DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 26 June 2026. Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 12-13, 14, 20, 22-23, 25-26, 28-29, 32, 34-35, and 37-38 are currently pending. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 12-13, 14, 20, 22-23, 25-26, 28-29, 32, 34-35, and 37-38 are examined herein.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Applicant' s amendments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the
claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 37, the claim recites that the RNA scaffold comprises a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modification in ach the second and third last nucleotides of the 3’ end, wherein the last nucleotides of the 3’ end is unmodified (see Claim 37). It is unclear what base pairs are being claimed and what position the “second and third last nucleotides” are referring to. It is unclear if the “third last nucleotide” is intended to encompass a different nucleotide than the claimed “last nucleotide at the 3’ end” or the same nucleotide. Because the claim does not recite any sort of numbering or frame of reference to the claimed “second” and “third” positions, it is unclear what base pairs are being claimed as being modified.
Regarding claim 38, since the claim is dependent on claim 37 and does not rectify the 35 USC 112(b) issue above, the claim is also rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 38, the claim requires that the last nucleotides of the 3’ end is unmodified (see Claim 38). However, claim 37 (i.e., the claim from which claim 38 depends) already recites that the last nucleotides of the 3’ end is unmodified (see Claim 37). Thus, claim 38 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 37.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, 20, 22-23, 25, 28, 32, and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriarity (PG Pub No. WO 2019/178225) in view of Jin (PG Pub No. WO 2017/011721 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moriarity is drawn towards an invention concerned with the development of methods of multiplexed genetic engineering of human immune cells ([0002]). Moriarity teaches that embodiments of the method include multiplex gene editing methods that are simultaneous ([0040]). Moriarity teaches that the method comprises multiplex gene editing using a base editor fusion protein (e.g., BE3, BE4, or ABE) and gRNAs in which one or more genes are disrupted (for knock out) and one or more genes is knocked-in using a donor DNA template for insertion ([0040]). Moriarity teaches that BE3 comprises i) a Cas9 nickase (i.e., a CRISPR-Cas-based protein that has no double strand cleavage activity) fused to a base excision repair inhibitor (i.e., UGI) and a iii) c) cytidine deaminase domain (i.e., rAOBEC1: an effector domain having cytosine or adenine deamination activity) that can allow for the editing of the target DNA molecule ([0007], [0030]; see FIG. 1). Moriarity teaches that three different gRNAs (i.e., three CRISPR RNA scaffolds) were utilized to successfully knock-out expression of TRAC, B2M, and PDCD1 in human T cells thought the direction of the base editors to the different target genes of interest (i.e., Moriarity teaches a method for genetically modifying an immune cell wherein the method is used for multiplex base editing wherein at least two different genetic loci are edited in the immune cell) ([0040]; see FIG. 12). Moriarity teaches that following the introduction of the base editors, the immune cells were cultured under conditions that promote disruption of the expression of the TRAC, B2M, and PDCD1 gene products (i.e., thereby creating a genetically modified immune cell) ([0042]). Moriarity teaches that the method is useful for multiplexed disruption of multiple genes relevant to immunotherapy in cells, with or without knock-in of a target DNA template or missense mutation ([0040]).
Moriarity does not specifically disclose that each RNA scaffold comprises the following structure: (a) a crRNA comprising a guide RNA sequence that is complementary to a target nucleic acid sequence, (b) a tracrRNA capable of binding to the sequence-targeting protein, and (c) an RNA motif wherein at least two of the RNA scaffolds comprise a different guide RNA sequence (Claim 1). Moriarity does not teach or suggest the use of iii) an effector fusion protein comprising (a) an RNA binding domain capable of binding to the RNA motif, (b) a linker, and (c) an effector domain having cytosine deamination activity or adenine deamination activity (Claim 1).
Jin is drawn to an invention concerned with targeted gene editing (Abstract). Jin teaches the use of a system comprising: (i) a sequence-targeting protein, or a polynucleotide encoding the same, (ii) an RNA scaffold, or a DNA polynucleotide encoding the same, and (iii) a non-nuclease effector fusion protein, or a polynucleotide encoding the same (pg. 2). Jin teaches that the RNA scaffold comprises (a) a nucleic acid-targeting motif comprising a guide RNA sequence that is complementary to a target nucleic acid sequence (i.e., a crRNA), (b) a CRISPR/Cas9 motif capable of binding to the sequence-targeting protein (i.e., a tracrRNA), and (c) a recruiting RNA motif (pg. 2). Jin teaches that the non-nuclease effector fusion protein comprises (a) an RNA binding domain capable of binding to the recruiting RNA motif, (b) a linker sequence, and (c) an effector domain (pg. 2). Jin teaches that the non-nuclease effector can have the activity of cytosine deaminases and be selected from AID or APOBEC3G (i.e., the effector domain may have cytosine deamination activity) (pg. 15). Jin teaches that the system may be utilized in a method of site-specific modification of a target DNA in a eukaryotic cell (pg. 3). Jin teaches that the cell may then be cultured under a suitable condition which allows for the expression of the RNA and proteins through the use of a vector (pg. 27). Jin teaches that the RNA scaffold may comprise multiple 2'-0-methyl analogs (pg. 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the guide RNA structure and fusion protein of RNA scaffold structure and fusion protein of Moriarity for the RNA scaffold structure and fusion protein of Jin because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because both Moriarity and Jin teach the use of similar CRISPR fusion proteins that can be utilized to direct an effector domain having cytosine or adenine deamination activity such that a target nucleic acid is edited, one would have expected that utilizing the RNA scaffold structure and fusion protein of Jin within the multiplex method of Moriarity to have resulted in the successful multiplexed editing of multiple target genes within the immune cells of Moriarity. Additionally, because both references teach the use of the same CRISPR protein, namely a Cas9, one would have expected that the RNA scaffold structure and fusion protein structure of Jin to be able to successfully be utilized in the multiplexed editing method of Moriarity because the references are targeted to, and interact with, target DNA sequences through similar mechanisms of the fusion protein interacting with a guide RNA structure.
