DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/09/2025. Claims 1,3-9,11-17,19-24, and 28-30 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Drawings
The applicant filed replacement drawings filed 12/09/2025 in an effort to resolve the drawing objections filed in the OA mailed 9/10/2025. The replacement drawings filed 12/09/2025 are acknowledged and approved by the Examiner.
Response to arguments
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 13 Applicant asserts:
Respectfully, there is no motivation from the teachings of Vukojevic et al. to monitor multiple transformers.
And further asserts:
Moreover, Vukoievic et al. teaches away from monitoring multiple transformers. "Controlling the charging of electric vehicles facilitates maintaining the load on the distribution transformer below a nominal load rating that when exceeded, reduces the lifecycle of the distribution transformer." Simply replicating Vukojevic et al.'s system at
multiple locations does not result in the claimed invention.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 where the Examiner uses Vukoievic to teach the claim language of claim 1 and 13 as specified below.
In regards to Applicants remarks “ there is no motivation from the teachings of Vukojevic”, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the Examiner stated it would be obvious to modify Vukojevic method of monitoring electrical and/or thermal properties to each of a plurality of service transformers and based on the monitoring determine if the service transformer has capacity to charge an electric vehicle in order to apply Vukojevic method to several locations being supplied with separate distribution transformers.
Additionally, repeating Vukojevic system as it would merely be a duplication of parts (i.e implementing Vukojevic system in other locations).
The combined teachings of Vukojevic to teach claim limitations seen in the rejections of claims 1 and 13 does not prevent, teach away, nor renders Vukojevic apparatus and method the inability to perform its principle of operation.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 13 Applicant asserts:
It is also respectfully submitted that Vukojevic et al. does not teach or suggest at least the feature of monitoring electrical and thermal properties of a service transformer.
And further asserts:
None of the cited references teaches or suggests monitoring thermal properties of service transformers to determine available charging capacity…. However, Sham does not teach or suggest monitoring individual service transformer capacity.
In response:
Claims 1 and 13 does not claim monitoring electrical and thermal properties of a service transformer but claims “one or more of the electrical properties and thermal properties”.
Additionally the Examiner does not rely on Sham to teach “monitoring individual service transformer capacity”.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 13 Applicant asserts:
Thus, the combination of Vukojevic et al. and Sham fails to teach or suggest the claimed invention.
And further asserts:
One of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Pamulaparthy et al.' s fault-detection system with Vukojevic et al.'s load management system because they serve fundamentally different purposes.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Vukoievic, Sham and Pamulaparthy to teach the claim language of claim 1 and 13 as specified below.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 13 Applicant asserts:
None of these references suggests the present invention's approach of monitoring individual service transformers to discover previously unknown available capacity. This unexpected result - discovering that existing "fully allocated" infrastructure actually has significant available capacity - would not have been obvious from the prior art, which uniformly assumes that new infrastructure must be added to support EV charging demand.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 where the Examiner uses the combined teachings of Vukoievic, Sham and Pamulaparthy to teach the claim language of claim 1 and 13 as specified below.
Additionally, potential advantages or “unexpected results” of a claim asserted by the applicant are not claimed or read into the claims. If the prior art discloses or teaches the claim limitations as claimed, then the prior art meets the limitations of the claim.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,4,5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082).
As to claim 1, Vukojevic discloses a method comprising:
monitoring one or more electrical and/or thermal properties of a service transformer on an electric utility grid (Fig. 1 [0018] system 20 also includes at least one sensor 82 configured to collect data and provide the data to central processing device 32. .. the at least one sensor 82 performs measurements that provide values from which the electrical load (i.e. electrical properties) on distribution transformer 62 can be calculated. …, sensor 82 generates a load signal that includes data corresponding to the present electrical load on distribution transformer 62) and
based on the monitoring determining if the service transformer has capacity to charge an electric vehicle ([0019] .. central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, … and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62).
Although Vukojevic discloses monitoring electrical and/or thermal properties of a service transformer, Vukojevic does not disclose monitoring electrical and/or thermal properties of each of a plurality of service transformers.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vukojevic method of monitoring electrical and/or thermal properties to each of a plurality of service transformers and based on the monitoring determine if the service transformer has capacity to charge an electric vehicle in order to apply Vukojevic method to several locations being supplied with separate distribution transformers.
