DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10- 12, 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeiler et al (USPUB 2008/0036420).
As to Claim 1, Zeiler discloses a battery charger comprising: a housing comprising a base; battery charging electronics disposed within the housing (Figure 1); a first magnet disposed adjacent to the base on an internal side of the base; and a second magnet disposed adjacent to the base on the internal side of the base; wherein magnetic fields of the first magnet and the second magnet extend from the housing and away from the base to magnetically attract the base of the housing to a ferromagnetic surface to magnetically secure the battery charger to the ferromagnetic surface (Paragraph 171-172).
As to Claim 2, Zeiler discloses the battery charger of claim 1 further comprising a first foot affixed to an external side of the base and a second foot affixed to an external side of the base; wherein the first foot and the second foot define a plane that passes between and is equidistant from the first foot and the second foot; wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are disposed at positions that intersect with the plane (Figure 57, Paragraphs 171-172).
As to Claim 4, Zeiler discloses the battery charger of claim 1, wherein the base comprises a first protrusion having a first internal cavity and a second protrusion having a second internal cavity (Figure 12, Elements 90); wherein the first magnet is disposed within the first cavity and the second magnet is disposed in the second cavity (Paragraph 172).
As to Claim 8, Zeiler discloses the battery charger of claim 4 further comprising a power cord configured to deliver power to the battery charging electronics; wherein a thickness of the power cord is less than a height of the first protrusion and the second protrusion (Figure 7, Element 76)
As to Claim 10, Zeiler discloses the battery charger of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises a battery engagement side configured to engage with a rechargeable battery, the battery engagement side being dispose opposite the base of the housing (Figure 1).
As to Claim 11, Zeiler discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing comprising a base and a cavity configured to receive a portion of a rechargeable battery that extends into the cavity; battery charging electronics disposed within the housing, the battery charging electronics comprising a first contact and a second contact disposed within the cavity and configured to electrically connect with corresponding contacts of the rechargeable battery (Figure 1); a first magnet disposed adjacent to the base on an internal side of the base; and a second magnet disposed adjacent to the base on the internal side of the base; wherein magnetic fields of the first magnet and the second magnet extend from the housing and away from the base to magnetically attract the base to a ferromagnetic surface to magnetically secure the apparatus to the ferromagnetic surface (Paragraphs 171-172).
As to Claim 12, Zeiler discloses the apparatus of claim 11 further comprising a first foot affixed to an external side of the base and a second foot affixed to an external side of the base; wherein the first foot and the second foot define a plane that passes between and is equidistant from the first foot and the second foot; wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are disposed at positions that intersect with the plane (Figure 57 and Paragraphs 171-172).
As to Claim 14, Zeiler discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the base comprises a first protrusion having a first internal cavity and a second protrusion having a second internal cavity (Figure 12, Element 90); wherein the first magnet is disposed within the first cavity and the second magnet is disposed in the second cavity (Paragraph 172).
As to Claim 18, Zeiler discloses the apparatus of claim 14 further comprising a power cord configured to deliver power to the battery charging electronics; wherein a thickness of the power cord is less than a height of the first protrusion and the second protrusion (Figure 7, Element 76).
As to Claim 20, Zeiler discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the cavity in the housing is disposed opposite the base of the housing (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiler et al. in view of Clouser (USPUB 2015/0330437).
As to Claim 3, Zeiler discloses the battery charger of claim 2, but does not expressly disclose wherein the base further comprises a key hole cavity configured to receive a screw head to hang the battery charger; wherein the key hole cavity is disposed at a position that intersects with the plane. Clouser discloses a key hole cavity configured to receive a screw head to hang the battery charger; wherein the key hole cavity is disposed at a position that intersects with the plane (Paragraph 90). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Clouser’s key hole cavity and add it to the battery charger base of Zeiler in order to allow for the charger to be mounted using a key hole cavity.
As to Claim 13. Zeiler discloses the apparatus of claim 12, but does not expressly disclose wherein the base further comprises a key hole cavity configured to receive a screw head to hang the apparatus; wherein the key hole cavity is disposed at a position that intersects with the plane. Clouser discloses a key hole cavity configured to receive a screw head to hang the battery charger; wherein the key hole cavity is disposed at a position that intersects with the plane (Paragraph 90). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Clouser’s key hole cavity and add it to the battery charger base of Zeiler in order to allow for the charger to be mounted using a key hole cavity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 9, 15-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859