DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/09/2025. Claims 1,3-9,11-17,19-24, and 28-30 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/3/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
None of these references suggests the present invention's approach of monitoring individual service transformers to discover previously unknown available capacity.
And further asserts:
Discovering that existing (what was thought to be) "fully allocated" infrastructure actually has significant available capacity - would not have been obvious from the prior art.
And further asserts:
Sham monitors grid capacity, not individual transformer capacity… Sham is fundamentally different from the present invention's focus on individual service transformer capacity.
Thus, the combination of Vukojevic et al. and Sham fails to teach or suggest the claimed invention because of at least the following:…
In response:
The Examiner uses Vukojevic to disclose the claim language of claim 1 as specified below.
Furthermore, the Examiner does not use Sham to teach “monitoring individual service transformers”.
Additionally, claim 1 does not claim “existing (what was thought to be) "fully allocated" infrastructure actually has significant available capacity”.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
None of the cited references teaches or suggests monitoring thermal properties of service transformers to determine available charging capacity.
And further asserts:
It is respectfully submitted that Vukojevic et al. does not teach or suggest at least the features of monitoring one or more transformer-specific thermal properties of each of a plurality of service transformers …, determining, using the one or more transformer-specific thermal properties, available spare charging capacity at one or more of the service transformer locations.
“It is respectfully submitted that Vukojevic et al. does not teach or suggest at least the feature of monitoring thermal properties of a service transformer.
In response:
Claims 1 does not claim monitoring thermal properties of service transformers to determine available charging capacity nor claims determining, using the one or more transformer-specific thermal properties, available spare charging capacity but claims “monitoring at least one electrical or thermal property… based on the monitoring determining if the service transformer has capacity to charge an electric vehicle”
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
Respectfully, there is no motivation from the teachings of Vukojevic et al. to monitor multiple transformers.
Neither teaches monitoring multiple individual service transformers to determine their respective capacities.
Dureau et al. focuses on energy storage devices to handle peak loads at a charging facility, not on monitoring multiple service transformers across a grid.
In response:
Claims 1 does not claim monitoring multiple individual service transformers but claims “one or more service transformers”.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 Applicant asserts:
However, Pamulaparthy et al. stores historical data for an entirely different purpose than the present invention.
And further asserts:
One of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Pamulaparthy et al.' s fault-detection system with Vukojevic et al.'s load management system because they serve fundamentally different purposes…. The combination would require repurposing Pamulaparthy et al.' s diagnostic system for a completely different function not suggested by the reference.
Perez et al. teaches vehicle-to-grid functionality where energy from vehicle… Even considering all the cited references together, there is no teaching or suggestion to do any one or more of…
□ Monitoring multiple individual service transformers across an electric utility grid for available charging capacity;
□ Using transformer-specific thermal properties to determine charging capacity at each transformer location;
□ Generating location-based mapping of available charging capacity based on individual transformer monitoring; and/or
□ Providing distributed transformer capacity information to electric vehicles.
This is because each references address a different problem…
In response:
The examiner does not rely on Pamulaparthy, Sham, or Dureau to teach the claim limitations of claim 1.
The examiner stated that it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Vukojevic and Pamulaparthy in order to “determine if an event such as a power failure, as mechanical failure, manual or automatic trip, an electrical failure, an operational fault, etc occurred with the power transformer ([0036])”.
Additionally, “purposes” or problems solved of the claimed invention asserted by the applicant are not claimed or read into the claims. If the prior art discloses or teaches the claim limitations as claimed, then the prior art meets the limitations of the claim.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,4,5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vukojevic (US 20120229082).
