DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 19 is withdrawn. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/09/2026.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 05/09/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 8-10, filed 05/09/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented, specifically, “the seal element comprises convex ribs configured to seal against the porous body”. The Applicant argues the protruding and recessing portion of Li do not extend on inner surfaces of the plurality of side walls and the upper end wall. Further, the combination of Li and Lin would not arrive at the claimed invention without exercising an inventive step.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Li teaches a first sealing member (Fig. 10: #15) having a top wall (Fig. 10: #1510), which surround a porous ceramic liquid guiding member [0046]. Li further teaches protruding and recessing portion (Fig. 10: #151a & #151b) formed along the longitudinal and side portions of the inner edge of the top wall (Fig. 10: #151, [0062]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the inner edge portions of the top wall form part of the inner surface region of the sealing member. As shown in Figure 10, the protruding and recession portions extend continuously around the inner perimeter of the top wall, forming a closed ring structure.
Additionally, Lin and Li are both directed to using sealing components with aerosol generating devices to prevent leakage. Lin already teaches a seal structure comprising sealing grooves arranged around multiple surfaces to prevent leakage. Li teaches a known alternative sealing member configuration wherein the first sealing member includes inner protruding and recessing portions to stabilize engagement and reduce leakage [0039 & 0062]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lin’s seal arrangement with Li’s because placing the sealing protrusions on the inner surface would position the sealing features directly at the contact area with liquid, thus improving sealing contact where leakage may occur while also allowing passage of airflow [0039 & 0062]. The modification does not change the overall function of either Li or Lin.
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20210059308 A1), and further in view of Li (US 20200085108 A1)
With regard to Claim 1, Lin, directed to an electronic cigarette vaporizer, teaches (i) a vaporizer comprising a liquid storage chamber (Fig. 2: #7) for storing cigarette liquid [0036]. (ii) A heating coil (Fig. 2: #42) is used to heat and vaporize cigarette liquid [0037]. (iii) The vaporizer further comprises a vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5), to seal the vaporizing chamber (Fig. 2: #8, [0036]), meeting the claim limitation of a seal element.
Lin further teaches wherein (iv) the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5) comprises sealing grooves (Fig. 10: “S”) surrounding the body of the base and curving onto the upper sides of the base, forming a closed ring when connected end to end. (v) The sealing grooves (Fig. 10: “S”) wrap around multiple different surfaces of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5) continuously, meeting the claim limitation of a non-planar closed ring. Lin teaches all of the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Lin is silent to:
A porous body, being in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity to receive the liquid substrate
The heating element, combined with the porous body, configured to heat at least a part of the liquid substrate in the porous body
A holder, configured to hold the porous body
The seal element arranged between the holder and the porous body, and configured to seal a gap between the holder and the porous body along a circumferential direction of the porous body and an upper end wall
The seal element comprises convex ribs configured to seal against the porous body
Wherein the convex ribs extend on inner surface of the plurality of side walls and the upper end wall
Each closed ring is formed by connecting the convex ribs on the upper end wall and the convex ribs on the side walls
Li, directed to an atomizing device and electronic cigarette, teaches (i) an atomization device comprising a porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) which receives liquid from the liquid cavity (Fig. 2: #111) through a liquid inlet (Fig. 2: #131a, [0035]), meeting the claim limitation of a porous body, being in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity to receive the liquid substrate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the vaporizer of Lin to comprise a porous body to ensure a steady and controlled flow of liquid consistently to the heating element [0035]. (ii) A heating assembly (Fig. 2: #12) includes the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) and a heating member (Fig. 2: 122) disposed under the porous liquid guiding member to atomize liquid flowing to the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121, [0036]), meeting the claim limitation of a heating element combined with the porous body, and configured to heat at least a part of the liquid substrate in the porous body to generate an aerosol.
