Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 10/30/2025. Claims 1-12 are considered in this office action. Claims 1, 5 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-12
are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following arguments regarding the previous office action:
Weisberg does not disclose (d) updating the model by calculating: (i) a modeled vehicle position ... p,n ... at a future time, wherein p,nis based on pv,n-1 and vv,... ; (ii) a modeled tool position ... pt n ... at the future time, wherein pt n is based on (ptn-i,htn-1) and (pvn, hv,n); and (e) generating a control signal for controlling an actuator associated with the tool, wherein the control signal is based on ptn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the independent claims has been fully considered and is moot in light of new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, and 12 are all rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David et al (US6434462B1), in view of Backman et al. (Nonlinear Model Predictive Trajectory Control in Tractor-Trailer System for Parallel Guidance in Agricultural Field Operations).
Regarding claim 1, David discloses, a computer-implemented method for controlling an agricultural tool towed by a pivotally attached vehicle (1. A control system for a work vehicle towing a towed implement…), the method comprising the steps of:(a) storing in a memory a model comprising: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn-1, hvn-1)at an initial time; and (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn-1, htn-1) at the initial time; (b) at or after the initial time (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION, Larsen, W. E., Nielsen, G. A., Tyler, D. A., “Precision Navigation with GPS,” in Computers and Electronics in Agriculture, Vol. 11, 1995, pp. 85-95, suggest that GPS can be used to navigate a tractor and implement along a predetermined path, and appears to describe a model which, based on the geometry of the tractor and implement, determines or calculates the position of the implement) … (DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, the control processor 54 also includes an Extended Kalman Filter (EKF) which includes a measurement update and time update, which is performed at each time step (k)), and (c) calculating a vehicle velocity (vv) and a rate of change in heading per uit time (rv) based on the positional data received from the first GPS receiver (DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, the tractor has position, velocity, heading, yaw, yaw rate, yaw acceleration, heading bias, steer angle, steering angle slew rate, steer angle bias, gyro bias and radar bias parameters as shown in FIG. 1 and as indicated in Table I.) … (a plurality of vehicle GPS antennas 36-42 are mounted on the tractor 10. A third GPS receiver 44 is coupled to one of the vehicle GPS antennas 42 and generates vehicle position data. A known vector unit 46, such as Part No. 27760-00, manufactured by Trimble Navigation Limited, is coupled to the vehicle GPS antennas 36-42 and generates a vehicle attitude signal including tractor yaw (ψ), roll (φ) and pitch (λ) data). However, David does not explicitly disclose, receiving positional data from a first GPS receiver attached to the vehicle so as to move in unison with the vehicle; (d) updating the model by calculating: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn, hvn) at a future time, wherein pvn is based on pvn-1 and vv, and wherein hvn is based on hvn-1 and rv (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn, htn) at the future time, wherein ptn is based on (ptn-1, htn-1) and (pvn, hyn), and wherein htn is based on htn-1 and (pvn, hvn); and (e) generating a control signal for controlling an actuator associated with the tool, wherein the control signal is based on ptn.
Nevertheless, Backman who is in the same field of endeavor of model predictive trajectory discloses, receiving positional data from a first GPS receiver attached to the vehicle so as to move in unison with the vehicle (Introduction, Here the GPS positioning device is installed on tractor and the local sensor in the trailer, which is seed drill), (d) updating the model by calculating: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn, hvn) at a future time, wherein pvn is based on pvn-1 and vv, and wherein hvn is based on hvn-1 and rv (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system, the model of the tractor-trailer system is needed for the estimation and the control purposes. The NMPC uses the kinematic model to estimate the future in the optimization process) … (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system , the differential equation of the tractor’s kinematic model is:); See figure 1.
Fig. 1
(ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn, htn) at the future time, wherein ptn is based on (ptn-1, htn-1) and (pvn, hyn), and wherein htn is based on htn-1 and (pvn, hvn) (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system , Because the controlled point of the trailer is at the centre point of the seed coulters, it is modelled in the kinematic equations. Also, the position of the laser scanner is in the model) … (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system, the NMPC uses the kinematic model to estimate the future in the optimization process); and (e) generating a control signal for controlling an actuator associated with the tool, wherein the control signal is based on ptn (2. TEST CONFIGURATION, Because there were two actuators which affected the position of the seed drill, the problem was a multivariable control problem. Nonlinear Model Predictive Controller (NMPC) is a natural way to accomplish these kinds of tasks).
