DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amended claims/remarks submitted on 06/24/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 03/24/2026. Independent claims 1, 10 and 17 are amended. Claims 8 and 16 were cancelled previously. Therefore, claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie et al. (2024/0236941), Esswie hereinafter.
Re. Claims 1 and 10, Esswie teaches a method (Fig. 3-5 & Fig. 21 & ¶0141/0171-¶0172) for performing an enhanced paging procedure (Fig. 3-5 & Fig. 21 & ¶0141/0171-¶0172) by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1B/Fig.5,WTRU 102) communicatively connected to a radio access network (RAN) node (Fig. 5, RAN 113), and an apparatus (Fig. 1B/Fig.5,WTRU 102) for performing an enhanced paging procedure over a telecommunications network (Fig. 3-5 & Fig. 21 & ¶0141/0171-¶0172), the apparatus comprising: a memory (Fig. 1B, 130/132) storing instructions (Fig. 1B, ¶0059-¶0062); and at least one processor (Fig. 1B, 118) configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 1B, ¶0059-¶0062/¶0444-¶0446) to: receive , prior to Radio Resource Control (RRC) in active mode, information for determining a location in a first channel allocated to the apparatus for downlink data transmissions to be performed, while the apparatus is in the RRC Inactive mode (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information.. Fig. 3-5 & ¶0172- A DL SDT configuration may include a DL SDT indication. The DL SDT paging indication may inform a WTRU that there is any incoming DL SDT(s) as part of the paging information. (Also, DL SDT paging information may be received after receiving a connection release or suspend message. For example, the connection release or suspend message may be a radio resource control (RRC) message, see ¶0257 & Fig. 21). Fig. 5 & ¶0200 - The inactive WTRU may, for a current paging occasion 514, receive a DL SDT indication at 512. The inactive WTRU may also receive an indication that the DL SDT payload is to be multiplexed with the paging record at 516 (e.g., of the current paging occasion 514). The inactive UE may proceed to decoding the paging record as well as the DL SDT payload at 518. The decoding may perform according to any signaled and/or activated DL SDT configurations. Over a next current paging occasion at 520, the inactive UE may be configured with (e.g., receive) any DL SDT configuration update and/or activation at 522. The update and/or activation of any DL SDT configurations may indicate dedicated PDSCH resource sets for DL SDT.)), wherein the received information comprises at least one parameter indicating a plurality of locations in the first channel respectively corresponding to a plurality of UEs (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information….Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam.); read a paging message indicating the apparatus for paging (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0181 - An inactive WTRU may determine whether (e.g., only) to wake up and decode a DL SDT PDSCH occasion that correspond to a (e.g., selected best) DL beam, and/or decode all and/or a subset of the DL SDT PDSCH occasions and soft combine them for enhanced reliability of the first DL SDT transmission based on the PDSCH-beam association indication. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0190 - the inactive WTRU may decode one or more PDSCH occasions on multiple DL beams, such as may be indicated by the signaled PDSCH-beam association, and/or apply soft combining thereto. Fig. 5 & ¶0200 - The inactive WTRU may also receive an indication that the DL SDT payload is to be multiplexed with the paging record at 516 (e.g., of the current paging occasion 514). The inactive UE may proceed to decoding the paging record as well as the DL SDT payload at 518. …. The update and/or activation may be received within the EPI DCI of the current paging occasion at 524. For example, the DL SDT indication may be sent over the EPI DCI (e.g., indicating DL SDT paging of the inactive WTRU)); and read, while in the RRC Inactive mode, downlink data at a location allocated to the UE from among the plurality of locations in the first channel (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0181 - An inactive WTRU may determine whether (e.g., only) to wake up and decode a DL SDT PDSCH occasion that correspond to a (e.g., selected best) DL beam, and/or decode all and/or a subset of the DL SDT PDSCH occasions and soft combine them for enhanced reliability of the first DL SDT transmission based on the PDSCH-beam association indication. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0190 - the inactive WTRU may decode one or more PDSCH occasions on multiple DL beams, such as may be indicated by the signaled PDSCH-beam association, and/or apply soft combining thereto.), wherein the received information further comprises a parameter indicating a distance, on a time domain, between the paging message and a first location among the plurality of locations on the first channel (Fig. 6 & ¶0201 - As shown in FIG. 6, one or more of the DL SDT PDSCH resource sets 602 may be dynamically updated. For example, in the current EPI DCI 604 (e.g., of the first paging occasion 606), the inactive WTRU may be DL SDT-paged with a DL SDT indication scrambled with the WTRU-specific RNTI. This may provide an early indication (e.g., before the next paging occasion in which DL SDT is expected) to the WTRU of the DL SDT arrival and a configuration of the DL SDT, such as the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602 (e.g., one or more PDSCH resource sets). Based on the DL SDT paging (e.g., the current EPI DCI 604), the WTRU may sleep 608 (e.g., deep sleep) up until a time associated with the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602 … since the DL SDT payload has been scheduled on dedicated DL SDT PDSCH resources 602. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information….Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam), and wherein the at least one parameter indicating the plurality of locations comprises at least one of a total number of the plurality of locations, a number of locations per a unit of the time domain, and a number of locations per a unit of a frequency domain (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one parameter” and “at least one of” in the limitation.).
Even, though, Esswie does not expressly teach that the DL SDT configuration is received in RRC release message for the WTRU 102 to move from RRC Connected mode to RRC inactive mode, but DL SDT configuration also includes DL STD paging indication (see ¶0171), however, Esswie, discloses that WTRU receives, DL STD paging information in step 2102 <See Fig. 21 & ¶0256>, receiving, DL STD paging indication, indicates receiving a connection release or suspend message, the connection release or suspend message may be a radio resource control (RRC) message as disclosed in ¶0257, in other words, a person of ordinary skill in the art, would appreciate that WTRU 102 receives DL SDT configurations at 508 (See Fig. 5), by using higher layer signaling (e.g., using SIBs or RRC, see ¶0199, but didn’t specify the exact RRC message), which includes “DL STD paging indication”, which is interpreted as “DL STD paging information”, which is received in RRC release message <or higher layer signaling for RRC as disclosed in ¶0199>, in other words, DL SDT configuration is received in RRC release message for the WTRU 102 to move from RRC Connected mode to RRC inactive mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Esswie’s invention of method and device for downlink small data transmission (DL SDT) and reception in inactive radio access network (RAN) state in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enhancing the performance of an idle/inactive WTRU battery consumption (e.g., power saving capability) related to paging procedure and latency of the WTRU(s) attempting to access the radio interface in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0132/¶0141, Esswie)
Re. Claims 3 and 12, Esswie teaches claims 1 and 10.
Esswie further teaches wherein the received information is received in an RRC Release message from the RAN node.( Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information. Fig. 3-5 & ¶0172- A DL SDT configuration may include a DL SDT indication. The DL SDT paging indication may inform a WTRU that there is any incoming DL SDT(s) as part of the paging information. (Also, DL SDT paging information (interpreted as DL SDT paging indication) may be received after receiving a connection release or suspend message. For example, the connection release or suspend message may be a radio resource control (RRC) message, see ¶0257 & Fig. 21)).
Re. Claims 4 and 13, Esswie teaches claims 1 and 10.
Esswie further teaches wherein the first channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)… Fig. 5 & ¶0200 - The inactive UE may proceed to decoding the paging record as well as the DL SDT payload at 518. The decoding may perform according to any signaled and/or activated DL SDT configurations. …. The update and/or activation of any DL SDT configurations may indicate dedicated PDSCH resource sets for DL SDT. The update and/or activation may be received within the EPI DCI of the current paging occasion at 524. ….., the inactive WTRU may then attempt decoding at 530 for the indicated DL SDT PDSCH resource sets transmitted at 526 and 528 in order to receive the one or more DL SDT payloads));
Re. Claim 5, Esswie teaches claim 4.