Additionally, repeating Vukojevic system as it would merely be a duplication of parts (i.e implementing Vukojevic system in other locations).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art can see that the duplications of Vukojevic method (i.e. the system of Fig. 1 in two separate neighborhoods each transformer servicing each neighborhood and is monitored) teaches the claim language “monitoring one or more electrical and/or thermal properties of each of a plurality of service transformers a service transformer on an electric utility grid”. One of ordinary skill in the art can also see that the application of Vukojevic method of determining whether the service transformer has the capacity to charge an electric vehicle to each service transformer in each location teaches claim language “based on the monitoring determining if the one or more of the plurality of service transformers have capacity to charge an electric vehicle”.
As to claim 3, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 1, comprises one or more of the electrical and thermal properties selected from the group consisting of power output, current output, voltage output, ambient transformer temperature, transformer tank temperature, and internal transformer temperature ([0024] Method 102 also includes measuring 112 a present electrical load (kVAM) on distribution transformer 62. Measuring 112 may include receiving, at central processing device 32, a measurement from a sensor, for example, sensor 82 (shown in FIG. 1).
As to claim 4, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the determining comprises determining an available charging rate associated with at least a portion of the service transformers ([0015] distribution transformer 62 ranges in capacity from 5 kilovolt-ampere (kVA) to 150 kVA. More specifically, … a capacity of 15 kVA to 25 kVA, which is a power level capable of supplying power to approximately seven to ten residential locations. .., [0026] to determine 116 if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62, central processing device 32 determines an available power (kVAA)… The available power may be calculated by subtracting the present electrical load (kVAM) from the predefined nominal load rating (kVANOM) of distribution transformer 62).
As to claim 5, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the available charging rate is determined in kilowatts ([0028] where the available power of the transformer is calculated in kW.. If kVAM is less than kVANOM--7.2 kW, then a determination is made that providing power to EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating).
As to claim 8, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the determining comprises determining if one or more of the service transformers have capacity to charge an electric vehicle over a predetermined upcoming time interval ([0019] …. when a consumer couples an electric vehicle to first EVCS 40, first EVCS 40 generates and transmits a charging request to central processing device 32. Upon receipt of the charging request, central processing device 32 determines if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating. [0032] If the consumer selects the charge-delay selection, charging of the electric vehicle begins after the present load on distribution transformer 62 decreases to a level where charging the electric vehicle at EVCS 40 would not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the nominal load rating (i.e. upcoming time interval). If the consumer selects the charge-delay selection, method 102 includes delaying 138 service to first EVCS 40 until the present load on distribution transformer 62 decreases).
Claims 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Dureau (US 20150328999) in view of Pamulaparthy (US 20170115335)
As to claim 6, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3 further comprising: receiving electrical power from at least one of the service transformers via a power input (Fig. 1 locations 50 receiving power from transformer 62. [0014] EVCS 40 is positioned at a first location 50… locations 50, 52, 54, and 56 may be any location including, … residential structures including houses and/or garages, commercial structures including parking lots, garages, and/or parking structures, municipal locations including parking lots, garages, parking structures, and/or street parking spots, or any other type of location where electric vehicle charging could be performed); and wherein the power input is configured to receive the electrical power at a voltage level selected from the group consisting of about 120 volts, about 208 volts, about 240 volts, about 480 volts, and combinations thereof ([0015] and Fig. 1 in a 240/120 volt (V) split-phase system).
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach converting the electrical power from alternating current to direct current.
Dureau teaches converting the electrical power from alternating current to direct current ([0041] FIG. 2 of the electric-vehicle charging facility 1 with an AC/DC transformer 9 with an AC power supply system 2, suitable for the parallel fast charging SL1, SL2, SL3 of several mobile storage devices 31, 32, 33 of electric vehicles 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include converting the electrical power from alternating current to direct current in order to convert the power in a format more suitable for the electric vehicles.
Vukojevic in view of Dureau does not disclose/teach wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of one or more of the electrical and thermal properties.