Regarding claims 6-7, Jin teaches that the sequence-targeting protein may be a dCas9 or an nCas9 (pg. 4-5; see FIG. 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Jin teaches that the non-nuclease effector can be an AID and be utilized to introduce site-specific conversion of target nucleotides (pg. 5; see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Jin teaches that the non-nuclease effector can be an ADA (pg. 19).
Regarding claim 12, Moriarity teaches that the immune cell was selected from a human T cells (i.e., a T cell) ([0040]; see FIG. 12).
Regarding claims 13 and 32, Moriarity teaches that the method can further comprise culturing the transfected T cell under conditions that promote targeted knock-in of a donor DNA template (i.e., an exogenous nucleotide sequence) encoding a TCR and a CAR at a target insertion site present in the T cell (i.e., a nucleic acid encoding a TCR or CAR may be inserted within the genome of the T cell such that the cell comprises a TCR or CAR) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Moriarity teaches that following the introduction of the base editors, the immune cells were cultured under conditions that promoted disruption of the expression of the TRAC, B2M, and PDCD1 gene products (i.e., the method could be utilized to change the expression levels of s gene) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 20, Jin teaches that the RNA scaffold can be comprised of multiple RNA molecules (i.e., the RNA scaffold can comprise two separate components) (pg. 18). Jin teaches that the RNA scaffold can be synthesized via chemical synthesis (pg. 18).
Regarding claim 22, Jin teaches that the RNA scaffold can be created via the synthetic fusion of phage RNA scaffolds and CRISPR RNA scaffolds (i.e., the scaffold is a synthetic scaffold) (pg. 46).
Regarding claim 23, Jin teaches that the RNA motif is located at the 3’ end of the RNA scaffold (pg. 4-5; see FIG. 1A).
Regarding claim 25, Jin teaches that the RNA motif may be an MS2 aptamer (pg. 6-7; see FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 28, Moriarity teaches that following the introduction of the base editors, the immune cells were cultured under conditions that promoted disruption of the expression of the TRAC, B2M, and PDCD1 gene products (i.e., a combination of TRAC, B2M, and PDCD1) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 32, Moriarity teaches that the method can further comprise culturing the transfected T cell under conditions that promote targeted knock-in of a donor DNA template (i.e., an exogenous nucleotide sequence) encoding a TCR and a CAR at a target insertion site present in the T cell (i.e., within the genome of the T cell) ([0042]).
Regarding claim 34, Moriarity teaches that three different gRNAs were utilized to successfully knock-out expression of TRAC, B2M, and PDCD1 in human T cells (i.e., a genetically modified immune cell) through the direction of the base editors to the different target genes of interest ([0040]; see FIG. 12).
Regarding claim 35, Moriarity teaches that the population of triple knockout cells (i.e., cells which comprise the multiplexed genetic modification) was greater than 10% of the total cell population ([0072]; see FIG. 4F).
Claim(s) 2 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriarity (PG Pub No. WO 2019/178225) in view of Jin (PG Pub No. WO 2017/011721 A1) as applied to claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, 20, 22-23, 25, 28, 32, and 34-35 above, and further in view of Wang (Cell research 27.10 (2017): 1289-1292).
Regarding claims 2 and 26, Moriarity in view of Jin renders obvious claims 1, 6-1, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, 20, 22-23, 25, 28, 32, and 34-35 as described above.
Jin further teaches that the RNA motif is a single MS2 located at the 3’ end of the RNA scaffold (pg. 4-5; see FIG. 1A).
Moriarity in view of Jin does not teach or suggest that the sequence-targeting component comprises a sequence-targeting protein fused to one or more UGI peptides (Claim 2). Moriarity in view of Jin does not teach or suggest that the sequence-targeting fusion protein comprises nCas9 fused with one or two UGIs (Claim 26).
