DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed 06/07/2026.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 12 are pending in the application.
Claims 1 and 8 are amended.
Priority
The instant application, filed on 12/16/2022 claims priority to Provisional Application 63/040,824, filed on 06/18/2020 and to PCT US2021/037760 filed on 06/17/2021. Claims 5 – 12 of the instant application are directed to subject matter that was introduced for the first time in the PCT application, filed on 06/17/2021. The earlier Provisional Application fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for a “stem comprising a plurality of ribs between a proximal and distal lip” and a “pilot balloon” as recited in claims 5 – 12. Accordingly, claims 5 – 12 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications because the “ribs”, “proximal and distal lips”, and “pilot balloon”, recited in claims 5 – 12 of the instant application, are considered to be unsupported within the Provisional Application listed above. The earliest disclosure for the subject matter above and thus the effective filing date for the subject matter of claims 5 – 12 is 06/17/2021. Additionally, claims 1 – 3 are directed to subject matter that was introduced for the first time in the Provisional Application, and thus are granted an effective filing date of 06/18/2020.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “a locking assembly” in line 1, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the locking assembly” as the “locking assembly” was previously defined in claim 8, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the locking assembly” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the generic placeholder is “a locking assembly” in claims 1, 8, and 9, which is coupled to the functional language “to lock the stem and the elongated cannulated tube” and “to lock the stem and balloon occluder assembly from movement in at least one direction”. Furthermore, there are no structural modifiers either preceding or following the generic placeholders. For the purpose of examination, the “locking assembly” in claims 1, 8, and 9 will be read as a thumbscrew, washer, nut, or a plastic piece (which are the disclosed corresponding structures, as described in paragraph [0046] of the instant specification) or an equivalent structure, which is any structure that performs the identical function of the generic placeholder(s), specified in the claim, in substantially the same way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parys et al (US 2016/0100861 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Parys discloses a uterine manipulator device (uterine manipulation device 100) (Title, abstract, paragraph [0116], and Figs. 1 – 12), comprising:
an elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) comprising a proximal end and a distal end, a handle (handle 112) on the proximal end, an intrauterine balloon (balloon 106) on the distal end (paragraphs [0116 – 0120] and Figs. 1 – 4), a cervical cup (colpotomizer cup 146) on the cannulated tube (shaft 102), a stem (sleeve 148) proximal of the cup (paragraphs [0124 – 0125] and Figs. 1 – 4 and 7);
a balloon occluder (vaginal cuff 150) positioned on the stem (sleeve 148) and shaped to form an opening (paragraphs [0124], [0129], and Figs. 5 and 6), and the stem (sleeve 148) configured to be placed in a locked position by a locking assembly (thumb lock 176) on the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) (paragraphs [0126 – 0128] and Fig. 4);
wherein when the balloon occluder is positioned on the stem (sleeve 148) while in the locked configuration the cervical cup (colpotomizer cup 146) is configured to move along the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitation is functional and requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning as claimed. With that said, as stated in paragraph [0131] the colpotomizer cup 146 (i.e., the cervical cup) and the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) are snapped fit together so that other cup sizes can be placed thereon, thus the colpotomizer cup 146 (i.e., the cervical cup) and the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) are moveable relative to each other along shaft; moreover, there is nothing that would prevent the colpotomizer cup 146 (i.e., the cervical cup) from being removed from the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) while the vaginal cuff 150 (i.e., balloon occluder) is on the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) and while the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) is in the locked configuration as the locked configuration only involves locking the side of the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) opposite from the cervical up against the elongated cannula tube. Thus the device of the prior art is configured as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parys et al (US 2016/0100861 A1) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pustilnik (US 2010/0168784 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, as discussed above, Parys discloses the uterine manipulator device of claim 1.
However, Parys is silent regarding (i) [claim 2] an inflation valve and a gas passage lumen and (ii) [claim 3] wherein the balloon is torus shaped. With respect to (i), Parys discloses, in paragraph [0129], a catheter lumen 101 for inflating the balloon via saline or water.
