DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to claims 1, 8, 12, and 13 in the response filed 3/10/26 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are still pending in the application and are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (new reference Lin has been provided to teach the newly added limitations regarding the capacitor).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on 6/18/20. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202031025622 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9, 13-15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. CN 111227359 A in view of Nakakawara JP 2015029568 A further in view of Lin et al. US 2020/0161990 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Zou discloses a personal protective equipment (PPE) 1 (fig. 3 and p. 2 of translation, electrostatic absorbing mask) comprising: a first layer 7 of a first material (fig. 3 and p. 3, skin facing layer 7 of the mask body 1); a second layer 6 of a second material (fig. 3 and p. 3, heat insulating layer 6); an energy collector configured to store and transfer charge (p. 5, human motion energy generates electricity to generate electrostatic charge for electrostatic adsorption filtration function; fig. 1 and p. 6-7, the rope-type human body motion energy collector 2 is connected through leads to the mask body 1); and a third layer 16/17 and a fourth layer 14/15 connected to and powered by the energy collector (figs. 3, 5, and 6; and p. 7, the electrostatic absorption layer 5 comprises a substrate 13 with layers 14 and 15 on the convex/outer side and layers 16 and 17 on the concave/inner side; p. 8, the human body motion energy collector 2 collects motion energy from the body to power the heating layer 4 and the electrostatic absorption layer 5, which includes layers 14/15 and 16/17).
Zou is silent on the first material being triboelectric; the second material being triboelectric; the charge being triboelectric charge generated from the first layer and the second layer.
However, Nakakawara teaches a personal protective equipment (PPE) (figs. 1 and 2a, and p. 3 of translation, mask 1) comprising: an analogous first layer 13 of a first triboelectric material; an analogous second layer 12 of a second triboelectric material; the charge being triboelectric charge generated from the first layer 13 and the second layer 12 (fig. 2a and p. 4, charging filter 12 is made of a material that is easily charged by friction with the other laminated members (i.e., layer 13, which is further laminated to filter layer 12) to generate static electricity; layers 12 and 13 are analogous to Zou’s first and second layers, as they are the innermost two layers of the mask).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first and second materials of Zou to be triboelectric, and to have replaced the mode of energy-collecting of Zou such that the charge is triboelectric charge generated from the first layer and the second layer of the mask, as taught by Nakakawara, as utilizing static electricity from the inner two layers of the mask to charge the electrostatic absorption layer would eliminate the need for the user to wear the cumbersome energy collector on their hip, and this manner of collecting electricity would make the mask much less conspicuous on the body, as it would not require wires between the mask and the hip; thus, this modification is replacing Zou’s source of energy (energy from leg movement) with Nakakawara’s source of energy (energy from friction) by utilizing the friction between Zou’s innermost two mask layers, as taught by Nakakawara.
Zou in view of Nakakawara is silent on the energy collector being a circuit that comprises a capacitor.
However, Lin teaches an analogous triboelectric structure 60 for disinfecting (fig. 19A and [0075], disinfecting system 60 comprises wearable member 62 and triboelectric nanogenerator structure 611) comprising a circuit that comprises a capacitor 631 (fig. 22A and [0075]-[0083], capacitor 631 is charged when the user is stepping on the triboelectric nanogenerator structures 611, which in turn powers the disinfecting wearable member 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the energy collector of Zou in view of Nakakawara to be a circuit that comprises a capacitor, as taught by Lin, in order to store and transfer the triboelectric charge generated by the inner two layers of the mask in a controlled manner.
Regarding claim 2, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Nakawara further teaches the first triboelectric material 13 and the second triboelectric material 12 having a difference in triboelectric charge density (TECD) of at least 35 µC/m2 (p. (p. 4, layer 12 can be made from polypropylene, and layer 13 can be made from polyester; as evidenced by Zou et al. in Quantifying the triboelectric series (copy of NPL attached), Table 1 shows polypropylene having a TECD of about -27 µC/m2 while polyester has a TECD of about -101 µC/m2), to generate sufficient static energy between the two materials.
Regarding claim 3, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Nakakawara further teaches at least one of the first layer 13 and the second layer 12 is one or more of cellulose, polyvinyl chloride, polyester, polyamide, polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene, poly(ethylene terephthalate), poly(methyl methacrylate), nylon, polypropylene (p. 4, charging filter 12 may be polypropylene), paper, cotton, silk, chiffon, wool, and polyurethane, to be “made of a material that is easily charged” (p. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou further discloses the third layer 16/17 and the fourth layer 14/15 being conductive (p. 4, layer 15 is an anode of a metal sheet, and layer 17 is a cathode of a metal sheet).