Li further teaches wherein (iii) the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) is positioned to rest on a support stage (Fig. 2: #1421), meeting the claim limitation of wherein a holder is configured to hold the porous body. (iv) A first sealing member (Fig. 2: #15) may be used to prevent liquid flowing to the heating component (Fig. 2: #122) from leaking from a gap between the heating component (Fig. 2: #12), comprising the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) and the bottom of a guiding portion (Fig. 2: #131) in contact with the support stage (Fig. 2: #1421, [0039]), meeting the claim limitation of a seal element, arranged between the holder and porous body, and configured to seal a gap between the holder and the porous body. The first sealing member (Fig. 2: #15) includes two side walls (Fig. 10: #152) that hold the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121, [0049]) and a top wall (Fig. 10: #151, [0046]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the seal element comprises a plurality of side walls surrounding the porous body along a circumferential direction of the porous body and an upper end wall.
(v) Li teaches convex ribs surrounding the first sealing member (Fig. 10: #15) which include protruding and recessing portions (Fig. 10: #151a & #151b) that work to stabilize engagement [0062]. The bottom face of the top wall (Fig. 10: #151) may contact the top face of the porous ceramic liquid guiding member [0045], reducing the possibility of leakage [0039]. (vi) The protruding and recession portions (Fig. 10: #151a & #151b) protrude from longitudinal and side portions of the inner edges of the top wall (Fig. 10: #151, [0062]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inner edges of the top wall (Fig. 10: #151) would form part of the inner surface region of the sealing member (Fig. 10: #15).
(vii) The protruding and recessing portions (Fig. 10: #151a & #151b) that are along the longitudinal and side portions of the inner edges of the top wall (Fig. 10: #151, [0062]) form a continuous ring along the inner edge of the top wall (Fig. 10: #151), as shown in Figure 9, meeting the claim limitation of each closed ring being formed by connecting the convex ribs on the upper end wall and the convex ribs on the side walls. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Lin’s seal arrangement with Li’s because placing the sealing protrusions on the inner surface would position the sealing features directly at the contact area with liquid, thus improving sealing contact where leakage may occur while also allowing passage of airflow [0039 & 0062]
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizer of Lin to comprise a porous body in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity, combined with a heating element to heat at least a part of the liquid substrate in the porous body; a holder configured to hold the porous body; the seal element arranged between the holder and porous body configured to seal a gap between the holder and the porous body along a circumferential direction of the porous body and an upper end wall, the seal element comprising convex ribs configured to seal against the holder and the porous body, wherein the convex ribs extend on inner surfaces of the plurality of side walls and the upper end wall, and wherein each closed ring is formed by connecting the convex ribs on the upper end wall and the convex ribs on the side walls because both Lin and Li are directed to using sealing elements to prevent leakage in their respective devices. Li teaches porous liquid guiding member combined with a heating element, positioned in a support, and a sealing member with protruding and recessing portions to ensure a steady and controlled flow of oil consistently to the heating element with minimal leakage [0035] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known liquid flow methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 3, Lin teaches a symmetrical vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) with sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S”) surrounding the peripheral of the vaporizing cover.
With regard to Claim 4, Lin teaches wherein the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) comprises sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S”) separated into sections, as shown by the multiple separating lines (Fig. 9: “L”) on the sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S”). Each section is connected end to end to form a closed loop around the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5).
With regard to Claim 5, Lin teaches wherein the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) comprises several sections of sealing grooves (Fig. 9: #5). Figure 9 shows where some of the sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S”) intersect at a right angle (Fig. 9: “S1” and “S2”).
With regard to Claim 6, Lin teaches wherein the sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S”) form a closed loop around the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5). A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize the closed loop structure of the sealing grooves would allow them to effectively resist a liquid channel, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the convex ribs avoid the liquid channel. Modified Lin teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Li is silent to:
Wherein the porous body has a liquid channel that runs through the porous body along a length direction
Wherein the porous body is in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity through the liquid channel
Li teaches (i) wherein liquid flows through a liquid inlet (Fig. 2: #131a) to the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) facing the liquid cavity (Fig. 2: #111) and flows down to a bottom face of the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121, [0039]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the porous body has a liquid channel that runs through the porous body along a length direction. (ii) The porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) receives liquid from the liquid cavity (Fig. 2: #121) through a liquid inlet (Fig. 2: #131a).