As to the above, Pustilnik teaches an occluder balloon (balloon 300) (title, abstract, and paragraphs [0015] and [0027]) that is torus shaped (donut shaped) and an inflation valve (valve 306) with a gas passage lumen (communication line 110), wherein the gas passage lumen couples to the outer wall of the occluder balloon (balloon 300) via a port 302 (paragraphs [0026] and [0032] and Fig. 3A).
It should be understood that Parys and Pustilnik are known references in the art that teach inflatable vaginal occlusion cuffs (title, abstract, and paragraph [0116] – Parys ; title, abstract, and paragraph [0015] and [0027] – Pustilnik); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one balloon and the inflation means for another (i.e., a torus shaped balloon filled via gas), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified vaginal cuff of Parys being able to function as intended to properly occlude the flow of fluid/gas within the vagina during surgery. The examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the modified device of Parys and Pustilnik to incorporate the valve 306, as taught by Pustilnik, for the purpose of preventing the air from escaping the balloon during inflation (paragraph [0032] – Pustilnik).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parys et al (US 2016/0100861 A1) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US 2019/0254708 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, Parys discloses the uterine manipulator device of claim 1.
However, Parys is silent regarding (i) [claim 5] wherein the stem comprises a plurality of ribs positioned between a proximal lip and distal lip over which the balloon occluder is positioned and configured to limit movement of the balloon occluder assembly.
As to the above, Wu teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a uterine manipulator device (manipulator 100) (abstract, paragraph [0032], and Fig. 1) comprising a stem (stem 55) and an occluder (occluder 19’) with an opening configured to allow for the passage of a cannulated tube (tube 13) (paragraphs [0032], [0036], and [0039], and Fig. 3F), wherein the stem (stem 55) comprises a plurality of ribs (internal grooves 37) between a proximal lip and distal lip (barbell features 35) for the purpose of preventing the migration of the occluder along the stem in the distal and proximal directions (paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sleeve 148 of Parys to incorporate the ribs and lips (i.e., the internal grooves and barbell features), based on the teachings of Wu, for the purpose of preventing the migration of the occluder along the stem in the distal and proximal directions (paragraph [0037] – Wu)
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the sleeve of Parys to include the ribs and lips of Wu. Additionally, Parys teaches the vaginal occluder 150 is radially closed and is a separate element which is mounted on to sleeve 148 (paragraph [0129] and Fig. 5 – Parys), and it would be obvious for the opening on one end of the vaginal occluder 150 to allow passage of the distal tip therethrough, for the purpose of being able to mount the vaginal occluder to the sleeve 148. Therefore, the combination further makes obvious wherein the opening of the balloon occluder (vaginal occluder 150 – Parys) is configured to allow passage therethrough of the distal lip (distal barbel feature 35 – shown in Fig. 3F of Wu) of the stem (sleeve 148 – Parys).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parys et al (US 2016/0100861 A1) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Levine (US 5,104,377) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, Parys discloses the uterine manipulator of claim 1.
However, Parys is silent regarding (i) a pilot balloon.
As to the above, Levine teaches a balloon (proximal balloon 16) used within the uterus and vagina, wherein the balloon (proximal balloon 16) is coupled with a pilot balloon (pilot balloon 62) for the purpose of indicating the pressure of the balloon when inflated with air (proximal balloon 16) (col. 5 lines 5 – 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Parys to inflate the balloon with air, as air is a known element used to inflate medical balloons, as evidenced by Levine, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success with said modification because the modification would be predictable and result in the balloon (vaginal cuff 150) of Parys being able to expand to occlude the vaginal canal as intended. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Parys to further include a pilot balloon, as taught by Levine, for the purpose of providing feedback to the user by indicating the pressure of the balloon when inflated (col. 5 lines 5 – 27 – Levine).
