Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the amendments filed on 22 Jun 2026.
Status
Claims 1-7 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 8-18 remain withdrawn.
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 18/010,913, filed 16 Dec 2022, as a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application #: PCT/US2021/038051, filed 18 Jun 2021, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application #: 63/041,452, filed 19 Jun 2020.
Response to Applicant Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the remarks filed 22 Jun 2026.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over WO 2017/044844 (provided in the office action mailed 03 Mar 2026), hereinafter ‘844, further in view of Elder et al. (J Pharm Sci, 2010, 99:2948-2961; provided in the office action mailed 03 Mar 2026), hereinafter Elder, and Haque et al. (Pharm Chem J, 2017, 50:837-850; provided in the office action mailed 03 Mar 2026), hereinafter Haque, applicant arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pgs. 6-7 of the remarks that Compound I (below) provides unexpected results of superior inhibition of ERG and RIOK2 protein levels in ERG positive prostate cancer cells according to data provided in Example 3 of the specification.
Table 2 (Specification, paragraph [0114]) shows that the mesylate salt of Compound I (listed as Compound 2 in Table 2) has a lower inhibition at 0.17 µM versus 0.23 µM for the free base of Compound I.
This is not persuasive. The lower inhibition of the mesylate salt is not significantly lower or higher as to be unexpected as variation in pharmacodynamic parameters would be expected in salt formation.
Applicant argues on pg. 7 of the remarks that the mesylate salt of Compound I exhibits unexpected results and has superior cytotoxicity against VCaP cells and inhibition of RIOK2 protein compared to other salts.
This is not persuasive. The lower inhibition of the mesylate salt is not significantly lower or higher as to be unexpected as variation in pharmacodynamic parameters would be expected in salt formation.
Applicant argues on pg. 7 of the remarks that the reference of Eldhose et al. (2021) supports the unexpected technical effect of methanesulfonic acid salt.
This Is not persuasive. No reference of Eldhose et al. (2021) has been provided in an IDS and so the reference has not been considered.
In light of the discussion above, the rejection of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as obvious over ‘844, Elder, and Haque is maintained for the reasons of record and restated below.
Regarding the obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 1-7 over U.S. Patent No. 11,648,239, Elder, and Haque, and claims 1-7 over U.S. Patent No. 10,238,639, Elder, and Haque, applicant arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 8 of the remarks that the unexpected results of the mesylate salt of Compound I (see above) is enough to overcome the double-patenting rejections over U.S. Patent No. 11,648,239 and U.S. Patent No. 10,238,639.
This is not persuasive for the reasons stated above. The rejection is maintained and restated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/044844, hereinafter ‘844, further in view of Elder et al. (J Pharm Sci, 2010, 99:2948-2961), hereinafter Elder, and Haque et al. (Pharm Chem J, 2017, 50:837-850), hereinafter Haque.
The instant claims are drawn to a composition containing a methanesulfonic acid salt of Compound 1 (below) where at least 97% of Compound 1 is the mesylate salt (claim 1) and further include limitations that include a pharmaceutically excipient in the composition (claim 4).
The claims limit the purity of Compound 1 to 98% and 99% mesylate salt (claims 2-3 and 5-6) and also limit the amount of solvent in the composition (claim 7).
‘844 teaches Compound 6 which has the same structure as instant Compound 1 (paragraph [0044]; Figure 1A; Claim 13):
‘844 teaches Compound 6 inhibits both the ERG protein with an IC50 of 0.2727 µM and metastatic prostate cancer cell growth with an IC50 of 0.0739 µM (paragraphs [00155]-[00158]; Figs. 20 and 23). ‘844 also teaches a method of treating a disease by administering Compound 6 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of Compound 6 (claims 1, 9, and 13). ‘844 teaches that pharmaceutically acceptable salts include mesylate (paragraph [0098]). ‘844 teaches mixing the compounds of the reference with excipients to create a pharmaceutically acceptable aqueous suspension (paragraph [00142]). However, ‘844 does not teach a composition made up of Compound 1 where at least 97% of Compound 1 is a mesylate salt.
Elder teaches that about half of all active pharmaceutical substances (APIs) ultimately progressed as pharmaceutically acceptable salts and that salt formation is an integral part of the development process (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder teaches that salt formation with pharmaceutically acceptable counter-ions is an extremely useful approach for the optimization or modification of the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of ionizable drug substances (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder further teaches that pharmaceutical salts can form hydrates during secondary processing which can be a problem, but that mesylates appear to have a much lower propensity to form hydrates which makes them an attractive salt form for secondary processing (pg. 2952, column 1). Elder teaches that the melting point of an API can be increased when making a sulfonic acid salt which increases stability of the API and leads to other processing advantages (pg. 2954, column 2). Elder concludes by teaching that sulfonate salts should not be discounted during the initial salt assessment simply due to perceived issues of safety and can be a vital appointment component of a balanced and thorough salt and form optimization process.
Haque teaches that the presence of impurities in APIs can have a significant impact on the quality and safety of drug products (pg. 838, column 2). Haque further teaches that the threshold for reporting impurities depending on the maximum dose, where a maximum dosage of ≤1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.1% and a maximum dosage of >1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.05% (pg. 839, Table 3). Haque further teaches that the solvents used in the synthesis of APIs are likely to contain a number of impurities.
