DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umeno et al (US patent application publication 2019/0152442) in view of Kruse et al (US patent 9,862,358).
Regarding Independent Claim 1 - The publication to Umeno discloses the invention substantially as is claimed, at least to the extent understood. Umeno discloses a wiper (10, fig. 1) comprising a wiper arm (12) comprising a wiper arm holder (14), an extension arm (20), and a wiper arm end member (40) that extend together continuous (Fig. 2). The wiper arm is configured to swing back and forth in an outward and return swing direction (a, b, figs. 1, 3). A wiper blade (50) includes a blade holding portion (52) and blade rubber strip (60) supported thereby. The blade holding portion is held by the wiper arm end member (40). A first nozzle (90) is connected to the wiper arm end member and arranged on an outward swing side of the wiper blade (generally on direction a side, fig. 1). A first conduit (H1 with 101, fig. 2 (Paragraph [0124 and 0125]) for conveying a cleaning fluid under pressure to the first nozzle extends in a direction of the wiper arm; wherein the wiper arm end member (40) is provided with a first segment (arm fixing portion, 42; Fig. 6) for connection with the extension arm (20) and a second segment (arm coupling portion, 46; Fig. 6) for holding the wiper blade (50), wherein the wiper arm end member (40) has a first web (48a; Fig. 6) and a second web (48b; Fig. 6) that reflect downwards towards a windscreen relative to the second segment (46; Fig. 6). The first conduit (H1) being routed within the wiper arm end member and secured between the blade holding portion (Paragraph [0124]). The first nozzle, at least a portion thereof, is arranged between the wiper arm end member (40, 48) and the blade holding portion (52) as can be seen in figure 19. The first nozzle extends over the wiper blade via portion (102) to a first longitudinal side of the wiper blade (right side fig. 1). Figures 1 and 2 collectively show this extension of the portion (102) of the first nozzle (90) to the first longitudinal side as claimed. A second nozzle (70, fig. 1) is located along the first longitudinal side and is configured to spray separate fluid from conduit (H2).
The publication to Umeno discloses all of the above recited subject matter with the exception of explicitly setting forth the first and second nozzles as spraying separately respective of when the wiper arm swings in the outward swing direction and the return swing direction.
The publication to Kruse discloses a wiper (fig. 3) where first and second nozzles (18a, 20a) are provided on opposite first and second sides (38a, 40a) of wiper blade (16a). The nozzles are fed by conduits (30a, 32a) to separately spray fluid respect of the wiper arm swing direction (col. 3, lines 12-28 and col. 5, lines 26-43).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to spray separately to the first and second nozzles of Umeno respective of when the wiper arm swings in the outward and return directions if not already, as clearly suggested by Kruse, to enable efficient use of washer fluid.
With respect to claim 3, the first nozzle (90) is provided with a main body (92, fig. 14) that is equipped with a spout (96B), as well as a conduit joint (104), and a nozzle holding portion (92B) that protrudes from the main body.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, the wiper arm end member is provided with a stepwise first web (left web 48A fig. 13, and part of 48B, fig. 6) protruding towards the first longitudinal side. The first web is used to hold the nozzle holding portion (fig. 5).
With respect to claim 6, the other of webs (right web 48A fig. 13) is deemed a second web on the wiper arm end member. The webs are arranged side by side at a distance from each other. The conduit joint is located below the second web (generally demonstrated fig. 13).
With respect to claim 7, the wiper arm end member (40, fig. 7) is in a zigzag shape and is provided with a first segment (42) for connection with the extension arm (20), a second segment (46) for holding the wiper blade, and an intermediate segment (44) arranged therebetween such that the first and second segments are offset in a direction transverse to a longitudinal extension direction of the wiper arm. The first and second webs are arranged in the intermediate segment (fig. 7).
With respect to claim 8, the second segment (46) is in the form of a U-shaped hook (46A).
With respect to claim 9, the nozzle holding portion (92B) is in the form of a socket (fig. 14), which is inserted into the first web, at least as far as understood.
With respect to claim 10, the webs are deemed offset upward and downward as far as claimed. Such is shown in figure 6.
With respect to claim 11, the first longitudinal side is deemed an outward swing side (a, upper side of arm shown in fig. 3) in the same manner as applicants. As can be seen the wiper blade is arranged on such outward swing side. The end of the conduit (H1) extends to such outward swing side (fig. 2).
With respect to claim 12, the hook portion and the webs are deemed deflected as claimed. Note that the windscreen does not make up a part of the claimed wiper. Thus, deflected towards the windscreen does not appear to impart any particular structure to the wiper arm not disclosed by Umeno.
With respect to claim 13, setting forth deflection as corresponding to an inclination angle of the windscreen does not appear to distinguish from Umeno. As noted above, the windscreen is not part of the claimed wiper. Absent such, no particular deflection is defined. Further, the language of “corresponding” imparts no particular relationship between the deflection and inclination angle. As such, Umeno is deemed to meet the structure set forth.
With respect to claim 14, a holding arm (20D) for holding the conduit, at least indirectly, is integrally formed on the wiper arm end member.
With respect to claim 15, a second nozzle (ex. 98, fig. 1) is provided with a spout (opening) for spraying a cleaning fluid in different directions to a second longitudinal side (left side fig. 1) of the wiper blade.
With respect to claim 16, the first nozzle includes numerous spouts (96B, 98B, 100B) for spraying in different directions.
With respect to claim 17, the wiper as disclosed by Umeno is for a vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated December 8, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3 – 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Umeno discloses a wiper the wiper arm end member (40) is provided with a first segment (arm fixing portion, 42; Fig. 6) for connection with the extension arm (20) and a second segment (arm coupling portion, 46; Fig. 6) for holding the wiper blade (50), wherein the wiper arm end member (40) has a first web (48a; Fig. 6) and a second web (48b; Fig. 6) that reflect downwards towards a windscreen relative to the second segment (46; Fig. 6).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723