One of ordinary skill in art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would
have been motivated to combine David’s disclosure with Backman’s. David’s disclosure offers maintaining a state model for tractor position and heading using gps and kinematic relationships. Backman teaching of an NMPC cost function to generate control inputs to minimize implement tracking error would have been a predictable use of prior art functions. This would allow for controller updates based on the modeled vehicle and tool positions and heading. Therefore, one in the art would have found it obvious to combine the two disclosures to yield more precise and accurate results.
Justification for combining David’s disclosure with Backman not only comes
from the state of the art but from David (it is understood that many alternatives, modifications and variations will be apparent to those skilled in the art in light of the foregoing description. Accordingly, this invention is intended to embrace all such alternatives, modifications and variations which fall within the spirit and scope of the appended claims).
Regarding claim 2, David and Backman disclose The method of claim 1, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, wherein in step (e), the control signal is further based on htn (1. control processor generating the steering control signal as a function of the actual implement position data, the vehicle position data, the implement angle signal, the steering angle signal and the desired implement position signal).
Regarding claim 4, David and Beckman disclosed, the method of any one of claims 1 to 3, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, wherein in step (d)(i), pvn is further based on a vehicle position (pv)determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION, Larsen, W. E., Nielsen, G. A., Tyler, D. A., “Precision Navigation with GPS,” in Computers and Electronics in Agriculture, Vol. 11, 1995, pp. 85-95, suggest that GPS can be used to navigate a tractor and implement along a predetermined path, and appears to describe a model which, based on the geometry of the tractor and implement, determines or calculates the position of the implement). However David alone does not explicitly disclose that the hvn is further based on a vehicle heading (hv) determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver.
Nevertheless, Beckman discloses that the hvn is further based on a vehicle heading (hv) determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver Introduction, the system combines two sensors systems used in commercial parallel guidance systems, both GPS and
local sensors. Here the GPS positioning device is installed on tractor and the local sensor in the trailer, which is seed drill. The local sensor detects an edge of the adjacent swath. The hypothesis is that a nonlinear model predictive control (NMPC) is powerful approach to realize the trajectory following).
Regarding claim 5, David discloses, A system for controlling an agricultural tool towed by a pivotally attached vehicle, the system comprising: a processor operatively connected to the first GPS receiver to receive positional data therefrom (Summary of Invention, A first processor generates an implement position signal as a function of the implement position data and the reference position data. A second processor generates a vehicle position signal as a function of the vehicle position data and the reference position data), and a tangible, non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions readable by the processor to implement a method (DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, A first processor 48 is coupled to GPS receiver 26 and to wireless receiver 34 and generates an implement position signal as a function of the implement position data and the reference position data), comprising the steps of:(a) storing in a memory a model comprising: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn-1, hvn-1)at an initial time; and (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn-1, htn-1) at the initial time; (b) at or after the initial time (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION, Larsen, W. E., Nielsen, G. A., Tyler, D. A., “Precision Navigation with GPS,” in Computers and Electronics in Agriculture, Vol. 11, 1995, pp. 85-95, suggest that GPS can be used to navigate a tractor and implement along a predetermined path, and appears to describe a model which, based on the geometry of the tractor and implement, determines or calculates the position of the implement) … (DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, the control processor 54 also includes an Extended Kalman Filter (EKF) which includes a measurement update and time update, which is performed at each time step (k)), and (c) calculating a vehicle velocity (vv) and a rate of change in heading per uit time (rv) based on the positional data received from the first GPS receiver (DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, the tractor has position, velocity, heading, yaw, yaw rate, yaw acceleration, heading bias, steer angle, steering angle slew rate, steer angle bias, gyro bias and radar bias parameters as shown in FIG. 1 and as indicated in Table I.) … (a plurality of vehicle GPS antennas 36-42 are mounted on the tractor 10. A third GPS receiver 44 is coupled to one of the vehicle GPS antennas 42 and generates vehicle position data. A known vector unit 46, such as Part No. 27760-00, manufactured by Trimble Navigation Limited, is coupled to the vehicle GPS antennas 36-42 and generates a vehicle attitude signal including tractor yaw (ψ), roll (φ) and pitch (λ) data). However, David does not explicitly disclose, receiving positional data from a first GPS receiver attached to the vehicle so as to move in unison with the vehicle; (d) updating the model by calculating: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn, hvn) at a future time, wherein pvn is based on pvn-1 and vv, and wherein hvn is based on hvn-1 and rv (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn, htn) at the future time, wherein ptn is based on (ptn-1, htn-1) and (pvn, hyn), and wherein htn is based on htn-1 and (pvn, hvn); and (e) generating a control signal for controlling an actuator associated with the tool, wherein the control signal is based on ptn.