Based on the teachings of ‘844, Elder, and Haque, a person of skill in the art would start with Compound 6, taught in ‘844, and test a finite number of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, such as those taught in ‘844, to optimize the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of Compound 6, as taught by Elder. The artisan would further be motivated to include sulfonate salts in the salt screening, and more specifically include methanesulfonic acid (mesylate), because mesylates have superior qualities over other salts such as reduced hydrate formation, greater stability, and processing advantages, as taught by Elder.
The artisan would further be motivated to keep impurities of the mesylate salt formed from Compound 6 below the thresholds of 0.1% to reduce the reporting of impurities to the required agencies, making a compound that is a 99.9% mesylate salt of Compound 6, as taught by Haque. The artisan would recognize that solvents are potential sources of impurities and so ensure the mesylate salt of Compound 6 was substantially free of solvent, as taught by Haque.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,648,239, hereinafter ‘239.
‘239 teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the instant compound, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and an excipient. However, ‘239 does not teach a composition of the instant compound where at least 97% of the instant compound is a mesylate salt.
Elder teaches that about half of all active pharmaceutical substances (APIs) ultimately progressed as pharmaceutically acceptable salts and that salt formation is an integral part of the development process (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder teaches that salt formation with pharmaceutically acceptable counter-ions is an extremely useful approach for the optimization or modification of the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of ionizable drug substances (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder further teaches that pharmaceutical salts can form hydrates during secondary processing which can be a problem, but that mesylates appear to have a much lower propensity to form hydrates which makes them an attractive salt form for secondary processing (pg. 2952, column 1). Elder teaches that the melting point of an API can be increased when making a sulfonic acid salt which increases stability of the API and leads to other processing advantages (pg. 2954, column 2). Elder concludes by teaching that sulfonate salts should not be discounted during the initial salt assessment simply due to perceived issues of safety and can be a vital appointment component of a balanced and thorough salt and form optimization process.
Haque teaches that the presence of impurities in APIs can have a significant impact on the quality and safety of drug products (pg. 838, column 2). Haque further teaches that the threshold for reporting impurities depending on the maximum dose, where a maximum dosage of ≤1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.1% and a maximum dosage of >1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.05% (pg. 839, Table 3). Haque further teaches that the solvents used in the synthesis of APIs are likely to contain a number of impurities.
Based on the teachings of ‘239, Elder, and Haque, a person of skill in the art would start with the instant compound, taught in ‘239, and test a finite number of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, such as those taught in Elder, to optimize the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of the instant compound, as taught by Elder. The artisan would further be motivated to include sulfonate salts in the salt screening, and more specifically include methanesulfonic acid (mesylate), because mesylates have superior qualities over other salts such as reduced hydrate formation, greater stability, and processing advantages, as taught by Elder.
The artisan would further be motivated to keep impurities of the mesylate salt formed from the instant compound below the thresholds of 0.1% to reduce the reporting of impurities to the required agencies. The artisan would recognize that solvents are potential sources of impurities and so ensure the mesylate salt of the instant compound was substantially free of solvent.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,238,639, hereinafter ‘639.
‘639 claims a method of treating a disease by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising the instantly claimed Compound 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and an excipient (ref claim 1, 10, and 17). By teaching a method of administering the instant compound, ‘639 inherently shows possession of the instant compound. However, ‘639 does not teach a composition of the instant compound where at least 97% of the instant compound is a mesylate salt.
Elder teaches that about half of all active pharmaceutical substances (APIs) ultimately progressed as pharmaceutically acceptable salts and that salt formation is an integral part of the development process (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder teaches that salt formation with pharmaceutically acceptable counter-ions is an extremely useful approach for the optimization or modification of the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of ionizable drug substances (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder further teaches that pharmaceutical salts can form hydrates during secondary processing which can be a problem, but that mesylates appear to have a much lower propensity to form hydrates which makes them an attractive salt form for secondary processing (pg. 2952, column 1). Elder teaches that the melting point of an API can be increased when making a sulfonic acid salt which increases stability of the API and leads to other processing advantages (pg. 2954, column 2). Elder concludes by teaching that sulfonate salts should not be discounted during the initial salt assessment simply due to perceived issues of safety and can be a vital appointment component of a balanced and thorough salt and form optimization process.
Haque teaches that the presence of impurities in APIs can have a significant impact on the quality and safety of drug products (pg. 838, column 2). Haque further teaches that the threshold for reporting impurities depending on the maximum dose, where a maximum dosage of ≤1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.1% and a maximum dosage of >1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.05% (pg. 839, Table 3). Haque further teaches that the solvents used in the synthesis of APIs are likely to contain a number of impurities.
Based on the teachings of ‘639, Elder, and Haque, a person of skill in the art would start with the instant compound, taught in ‘639, and test a finite number of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, such as those taught in Elder, to optimize the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of the instant compound, as taught by Elder. The artisan would further be motivated to include sulfonate salts in the salt screening, and more specifically include methanesulfonic acid (mesylate), because mesylates have superior qualities over other salts such as reduced hydrate formation, greater stability, and processing advantages, as taught by Elder.
The artisan would further be motivated to keep impurities of the mesylate salt formed from the instant compound below the thresholds of 0.1% to reduce the reporting of impurities to the required agencies. The artisan would recognize that solvents are potential sources of impurities and so ensure the mesylate salt of the instant compound was substantially free of solvent.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625