Claims 8 – 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parys et al (US 2016/0100861 A1) (previously cited) and in view of Wu et al (US 2019/0254708 A1) (previously cited) and Pustilnik (US 2010/0168784 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 12, Parys discloses a uterine manipulator device (uterine manipulation device 100) (Title, abstract, paragraph [0116], and Figs. 1 – 12), comprising:
an elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) comprising a proximal end and a distal end, [claim 10] a handle (handle 112) on the proximal end, a stem (sleeve 148) positioned along the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) (paragraphs [0124], [0127 – 0129], and Figs. 1 – 7);
the stem (sleeve 148) configured to be placed in a locked position by a locking assembly (thumb lock 176) on the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) (paragraphs [0126 – 0128] and Fig. 4)
a balloon occluder assembly (vaginal cuff 150), comprising:
a balloon occluder (balloon cuff 198) shaped to form an opening (opening / through passage of balloon cuff 198 – shown in Fig. 5) and formed of a single component (Fig. 5), the opening configured to allow passage therethrough of the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) and configured to change between an inflated state and a deflated state (paragraphs [0129] and [0138] and Figs. 5, 11, and 12), wherein a cervical cup (colpotomizer cup 146) positioned distally to the balloon occluder (vaginal cuff 150) on the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 12) (when mounted – Figs. 3, 4, and 6) and wherein when the balloon occluder is positioned on the stem, while in the locked position, the cervical cup (colpotomizer cup 146) is configured to move along the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102) (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitation is functional and requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning as claimed. With that said, as stated in paragraph [0131] the colpotomizer cup 146 (i.e., the cervical cup) and the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) are snapped fit together so that other cup sizes can be placed thereon, thus the colpotomizer cup 146 (i.e., the cervical cup) and the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) are moveable relative to each other along shaft; moreover, there is nothing that would prevent the colpotomizer cup 146 (i.e., the cervical cup) from being removed from the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) while the vaginal cuff 150 (i.e., balloon occluder) is on the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) and while the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) is in the locked configuration as the locked configuration only involves locking the side of the sleeve 148 (i.e., the stem) opposite from the cervical up against the elongated cannula tube. Thus the device of the prior art is configured as claimed).
However, Parys is silent regarding (i) [claims 8 and 12] the stem comprising a plurality of ribs positioned between a proximal lip and distal lip, (ii) the balloon configured to be placed around the ribs of stem and configured to allow passage of the distal lip, (iii) [claim 8] wherein the balloon occluder is formed from a single molded component, and (iv) an inflation valve configured to change the balloon between an inflated state and a deflate stated, the inflation valve being communicatively coupled to the balloon via a gas passage lumen. With respect to (iv), Parys discloses, in paragraph [0129], a catheter lumen 101 for inflating the balloon via saline or water.
As to (i) and (ii), Wu teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a uterine manipulator device (manipulator 100) (abstract, paragraph [0032], and Fig. 1) comprising a stem (stem 55) and an occluder (occluder 19’) with an opening configured to allow for the passage of a cannulated tube (tube 13) (paragraphs [0032], [0036], and [0039], and Fig. 3F), wherein the stem (stem 55) comprises a plurality of ribs (internal grooves 37) between a proximal lip and distal lip (barbell features 35) for the purpose of preventing the migration of the occluder along the stem in the distal and proximal directions (paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sleeve 148 of Parys to incorporate the ribs and lips (i.e., the internal grooves and barbell features), based on the teachings of Wu, for the purpose of preventing the migration of the occluder along the stem in the distal and proximal directions (paragraph [0037] – Wu). Additionally, with respect to (ii), Parys teaches the vaginal cuff 150 (i.e., the balloon occluder) is radially closed and is a separate element that is mounted on to sleeve 148 (paragraph [0129] and Fig. 5 – Parys), and the Examiner contends it would be obvious for the opening on one end of the vaginal cuff 150 (i.e., the balloon occluder) to be configured to allow passage of the distal tip therethrough, for the purpose of being able to mount the vaginal cuff 150 to the sleeve 148 as intended by Parys. Therefore, the combination of Parys and Wu makes obvious the limitation above.
