Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the amendments filed on 12 Nov 2025.
Status
Claims 1-7 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 8-18 are withdrawn (see “Response to Applicant Election” below).
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 18/010,913, filed 16 Dec 2022, as a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application #: PCT/US2021/038051, filed 18 Jun 2021, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application #: 63/041,452, filed 19 Jun 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 16 Dec 2022 and 12 Nov 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 12 Nov 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 Nov 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/044844, hereinafter ‘844, further in view of Elder et al. (J Pharm Sci, 2010, 99:2948-2961), hereinafter Elder, and Haque et al. (Pharm Chem J, 2017, 50:837-850), hereinafter Haque.
The instant claims are drawn to a composition containing a methanesulfonic acid salt of Compound 1 (below) where at least 97% of Compound 1 is the mesylate salt (claim 1) and further include limitations that include a pharmaceutically excipient in the composition (claim 4).
The claims limit the purity of Compound 1 to 98% and 99% mesylate salt (claims 2-3 and 5-6) and also limit the amount of solvent in the composition (claim 7).
‘844 teaches Compound 6 which has the same structure as instant Compound 1 (paragraph [0044]; Figure 1A; Claim 13):
‘844 teaches Compound 6 inhibits both the ERG protein with an IC50 of 0.2727 µM and metastatic prostate cancer cell growth with an IC50 of 0.0739 µM (paragraphs [00155]-[00158]; Figs. 20 and 23). ‘844 also teaches a method of treating a disease by administering Compound 6 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of Compound 6 (claims 1, 9, and 13). ‘844 teaches that pharmaceutically acceptable salts include mesylate (paragraph [0098]). ‘844 teaches mixing the compounds of the reference with excipients to create a pharmaceutically acceptable aqueous suspension (paragraph [00142]). However, ‘844 does not teach a composition made up of Compound 1 where at least 97% of Compound 1 is a mesylate salt.
Elder teaches that about half of all active pharmaceutical substances (APIs) ultimately progressed as pharmaceutically acceptable salts and that salt formation is an integral part of the development process (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder teaches that salt formation with pharmaceutically acceptable counter-ions is an extremely useful approach for the optimization or modification of the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of ionizable drug substances (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder further teaches that pharmaceutical salts can form hydrates during secondary processing which can be a problem, but that mesylates appear to have a much lower propensity to form hydrates which makes them an attractive salt form for secondary processing (pg. 2952, column 1). Elder teaches that the melting point of an API can be increased when making a sulfonic acid salt which increases stability of the API and leads to other processing advantages (pg. 2954, column 2). Elder concludes by teaching that sulfonate salts should not be discounted during the initial salt assessment simply due to perceived issues of safety and can be a vital appointment component of a balanced and thorough salt and form optimization process.
Haque teaches that the presence of impurities in APIs can have a significant impact on the quality and safety of drug products (pg. 838, column 2). Haque further teaches that the threshold for reporting impurities depending on the maximum dose, where a maximum dosage of ≤1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.1% and a maximum dosage of >1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.05% (pg. 839, Table 3). Haque further teaches that the solvents used in the synthesis of APIs are likely to contain a number of impurities.
Based on the teachings of ‘844, Elder, and Haque, a person of skill in the art would start with Compound 6, taught in ‘844, and test a finite number of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, such as those taught in ‘844, to optimize the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of Compound 6, as taught by Elder. The artisan would further be motivated to include sulfonate salts in the salt screening, and more specifically include methanesulfonic acid (mesylate), because mesylates have superior qualities over other salts such as reduced hydrate formation, greater stability, and processing advantages, as taught by Elder.
The artisan would further be motivated to keep impurities of the mesylate salt formed from Compound 6 below the thresholds of 0.1% to reduce the reporting of impurities to the required agencies, making a compound that is a 99.9% mesylate salt of Compound 6, as taught by Haque. The artisan would recognize that solvents are potential sources of impurities and so ensure the mesylate salt of Compound 6 was substantially free of solvent, as taught by Haque.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,648,239, hereinafter ‘239.
‘239 teaches a pharmaceutical composition of the instant compound, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and an excipient. However, ‘239 does not teach a composition of the instant compound where at least 97% of the instant compound is a mesylate salt.
Elder teaches that about half of all active pharmaceutical substances (APIs) ultimately progressed as pharmaceutically acceptable salts and that salt formation is an integral part of the development process (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder teaches that salt formation with pharmaceutically acceptable counter-ions is an extremely useful approach for the optimization or modification of the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of ionizable drug substances (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder further teaches that pharmaceutical salts can form hydrates during secondary processing which can be a problem, but that mesylates appear to have a much lower propensity to form hydrates which makes them an attractive salt form for secondary processing (pg. 2952, column 1). Elder teaches that the melting point of an API can be increased when making a sulfonic acid salt which increases stability of the API and leads to other processing advantages (pg. 2954, column 2). Elder concludes by teaching that sulfonate salts should not be discounted during the initial salt assessment simply due to perceived issues of safety and can be a vital appointment component of a balanced and thorough salt and form optimization process.