Nevertheless, Backman discloses, receiving positional data from a first GPS receiver attached to the vehicle so as to move in unison with the vehicle (Introduction, Here the GPS positioning device is installed on tractor and the local sensor in the trailer, which is seed drill), (d) updating the model by calculating: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn, hvn) at a future time, wherein pvn is based on pvn-1 and vv, and wherein hvn is based on hvn-1 and rv (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system, the model of the tractor-trailer system is needed for the estimation and the control purposes. The NMPC uses the kinematic model to estimate the future in the optimization process) … (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system , the differential equation of the tractor’s kinematic model is:); See figure 1. (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn, htn) at the future time, wherein ptn is based on (ptn-1, htn-1) and (pvn, hyn), and wherein htn is based on htn-1 and (pvn, hvn) (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system , Because the controlled point of the trailer is at the centre point of the seed coulters, it is modelled in the kinematic equations. Also, the position of the laser scanner is in the model) … (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system, the NMPC uses the kinematic model to estimate the future in the optimization process); and (e) generating a control signal for controlling an actuator associated with the tool, wherein the control signal is based on ptn (2. TEST CONFIGURATION, Because there were two actuators which affected the position of the seed drill, the problem was a multivariable control problem. Nonlinear Model Predictive Controller (NMPC) is a natural way to accomplish these kinds of tasks).
Regarding claim 6, David and Beckman disclose the system of claim 5 as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, wherein in step (e), the control signal is further based on htn (1. control processor generating the steering control signal as a function of the actual implement position data, the vehicle position data, the implement angle signal, the steering angle signal and the desired implement position signal).
Regarding claim 8, David and Beckman disclosed, the system of any one of claims 5 to 7, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, wherein in step (d)(i), pvn is further based on a vehicle position (pv)determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION, Larsen, W. E., Nielsen, G. A., Tyler, D. A., “Precision Navigation with GPS,” in Computers and Electronics in Agriculture, Vol. 11, 1995, pp. 85-95, suggest that GPS can be used to navigate a tractor and implement along a predetermined path, and appears to describe a model which, based on the geometry of the tractor and implement, determines or calculates the position of the implement). However David alone does not explicitly disclose that the hvn is further based on a vehicle heading (hv) determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver.
Nevertheless, Beckman discloses that the hvn is further based on a vehicle heading (hv) determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver Introduction, the system combines two sensors systems used in commercial parallel guidance systems, both GPS and
local sensors. Here the GPS positioning device is installed on tractor and the local sensor in the trailer, which is seed drill. The local sensor detects an edge of the adjacent swath. The hypothesis is that a nonlinear model predictive control (NMPC) is powerful approach to realize the trajectory following).
Regarding claim 9, David discloses, A computer program product for controlling an agricultural tool towed by a pivotally attached vehicle the computer program product comprising a tangible, non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions readable by a processor (Summary of Invention, A first processor generates an implement position signal as a function of the implement position data and the reference position data. A second processor generates a vehicle position signal as a function of the vehicle position data and the reference position data), to implement a method comprising the steps of: (a) storing in a memory a model comprising: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn-1, hvn-1) at an initial time; comprising the steps of:(a) storing in a memory a model comprising: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn-1, hvn-1)at an initial time; and (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn-1, htn-1) at the initial time; (b) at or after the initial time (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION, Larsen, W. E., Nielsen, G. A., Tyler, D. A., “Precision Navigation with GPS,” in Computers and Electronics in Agriculture, Vol. 11, 1995, pp. 85-95, suggest that GPS can be used to navigate a tractor and implement along a predetermined path, and appears to describe a model which, based on the geometry of the tractor and implement, determines or calculates the position of the implement) … (DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, the control processor 54 also includes an Extended Kalman Filter (EKF) which includes a measurement update and time update, which is performed at each time step (k)), and (c) calculating a vehicle velocity (vv) and a rate of change in heading per uit time (rv) based on the positional data received from the first GPS receiver (DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, the tractor has position, velocity, heading, yaw, yaw rate, yaw acceleration, heading bias, steer angle, steering angle slew rate, steer angle bias, gyro bias and radar bias parameters as shown in FIG. 1 and as indicated in Table I.) … (a plurality of vehicle GPS antennas 36-42 are mounted on the tractor 10. A third GPS receiver 44 is coupled to one of the vehicle GPS antennas 42 and generates vehicle position data. A known vector unit 46, such as Part No. 27760-00, manufactured by Trimble Navigation Limited, is coupled to the vehicle GPS antennas 36-42 and generates a vehicle attitude signal including tractor yaw (ψ), roll (φ) and pitch (λ) data). However, David does not explicitly disclose, receiving positional data from a first GPS receiver attached to the vehicle so as to move in unison with the vehicle; (d) updating the model by calculating: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn, hvn) at a future time, wherein pvn is based on pvn-1 and vv, and wherein hvn is based on hvn-1 and rv (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn, htn) at the future time, wherein ptn is based on (ptn-1, htn-1) and (pvn, hyn), and wherein htn is based on htn-1 and (pvn, hvn); and (e) generating a control signal for controlling an actuator associated with the tool, wherein the control signal is based on ptn.