Regarding claim 9, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou further discloses a spacer 13 between the third layer 16/17 and the fourth layer 14/15 (figs. 3, 5, and 6; and p. 7, the electrostatic absorption layer 5 comprises a substrate 13 with layers 14 and 15 on the convex/outer side and layers 16 and 17 on the concave/inner side).
Zou is silent on the spacer having a thickness of no more than 5 µm.
However, Nakakawara further teaches the layers of the mask having a thickness of several µm (p. 7, the thickness of materials 11 and 12 is about several µm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the spacer (one of the layers of the mask) of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to have a thickness of no more than 5 µm, as taught by Nakakawara, to maintain lightness so that the mask is comfortable to wear.
Regarding claim 13, Zou discloses a method of filtering particles for personal protective equipment (PPE) 1 (fig. 3 and p. 2 of translation, electrostatic absorbing mask to self-generate virucidal electricity) comprising: providing a multi-layer construction of a first layer 7 of a first material (fig. 3 and p. 3, skin facing layer 7 of the mask body 1), a second layer 6 of a second material (fig. 3 and p. 3, heat insulating layer 6); a third layer 16/17, and a fourth layer 14/15 (figs. 3, 5, and 6; and p. 7, the electrostatic absorption layer 5 comprises a substrate 13 with layers 14 and 15 on the convex/outer side and layers 16 and 17 on the concave/inner side); and transferring charge, through an energy collector, to the third layer 16/17 and the fourth layer 14/15 (p. 5, human motion energy generates electricity to generate electrostatic charge for electrostatic adsorption filtration function; fig. 1 and p. 6-7, the rope-type human body motion energy collector 2 is connected through leads to the mask body 1).
Zou is silent on the first material being triboelectric; the second material being triboelectric; generating triboelectric charge at the first layer and the second layer; and the transferred charge being the triboelectric charge.
However, Nakakawara teaches a personal protective equipment (PPE) (figs. 1 and 2a, and p. 3 of translation, mask 1) comprising: an analogous first layer 13 of a first triboelectric material; an analogous second layer 12 of a second triboelectric material; generating triboelectric charge at the first layer 13 and the second layer 12; and the charge being the triboelectric charge (fig. 2a and p. 4, charging filter 12 is made of a material that is easily charged by friction with the other laminated members (i.e., layer 13, which is further laminated to filter layer 12) to generate static electricity; layers 12 and 13 are analogous to Zou’s first and second layers, as they are the innermost two layers of the mask).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first and second materials of Zou to be triboelectric, and to have replaced the mode of energy-collecting of Zou to comprise generating triboelectric charge at the first layer and the second layer; and the transferred charge being the triboelectric charge, as taught by Nakakawara, as utilizing static electricity from the inner two layers of the mask to charge the electrostatic absorption layer would eliminate the need for the user to wear the cumbersome energy collector on their hip, and this manner of collecting electricity would make the mask much less conspicuous on the body, as it would not require wires between the mask and the hip; thus, this modification is replacing Zou’s source of energy (energy from leg movement) with Nakakawara’s source of energy (energy from friction) by utilizing the friction between Zou’s innermost two mask layers, as taught by Nakakawara.
Zou in view of Nakakawara is silent on the generating triboelectric charge comprising storing, by a circuit comprising a capacitor, the triboelectric charge, and transferring the triboelectric charge, through the circuit.
However, Lin teaches an analogous triboelectric structure 60 for disinfecting (fig. 19A and [0075], disinfecting system 60 comprises wearable member 62 and triboelectric nanogenerator structure 611) comprising storing, by a circuit comprising a capacitor 631, the triboelectric charge, and transferring the triboelectric charge, through the circuit 631 (fig. 22A and [0075]-[0083], capacitor 631 is charged when the user is stepping on the triboelectric nanogenerator structures 611, which in turn powers the disinfecting wearable member 62; thus, the circuit shown in fig. 22A allows the capacitor 631 to store charge from the nanogenerator structures 611 as well as transfer the charge to the wearable member 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the generating triboelectric charge of Zou in view of Nakakawara to comprise storing, by a circuit comprising a capacitor, the triboelectric charge, and transferring the triboelectric charge, through the circuit, as taught by Lin, in order to store and transfer the triboelectric charge generated by the inner two layers of the mask in a controlled manner.
Regarding claim 14, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Nakawara further teaches the first triboelectric material 13 and the second triboelectric material 12 having a difference in triboelectric charge density (TECD) of at least 35 µC/m2 (p. (p. 4, layer 12 can be made from polypropylene, and layer 13 can be made from polyester; as evidenced by Zou et al. in Quantifying the triboelectric series (copy of NPL attached), Table 1 shows polypropylene having a TECD of about -27 µC/m2 while polyester has a TECD of about -101 µC/m2), to generate sufficient static energy between the two materials.
