Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are pending.
Claims 6 and 18 are withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to Application Serial No. PCT/EP2021/066558, filed 6/18/2021; and further claims priority to foreign application EP20180838.3, filed 6/18/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 12/16/2022 and 03/15/2023 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/18/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-5, 7-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 and nonstatutory double patenting have been fully considered and are found not persuasive.
The Applicant amended claim 1 to recite:
With respect to the 103 rejection, the Applicant argues that the primary reference cited by the Examiner (“Hwang”) fails to teach aryl based calix(n)arenes in the treatment of respiratory viruses. Rather, the Applicant points out that only naphthyl-based compounds are used by Hwang for respiratory viruses while the aryl-based compounds are used for non-respiratory viruses. The Examiner agrees with the Applicant that this is what Hwang teaches. Since the applicant amended claim 1 to specify only aryl-based calixarenes, the Examiner agrees that Hwang does not apply. However, in light of the amendment, the Examiner introduces new art that is anticipatory of the independent claim.
With respect to the double patenting rejections, the Applicant has provided evidence that the overlapping method has been struck through in the other application. Therefore, this rejection is moot and withdrawn.
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 6/18/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims based upon U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because: Applicant has provided an affidavit explaining that the elected species (used interchangeably as CAL-4 or CX-1) shows unexpected results in respiratory diseases. The Examiner does not find most of these results persuasive. First, the Applicant shows data that 500 uM of CAL-4 improves the active cilia area in the H1N1 virus in comparison to the control and another antiviral drug, Oseltamivir (Fig 1, Affidavit). In contrast, The Examiner points out that other data in the application shows that the other antiviral is significantly improved in decreasing H1N1 copy number (Fig 4, Drawings/Spec). Also, the Applicant does not provide any literature to compare either of these results. Second, the new art provided by the Examiner teaches that the elected species has less than desirable effects against coronavirus (Geller) and influenza (Tauran) in comparison to other calix(n)arenes. Therefore, the Examiner does not find the data provided by the Applicant persuasive. See new rejections below. Since the art of the new rejections were not previously included this action is SECOND NON-FINAL.
NEW/MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geller, C. et al. (Antiviral Research 88 (2010) 343–346; cited in IDS filed 3/15/2023; “Geller”).
This rejection applies to the elected species of compound, however the elected species of disease has been expanded to any coronavirus.
Geller teaches a structural example of the elected species (Fig. 1 left compound) for the use in treating coronavirus, specifically HCoV229E.
Therefore, the limitations of claims 1-3, 10, and 14 are anticipated by Geller.
Claims 1-4, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tauran, Y. et al. (Antibiotics (Basel). 2019 Jun 3;8(2):73.; cited in IDS filed 3/15/2023; “Tauran”).
This rejection applies to the elected species of compound, however the elected species of disease has been expanded to influenza.
Tauran teaches a structural example of the elected species (Scheme 1, “SC4a”) for the use in treating influenza, specifically H3N2.
Therefore, the limitations of claims 1-4, 10, and 14 are anticipated by Tauran.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, K. (WO1994003164A1; cited in IDS filed 3/15/2023; “Hwang”) in further view of Tauran, Y. et al. (Antibiotics (Basel). 2019 Jun 3;8(2):73.; “Tauran”) and Geller, C. et al. (Antiviral Research 88 (2010) 343–346; “Geller”).
Hwang teaches calixarene compounds for the treatment of enveloped viruses, such as influenza A. Hwang explicitly teaches an example of the elected specie (Figure 8, Compound Y-1) also with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 70, line 9), as required by instant claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10, 15, and 17.
Hwang also teaches the compounds for topical or inhalation administration (Page 9, line 31-33) in the form of liquid or tablet (Page 10, lines 10-14), as required by instant claims 8, 11, 12, 16, and 20.
Hwang also teaches the compound in combination with an additional antiviral compound (page 70, line 11-13), as required by instant claims 14 and 19.
Finally, Hwang teaches the dosage form to be a composition that is pharmaceutically effective, i.e. effective to inhibit viral infection of host cells (page 70, line 14-23), as required by claim 7.
With respect to claim 13, Hwang fails to explicitly teach administration of the antiviral of an amount of 1-100ug per nostril. However, Hwang does teach administration of the compound in a range of 0.1 ug to 100ug/mL and also teaches it can be done through inhalation administration. This is considered an overlapping range with instant claim 13. Therefore, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Hwang fails to explicitly teach examples using aryl-based calix(n)arenes in influenza virus or coronavirus, as required by instant claims 2 and 21, respectively.
However, Tauran teaches a structural example of the elected species (Scheme 1, “SC4a”) for the use in treating influenza, specifically H3N2. Further, Geller teaches a structural example of the elected species (Fig. 1 left compound) for the use in treating coronavirus, specifically HCoV229E.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time to extract the method of treating respiratory diseases with calix(n)arenes and use the elected species to treat influenza or coronavirus.
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (B), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the method of using a calixarene as an antiviral, as taught by Hwang, and use the aryl-based calix(n)arene, such as the elected specie, and use it in a respiratory virus, such as influenza or coronavirus, as taught by Tauran and Geller.
Therefore, claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-17, and 19-21 would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-17, and 19-21 are rejected.
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621