DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momono et al. (US 2016/0355434).
Regarding claim 1, Momono discloses a high-strength crystallized glass comprising, in terms of mol % on an oxide basis: an SiO2 component of 30.0% or more and 70.0% or less, an Al2O3 component of 8.0% or more and 25.0%, an Na2O component of 0% or more and 25.0% or less, an MgO component of 0% or more and 25.0% or less, a ZnO component of 0% or more and 30.0% or less and a TiO2 component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, the molar ratio [Al2O3/(MgO+ZnO)] having a value of 0.5 or more and 2.0 or less, and an Li2O component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, which overlaps the claimed ranges, see abstract and [0014-0039]. Note that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, the reference discloses that a compressive stress layer of 8 microns or more, which overlaps the claimed DOLzero, can be formed by performing ion exchange treatment for chemical strengthening, which corresponds to reinforced [0122-0123]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 2, the reference discloses an MgO component of 0% or more and 25.0% or less, a ZnO component of 0% or more and 30.0% or less, which renders obvious the claimed total content; see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 3, the reference discloses that the crystallized glass comprises, in terms of mol % on an oxide basis: a B2O3 component of 0% or more and 25.0% or less, a P2O5 component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, a K2O component of 0% or more and 20.0% or less, a CaO component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, a BaO component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, an FeO component of 0% or more and 8% or less, a ZrO2 component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, and an SnO2 component of 0% or more and 5.0% or less [0029-0037].
Regarding claim 4, the reference discloses that the crystallized glass comprises, in terms of mol % on an oxide basis: an SrO component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, an La2O3 component of 0% or more and 3% or less, Y2O3 component of 0% or more and 3% or less, an Nb2O5 component of 0% or more and 5% or less, a Ta2O5 component of 0% or more and 5% or less, and a WO3 component of 0% or more and 5% or less [0038-0045].
Regarding claim 5, the reference discloses that the crystallized glass comprises, in terms of mol % on an oxide basis, a B2O3 component of 0% or more and 25.0% [0030].
Regarding claim 6, the reference discloses that the crystallized glass comprises, in terms of mol % on an oxide basis: an Na2O component of 0% or more and 25.0% or less and a TiO2 component of 0% or more and 10.0% or less, which renders obvious the claimed ratio [0017 & 0020]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses the compressive stress value of a compressive stress layer is 800 MPa or more [0122].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present invention differs fundamentally from the cited art because the present invention improves resistance to breakage when the glass is dropped onto a rough surface by utilizing a predetermined amount of Li-2O in combination with specific chemical strengthening conditions. Specially, Applicant notes that the present invention contains a specific composition used as a base material and a compressive stress layer is formed on its surface. Resistance to breakage of the glass is enhanced by performing a two-stage chemical strengthening. According to Applicant, using a composition containing the claimed amount of Li2O and subjecting the glass to a two-stage chemical strengthening process under specific condition, results in average drop heights greater than comparative examples with small amount of Li2O strengthened under different conditions, see Applicant’s examples and comparative examples. Applicant further argues that Monomo does not disclose the claimed amount of Li2O and does not provide any technical reasoning for using the claimed amount with the predetermined chemical strengthening conditions to yield a glass highly resistant to breakage. As such, Applicant concludes that independent claim 1 is patentable over the cited reference under 35 U.S.C. 103. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above and previously, Momono discloses a high strength crystallized glass comprising Li2O from 0 or more and 10% or less [0014-0039]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Note that Applicant can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing criticality of the claimed range, generally by showing unexpected results achieved to the prior art range; see MPEP 2144.05 III A.
In order to show criticality of the claimed range, "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims"; see MPEP 716.02(d). The examples cited from Applicant’s specification are for glass compositions containing specific metal oxides (e.g. K2O and ZrO2), for a glass made using a specific method, all of which are not claimed. Given the claims do not include these limitations, Applicant’s argument of criticality based on the inventive examples in Table 1 is not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Additionally, Examiner notes that Applicant should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range, see MPEP 716.02(c)(II). Further, Applicant must show the results were greater than those which would have been expected from the prior art to an unobvious extent, and that the results are of a significant, practical advantage, see MPEP 716.02(a). In the instant case, the inventive examples do not contain Li2O in the upper amount of the claimed range. The comparative examples provide results for values of Li2O lower than the claimed range, but nothing above the claimed range.
Lastly, any assertion of unexpected results must be compared with the closest prior art, see MPEP 716.02(e). Applicant has failed to provide a comparison between the claimed range and the closest prior art. While Applicant argues the prima facie case of obviousness regarding the claimed ranges is overcome by establishing criticality of the claimed ranges, Applicant has failed to provide a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed ranges, the evidence of nonobviousness is not commensurate in scope with the claims and there is no comparison to the closest prior art.
For the above reasons, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783