With regard to Claim 7, Lin teaches wherein the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5) comprises four side walls (Fig. 4: “a”, "b”, "c”, "d”), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the plurality of side walls comprise at least a first side wall and a second side wall opposite to each other along the length direction of the seal element, and a third side wall and a fourth side wall opposite to each other along the width direction of the seal element.
With regard to Claim 8, Lin teaches wherein (i) the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5) comprises a sealing groove (Fig. 10: “S”) on the outer surface of a first side wall (Fig. 10: “a”) and second side wall (Fig. 4: “b”). (ii) The sealing grooves (Fig. 10: “S”) curve and continue onto raised portions of the upper surface of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5), meeting the claim limitation of a second convex rib, arranged on the outer surface of the upper end wall.
(iii) Another sealing groove (Fig. 10: “S”) is arranged on the outer surface of a third side wall (Fig. 10: “c”). (iv) Another sealing groove (Fig. 10: “S”) is arranged on the outer surface of a fourth side wall (Fig. 10: “d”), meeting the claim limitation of a fourth convex rib, arranged on the outer surface of the fourth side wall. (v) The sealing grooves (Fig. 10: “S”) are connected along the body of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5) and form a closed seal, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first convex rib, the second convex rib, the third convex rib, and the fourth convex rib are connected into the at least one closed ring.
With regard to Claim 9, Lin teaches wherein (i) the sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) on the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) is split into sections, shown by the separation lines in the grooves. A section (Fig. 9: “SS2”) of the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) leads onto the surrounding groove (Fig. 9: “S”) disposed on the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first convex rib comprises a first section arranged on the first side wall and a second section arranged on the second side wall. (ii) The sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) of the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b”) along the width of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5) is also split into sections, wherein the section on the left is disposed adjacent to the third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”) and the section on the right is disposed adjacent to the fourth side wall (Fig. 9: “d”).
Lin further teaches (iii) wherein the sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) of the third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”), along the length of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5) is split into sections, wherein the section on the left is disposed adjacent to the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) and the section on the right is disposed adjacent to the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b”). (iv) The sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) of the fourth side wall (Fig. 9: “d”), along the length of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5), is split into sections, wherein the section on the left is disposed adjacent to the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) and the section on the right is disposed adjacent to the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b). (v) The sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S) comprising each section connect end to end to form a closed loop on the vaporizing cover (Fig. 10: #5).
With regard to Claim 10, Lin teaches wherein (i) the sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) on the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) is split into sections, shown by the separating lines in the grooves. A section (Fig. 9: “SS2”) of the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) leads onto the surrounding groove (Fig. 9: “S”) disposed on the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first convex rib comprises a first section arranged on the first side wall and a second section arranged on the second side wall. (ii) The sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) of the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b”) along the width of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) is also split into sections, wherein the section on the left is disposed adjacent to the third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”) and the section on the right is disposed adjacent to the fourth side wall (Fig. 9: “d”).
Lin further teaches (iii) wherein the sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) of the third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”), along the length of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) is split into sections, wherein the section on the left is disposed adjacent to the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) and the section on the right is disposed adjacent to the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b”), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the third convex rib comprises a fifth section and a sixth section opposite to each other along the length direction of the seal element, wherein the fifth section is arranged adjacent to the first side wall, and the sixth section is arranged adjacent to the second side wall. (iv) The sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) of the fourth side wall (Fig. 9: “d”), along the length of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) is split into sections, wherein the section on the left is disposed adjacent to the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) and the section on the right is disposed adjacent to the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b”), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the fourth convex rib comprises a seventh section and an eighth section opposite to each other along the length direction of the seal element, wherein the seventh section is arranged adjacent to the first side wall, and the eighth section is arranged adjacent to the second side wall.
