published 19 September 2013).
Regarding claim 29, Davis et al. teach methods of characterizing a target polynucleotide, comprising contacting a first known speed bump with a target polynucleotide, taking one or more measurements characterizing of the target polynucleotide (i.e., electrical signals) as it passes through a nanopore, unbinding (i.e., removing) the speed bump from the target polynucleotide and reversing the flow of the polynucleotide through the nanopore, and repeating these steps (paragraph 0244).
Davis et al. also teach the speed bump is a stopper (paragraph 0061), which is an enzyme that binds the target polynucleotide at a hybridization site, and that the enzyme is a motor protein because it moves the target polynucleotide through the nanopore (paragraph 0353).
Thus, Davis et al. teach all of the claimed limitations.
Double Patenting
26. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 17-22, and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 51-70 of copending Application No. 18/010,825 in view of Heron et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0010147 A1, published 14 January 2016).
Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of characterizing polynucleotides comprising stalling the polynucleotide on a motor protein with a stalling moiety (i.e., adapter), single and double stranded polynucleotides, taking measurements, destalling, hairpins, etc. Any additional limitations of the ‘825 claims are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in the instant claims.
The ’825 claims do not explicitly discuss the openings of a transmembrane nanopore.
However, Heron et al. teach this limitation, as well as the other limitations and the rationale for combining as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
27. Claims 14-15 and 20-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 51-70 of copending Application No. 18/010,825 in view of Heron et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0010147 A1, published 14 January 2016). as applied to claims 1 and 12, and further in combination with Davis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0244340 A1, published 19 September 2013) based on the citations and rationale provided above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
28. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 17-22, and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-12, 34, and 49-56 of copending Application No. 18/065,735 in view of Heron et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0010147 A1, published 14 January 2016).
Both sets of claims are drawn to methods of characterizing polynucleotides comprising stalling the polynucleotide on a motor protein with a stalling moiety (i.e., adapter), single and double stranded polynucleotides, taking measurements, hairpins, etc. Any additional limitations of the ‘735 claims are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in the instant claims.
The ’735 claims do not explicitly discuss the openings of a transmembrane nanopore or destalling.
However, Heron et al. teach these limitations, as well as the other limitations and the rationale for combining as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
29. Claims 14-15 and 20-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-12, 34, and 49-56 of copending Application No. 18/065,735 in view of Heron et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0010147 A1, published 14 January 2016). as applied to claims 1 and 12, and further in combination with Davis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0244340 A1, published 19 September 2013) based on the citations and rationale provided above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
30. Claim 29 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 11-14, 16-17, and 31-34 of copending Application No. 18/722,827.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to methods of characterizing polynucleotides comprising contacting a detector, bound motor proteins, unbinding and rebinding, etc. Any additional limitations of the ‘827 claims are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
31. No claim is allowed.
Robert T. Crow
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/Robert T. Crow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683