DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajihara et al. (US 2018/0170795) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2017/0283304).
Regarding claim 1, Kajihara discloses a glass that includes, in mass percentage on an oxide basis, 50 to 85% SiO2, more than 0% to 14% or less Al2O3, 0 to 10% B2O3, 2% or less Li2O, 1 to 20% Na2O, 20% or less K2O, 5 to 90 ppm Fe2O3, more than 0 to less to 0.8 ppm or less Ni, 0.1 or more to 1.0 ppm or less Cr and 1000 ppm or less TiO2, see abstract and [0056, 0081, 0084, 0093, 0095 & 0107]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
The reference fails to disclose the claimed amount of Al2O3.
Yamazaki discloses a glass sheet that includes Al2O3 as a component effective to improve ion exchange performance and chipping resistance or a component that increases the surface compressive stress, and is an essential component [0028]. With the content of Al2O3 which is equal to or more than 12%, a desired surface compressive stress value or compressive stress layer thickness is obtained by ion exchange [0028]. With the content of Al2O3 which is equal to or less than 20%, it is possible to prevent an increase of the viscosity of the glass and to perform uniform melting, or it is possible to avoid degradation of the acid resistance [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the glass composition of Kajihara to include the amount of Al2O3 in order to improve ion exchange and chipping resistance while preventing the increase in viscosity and avoiding degradation.
Regarding claims 2-4, Kajihara discloses a glass that includes, in mass percentage on an oxide basis, 50 to 85% SiO2, more than 0% to 14% or less Al2O3, 0 to 10% B2O3, 2% or less Li2O, 1 to 20% Na2O, 20% or less K2O, 0 to 15% or less ZrO2, 5 to 90 ppm Fe2O3, more than 0 to less to 0.8 ppm or less Ni, 0.1 or more to 1.0 ppm or less Cr and 1000 ppm or less TiO2, see abstract and [0056, 0081, 0084, 0093, 0095, 0107 & 0127]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges. Note that the disclosed composition does not include P2O5, see entire document.
The reference fails to disclose the claimed amount of Al2O3.
Yamazaki discloses a glass sheet that includes Al2O3 as a component effective to improve ion exchange performance and chipping resistance or a component that increases the surface compressive stress, and is an essential component [0028]. With the content of Al2O3 which is equal to or more than 12%, a desired surface compressive stress value or compressive stress layer thickness is obtained by ion exchange [0028]. With the content of Al2O3 which is equal to or less than 20%, it is possible to prevent an increase of the viscosity of the glass and to perform uniform melting, or it is possible to avoid degradation of the acid resistance [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the glass composition of Kajihara to include the amount of Al2O3 in order to improve ion exchange and chipping resistance while preventing the increase in viscosity and avoiding degradation.
Regarding claim 5, Kajihara discloses the glass contains 1% or less SnO2, which overlaps the claimed range [0130]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 6, the reference fails to disclose the composition as include from 0.001% to 0.3% Cl.
Yamazaki discloses a chloride, a fluoride, or the like may be suitably contained as a refining agent for glass melting [0040]. In the case of containing such components, the total content of the components is typically less than 1% [0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the glass of Kajihara to include 1% or less of Cl in order to provide a suitable refining agent; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 7, Kajihara discloses the glass includes preferably more than 0 and 0.5% or less SO3, which overlaps the claimed range [0133]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 8, the reference discloses the glass has a sheet shape [0001].
Regarding claims 9-11, while the references do not specially disclose the claimed external transmittance values and the claimed chromaticity, given the glass of Kajihara in view of Yamazaki renders obvious the claimed glass in terms of composition, the reference is considered to render obvious a glass with the claimed properties, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 12, Kajihara discloses the glass as a cover glass [0002].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajihara et al. (US 2018/0170795) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2017/0283304) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niida et al. (US 2009/0088309).
Kajihara in view of Yamazaki discloses the glass composition of claim 1, see above discussion. The references, however, fail to disclose the composition as include from 0.001% to 0.3% Cl.
Niida discloses a glass composition that include Cl as a suitable refining agent [0063]. Additionally, the reference discloses that Cl may cause striae in glass articles and may make it difficult to adjust the refractive index [0063]. As such the content of Cl needs to be 1% or less [0063].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the glass of Kajihara to include 1% or less of Cl in order to provide a suitable refining agent without causing striae and without making it difficult to adjust the refractive index; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot in view of a new combination of prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783