(v) The sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S) comprising each section connect end to end to form a closed loop on the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5). A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that a closed loop would have to include enclosed opposing sides, wherein there are two sides along the whole loop. Each side of the closed groove loop creates its own ring, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first section, the fifth section, the third section, the sixth section, the second section, the eighth section, the fourth section, and the seventh section are connected end to end successively to form a second closed ring.
With regard to Claim 11, Lin teaches (i) wherein the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) comprises a conical tube (Fig. 9: #511) with a tube hole on the upper surface of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5, [0036]). The tube hole of the conical tube (Fig. 9: #511) is in communication with a mouthpiece hole (Fig. 2: #10, [0036]), wherein a pathway is formed between the tube hole and mouthpiece hole, meeting the claim limitation of a flue gas output channel, wherein the upper end wall is provided with a through hole opposite to the flue gas output channel. (ii) The tube hole of the conical tube (Fig. 9: #511) is between a section (Fig. 9: “SS2”) of the first side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) leading onto the surrounding groove (Fig. 9: “S”) disposed on the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b) and a section on the left of the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b”) along the width of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5).
With regard to Claim 12, Li teaches wherein the sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) of the second side wall (Fig. 9: “b”) along the width of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5) is split into sections, shown by separating lines of the grooves, wherein the section on the left is disposed adjacent to the third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”) and the section on the right is disposed adjacent to the fourth side wall (Fig. 9: “d”).
With regard to Claim 13, Lin teaches wherein the sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S”) curve and continue onto raised portions of the upper surface of the side wall (Fig. 9: “d”) of the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5), relating to the third convex rib, and another sealing groove (Fig. 10: “S”) is arranged on the outer surface of a third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”) connecting end to end with the grooves of the upper surface of the side wall (Fig. 9: “d”). The sealing grooves (Fig. 9: “S”) arranged between the upper surface of the side wall (Fig. 9: “d”) and the third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”) curve at a non-perpendicular angle.
With regard to Claim 14, modified Lin teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Lin is silent to:
Wherein the porous body has a first direction, a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction
Wherein the porous body comprises a base part, and the base part is arranged parallel to the second direction and the third direction
Wherein the base part is provided with a liquid absorption surface and a vaporization surface facing away from each other along the first direction
The porous body further comprises a first extension arm and a second extension arm extending from the base part away from the vaporization surface
A support part extending between the first extension arm and the second extension arm
The first extension arm and the second extension arm are parallel to the second direction, and are arranged opposite to each other along the third direction
Li teaches (i) a porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) that is a three-dimensional structure [0051]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that a three-dimensional figure would define three perpendicular directions, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the porous body has a first direction, a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction. (ii) The porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) comprises a bottom face [0036]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the second and third directions are naturally the horizontal plane, creating the bottom face, and meeting the claim limitation of wherein the porous body comprises a base part, and the base part is arranged parallel to the second direction and the third direction.
Li further teaches (iii) wherein a heating member (Fig. 2: #122) is mounted on the bottom face (Fig. 4: #121b) and opposite to a liquid guiding groove (Fig. 2: #1211, [0036]), wherein the liquid guiding groove receives liquid from the liquid cavity (Fig. 2: #111, [0035]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the base part is provided with a liquid absorption surface and a vaporization surface facing away from each other along the first direction. (iv) The porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) comprises two extending arms (Fig. 2: “a” and “b”) that form away from the bottom face (Fig. 4: #121b) which is contact with the heating member (Fig. 2: #122), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the porous body further comprises a first extension arm and a second extension arm extending from the base part away from the vaporization surface.