As to claim 1, Vukojevic discloses a method comprising:
monitoring at least one electrical or thermal property of one or more service transformers on an electric utility grid (Fig. 1 [0018] system 20 also includes at least one sensor 82 configured to collect data and provide the data to central processing device 32. .. the at least one sensor 82 performs measurements that provide values from which the electrical load (i.e. electrical properties) on distribution transformer 62 can be calculated. …, sensor 82 generates a load signal that includes data corresponding to the present electrical load on distribution transformer 62) and
based on the monitoring, determining if the service transformer have available spare capacity to charge an electric vehicle, which available spare capacity, if any, was unknown prior to the monitoring and determining ([0019]- [0020][0029] And Fig. 2 Steps 130 “no”, 134-140 .. central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, … and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating or predefined maximum distribution transformer load rating of distribution transformer 62. For example, …EVCS 40 generates and transmits a charging request to central processing device 32 (110). Upon receipt of the charging request, central processing device 32 determines if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating(116)….central processing device 32 may compare the present electrical load to a power available under the predefined nominal power rating for distribution transformer 62 to determine if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62. …, central processing device 32 may also compare the present electrical load to a predefined maximum distribution transformer load rating if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating (130). The predefined maximum distribution transformer load rating is defined by a utility company as the maximum load the utility company will allow to be placed on distribution transformer 62).
As such, Vukojevic determines if that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating or a predefined maximum distribution transformer load rating of distribution transformer 62 ([0019]- [0020][0029] And Fig. 2 Steps 130 “no”, 134-140). If not then Vukojevic teaches that the vehicle is charged ([0031]-[0032] Fig. 2 steps 112, 130,134-140). As such the power provided EVCS 40 is spare available power provided to the vehicle ([0031]-[0032] Fig. 2 130,134-140) which was not determined prior to monitoring the electrical property of the transformer ( steps 130,134-140 was performed after step 112).
As to claim 3, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring comprises monitoring comprises at least one electrical or thermal property selected from a group consisting of power output, current output, voltage output, ambient transformer temperature, transformer tank temperature, and internal transformer temperature ([0024] Method 102 also includes measuring 112 a present electrical load (kVAM) on distribution transformer 62. Measuring 112 may include receiving, at central processing device 32, a measurement from a sensor, for example, sensor 82 (shown in FIG. 1).
As to claim 4, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the determining further comprises determining an available charging rate associated with at least a portion of the service transformers ([0015] distribution transformer 62 ranges in capacity from 5 kilovolt-ampere (kVA) to 150 kVA. More specifically, … a capacity of 15 kVA to 25 kVA, which is a power level capable of supplying power to approximately seven to ten residential locations. .., [0026] to determine 116 if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62, central processing device 32 determines an available power (kVAA)… The available power may be calculated by subtracting the present electrical load (kVAM) from the predefined nominal load rating (kVANOM) of distribution transformer 62).
As to claim 5, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the available charging rate is determined in kilowatts ([0028] where the available power of the transformer is calculated in kW.. If kVAM is less than kVANOM--7.2 kW, then a determination is made that providing power to EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating).
As to claim 8, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the determining comprises determining if one or more of the service transformers have available spare capacity to charge an electric vehicle over a predetermined upcoming time interval ([0019]- [0020][0029]-[0032] Fig. 2 130,134-140) …. when a consumer couples an electric vehicle to first EVCS 40, first EVCS 40 generates and transmits a charging request to central processing device 32. Upon receipt of the charging request, central processing device 32 determines if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating. [0032] If the consumer selects the charge-delay selection, charging of the electric vehicle begins after the present load on distribution transformer 62 decreases to a level where charging the electric vehicle at EVCS 40 would not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the nominal load rating (i.e. upcoming time interval). If the consumer selects the charge-delay selection, method 102 includes delaying 138 service to first EVCS 40 until the present load on distribution transformer 62 decreases).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Dureau (US 20150328999) in view of Logvinov (US 20200139842)
As to claim 6, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: receiving electrical power from at least one of the service transformers determined to have available spare capacity via a power input (Fig. 1 locations 50 receiving power from transformer 62. [0014] EVCS 40 is positioned at a first location 50… locations 50, 52, 54, and 56 may be any location including, … residential structures including houses and/or garages, commercial structures including parking lots, garages, and/or parking structures, municipal locations including parking lots, garages, parking structures, and/or street parking spots, or any other type of location where electric vehicle charging could be performed); and the power input is configured to receive the electrical power at a voltage level selected from a group consisting of about 120 volts, about 208 volts, about 240 volts, about 480 volts, and combinations thereof ([0015] and Fig. 1 in a 240/120 volt (V) split-phase system).