Pamulaparthy teaches wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of one or more of the electrical and thermal properties ([0035]-[0037] and [0045]. The processor 255 can analyze the stored electrical data to determine if and when an event has occurred with respect to the power transformer 120. the processor 255 may compare received and/or historic, data of the power transformer 120 to data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or limit codes. Based at least in part on determining at least a partial match between the received and/or historic data of the power transformer 120 and data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or fault codes, the processor 255 may determine that the power transformer 120 needs maintenance and/or replacement. [0049] The processor 255 may also generate a historical max record. The processor 255 can be configured to compare each received data value (e.g., incoming electrical data and transformer health data) to a historical maximum value stored in memory of a similar data and/or parameter type).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of one or more of the electrical and thermal properties in order to determine if an event such as a power failure, as mechanical failure, manual or automatic trip, an electrical failure, an operational fault, etc occurred with the power transformer ([0036]).
As to claim 7, Vukojevic in view of Dureau in view of Pamulaparthy teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the determining comprises analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data ([0035]-[0037] and [0045] of Pamulaparthy).
Claims 12-17,19,20,23-24 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Sham (US 20190275893).
As to claim 12, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3 further comprising receiving charging requirements from ([0019]… central processing device 32 … receives a charging request from first EVCS 40); wherein determining if one or more of the plurality of the service transformers have the capacity to charge the electric vehicle is further based on the received charging requirements ([0019] .. central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, receives a charging request from first EVCS 40, and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62).
Vukojevic does not specifically teach the charging requirements are from one or more electric vehicles.
Sham teaches the charging requirements are from one or more electric vehicles ([0062] At stage 512, embodiments can receive an EV charging request associated with a requesting EV).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging requirements of Vukojevic to be from one or more electric vehicles in order for the user to transmit the vehicle charging request/requirement with the convenience of never leaving the vehicle.
As to claim 13, Vukojevic discloses a method comprising:
monitoring one or more transformer-specific electrical and thermal properties of a service transformer on an electric utility grid using one or more sensors located proximate the service transformers (Fig. 1 [0018] system 20 also includes at least one sensor 82 configured to collect data and provide the data to central processing device 32. .. the at least one sensor 82 performs measurements that provide values from which the electrical load (i.e. electrical properties) on distribution transformer 62 can be calculated. …, sensor 82 generates a load signal that includes data corresponding to the present electrical load on distribution transformer 62); receiving charging requirements ([0019]… central processing device 32 … receives a charging request from first EVCS 40); based on the monitoring and the receiving, determining using the one or more transformer-specific electrical and thermal properties, charging capacity of the service transformer location ([0019] .. central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, … and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62), the service transformer location is determined to have capacity to charge the electric vehicle, ([0019]
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach if the service transformer location is determined to have capacity to charge the electric vehicle, transmitting available charging information to the electric vehicle, the available charging information comprising location data of one or more electric vehicle charging stations associated with the service transformer determined to have capacity to charge the electric vehicle.
Sham teaches transmitting available charging information to the electric vehicle, the available charging information comprising location data of one or more electric vehicle charging stations determined to have capacity to charge the electric vehicle (Fig. 5 step 520 and 524 identify at least one of the EV charging stations as available for charging of the requesting EV during the charging timeframe as a function of the station capacity information, and as having at least a threshold associated power delivery capacity for charging of the requesting EV…communicate an EV charging response … to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station).
Since Vukojevic teaches if the service transformer location is determined to have capacity to charge the electric vehicle, ([0019]), then it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Vukojevic and Sham in order to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station to be charged.
Vukojevic does not specifically teach the charging requirements are from an electric vehicles.
Sham teaches the charging requirements are from one or more electric vehicles ([0062] At stage 512, embodiments can receive an EV charging request associated with a requesting EV).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging requirements of Vukojevic to be from one or more electric vehicles in order for the user to transmit the vehicle charging request/requirement with the convenience of never leaving the vehicle.
Although Vukojevic discloses monitoring electrical and/or thermal properties of a service transformer, Vukojevic does not disclose monitoring electrical and/or thermal properties of each of a plurality of service transformers located at different service transformer locations.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vukojevic method of monitoring electrical and/or thermal properties to each of a plurality of service transformers located at different service transformer locations and based on the monitoring determine if the service transformer has capacity to charge an electric vehicle in order to apply Vukojevic method to several locations being supplied with separate distribution transformers.
Additionally, repeating Vukojevic system as it would merely be a duplication of parts (i.e implementing Vukojevic system in other locations).