Additionally, (v) the lower portion of the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) comprises a shared support structure (Fig. 2: “c”) between the first extending arm (Fig. 2: “a”) and the second extending arm (Fig. 2: “b”). (vi) The two extending arms (Fig. 2: “a” and “b”) extend in a vertical direction of the device in the same opposite location of the symmetrical porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first extension arm and the second extension arm are parallel to the second direction, and are arranged opposite to each other along the third direction.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the porous body of modified Lin to comprise a first, second, and third direction, a base part arranged parallel to the second direction and the third direction provided with a liquid absorption surface and a vaporization surface facing away from each other along the first direction; a first extension arm and a second extension arm extending from the base part away from the vaporization surface with a support part extending between the two arms, and wherein the first extension arm and the second extension arm are parallel to the second direction, and are arranged opposite to each other along the third direction because both Lin and Li are directed to using porous materials to prevent leakage in vaporizing devices. Li teaches a three-dimensional porous liquid guiding member with a bottom face with a liquid absorbing and vaporization surface comprising two parallel extending arms to increase flow efficiency and speed of liquid and this merely involves applying known characteristics of a porous structure to a similar porous structure of an aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 15, Lin teaches wherein a sealing groove (Fig. 9: “S”) on the first side wall (Fig. 9: “b”) is located on the vaporizing cover (Fig. 9: #5). Two other sealing grooves (Fig.9: “S”) are located on the second side wall (Fig. 9: “a”) and the third side wall (Fig. 9: “c”) of the vaporizing cover. Modified Lin teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Lin is silent to:
Wherein the first convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the base part and/or
The third convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the first extension arm and/or
The fourth convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the second extension arm
Li teaches a porous liquid conducting member (Fig. 2: #151) having a bottom face [0036] and two extending arms (Fig. 2: “a” and “b”), wherein a first sealing member (Fig. 2: #15) rests on the porous liquid conducting member (Fig. 2: #151, [0039]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the sealing vaporizing cover of Lin with the porous liquid conducting member of Li because a seal with a stronger fit would reduce the possibility of liquid leakage and properly guide the liquid to the heating element [0039]. Furthermore, the porous liquid conducting member (Fig. 2: #15) of Li is already coupled with a first sealing member (Fig. 2: #15), allowing a simple substitution in components to be used for the same function, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the base part and/or the third convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the first extension arm and/or the fourth convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the second extension arm.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the porous body and seal element of modified Lin to wherein the first convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the base part and/or the third convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the first extension arm and/or the fourth convex rib is opposite to at least a part of the second extension arm because both Lin and Li are directed to using seals and porous materials to prevent leakage in vaporizing devices. Li teaches a porous liquid guiding member coupled with a first sealing member with a bottom face with a liquid absorbing and vaporization surface comprising two parallel extending arms to reduce the possibility of liquid leakage and properly guide the liquid to the heating element [0039] and this merely involves simple substitution of one known sealing element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regard to Claim 18, Lin teaches wherein an electronic cigarette (Fig. 6: #300) comprises a power supply assembly (Fig. 6: #200) to power a heating component [0024]. The power supply assembly (Fig. 6: #200) is coupled with the atomization device (Fig. 6: #100, [0064]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20210059308 A1), and Li (US 20200085108 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20180035718 A1)
With regard to Claim 2, modified Lin teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Li is silent to:
Wherein a liquid guide hole is arranged on the seal element
Wherein the porous body is in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity through the liquid guide hole
Wherein the liquid guide hole is located in the at least one closed ring
In regards to ii., Li teaches wherein the porous liquid guiding member (Fig. 2: #121) defines a liquid guiding groove that receives liquid flowing through the liquid inlet (Fig. 2: #131a, [0035]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the porous body is in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity through the liquid guide hole.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the porous body of modified Lin to be in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity through the liquid guide hole because both Lin and Li are directed to liquid flow through absorbent materials in aerosol generating devices. Li teaches wherein liquid flows through groove of a porous liquid guiding member form an inlet to easily receive liquid from the liquid cavity and improve contact area between the porous member and liquid [0035] and this merely involves applying a known liquid communication method to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to i. and iii., Liu, directed to an electronic cigarette and atomizer device, teaches (i) a sealing ring (Fig. 8: #1134) joined with a sealing cover comprising a second opening of a liquid injection channel (Fig. 8: #1131, [0043]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein a liquid guide hole is arranged on the seal element. (ii) The sealing ring forms an enclosed structure around the second opening [0043], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the liquid guide hole is located int the at least one closed ring. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the seal element of Li with the opening of Liu to improve leakage prevention in the device [0043].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seal element of Li to include a liquid guide hole in the at least one closed ring and arranged on the seal element because both Lin and Liu are directed to sealing elements in atomizing devices. Liu teaches a sealing ring joined with a sealing cover comprising a liquid injection channel, where sealing ring is enclosed around the liquid injection channel to prevent leakage of liquid solution through a gap [0043] and this merely involves the use of a known seal comprising a liquid hole to improve a similar atomization device in the same way.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20210059308 A1) and Li (US 20200085108 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 7, and further in view of Fu (US 20190373679 A1)