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach converting the electrical power from alternating current to direct current.
Dureau teaches converting the electrical power from alternating current to direct current ([0041] FIG. 2 of the electric-vehicle charging facility 1 with an AC/DC transformer 9 with an AC power supply system 2, suitable for the parallel fast charging SL1, SL2, SL3 of several mobile storage devices 31, 32, 33 of electric vehicles 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include converting the electrical power from alternating current to direct current in order to convert the power in a format more suitable for the electric vehicles.
Vukojevic in view of Dureau does not disclose/teach wherein the monitoring comprises monitoring one or more thermal properties of the service transformers.
Logvinov teaches wherein the monitoring comprises monitoring one or more thermal properties of the service transformers. ([0082] and claim 13The DSO 270 may send, over a communication network, real-time EV information concerning power supply from the distribution power grid, and information on maximal capacities, transformer temperature limits, etc., of feeders, substations and transformers, to a gateway 380 acting as an AgAs… the power resource information further indicates maximal capacity of a transformer and a maximum transformer temperature.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include wherein the monitoring comprises monitoring one or more thermal properties of the service transformers in order to determine prevent an event such as a power failure, as mechanical failure, manual or automatic trip, or an operational fault, with the power transformer due to overheating.
Claims 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Dureau (US 20150328999) in view of Logvinov (US 20200139842) in view of Pamulaparthy (US 20170115335).
As to claim 7, Vukojevic in view of Dureau in view of Logvinov teaches the method of claim 6.
Vukojevic in view of Dureau in view of Logvinov does not disclose/teach wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of one or more of the thermal properties; and wherein the determining comprises analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data.
Pamulaparthy teaches wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data; and wherein the determining comprises analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data. ([0035]-[0037] and [0045]. The processor 255 can analyze the stored electrical data to determine if and when an event has occurred with respect to the power transformer 120. the processor 255 may compare received and/or historic, data of the power transformer 120 to data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or limit codes. Based at least in part on determining at least a partial match between the received and/or historic data of the power transformer 120 and data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or fault codes, the processor 255 may determine that the power transformer 120 needs maintenance and/or replacement. [0049] The processor 255 may also generate a historical max record. The processor 255 can be configured to compare each received data value (e.g., incoming electrical data and transformer health data) to a historical maximum value stored in memory of a similar data and/or parameter type).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of one or more of the thermal properties; and wherein the determining comprises analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data in order to determine if an event such as a power failure, as mechanical failure, manual or automatic trip, an electrical failure, an operational fault, etc occurred with the power transformer ([0036]).
Claims 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Sham (US 20190275893) in view of Pamulaparthy (US 20170115335).
As to claim 9, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 1
,the monitoring comprises: using one or more sensors located proximate each of the plurality of service transformers (sensor 82).
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach generating a map with location information for electric vehicle charging stations associated with one or more of the service transformers determined to have available spare capacity to charge an electric vehicle; and transmitting the map to one or more electric vehicles.
Sham teaches generating a map with location information for electric vehicle charging stations associated with the one or more of the service transformers determined to have capacity to charge an electric vehicle; and transmitting the map to one or more electric vehicles (Fig. 5 step 520 and 524 identify at least one of the EV charging stations as available for charging of the requesting EV during the charging timeframe as a function of the station capacity information, and as having at least a threshold associated power delivery capacity for charging of the requesting EV…communicate an EV charging response … to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station. [0034] the station monitor 230 can receive information (e.g., as part of the station capacity information, or separate therefrom) indicating physical locations (e.g., address, map coordinates, etc.) of particular EV charging stations 102).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include generating a map with location information for electric vehicle charging stations associated with one or more of the service transformers determined to have available spare capacity to charge an electric vehicle; and transmitting the map to one or more electric vehicles in order to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station to be charged.
Vukojevic in view of Sham does not disclose/teach wherein: the monitoring comprises: using one or more sensors located proximate each of the service transformers; storing historically measured data of at least one of the electrical or thermal properties; and analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data of the at least one of the electrical and thermal properties to determine available spare capacity at each of the service transformers; and the determining is based on the analyzing.