Wang is drawn towards a study concerned with enhanced base editing by co-expression of a uracil DNA glycosylase inhibitor (Abstract). Wang teaches that once an nCas9 nicks a target nucleic acid, uracil DNA glycosylases and other DNA repair pathways are triggered, leading to unwanted indels and substitutions at the target nucleic acid (pg. 1289). Wang teaches that utilizing a UGI to inhibit uracil DNA glycosylase activity alongside the Cas9 resulted in less indels and that the UGI is pivotal for efficient and high-fidelity base editing (pg. 1289). Wang teaches the use of an nCas9 fused to a singular, or multiple, UGIs (pg. 1290-1291; see Figure 1). Wang teaches that fusing multiple UGIs to an nCas9 displayed the most robust and significant effect (pg. 1291).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fused the nCas9 of Moriarity in view of Jin to a UGI, as described by Wang, because it would have merely amounted to a simple combination of known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Because Moriarity in view of Jin teaches using Cas9 for a similar purpose as Wang, namely the editing of target nucleic acids in cells with an nCas9, then one would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the nCas9 to include one or more UGIs a be functional base editing fusion protein when used in the method of Moriarity in view of Jin. Further, because Wang teaches that fusing multiple UGIs to an nCas9 displayed the most robust and significant editing effect, one would have been motivated to have done so.
Claim(s) 29 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriarity (PG Pub No. WO 2019/178225) in view of Jin (PG Pub No. WO 2017/011721 A1) as applied to claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, 20, 22-23, 25, 28, 32, and 34-35 above, and further in view of Hendel ("Chemically modified guide RNAs enhance CRISPR-Cas genome editing in human primary cells." Nature biotechnology 33.9 (2015): 985-989).
Regarding claims 29 and 37-38, Moriarity in view of Jin renders obvious claims 1, 6-1, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, 20, 22-23, 25, 28, 32, and 34-35 as described above.
Regarding claims 37-38, the claims are interpreted as encompassing RNA scaffolds that comprise at least two 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modifications at the 3’ end of the RNA scaffold, wherein the 3’-most nucleotide does not comprise a 2’-O-methyl modification.
Moriarity in view of Jin does not teach or suggest that the RNA scaffold is chemically modified to comprise a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modification on at least one 5’ nucleotide and at least one 3’ nucleotide of the RNA scaffold sequence (Claim 29). Moriarity in view of Jin does not teach or suggest that the RNA scaffold comprises a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modifications in each of the first two nucleotides of the 5’ end and a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modification in each of the second and third last nucleotide, wherein the last nucleotide of the 3’ end is unmodified (Claims 37-38).
Hendel is directed towards a study concerned with chemically modified Cas9 guide RNAs (Abstract). Hendel teaches the use of a Cas9 sgRNA that comprises 3 chemically modified nucleotides at the 5’ end of the guide RNA and 3 chemically modified nucleotides at the 3’ end of the sgRNA (pg. 986; see Figure 1). Hendel teaches that when the chemically modified nucleotides were 2′-O-methyl 3′phosphorothioate groups (i.e., termed “MS”: a 2′-O-methyl phosphorothioate modification), the resulting chemically modified guide RNA had higher on-target editing efficiency compared to an unmodified Cas9 guide RNA (pg. 986; see Figure 1). Hendel teaches that at all three targeted loci, the MS-modified sgRNAs stimulated higher levels of homologous repair than the unmodified sgRNAs (pg. 987). Hendel teaches that the sgRNA can comprise a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modification in the first two nucleotides and two 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modifications in each of the second and third lase nucleotides of the 3’ end, wherein the 3’ terminal base does not comprise a 2’-O-methyl modification (i.e., the last nucleotide of the 3’ end of the sgRNA is unmodified) (see Supplementary Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the RNA scaffold such that it comprised a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modifications in each of the first two nucleotides of the 5’ end and a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modification in each of the second and third last nucleotide, wherein the last nucleotide of the 3’ end is unmodified because it would have amounted to a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Because each of the RNA scaffolds disclosed in Moriarity and Hendel, namely the modification of a target nucleic acid with a Cas9, then it would have been predictable to have modified the Cas9 RNA scaffold such that it comprised a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modifications in each of the first two nucleotides of the 5’ end and a 2’-O-methyl phosphorothioate modification in each of the second and third last nucleotide, wherein the last nucleotide of the 3’ end is unmodified, in order to predictably increase the on-target editing efficiency the scaffold. Additionally, because Hendel teaches that the modified sgRNA stimulated high levels of homologous repair, one would have been motivated to have done so.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Insofar as Applicant’s arguments are applicable to the newly recited 35 USC 103 rejections of record, Applicant alleges that Jin does not teach or suggest multiplexing with two different gRNAs as presently claims (Remarks; pg. 2).
This argument is not found persuasive because the disclosure of Jin is not relied upon for the claimed method of multiplexed editing as presently claimed. It is the combination of Moriarity in view of Jin described above that renders the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
/KYLE T REGA/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636