As to claim 14, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the method of claim 13 further comprising receiving current location information of the electric vehicle ([0038] of Sham the geographic location is determined as the present location of the requesting EV at the time of initiating the EV charging request ; wherein the determining is further based on the current location information ([0038] of Sham … The scheduling processor 240 can identify (e.g., via information stored in the profile data store 245, via querying EV charging stations 102 via the station monitor 230, or in any other suitable manner) a set of candidate stations as those of the EV charging stations 102 having respective station locations within a threshold proximity to the geographic location of the requesting EV).
As to claim 15, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the available charging information further comprises a charging rate of one or more of the service transformers determined to have capacity to charge the electric vehicle ([0015] distribution transformer 62 ranges in capacity from 5 kilovolt-ampere (kVA) to 150 kVA. More specifically, … a capacity of 15 kVA to 25 kVA, which is a power level capable of supplying power to approximately seven to ten residential locations. .., [0026] to determine 116 if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62, central processing device 32 determines an available power (kVAA)… The available power may be calculated by subtracting the present electrical load (kVAM) from the predefined nominal load rating (kVANOM) of distribution transformer 62).
As to claim 16, Vukojevic teaches the electric vehicle charging system configured to implement the method of claim 13 comprising: a power input configured to receive electrical power from one of the service transformers (Fig. 1 locations 50 receiving power from transformer 62. [0014] EVCS 40 is positioned at a first location 50… locations 50, 52, 54, and 56 may be any location including, … residential structures including houses and/or garages, commercial structures including parking lots, garages, and/or parking structures, municipal locations including parking lots, garages, parking structures, and/or street parking spots, or any other type of location where electric vehicle charging could be performed);
a power output configured to provide electrical power to the electric vehicle to charge the electric vehicle ([0019] ..… and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62);
a receiver configured to receive the charging requirements from the electric vehicle ([0019] .. central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, receives a charging request from first EVCS 40);
a processor; and memory, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine, based on one or more electrical and/or thermal properties and the charging requirements, whether the service transformer has available capacity to charge the electric vehicle ([0019] .. central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, … and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62).
Vukojevic does not teach a transmitter configured to transmit the available charging information to the electric vehicle.
Sham teaches a transmitter configured to transmit the available charging information to the electric vehicle (Fig. 5 step 520 and 524 identify at least one of the EV charging stations as available for charging of the requesting EV during the charging timeframe as a function of the station capacity information, and as having at least a threshold associated power delivery capacity for charging of the requesting EV…communicate an EV charging response … to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Vukojevic to include a transmitter configured to transmit the available charging information to the electric vehicle in order to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station to be charged.
As to claim 17, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16, wherein the receiver and the transmitter comprise a transceiver (the transmitter of Sham and central processing device 32 of Vukojevic); and one or more of the electrical and thermal properties is a measurement of a property selected from the group consisting of power output, current output, voltage output, ambient transformer temperature, transformer tank temperature, and internal transformer temperature ([0024] Method 102 also includes measuring 112 a present electrical load (kVAM) on distribution transformer 62. Measuring 112 may include receiving, at central processing device 32, a measurement from a sensor, for example, sensor 82 (shown in FIG. 1).
As to claim 19, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16, wherein the memory further comprises instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine an available charging rate associated with the service transformer ([0015] distribution transformer 62 ranges in capacity from 5 kilovolt-ampere (kVA) to 150 kVA. More specifically, … a capacity of 15 kVA to 25 kVA, which is a power level capable of supplying power to approximately seven to ten residential locations. .., [0026] to determine 116 if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62, central processing device 32 determines an available power (kVAA)… The available power may be calculated by subtracting the present electrical load (kVAM) from the predefined nominal load rating (kVANOM) of distribution transformer 62).
As to claim 20, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16, wherein the charging rate is determined in kilowatts ([0028] where the available power of the transformer is calculated in kW.. If kVAM is less than kVANOM--7.2 kW, then a determination is made that providing power to EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating).