Esswie further teaches wherein the reading the paging message comprises: identifying a paging indication in a Paging Occasion on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); and based on identifying the paging indication, reading the paging message from a paging channel (PCH) on the PDSCH. (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information. Fig. 3-5 & ¶0140 - After the presence of the paging DCI (DCI is carried by PDCCH channel, well-known in the field of endeavor) is detected in a paging occasion, the WTRU may proceed to decode the subsequent physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) data resources to read a paging record (paging record is carried in paging channel (PCH), well-known in the field of endeavor). The paging record is an indication of the ID or IDs of any WTRUs that are being paged. Fig. 3-5 & ¶0172 - DL SDT paging indication may be provided in any of an EPI DCI signal, the paging DCI, and/or the paging record message. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0181 - An inactive WTRU may determine whether (e.g., only) to wake up and decode a DL SDT PDSCH occasion that correspond to a (e.g., selected best) DL beam, and/or decode all and/or a subset of the DL SDT PDSCH occasions and soft combine them for enhanced reliability of the first DL SDT transmission based on the PDSCH-beam association indication. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0190 - the inactive WTRU may decode one or more PDSCH occasions on multiple DL beams, such as may be indicated by the signaled PDSCH-beam association, and/or apply soft combining thereto).
Re. Claims 6 and 14, Esswie teaches claims 4 and 13.
Esswie further teaches wherein: the received information is sent from the RAN node; and the UE determines the location allocated thereto, from among the plurality of locations, based on identification information of the UE (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information….Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0181 - An inactive WTRU may determine whether (e.g., only) to wake up and decode a DL SDT PDSCH occasion that correspond to a (e.g., selected best) DL beam, and/or decode all and/or a subset of the DL SDT PDSCH occasions and soft combine them for enhanced reliability of the first DL SDT transmission based on the PDSCH-beam association indication. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0189 - In the paging record, the inactive WTRU can determines if it is own RNTI/ID is being DL SDT paged or not. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0190 - the inactive WTRU may decode one or more PDSCH occasions on multiple DL beams, such as may be indicated by the signaled PDSCH-beam association, and/or apply soft combining thereto).
Re. Claim 9, Esswie teaches claim 1.
Esswie further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Fig. 1B, 130/132) having recorded thereon instructions (Fig. 1B, ¶0059-¶0062) executable by at least one processor (Fig. 1B, 118) for performing the method of claim 1.
Claims 2, 11, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie, in view of Wei, further in view of Löhr et al. (2024/0349244), Löhr hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Esswie teaches claim 1.
Esswie further teaches reading the downlink data at the location in the first channel (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0181 - An inactive WTRU may determine whether (e.g., only) to wake up and decode a DL SDT PDSCH occasion that correspond to a (e.g., selected best) DL beam, and/or decode all and/or a subset of the DL SDT PDSCH occasions and soft combine them for enhanced reliability of the first DL SDT transmission based on the PDSCH-beam association indication. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0190 - the inactive WTRU may decode one or more PDSCH occasions on multiple DL beams, such as may be indicated by the signaled PDSCH-beam association, and/or apply soft combining thereto. Fig. 5 & ¶0200 - The inactive UE may proceed to decoding the paging record as well as the DL SDT payload at 518. The decoding may perform according to any signaled and/or activated DL SDT configurations. …. The update and/or activation of any DL SDT configurations may indicate dedicated PDSCH resource sets for DL SDT. The update and/or activation may be received within the EPI DCI of the current paging occasion at 524. ….., the inactive WTRU may then attempt decoding at 530 for the indicated DL SDT PDSCH resource sets transmitted at 526 and 528 in order to receive the one or more DL SDT payloads.).