As to (iii), Parys further teaches, in paragraph [0123] wherein the various components of the uterine manipulator (the shaft 102, the expandable balloon 106, the handle 112, and the tube 118) can be formed from one or more molded materials. The Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the balloon occluder (balloon cuff 198) of Parys be formed from a single molded component, as the particular technique is known and recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to form the known device (i.e., the balloon occluder), and the results of the process would have been predictable, wherein the device would be able to function as intended.
As to (iv), Pustilnik teaches an occluder balloon (balloon 300) (title, abstract, and paragraphs [0015] and [0027]) and an inflation valve (valve 306) with a gas passage lumen (communication line 110), wherein the gas passage lumen couples to the outer wall of the occluder balloon (balloon 300) via a port 302 (paragraphs [0026] and [0032] and Fig. 3A).
It should be understood that Parys and Pustilnik are known references in the art that teach inflatable vaginal occlusion cuffs (title, abstract, and paragraph [0116] – Parys ; title, abstract, and paragraph [0015] and [0027] – Pustilnik); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one balloon for another (including the gas line and valve), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified vaginal cuff of Parys being able to function as intended to properly occlude the flow of fluid/gas within the vagina during surgery. The examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the modified device of Parys and Pustilnik to incorporate the valve 306, as taught by Pustilnik, for the purpose of preventing the air from escaping the balloon during inflation (paragraph [0032] – Pustilnik).
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the sleeve of Parys to include ribs and lips, as taught by Wu. Additionally, Parys discloses wherein the stem (sleeve 148 – Parys) comprises the locking assembly (thumb lock 176 – Parys) positioned proximally from the distal lip (distal barbel feature 35 of Wu) (Examiner’s note: looking at Fig. 3 the thumb lock 176 is the most proximal element on sleeve 148 – Parys), wherein the locking assembly is configured to lock the stem (sleeve 148 – Parys) and the balloon occluder assembly (vaginal occluder 150 – Parys) from movement in at least one direction along the elongated cannulated tube (shaft 102 – Parys) (paragraphs [0126] and [0128] and Fig. 3 – Parys).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parys et al (US 2016/0100861 A1) (previously cited) in view of Wu et al (US 2019/0254708 A1) (previously cited) and Pustilnik (US 2010/0168784 A1) (previously cited), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Levine (US 5,104,377) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, the combination of Parys, Wu, and Pustilnik teaches the uterine manipulator of claim 8.
However, the combination of Parys, Wu, and Pustilnik is silent regarding (i) a pilot balloon.
As to the above, Levine teaches a balloon (proximal balloon 16) used within the uterus and vagina, wherein the balloon (proximal balloon 16) is coupled with a pilot balloon (pilot balloon 62) for the purpose of indicating the pressure of the balloon when inflated with air (proximal balloon 16) (col. 5 lines 5 – 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Parys in view of Wu and Pustilnik to include a pilot balloon, as taught by Levine, for the purpose of providing feedback to the user by indicating the pressure of the balloon when inflated (col. 5 lines 5 – 27 – Levine).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. More specifically:
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “For example, in Parys, the colpotomizer assembly 104 that includes a colpotomizer cup 146 and occulder 150 is collectively lockable by a lock 176. If the colpotomizer assembly 104 is in the locked position by the lock 176, the lock locks the colpotomizer assembly - with the occulder 150 and the colpotomizer cup 146 - and prevents movement of the assembly.”, as stated in the rejection above, the limitation is intended use; and a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. With that said, and as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 8 above, the cervical cup (colpotomizer cup 146) of Parys and the stem (sleeve 148) of Parys are separable from each other and from the cannulated tube (shaft 12) of Parys, and the portion of the stem (sleeve 148) that locks with the cannulated tube (shaft 12) does not also directly lock the cervical cup (colpotomizer cup 146) to the cannulated tube (shaft 12), therefore, the cervical cup (colpotomizer cup 146) is separable from the stem (sleeve 148) even when the stem (sleeve 148) is locked against the cannulated tube (shaft 12).
Conclusion
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771