Regarding claim 15, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Nakakawara further teaches at least one of the first layer 13 and the second layer 12 is one or more of cellulose, polyvinyl chloride, polyester, polyamide, polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene, poly(ethylene terephthalate), poly(methyl methacrylate), nylon, polypropylene (p. 4, charging filter 12 may be polypropylene), paper, cotton, silk, chiffon, wool, and polyurethane, to be “made of a material that is easily charged” (p. 4).
Regarding claim 21, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou further discloses a spacer 13 between the third layer 16/17 and the fourth layer 14/15 (figs. 3, 5, and 6; and p. 7, the electrostatic absorption layer 5 comprises a substrate 13 with layers 14 and 15 on the convex/outer side and layers 16 and 17 on the concave/inner side).
Zou is silent on the spacer having a thickness of no more than 5 µm.
However, Nakakawara further teaches the layers of the mask having a thickness of several µm (p. 7, the thickness of materials 11 and 12 is about several µm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the spacer (one of the layers of the mask) of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to have a thickness of no more than 5 µm, as taught by Nakakawara, to maintain lightness so that the mask is comfortable to wear.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. CN 111227359 A in view of Nakakawara JP 2015029568 A further in view of Lin et al. US 2020/0161990 A1 and Biedermann US 2009/0320849 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Nakakawara further teaches the second layer 12 being polypropylene (p. 4, charging filter 12 may be polypropylene), to be “made of a material that is easily charged” (p. 4).
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the first layer being cotton.
However, Biedermann teaches an analogous face mask 10 (fig. 1) comprising a layer made of cotton ([0084], the material of a layer of the mask may be cotton).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first layer of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to be cotton, as taught by Biedermann, as the first layer is closest to the wearer’s face, and cotton is known to be comfortable and hypoallergenic on skin.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. CN 111227359 A in view of Nakakawara JP 2015029568 A further in view of Lin et al. US 2020/0161990 A1 and Baumann et al. US 5,706,804.
Regarding claim 5, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the first layer being nylon and the second layer being polyvinyl chloride.
However, Baumann teaches an analogous face mask 10 (fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 10-11) comprising analogous adjacent first and second layers 16/18 (fig. 2), the first layer 16 being nylon and the second layer 18 being polyvinyl chloride (fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 11-16, layer 18 may be polyvinyl chloride; col. 6, lines 10-17, layer 16 may be nylon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first and second layers of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to be nylon and polyvinyl chloride, respectively, as taught by Baumann, as PVC and nylon have a large TECD difference and would generate sufficient static energy (Table 1 of Quantifying the triboelectric series shows the TECD of PVC being about -118 and nylon being about -26 or -18).
Regarding claim 6, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the first layer being polypropylene and the second layer being polyurethane.
However, Baumann teaches an analogous face mask 10 (fig. 1 and col. 1, lines 10-11) comprising analogous adjacent first and second layers 16/18 (fig. 2), the first layer 16 being polypropylene and the second layer 18 being polyurethane (fig. 2 and col. 5, lines 11-16, layer 18 may be polyurethane; col. 6, lines 10-17, layer 16 may be polypropylene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first and second layers of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to be polypropylene and polyurethane, respectively, as taught by Baumann, as polypropylene and polyurethane have a large TECD difference and would generate sufficient static energy (Table 1 of Quantifying the triboelectric series shows the TECD of polypropylene being about -27 and polyurethane being about -110).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. CN 111227359 A in view of Nakakawara JP 2015029568 A further in view of Lin et al. US 2020/0161990 A1 and He et al. CN 109171061 A.
Regarding claim 7, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the first layer and the second layer having a conductive coating thereon.
However, He teaches analogous power generating unit for a respirator (figs. 1-3 and p. 3, nano power generation unit using friction between two layers), wherein analogous layers 120/130 having conductive coating 110/140 thereon (p. 11, conductive layers 110 and 140 are coated onto friction layers 120 and 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the first and second layers of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin with a conductive coating thereon, as taught by He, to conduct the electricity generated between the two layers for usage.
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. CN 111227359 A in view of Nakakawara JP 2015029568 A further in view of Lin et al. US 2020/0161990 A1 and Cheng et al. US 2014/0076334 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou further discloses an outermost layer 3 (fig. 3 and p. 3, outer layer 3), or an innermost layer, or both.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the outermost layer being fabric.
However, Cheng teaches a mask 1 (fig. 1 and [0037], mask body 1) comprising an analogous outermost layer 11 (fig. 3 and [0038], water-repellent layer 11, which is similar to Zou’s outermost water-repellent layer 3) that is fabric ([0038], layer 11 is breathable water-repellent fabric).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the outermost layer of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to be fabric, as taught by Cheng, as fabric is breathable while still being lightweight and comfortable to touch and wear.