Nevertheless, Backman discloses, receiving positional data from a first GPS receiver attached to the vehicle so as to move in unison with the vehicle (Introduction, Here the GPS positioning device is installed on tractor and the local sensor in the trailer, which is seed drill), (d) updating the model by calculating: (i) a modeled vehicle position and heading (pvn, hvn) at a future time, wherein pvn is based on pvn-1 and vv, and wherein hvn is based on hvn-1 and rv (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system, the model of the tractor-trailer system is needed for the estimation and the control purposes. The NMPC uses the kinematic model to estimate the future in the optimization process) … (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system , the differential equation of the tractor’s kinematic model is:); See figure 1. (ii) a modeled tool position and heading (ptn, htn) at the future time, wherein ptn is based on (ptn-1, htn-1) and (pvn, hyn), and wherein htn is based on htn-1 and (pvn, hvn) (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system , Because the controlled point of the trailer is at the centre point of the seed coulters, it is modelled in the kinematic equations. Also, the position of the laser scanner is in the model) … (2.1 Kinematic model of the tractor-trailer system, the NMPC uses the kinematic model to estimate the future in the optimization process); and (e) generating a control signal for controlling an actuator associated with the tool, wherein the control signal is based on ptn (2. TEST CONFIGURATION, Because there were two actuators which affected the position of the seed drill, the problem was a multivariable control problem. Nonlinear Model Predictive Controller (NMPC) is a natural way to accomplish these kinds of tasks).
Regarding claim 10, David and Beckman disclose the computer program product of claim 9, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, wherein in step (e), the control signal is further based on htn (1. control processor generating the steering control signal as a function of the actual implement position data, the vehicle position data, the implement angle signal, the steering angle signal and the desired implement position signal).
Regarding claim 12, David and Beckman disclosed, the computer program product of any one of claims 9 to 11, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, wherein in step (d)(i), pvn is further based on a vehicle position (pv)determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION, Larsen, W. E., Nielsen, G. A., Tyler, D. A., “Precision Navigation with GPS,” in Computers and Electronics in Agriculture, Vol. 11, 1995, pp. 85-95, suggest that GPS can be used to navigate a tractor and implement along a predetermined path, and appears to describe a model which, based on the geometry of the tractor and implement, determines or calculates the position of the implement). However David alone does not explicitly disclose that the hvn is further based on a vehicle heading (hv) determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver.
Nevertheless, Beckman discloses that the hvn is further based on a vehicle heading (hv) determined from the positional data received from the first GPS receiver Introduction, the system combines two sensors systems used in commercial parallel guidance systems, both GPS and
local sensors. Here the GPS positioning device is installed on tractor and the local sensor in the trailer, which is seed drill. The local sensor detects an edge of the adjacent swath. The hypothesis is that a nonlinear model predictive control (NMPC) is powerful approach to realize the trajectory following).
Claims 3, 7, and 11 are all rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David et al (US6434462B1), in view of Backman et al. (Nonlinear Model Predictive Trajectory Control in Tractor-Trailer System for Parallel Guidance in Agricultural Field Operations), further in view of Medagoda et al. (US20170144701A1).
Regarding claim 3, David and Beckman disclosed the method of any one of claims 1 to 2, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, the method further comprises, at or after the initial time, receiving positional data from a second GPS receiver attached to the tool so as to move in unison with the tool (2. an implement GPS antenna is mounted on the implement and a GPS receiver is coupled to the implement GPS antenna and generates the actual implement position data) and in step (d)(ii), ptn is further based on a tool position (pt) determined from the positional data received from the second GPS receiver (2. an implement GPS antenna is mounted on the implement and a GPS receiver is coupled to the implement GPS antenna and generates the actual implement position data). However, David does not explicitly disclose that htn, is further based on a tool heading (ht) determined from the positional data received, from the second GPS receiver.
