Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s amendment filed 05/13/2026 has been fully considered and made of record. It is noted now that amended claim 1 includes most of the limitations of original claim 2 and is further amended to clearly recites that the plurality of tool holders is not positively required in addition to the wiper insert. As such, amended claim 1 now recites that the plurality of wipers are configured for cone-to-one correspondence with a plurality of tool holders. As such, the objection to the drawings, claims 1-8 and rejection of claims 2-7 under 112(b), as outlined in the Office action mailed 02/13/2026, have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daker et al. (JP2020049605A, hereinafter “Daker”).
As applied to claim 1, Daker teaches a wiper insert (cutting insert 2), comprising a tool body comprising a cutting part (cutting edges 25s, 26s and section 27s) which is used to cut a workpiece, wherein the cutting part includes a plurality of wipers (first wiper blades 271/281 and second wiper blades 272/282, Fig. 4), adjacent wipers of the plurality of wipers are connected by a transition surface (side surface 23, Fig. 4), and minor cutting edge angles of the plurality of wipers are set differently; and wherein the plurality of wipers are configured for one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of tool holders (3a, 3b) having different preset major cutting edge angles, so that when the tool body is connected with any one of the plurality of tool holders, there are wiping operations on the workpiece performed by the wiper corresponding to said one of the plurality of tool holders (paragraph [0005], see “provide cutting insert that allows a wiper blade to function at multiple cutting angles of the same cutting edge” and Figs. 6-7).
As applied to claim 3, Daker teaches the invention cited including wherein a mounting hole (24, Fig. 4) is provided in the middle of the wiper insert, and the radial cross-section of the wiper insert along the mounting hole is polygonal, and the cutting part is provided on at least one apex corner of the polygon (paragraph [0027], see Figs. 1, 4, 6-7).
As applied to claim 4, Daker teaches the invention cited including wherein two cutting parts are provided, and the two cutting parts are disposed symmetrically at 180° with respect to a central axis along the mounting hole (considering the broadest reasonable claim interpretation, any two cutting points on main cutting edge 25 and corner edge 20 can be selected to be symmetrical 180° with respect to central axis through the center of the hole 24 that is not labeled, Fig. 4).
As applied to claim 7, Daker teaches the invention cited including wherein the plurality of wipers (271/281 and 272/282) are evenly spaced along a circumferential direction of the cutting part (Figs. 4-7 showing the wipers evenly spaced around a pentagon-shaped circumference).
As applied to claim 8, Daker teaches the invention cited including wherein the wiper insert is made of a various materials including cemented carbide which is an alloy (see paragraph [0028]).
As applied to claim 9, Daker teaches a tool (cutting tool 1, Fig. 1) comprising the wiper insert of claim 1 (insert 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daker et al. (JP2020049605A, hereinafter “Daker”).
As applied to claim 5, daker teaches the invention cited including a wiper insert having a plurality of wipers adjacent to one another (Fig. 4). Daker does not explicitly teach that multiple wiper inserts are adjacent to one another and connected to one another by a transition arc surface having claimed diameter range or a transition plane.
However, it appears that combining a plurality of wiper inserts adjacent to one another and connected by a transition plane would have been a matter of design choice since Applicant has not disclosed that placing a plurality of wiper inserts adjacent to one another and connected by a transition arc surface or by a transition plane provides any advantage, is used for any particular purpose or solves a stated problem. It seems that one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have been expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with any other transition surface between adjacent wiper inserts such as one taught by Daker or the claimed ones because either one performs the same function of having wiper inserts having suitable wipers at the cutting part of the tool for providing an improved workpiece surface finish. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ the wiper insert of Daker adjacent to another wiper insert and connected with a transition surface of either an arc shape having claimed diameter range and tangent position or plane transition as claimed depending on the desired design requirement including enhanced workpiece surface finish.
As applied to claim 6, Daker teaches the invention cited including a plurality of wipers with each in a shape of an arc or a line (Fig. 5 showing line-shaped 271 and 272, paragraph [0039]).
Note that the limitation of “when each of the wipers is in the shape of the arc, each wiper is provided with an identical second arc diameter or R2, wherein each wiper is provided with an identical width of L1, wherein 0.4 mm ≤ R2 ≤ 10 mm and 0.05 mm ≤ L1 ≤ 1 mm” is a conditional limitation meaning that only when each of the wipers is an arc shape then the limitation has to be met. In the instant case, Daker teaches the wiper shape is a line.
However, providing Daker with the second diameter of each wiper and width of each wiper to be within the claimed ranges (should each wiper has an arc shape) would have been a matter of design choice since Applicant has not disclosed that only the claimed ranges for the second diameters and width of the wipers provide any advantages, are used for any particular purposes or solve a stated problem. It seems that one of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have been expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with any other second diameters and width such as ones taught by Daker or the claimed ones because either one performs the same function of having a wiper insert having suitable wipers at the cutting part of the tool for providing an improved workpiece surface finish. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the wiper insert of Daker with a wiper having second diameters and width in the claimed ranges depending on the desired design requirement including enhanced workpiece surface finish.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 08/10/2026