Haque teaches that the presence of impurities in APIs can have a significant impact on the quality and safety of drug products (pg. 838, column 2). Haque further teaches that the threshold for reporting impurities depending on the maximum dose, where a maximum dosage of ≤1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.1% and a maximum dosage of >1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.05% (pg. 839, Table 3). Haque further teaches that the solvents used in the synthesis of APIs are likely to contain a number of impurities.
Based on the teachings of ‘239, Elder, and Haque, a person of skill in the art would start with the instant compound, taught in ‘239, and test a finite number of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, such as those taught in Elder, to optimize the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of the instant compound, as taught by Elder. The artisan would further be motivated to include sulfonate salts in the salt screening, and more specifically include methanesulfonic acid (mesylate), because mesylates have superior qualities over other salts such as reduced hydrate formation, greater stability, and processing advantages, as taught by Elder.
The artisan would further be motivated to keep impurities of the mesylate salt formed from the instant compound below the thresholds of 0.1% to reduce the reporting of impurities to the required agencies. The artisan would recognize that solvents are potential sources of impurities and so ensure the mesylate salt of the instant compound was substantially free of solvent.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,238,639, hereinafter ‘639.
‘639 claims a method of treating a disease by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising the instantly claimed Compound 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and an excipient (ref claim 1, 10, and 17). By teaching a method of administering the instant compound, ‘639 inherently shows possession of the instant compound. However, ‘639 does not teach a composition of the instant compound where at least 97% of the instant compound is a mesylate salt.
Elder teaches that about half of all active pharmaceutical substances (APIs) ultimately progressed as pharmaceutically acceptable salts and that salt formation is an integral part of the development process (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder teaches that salt formation with pharmaceutically acceptable counter-ions is an extremely useful approach for the optimization or modification of the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of ionizable drug substances (pg. 2949, column 2). Elder further teaches that pharmaceutical salts can form hydrates during secondary processing which can be a problem, but that mesylates appear to have a much lower propensity to form hydrates which makes them an attractive salt form for secondary processing (pg. 2952, column 1). Elder teaches that the melting point of an API can be increased when making a sulfonic acid salt which increases stability of the API and leads to other processing advantages (pg. 2954, column 2). Elder concludes by teaching that sulfonate salts should not be discounted during the initial salt assessment simply due to perceived issues of safety and can be a vital appointment component of a balanced and thorough salt and form optimization process.
Haque teaches that the presence of impurities in APIs can have a significant impact on the quality and safety of drug products (pg. 838, column 2). Haque further teaches that the threshold for reporting impurities depending on the maximum dose, where a maximum dosage of ≤1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.1% and a maximum dosage of >1 g/day requires reporting when impurities are at or above 0.05% (pg. 839, Table 3). Haque further teaches that the solvents used in the synthesis of APIs are likely to contain a number of impurities.
Based on the teachings of ‘639, Elder, and Haque, a person of skill in the art would start with the instant compound, taught in ‘639, and test a finite number of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, such as those taught in Elder, to optimize the physicochemical, processing, biopharmaceutical, or therapeutic properties of the instant compound, as taught by Elder. The artisan would further be motivated to include sulfonate salts in the salt screening, and more specifically include methanesulfonic acid (mesylate), because mesylates have superior qualities over other salts such as reduced hydrate formation, greater stability, and processing advantages, as taught by Elder.
The artisan would further be motivated to keep impurities of the mesylate salt formed from the instant compound below the thresholds of 0.1% to reduce the reporting of impurities to the required agencies. The artisan would recognize that solvents are potential sources of impurities and so ensure the mesylate salt of the instant compound was substantially free of solvent.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Berge et al. (J Pharm Sci, 1977, 66:1-19) is considered pertinent for teaching a finite list of pharmaceutically acceptable salts which includes mesylate. Mohamed et al. (J Urol, 2017, 197:e1171) is considered pertinent for teaches a derivative, ERGi-USU#6, of the compound ERGi-USU shows increased efficacy against the ERG protein. Xavier et al. (Cancer Res, 2018, 77:2797) is considered pertinent for teaching ERGi-USU-6 has improved efficacy in selectively inhibiting the growth of ERG positive cancer cells. Eldhose et al. (Cancer Res, 2020, 80:615), published after the EFD, is considered for pertinent for teaching salt forms of ERGi-USU-6 and that ERGi-USU-6 has the same structure as instant Compound 1.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625