DETAILED ACTION
Claims 73, 78-82, 93-99, 104-108 and 119 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-72, 74-77, 83-92, 100-103 and 109-118 have been cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/16/26, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Trajanoski1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 73, 82, 94-99 and 108 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath2 in view of Rosinko3 in view of Trajanoski et al [Trajanoski], Neural Predictive Controller for Insulin Delivery Using the Subcutaneous Route: A simulation study.
Referring to claim 73, Kamath teaches the subcutaneous medicament delivery system comprising:
A pump [Fig. 3 0058].
A cannula attached to the pump [0058].
A controller [0037, 0271], the controller configured to:
Automatically calculate a medicament dosage protocol based upon a blood glucose level [0272-0273].
Use machine learning calculations utilizing calculated error data to modify the medicament dosage protocol [0028, 0271-0273]. Machine learning is known to use error data in the learning process.
In summary, Kamath teaches a controller that works in coordination with an insulin pump and a continuous glucose monitor to determine insulin dosages based on received glucose measurements. Adjustments are made as necessary to improve the administration of insulin to the patient.
While Kamath does not explicitly teach the use of neural networks, it is taught to use machine learning. Since neural networks are a type of machine learning, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try using a neural network in Kamath as a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Lastly, while Kamath teaches the invention substantially as claimed above, it is not explicitly taught to modify the medicament dosage protocol when an event driven signal indicative of an infusion cannula change is detected. In other words, while Kamath learns how to best administer insulin based on blood glucose readings, it is not explicitly taught to further consider site changes for insulin dosages via insulin pump. Rosinko teaches insulin effectiveness can vary based on time of insertion and determines a dosage based on a detected site change and a time from when the change occurred. Specifically, inflammatory response occurs during a site change which requires additional insulin to be delivered which tapers off over time. In addition, insulin potency decreases over time which then requires additional insulin to be administered [0025-0027, 0030-0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Rosinko into the Kamath system because it would provide a way to account for insulin effectiveness over time based on a time at an insertion site. It is interpreted that in the Kamath-Rosinko combination that the machine learning/neural network would further be used to consider the injection site duration information since it provides further consideration how the controller should administer insulin to the patient.
While the Kamath-Rosinko combination teaches the invention substantially as claimed above, it is not explicitly taught to use the deviation between a predicted dosage effect with an observed effect based on glucose level to modify the dosages protocol from the neural network. Trajanoski teaches modifying neural network output by utilizing the error between a predicted dosage effect and observed effect based on blood glucose level [Abstract, Section II-B) Nonlinear System Identification Using Neural Networks, Section B4) System Validation, Section II C-1) Control Law, C2) Offset Elimination, C3) Tuning Parameters]. In summary, Trajanoksi teaches a closed loop insulin delivery system to regulate blood glucose using a radial basis function (RBF) neural network (NN). The RBF NN predicts future glucose output y_NN(t) which is compared against the measured process at the present sampling instant (i.e., observed glucose) to determine deviation [equation 23]. Using the deviation, the output is corrected and the system is tuned accordingly [Equations 19-20 and 24]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Trajanoski into the Kamath-Rosinko combination because Trajanoski teaches a way for the neural network in the Kamath-Rosinko combination to learn and control its insulin delivery based on a measured glucose as is present in Kamath.
Referring to claim 82, it was argued above that it would have been obvious to include a neural network in Kamath. The architecture of neural networks includes for example, nodes within a hidden layer whose weights are adjusted as the model learns. The updating of the node weights during a learning process are interpreted as modifying historical settings since the weights in the machine learning/neural network model are representative of the historical settings over time. Since Rosinko further introduces the need to adjust medicament based on changing of the cannula insertion site, the Kamath-Rosinko combination would obviously update the node weights in further accordance with the site changes since those node weights are ultimately responsible for medicament dosage control.
Referring to claim 94, Kamath teaches increasing/decreasing a dosage over time based on the learning process [0220]. This implies that the prior (i.e., historical) dose is saved and modified accordingly. While this relates to a basal dose (i.e., a slow continuous long-term insulin), Kamath further suggests the same adjustments can also occur with bolus doses as well [0240].
Referring to claim 95-96, Kamath further teaches that if a glucose level is out of range, an adjustment to the dosage is made until the dose is determined to be correct [0240]. This implies that if a previous dosage is too little, then that dosage is increased. If the new dosage is still too little, new dosage is increased. This would occur multiple times until the dose is satisfactory. This also suggests that only the latest dose is used as it is the relevant dosage to be modified. In other words, if a dosage is increased four times before determining it is correct, only the third dosage is factored when determining the increase since the first and second dosages would be irrelevant. In the Kamath-Rosinko combination, this would include testing the insulin dosage in response to changing sites as the combination would attempt to learn how to better administer insulin in response to relocating to another site.
Referring to claim 97, this is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove. Claim 97 incorporates a portion of the limitations in claim 73 and 94 which are rejected above.
Referring to claims 98-99 and 108, these are rejected on the same basis as claims 95-96 and 82 respectively.
Claim(s) 78-81, 93, 104-107 and 119 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath, Rosinko and Trajanoski as applied to claims 73, 82, 94-99 and 108 above, and further in view of Dassau4.
Referring to claims 78-81 and 93, while the Kamath-Rosinko combination teaches the invention substantially as claimed above, it is not explicitly taught to perform calculations using a Kalman filter or model predictive control nor controlling via PID or fuzzy logic controllers. Dassau teaches an artificial pancreas (i.e., a system like that described in the Kamath-Rosinko combination) who teaches that calculations and control are performed using Kalman filter and model predictive control and controlled via PID and fuzzy logic controllers [0043, 0047, 0059]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Dassau into the Kamath-Rosinko combination because doing so would provide what is commonly used to facilitate operation in an artificial pancreas.
Referring to claims 104-107 and 119, these are rejected on the same basis as claims 78-81 and 93 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 5/29/26
1 See below
2 Cited in the previous office action
3 Cited in the previous office action
4 Cited in the previous office action