DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,4-5,8-24 and 26-31 are pending.
Claims 4-5,8-24 and 26-31 remain withdrawn. Applicant asserts that the extracts in Marker were from Hesperaloe, and therefore, Applicant believes Marker was not relevant to the instant invention. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive as the claims read upon pure furcreastatin or yuccaloiside C which are both taught in the art, including Gomes as demonstrated below.
Claim 1 is currently under consideration to the extent that it reads upon Applicant’s elected species.
It is noted that Applicant elected the composition of claim 1, wherein said election therefore includes:
The specific components present:
at least one of the saponins recited in claim 1,
The saponin is water soluble,
The specific amount of the saponin: at least 5%,
No additional components were identified as present.
No specific components were identified as excluded.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gomes et al (CA 3071684).
Gomes teaches an extract characterized in that it comprises at least one steroidal glycoside from selected from the group including yuccaloiside C (see entire document, for instance, claim 6, and page 4, lines 12-15).
It is noted that the instant claims are directed to a composition, wherein how the composition is obtained, including the source material, do not appear to materially change the composition itself. As such, the prior art teaching of yuccaloiside C reads on the instant claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks filed 04/20/2026 that the prior art does not teach at least one saponin selected from the group taught in newly amended claim 1. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive in as much as Gomes teaches at least yuccaloiside C.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-27 of copending Application No. 18/011,335 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 6) in an amount of 10-25% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 8).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that since allowable subject matter has not been identified in either of these applications, the rejection is premature. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive against the ground of rejection, and therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/011,341 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 7) in an amount of 15-25% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 10).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that since allowable subject matter has not been identified in either of these applications, the rejection is premature. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive against the ground of rejection, and therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-26 of copending Application No. 18/571905 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that since allowable subject matter has not been identified in either of these applications, the rejection is premature. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive against the ground of rejection, and therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/571,922 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 3) in an amount of 0.1-10% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 2).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that since allowable subject matter has not been identified in either of these applications, the rejection is premature. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive against the ground of rejection, and therefore, the rejection is maintained.
New/Modified ground of rejection in view of the copending Application issuing
Claim 1 (all claims currently under consideration) is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,576,098 (Application number 18/011326). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims teach the presence of 25(27)-dehydrofucreastatin, 5(6), 25(27)-disdehydroyuccaloiside C, 5(6)-disdehydroyuccaloiside C, furcreastatin and yuccaloiside (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 9) in an amount of at least 5% (see entire claims set, for instance, claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that since allowable subject matter has not been identified in either of these applications, the rejection is premature. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive for at least the reason that the patented claims have been issued.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611