DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 2/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GRUBER et al. (US 4,980,011).
With respect to claim 1, GRUBER et al. discloses an automated liner removing transfer tape applicator (Abstract) comprising an unwinding station, at 14, a winding station, at 40, a winding electric motor, 46, and an adhesive tape pasting assembly, 34 (Figures 1 and 4; Column 2, lines 40-68; Column 3, lines 1-40). The tension of the tape is controlled and thus is capable of having slack (e.g., zero tension). Moreover, the tape is unwound to the pasting assembly to apply the tape, and then the liner is wound to the winding station by driving the winding station via the electric motor. GRUBER et al. further discloses an unwinding driving assembly, 16, comprising an unwinding driving motor (Column 3, lines 24-40; Figures 1 and 2), and brake, 26/30, Column 2, lines 45-68).
The description of “for zero-tension double-faced adhesive tape pasting” is a recitation of intended use, and does not impart patentability to the claim. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2114, II.
Moreover, the recitation of “after the unwinding station unwinds a double-faced adhesive tape and the adhesive tape pasting assembly pastes an adhesive tape of the double faced adhesive tape onto a foil, the winding electric motor drives the winding station to wind a remaining release paper” is a manner of operating the device and does not impart patentability to the claims.
The tape, liner and foil represent materials worked up and do not impart patentability to the claims. "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP 2115.
The recitation of “in an adhesive tape pasting process, the unwinding work and winding work are carried out synchronously” is a recitation of operating the device, which does not impart patentability to the claims.
As seen in GRUBER et al., the winding and unwinding operation are performed together to control the tension of the tape and liner (Column 2, lines 40-68; Column 3, lines 1-55). Thus, the device of GRUBER et al. is capable of being simultaneously driven by activation of the various motors and brakes. Moreover, the device of GRUBER et al. is capable of winding the liner after applying the tape to a receiving surface (Figures 1-3).
With respect to claim 3¸ GRUBER et al. further discloses an unwinding driving assembly, 16, comprising an unwinding driving motor (Column 3, lines 24-40; Figures 1 and 2), and brake, 26/30, Column 2, lines 45-68).
With respect to claim 4, GRUBER et al. discloses that the tape assembly further comprises a first tape pasting guide roller, 32, a second adhesive tape pasting guide roller, 36, and a tape pasting head, 34, and the tape is unwound through the unwinding station and guided to a position below the tape pasting head through the first and second guide rollers sequentially and the head is capable of pasting the tape onto a surface (Figure 1; Column 2, lines 55-68; Column 3, lines 1-25).
With respect to claim 5¸ GRUBER et al. discloses a flat belt (e.g., flat pressing sheet) (Column 6, lines 40-65; Figures 1-3). The foil is a material work upon and is not a part of the claimed device. Thus, the foil does not impart patentability to the claims. "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). MPEP 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRUBER et al. (US 4,980,011) in view of FAUST et al. (US 5,227,002).
With respect to claim 2, GRUBER et al. does not explicitly disclose the claimed cutter assembly.
FAUST et al. discloses an apparatus for applying tape to an object. The tape is cut with a cutting assembly comprising a serrated blade (e.g., bending surface with a plurality of sharp points) attached to a pneumatic cylinder connected to an upper frame to form a piston. The cutting cycle is a downward cutting operation (Figures 3-7; Column 6, lines 45-68). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the cutting assembly of FAUST et al. on the taping device of GRUBER et al. so that a length of tape can be severed.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745