With regard to Claim 16, modified Lin teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Lin is silent to:
Wherein the convex ribs comprise: a first section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and extending along the width direction of the seal element;
A second section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the third side wall
A third section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the length direction of the seal element and adjacent to the third side wall
A fourth section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the width direction of the seal element
A fifth section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the length direction of the seal element and adjacent to the fourth side wall
A sixth section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall
Fu, directed to heater control circuitry for a vaporizer device, teaches (i) an internal sealing gasket (Fig. 19C: # 173) used to seal a reservoir [0269]. The internal sealing gasket (Fig. 19C: #173) comprises ribs on the external and internal parts of the gasket. A first section (Fig. 19C: “A”) of an inner surface on the left of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “AR”), meeting the claim limitation wherein the convex ribs comprise: a first section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and extending along the width direction of the seal element. (ii) A second section (Fig. 19C: “B”) of an inner surface on the left of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “BR”) adjacent to a side wall (Fig. 19C: “S”), meeting the claim limitation of a second section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the third side wall.
Fu further teaches wherein (iii) a third section (Fig. 19C: “C”) of an inner surface of the upper part of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “CR”) adjacent to a side wall (Fig. 19C: “S”), meeting the claim limitation of a third section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the length direction of the seal element and adjacent to the third side wall. (iv) A fourth section (Fig. 19C: “D”) of an inner surface of the upper part of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “DR”) adjacent to a side wall (Fig. 19C: “S”), meeting the claim limitation of a fourth section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the width direction of the seal element.
Additionally, (v) a fifth section (Fig. 19C: “E”) of an inner surface of the upper part of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “ER”) adjacent to a back side wall (Fig. 19C: “SS”), meeting the claim limitation of a fifth section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the length direction of the seal element and adjacent to the fourth side wall. (vi) A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the internal sealing gasket is a symmetrical three-dimensional figure, meaning that the back of the internal sealing gasket would match the features of the front of the internal sealing gasket. Therefore, the sixth section would be located on the left side wall of the internal sealing gasket on the other side of the divider (Fig. 19C: “DD”) adjacent to the back side wall (Fig. 19C: “SS”), meeting the claim limitation of a sixth section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply these section locations to the convex ribs of modified Lin to strengthen the grip of the seal element in the device to prevent liquid leakage, similar to how they contain an absorbent pad and prevent leakage in Fu [0284].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the inner surface of the seal element of modified Lin with convex ribs comprising a first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth section in specific locations because both Lin and Fu are directed to sealing components in aerosol generating devices. Fu teaches convex ribs with several sections in the inner surface of an internal sealing gasket to hold an absorbent pad in place to prevent excess vaporizable material from leaking into the airflow path [0284] and this merely involves applying a known convex rib configuration to a known seal element of a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 17, modified Lin teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Lin is silent to:
Wherein the convex ribs comprise: a first section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and extending along the width direction of the seal element;
A second section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the third side wall
A third section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the length direction of the seal element and adjacent to the third side wall
A fourth section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the width direction of the seal element
A fifth section, located on the inner surface of the second side wall and extending along the width direction of the seal element
A sixth section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall
A seventh section, located on the inner surface of the second side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall
An eighth section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall
Fu, directed to heater control circuitry for a vaporizer device, teaches (i) an internal sealing gasket (Fig. 19C: # 173) used to seal a reservoir [0269]. The internal sealing gasket (Fig. 19C: #173) comprises ribs on the external and internal parts of the gasket. A first section (Fig. 19C: “A”) of an inner surface on the left of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “AR”), meeting the claim limitation wherein the convex ribs comprise: a first section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and extending along the width direction of the seal element. (ii) A second section (Fig. 19C: “B”) of an inner surface on the left of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “BR”) adjacent to a side wall (Fig. 19C: “S”), meeting the claim limitation of a second section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the third side wall.