Regarding claim 22, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou further discloses an outermost layer 3 (fig. 3 and p. 3, outer layer 3), or an innermost layer, or both.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the outermost layer being fabric.
However, Cheng teaches a mask 1 (fig. 1 and [0037], mask body 1) comprising an analogous outermost layer 11 (fig. 3 and [0038], water-repellent layer 11, which is similar to Zou’s outermost water-repellent layer 3) that is fabric ([0038], layer 11 is breathable water-repellent fabric).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the outermost layer of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to be fabric, as taught by Cheng, as fabric is breathable while still being lightweight and comfortable to touch and wear.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. CN 111227359 A in view of Nakakawara JP 2015029568 A further in view of Lin et al. US 2020/0161990 A1 and Kang KR 20160004280 U.
Regarding claim 11, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the third layer and the fourth layer providing an electric field configured to electrify particles having a size of 10 nm to 10 µm between the third layer and the fourth layer.
However, Kang teaches a mask 1000 (fig. 1 and p. 2 of translation, mask to prevent particulate pollutants from being breathed in) comprising analogous layers 131/132 providing an electric field configured to electrify particles having a size of 10 nm to 10 µm between the layers 131/132 (fig. 7 and p. 9, particulate pollutants 3 to 6 have a particle size of 10 µm or less; p. 10, ion particles 3 to 5 are electrically charged through the first metal net 131 and the second metal net 132, which are analogous to Zou’s metal sheets 15 and 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the third and fourth layer of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to provide an electric field configured to electrify particles having a size of 10 nm to 10 µm between the third layer and the fourth layer, as taught by Kang, to collect particles that are very small and that would not get caught using typical filter material (p. 10).
Regarding claim 12, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara is silent on the first layer and the second layer being configured to be charged by an external power prior to use.
However, Kang teaches a mask 1000 (fig. 1 and p. 2 of translation, mask to prevent particulate pollutants from being breathed in) comprising analogous layers 131/132 that are charged by an external power prior to use (fig. 5 and p. 7, power supply 300 connects to first metal net 131 and second metal net 132 to generate an electric field for collecting dust and is thus capable of charging the layers 131/132 prior to use; p. 8, the power supply 300 can be worn on the neck or ear).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the mask of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin such that the first layer and the second layer are configured to be charged by an external power prior to use, as taught by Kang, to provide an additional source of power for generating static electricity to remove dust and contaminants.
Regarding claim 23, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on the particles having a size of 10 nm to 10 µm.
However, Kang teaches a mask 1000 (fig. 1 and p. 2 of translation, mask to prevent particulate pollutants from being breathed in) comprising analogous layers 131/132 that electrify particles having a size of 10 nm to 10 µm (fig. 7 and p. 9, particulate pollutants 3 to 6 have a particle size of 10 µm or less; p. 10, ion particles 3 to 5 are electrically charged through the first metal net 131 and the second metal net 132, which are analogous to Zou’s metal sheets 15 and 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the particles of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to have a size of 10 nm to 10 µm, as taught by Kang, to collect particles that are very small and that would not get caught using typical filter material (p. 10).
Regarding claim 24, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on charging the first layer and the second layer using an external power prior to use.
However, Kang teaches a mask 1000 (fig. 1 and p. 2 of translation, mask to prevent particulate pollutants from being breathed in) comprising charging analogous layers 131/132 using an external power prior to use (fig. 5 and p. 7, power supply 300 connects to first metal net 131 and second metal net 132 to generate an electric field for collecting dust; thus, the layers 131/132 must at least be charged prior to the moment of use, which is interpreted as the moment of collection of dust; p. 8, the power supply 300 can be worn on the neck or ear).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of using the mask of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to include charging the first layer and the second layer using an external power prior to use, as taught by Kang, to provide an additional source of power for generating static electricity to remove dust and contaminants.
Regarding claim 25, Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin is silent on electrifying the particles between the third layer and the fourth layer.
However, Kang teaches a mask 1000 (fig. 1 and p. 2 of translation, mask to prevent particulate pollutants from being breathed in) comprising electrifying the particles between analogous layers 131/132 (fig. 7 and p. 10, ion particles 3 to 5 are electrically charged through the first metal net 131 and the second metal net 132, which are analogous to Zou’s metal sheets 15 and 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Zou in view of Nakakawara further in view of Lin to include electrifying the particles between the third layer and the fourth layer, as taught by Kang, to collect particles that are very small and that would not get caught using typical filter material (p. 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE J LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786