Nevertheless, Medagoda who is in the same field of endeavor of implement steering discloses that the htn, is further based on a tool heading (ht) determined from the positional data (0058, where ψt,0 is the initial trailer heading. Equation 3.2 provides an analytic representation of trailer heading over time. A derivation of Equation 3.2 is described below. The analytic solution assumes that basic vehicle information is available (V, δS and ψv), which can be used to determine the subsequent trailer heading after a given period of time) … (15. measure the trailer heading error and cross-track error based on readings from a global positioning system (GPS) receiver and inertial sensor located on the trailer), received, from the second GPS receiver (0054, an implement GPS receiver 152A and implement inertial sensors 152B are installed on implement 104. GPS receiver 152A and inertial sensors 152B may generate and send navigation states for implement 104 to guidance system 120 via wired or wireless connections).
One of ordinary skill in art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would
have been motivated to combine the combination of David and Backman with Medagoda. This would make for a more accurate tool-pose estimation for curved paths and variable conditions by using Medagoda’s GPS data for the tool heading calculation. Therefore, one in the art would have found it obvious to combine the three disclosures to yield more precise and accurate results for suboptimal field conditions or arrangements.
Justification for combining the combination of David and Backman not only comes
from the state of the art but from David (it is understood that many alternatives, modifications and variations will be apparent to those skilled in the art in light of the foregoing description. Accordingly, this invention is intended to embrace all such alternatives, modifications and variations which fall within the spirit and scope of the appended claims).
Regarding claim 7, David and Beckman disclosed the system of any one of claims 5 to 6, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, the system further comprises, a second GPS receiver attached to the tool so as to move in unison with the tool (2. an implement GPS antenna is mounted on the implement and a GPS receiver is coupled to the implement GPS antenna and generates the actual implement position data) and in step (d)(ii), ptn is further based on a tool position (pt) determined from the positional data received from the second GPS receiver (2. an implement GPS antenna is mounted on the implement and a GPS receiver is coupled to the implement GPS antenna and generates the actual implement position data). However, David does not explicitly disclose that htn, is further based on a tool heading (ht) determined from the positional data received, from the second GPS receiver.
Nevertheless, Medagoda discloses that the htn, is further based on a tool heading (ht) determined from the positional data (0058, where ψt,0 is the initial trailer heading. Equation 3.2 provides an analytic representation of trailer heading over time. A derivation of Equation 3.2 is described below. The analytic solution assumes that basic vehicle information is available (V, δS and ψv), which can be used to determine the subsequent trailer heading after a given period of time) … (15. measure the trailer heading error and cross-track error based on readings from a global positioning system (GPS) receiver and inertial sensor located on the trailer), received, from the second GPS receiver (0054, an implement GPS receiver 152A and implement inertial sensors 152B are installed on implement 104. GPS receiver 152A and inertial sensors 152B may generate and send navigation states for implement 104 to guidance system 120 via wired or wireless connections).
Regarding claim 11, David and Beckman disclosed the computer program product of any one of claims 9 to 10, as discussed supra. Additionally, David discloses, the processor is operatively connected to a second GPS receiver attached to the tool so as to move in unison with the tool (2. an implement GPS antenna is mounted on the implement and a GPS receiver is coupled to the implement GPS antenna and generates the actual implement position data) and in step (d)(ii), ptn is further based on a tool position (pt) determined from the positional data received from the second GPS receiver (2. an implement GPS antenna is mounted on the implement and a GPS receiver is coupled to the implement GPS antenna and generates the actual implement position data). However, David does not explicitly disclose that htn, is further based on a tool heading (ht) determined from the positional data received, from the second GPS receiver.
Nevertheless, Medagoda discloses that the htn, is further based on a tool heading (ht) determined from the positional data (0058, where ψt,0 is the initial trailer heading. Equation 3.2 provides an analytic representation of trailer heading over time. A derivation of Equation 3.2 is described below. The analytic solution assumes that basic vehicle information is available (V, δS and ψv), which can be used to determine the subsequent trailer heading after a given period of time) … (15. measure the trailer heading error and cross-track error based on readings from a global positioning system (GPS) receiver and inertial sensor located on the trailer), received, from the second GPS receiver (0054, an implement GPS receiver 152A and implement inertial sensors 152B are installed on implement 104. GPS receiver 152A and inertial sensors 152B may generate and send navigation states for implement 104 to guidance system 120 via wired or wireless connections).
Conclusion
/S.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665