As to claim 23, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16, wherein the memory further comprises instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine, based on the one or more electrical and thermal properties and the charging requirements, whether the service transformer has available capacity to charge the electric vehicle over a predetermined upcoming time interval ([0019] …. when a consumer couples an electric vehicle to first EVCS 40, first EVCS 40 generates and transmits a charging request to central processing device 32. Upon receipt of the charging request, central processing device 32 determines if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating. [0032] If the consumer selects the charge-delay selection, charging of the electric vehicle begins after the present load on distribution transformer 62 decreases to a level where charging the electric vehicle at EVCS 40 would not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the nominal load rating (i.e. upcoming time interval). If the consumer selects the charge-delay selection, method 102 includes delaying 138 service to first EVCS 40 until the present load on distribution transformer 62 decreases).
As to claim 24, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16, wherein the power input is configured to receive the electrical power from the service transformer at a voltage level selected from the group consisting of about 120 volts, about 208 volts, about 240 volts, about 480 volts, and combinations thereof ([0015] and Fig. 1 in a 240/120 volt (V) split-phase system of Vukojevic).
As to claim 30, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16, wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit the available charging information to a cloud-based network ([0045] of Sham … or fulfilling the EV charging request, embodiments of the communications processor 250 can communicate an EV charging response (e.g., via the communication network(s) 106) to direct the requesting EV to the identified EV charging station(s) 102. See Fig. 2 network 106).
Claims 9,11, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Sham (US 20190275893) in view of Pamulaparthy (US 20170115335).
As to claim 9, Vukojevic teaches the method of claim 3, the monitoring comprises: using one or more sensors located proximate each of the plurality of service transformers (sensor 82).
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach generating a map with location information for electric vehicle charging stations associated with the one or more of the plurality service transformers determined to have capacity to charge an electric vehicle; and transmitting the map to one or more electric vehicles.
Sham teaches generating a map with location information for electric vehicle charging stations associated with the one or more of the plurality service transformers determined to have capacity to charge an electric vehicle; and transmitting the map to one or more electric vehicles (Fig. 5 step 520 and 524 identify at least one of the EV charging stations as available for charging of the requesting EV during the charging timeframe as a function of the station capacity information, and as having at least a threshold associated power delivery capacity for charging of the requesting EV…communicate an EV charging response … to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station. [0034] the station monitor 230 can receive information (e.g., as part of the station capacity information, or separate therefrom) indicating physical locations (e.g., address, map coordinates, etc.) of particular EV charging stations 102).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include generating a map with location information for electric vehicle charging stations associated with the one or more of the plurality service transformers determined to have capacity to charge an electric vehicle; and transmitting the map to one or more electric vehicles in order to direct the requesting EV to the identified at least one EV charging station to be charged.
Vukojevic in view of Sham does not disclose/teach the monitoring comprises: storing historically measured data of the electrical and thermal properties and analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data of the electrical and thermal properties to determine available charging capacity at each of the plurality of service transformers.
Pamulaparthy teaches wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of the electrical properties ([0035]-[0037] and [0045]. The processor 255 can analyze the stored electrical data to determine if and when an event has occurred with respect to the power transformer 120. the processor 255 may compare received and/or historic, data of the power transformer 120 to data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or limit codes. Based at least in part on determining at least a partial match between the received and/or historic data of the power transformer 120 and data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or fault codes, the processor 255 may determine that the power transformer 120 needs maintenance and/or replacement. [0049] The processor 255 may also generate a historical max record. The processor 255 can be configured to compare each received data value (e.g., incoming electrical data and transformer health data) to a historical maximum value stored in memory of a similar data and/or parameter type) and analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data of the electrical property ([0035]-[0037] and [0045] of Pamulaparthy)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include wherein the monitoring comprises storing historically measured data of the electrical properties and analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data of the electrical property in order to determine if an event such as a power failure, as mechanical failure, manual or automatic trip, an electrical failure, an operational fault, etc occurred with the power transformer ([0036]).
Vukojevic in view of Sham in view of Pamulaparthy does not specifically teach that the monitoring and analyzing is to determine available charging capacity at each of the plurality of service transformers and the determining is based on the analyzing.
However since Pamulaparthy teaches storing and analyzing the historical measured data is used to determine if the transformer has “an electrical failure, an operational fault “ ([0036]) and “determine that the power transformer 120 needs maintenance and/or replacement” ([0035]-[0037] and [0045]).Then, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the teachings of Pamulaparthy would determine there no available charging capacity at the service transformer if the analyzed data shows the transformer has an electrical failure, an operational fault or needs replacement.