Fu further teaches wherein (iii) a third section (Fig. 19C: “C”) of an inner surface of the upper part of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “CR”) adjacent to a side wall (Fig. 19C: “S”), meeting the claim limitation of a third section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the length direction of the seal element and adjacent to the third side wall. (iv) A fourth section (Fig. 19C: “D”) of an inner surface of the upper part of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “DR”) adjacent to a side wall (Fig. 19C: “S”), meeting the claim limitation of a fourth section, extending on the inner surface of the upper end wall along the width direction of the seal element.
Additionally, (v) a fifth section (Fig. 19C: “E”) of an inner surface of the right wall (Fig. 19C: “R”) of the internal sealing gasket comprises a rib (Fig. 19C: “ER”) adjacent to a back side wall (Fig. 19C: “SS”). A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the internal sealing gasket is a symmetrical three-dimensional figure, meaning that the right side of the internal sealing gasket would match the features of the left of the internal sealing gasket, meeting the claim limitation of a fifth section, located on the inner surface of the second side wall and extending along the width direction of the seal element. (vi) Similarly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the internal sealing gasket is a symmetrical three-dimensional figure, meaning that the back side of the internal sealing gasket would match the features of the front of the internal sealing gasket. Therefore, the sixth section would be located on the left side wall of the internal sealing gasket on the back side of the divider (Fig. 19C: “DD”) adjacent to the back side wall (Fig. 19C: “SS”), meeting the claim limitation of a sixth section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall.
(vii) Furthermore, a seventh section would also be present on the right-side wall (Fig. 19C: “R”) of the internal sealing gasket on the back side of the divider (Fig. 19C: “DD”), as shown on the left side wall. The seventh section is adjacent to the back side wall (Fig. 19C: “SS”), similar in position to the second section (Fig. 19C: “B”) and rib (Fig. 10C: “BR”), meeting the claim limitation of a seventh section, located on the inner surface of the second side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall. Similar to the sixth section, the symmetrical sealing gasket would also define an eighth section on the left side wall, adjacent to the back side wall (Fig. 19C: “SS”), on the side of the divider (Fig. 19C: “DD”) not shown, meeting the claim limitation of an eighth section, located on the inner surface of the first side wall and adjacent to the fourth side wall. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply these section locations to the convex ribs of modified Lin to strengthen the grip of the seal element in the device to prevent liquid leakage, similar to how they contain an absorbent pad and prevent leakage in Fu [0284].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the inner surface of the seal element of modified Lin with convex ribs comprising a first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth sections in specific locations because both Lin and Fu are directed to sealing components in aerosol generating devices. Fu teaches convex ribs with several sections in the inner surface of an internal sealing gasket to hold an absorbent pad in place to prevent excess vaporizable material from leaking into the airflow path [0284] and this merely involves applying a known convex rib configuration to a known seal element of a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755