The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al. US 2017/0275886 in view of Zuckerbrod US 5,457,837.
Ueno et al. discloses a wheelchair ramp (1) comprising:
A traffic member (2), A reinforcing part (6) comprising a plurality of hollow tubes (6a-g).
A pair of inclined end members (3, 4) fitted to an end of the traffic member. [0048-59].
A support part (14) to support the end of the reinforcing part from below. Figs. 1-5, 10
What Ueno et al. do not disclose is an insertion part. However, Zuckerbrod teaches it is known to provide ramp members (10a, b) with insertion members (50, 52) and receiving
ports (54, 56) at opposing ends of said ramp sections (16, 18) such that a series of ramp sections can be assembled. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ramp sections of Ueno et al. with connection members as taught by Zuckerbrod
in order to prevent separation and failure of the ramp assembly.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al. US 2017/0275886 in view of Zuckerbrod US 5,457,837 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sandberg US 2009/0229060. Ueno et al. in view of
Zuckerbrod do not disclose the use of fiber reinforced plastic or resin. However, Sandberg teaches an E-Z modular ramp system made of 3/8” thick FRP and wood, vinyl or steel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the ramp assembly of Ueno et al. in view of Zuckerbrod from FRP and vinyl resin, as taught by Sandberg in order to minimize weight and improve handling.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR)
system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 12/5/2025