As to claim 11, Vukojevic in view of Sham in view of Pamulaparthy teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the monitoring further comprises receiving charging information transmitted by one or more of the sensors ([0019] of Vukojevic … central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, receives a charging request from first EVCS 40. [0026] to determine 116 if providing power to first EVCS 40 will cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62, central processing device 32 determines an available power (kVAA)… The available power may be calculated by subtracting the present electrical load (kVAM) from the predefined nominal load rating (kVANOM) of distribution transformer 62. Since load signal is used to determine whether the transformer can meet the charging request, then the load signal is identified as “charging information”).
As to claim 21, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16.
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach wherein at least one of the memory and the one or more sensors are configured to store historically measured data of the one or more electrical and/or thermal properties of the service transformer.
Pamulaparthy teaches wherein at least one of the memory and the one or more sensors are configured to store historically measured data of the one or more electrical and thermal properties of the service transformer ([0035]-[0037] and [0045]. The processor 255 can analyze the stored electrical data to determine if and when an event has occurred with respect to the power transformer 120. the processor 255 may compare received and/or historic, data of the power transformer 120 to data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or limit codes. Based at least in part on determining at least a partial match between the received and/or historic data of the power transformer 120 and data associated with a transformer that does not comply with one or more regulatory standards and/or fault codes, the processor 255 may determine that the power transformer 120 needs maintenance and/or replacement. [0049] The processor 255 may also generate a historical max record. The processor 255 can be configured to compare each received data value (e.g., incoming electrical data and transformer health data) to a historical maximum value stored in memory of a similar data and/or parameter type)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Vukojevic to include wherein at least one of the memory and the one or more sensors are configured to store historically measured data of the one or more electrical and/or thermal properties of the service transformer in order to determine if an event such as a power failure, as mechanical failure, manual or automatic trip, an electrical failure, an operational fault, etc occurred with the power transformer ([0036]).
As to claim 22, Vukojevic in view of Sham in view of Pamulaparthy teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 21, wherein the memory further comprises instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine, based on the one or more electrical and thermal properties and the charging requirements ([0019] .. central processing device 32 receives the load signal from sensor 82, … and provides first EVCS 40 with an electric power charging signal if it is determined that providing power to first EVCS 40 will not cause the present load on distribution transformer 62 to exceed the predefined nominal load rating of distribution transformer 62), whether the service transformer has available capacity to charge the electric vehicle by analyzing the historically measured data and real-time measured data of one or more electrical and/or thermal properties of the service transformer ([0035]-[0037] and [0045] of Pamulaparthy).
Claim 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Sham (US 20190275893) in view of Dureau (US 20150328999).
As to claim 28, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16.
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach further comprising an alternating current to direct current converter; wherein the power output is configured to provide direct current electrical power to the electric vehicle.
Dureau teaches further comprising an alternating current to direct current converter; wherein the power output is configured to provide direct current electrical power to the electric vehicle ([0041] FIG. 2 of the electric-vehicle charging facility 1 with an AC/DC transformer 9 with an AC power supply system 2, suitable for the parallel fast charging SL1, SL2, SL3 of several mobile storage devices 31, 32, 33 of electric vehicles 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Vukojevic to include an alternating current to direct current converter; wherein the power output is configured to provide direct current electrical power to the electric vehicle in order to convert the power in a format more suitable for the electric vehicles.
Claim 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukojevic (US 20120229082) in view of Sham (US 20190275893) in view of Perez (US 20180358839).
As to claim 29, Vukojevic in view of Sham teaches the electric vehicle charging system of claim 16.
Vukojevic does not disclose/teach wherein the system is further configured to receive electrical power from another electric vehicle and provide electrical power to the electric utility grid.
Perez teaches wherein the system is further configured to receive electrical power from another electric vehicle and provide electrical power to the electric utility grid (Fig. 1 and [0012] The power system described herein can perform a number of functions including: ... the energy from the vehicle batteries can be directed to the grid; where the energy from the vehicle batteries can be directed to the grid).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Vukojevic to include wherein the system is further configured to receive electrical power from another electric vehicle and provide electrical power to the electric utility grid in order to meet the local demand when the local power demand exceeds the grid capacity or in the event of a utility failure ([0012]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859