Pamulaparthy teaches wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of the electrical properties ([0035]-[0037] and [0045]. The processor 255 can analyze the stored electrical data to determine if and when an event has occurred with respect to the power transformer 120. the processor 255 may compare received and/or historic, data of the power transformer 120 to data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or limit codes. Based at least in part on determining at least a partial match between the received and/or historic data of the power transformer 120 and data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or fault codes, the processor 255 may determine that the power transformer 120 needs maintenance and/or replacement. [0049] The processor 255 may also generate a historical max record. The processor 255 can be configured to compare each received data value (e.g., incoming electrical data and transformer health data) to a historical maximum value stored in memory of a similar data and/or parameter type) and analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data of the electrical property ([0035]-[0037] and [0045] of Pamulaparthy)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of the electrical properties and analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data of the electrical property in order to determine if an event such as a power failure, as mechanical failure, manual or automatic trip, an electrical failure, an operational fault, etc occurred with the power transformer ([0036]).
Vukojevic in view of Sham in view of Pamulaparthy does not specifically teach that the monitoring and analyzing is to determine available spare capacity at each of the service transformers and the determining is based on the analyzing.
However since Pamulaparthy teaches storing and analyzing the historical measured data is used to determine if the transformer has “an electrical failure, an operational fault “ ([0036]) and “determine that the power transformer 120 needs maintenance and/or replacement” ([0035]-[0037] and [0045]).Then, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the teachings of Pamulaparthy would determine there no available charging capacity at the service transformer if the analyzed data shows the transformer has an electrical failure, an operational fault or needs replacement.
As to claim 11, Vukojevic in view of Sham in view of Pamulaparthy teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the monitoring further comprises receiving charging information transmitted by one or more of the sensors ([0019] of Vukojevic … central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, receives a charging request from first EVCS 40. [0026] to determine 116 if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62, central processing device 32 determines an available power (kVAA)… The available power may be calculated by subtracting the present electrical load (kVAM) from the predefined nominal load rating (kVANOM) of distribution transformer 62. Since load signal is used to determine whether the transformer can meet the charging request, then the load signal is identified as “charging information”).
Claims 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Sham (US 20190275893).
As to claim 12, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3 further comprising receiving charging requirements ([0019]… central processing device 32 … receives a charging request from first EVCS 40); wherein determining if one or more of the service transformers have available spare the capacity to charge the electric vehicle is further based on the received charging requirements (([0019]- [0020][0029]-[0032] Fig. 2 130,134-140) central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, receives a charging request from first EVCS 40, and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62).
Vukojevic does not specifically teach the charging requirements are from one or more electric vehicles.
Sham teaches the charging requirements are from one or more electric vehicles ([0062] At stage 512, embodiments can receive an EV charging request associated with a requesting EV).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging requirements of Vukojevic to be from one or more electric vehicles in order for the user to transmit the vehicle charging request/requirement with the convenience of never leaving the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 and 19-24 and 28-30 are allowed.
The following is a statement for reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim(s) 13, although the prior art discloses a method comprising: if one or more of the plurality of the service transformer locations is determined to have available spare charging capacity to charge a respective electric vehicle, transmitting available charging information to the electric vehicle, the available charging information comprising location data of one or more electric vehicle charging stations associated with the one or more of the plurality of the service transformer locations determined to have available spare charging capacity to charge the electric vehicle, the prior art of record does not disclose, suggest or teach the combination of:
“a method comprising: monitoring one or more transformer-specific thermal properties of each of a plurality of service transformers located at different service transformer locations on an electric utility grid using one or more sensors located proximate the plurality of service transformers; receiving charging requirements from an electric vehicle; based on the monitoring and the receiving, determining, using the one or more transformer-specific thermal properties, available spare charging capacity at one or more of the service transformer locations, which available spare capacity, if any, was unknown prior to the monitoring, receiving and determining.”
Dependent claims 14-17, 19-24 and 28-30 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859