DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,4-5,8-24 and 26-31 are pending.
Claims 4-5,8-24 and 26-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/10/2025.
Claim 1 is currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
It is noted as best as can be interpreted from Applicant’s response, Applicant elected the composition of claim 1, wherein said election therefore includes:
The specific components present: at least one of the saponins recited in claim 1,
The saponin is water soluble,
The specific amount of the saponin: at least 5%,
No additional components were identified as present.
No specific components were identified as excluded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gomes et al (CA 3071684).
Gomes teaches an extract characterized in that it comprises at least one steroidal glycoside from selected from the group including furcreastatin (see entire document, for instance, claim 6, and page 4, lines 20-23).
It is noted that the instant claims are directed to a composition, wherein how the composition is obtained, including the source material, do not appear to materially change the composition itself. As such, the prior art teaching of furcreastatin reads on the instant claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-27 of copending Application No. 18/011,335 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 6) in an amount of 10-25% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 8).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-28 of copending Application No. 18/011,326 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside C, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside C, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 9) in an amount of at least 5% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-27 of copending Application No. 18/011,335 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 6) in an amount of 10-25% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 8).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/011,341 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 7) in an amount of 15-25% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 10).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-26 of copending Application No. 18/571905 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/571,922 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 3) in an amount of 0.1-10% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 2).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611