Yet, Esswie does not expressly teach wherein the reading the downlink data comprises, based on determining that the paging message comprises information indicating a cause of the paging to be a small data transmission (SDT),
However, in the analogous art, Löhr explicitly discloses wherein the reading the downlink data comprises, based on determining that the paging message comprises information indicating a cause of the paging to be a small data transmission (SDT) (Fig. 6 & ¶0113 - NW 603 sends a paging message (see messaging 602) to indicate to the UE 601 to trigger/start the SDT procedure for the purpose of DL (MT) data, e.g. DCI format 1_0 with P-RNTI and corresponding PDSCH. In one example the paging message (e.g., PDSCH), e.g., paging record, includes some information that instructs the UE 601 to start the (UL) SDT procedure to receive some DL (MT) data in RRC_INACTIVE. Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - paging message includes information indicating whether the UE 601 shall trigger the CG-SDT or RACH-SDT procedure. Based on this new indication which could be e.g., a one-bit flag, a UE in RRC_INACTIVE triggers an SDT procedure. Fig. 6 & ¶0130 - UE generates, during an SDT procedure in response to receiving a PDSCH transmission and decoding such PDSCH, a MAC CE indicating either the successful reception of the PDSCH transmission),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Esswie’s invention of method and device for downlink small data transmission (DL SDT) and reception in inactive radio access network (RAN) state in a wireless communication system to include Löhr’s invention of a system and a method for downlink (“DL”) transmission/reception procedures for small data transmissions (“SDTs”) in RRC_INACTIVE in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device and signaling overhead in the a wireless communication system, in particular, for cases where network (“NW”) sends small and infrequent DL data packets. (¶0002-¶0003, Löhr)
Re. Claim 11, Esswie teaches claim 10.
Yet, Esswie does not expressly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to read the downlink data based on determining that the paging message comprises information indicating a cause of the paging to be a small data transmission (SDT).
However, in the analogous art, Löhr explicitly discloses wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 11, 1105) is configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 11 & ¶0146-¶0148) to read the downlink data based on determining that the paging message comprises information indicating a cause of the paging to be a small data transmission (SDT). (Fig. 6 & ¶0113 - NW 603 sends a paging message (see messaging 602) to indicate to the UE 601 to trigger/start the SDT procedure for the purpose of DL (MT) data, e.g. DCI format 1_0 with P-RNTI and corresponding PDSCH. In one example the paging message (e.g., PDSCH), e.g., paging record, includes some information that instructs the UE 601 to start the (UL) SDT procedure to receive some DL (MT) data in RRC_INACTIVE. Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - paging message includes information indicating whether the UE 601 shall trigger the CG-SDT or RACH-SDT procedure. Based on this new indication which could be e.g., a one-bit flag, a UE in RRC_INACTIVE triggers an SDT procedure. Fig. 6 & ¶0130 - UE generates, during an SDT procedure in response to receiving a PDSCH transmission and decoding such PDSCH, a MAC CE indicating either the successful reception of the PDSCH transmission),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Esswie’s invention of method and device for downlink small data transmission (DL SDT) and reception in inactive radio access network (RAN) state in a wireless communication system to include Löhr’s invention of a system and a method for downlink (“DL”) transmission/reception procedures for small data transmissions (“SDTs”) in RRC_INACTIVE in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device and signaling overhead in the a wireless communication system, in particular, for cases where network (“NW”) sends small and infrequent DL data packets. (¶0002-¶0003, Löhr)
Re. Claim 17, Esswie teaches a method for performing an enhanced paging procedure (Fig. 3-5 & Fig. 21 & ¶0141/0171-¶0172) by a radio access network RAN node (Fig. 5, RAN 113), the method comprising: generating (Fig. 5, RAN 113 & processor as disclosed in ¶0442) an Radio Resource Control (RRC) Release message comprising parameters for determining a location of a first channel allocated for small data transmissions to be performed to a user equipment (UE) in an RRC Inactive mode (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information.. Fig. 3-5 & ¶0172- A DL SDT configuration may include a DL SDT indication. The DL SDT paging indication may inform a WTRU that there is any incoming DL SDT(s) as part of the paging information. (Also, DL SDT paging information may be received after receiving a connection release or suspend message. For example, the connection release or suspend message may be a radio resource control (RRC) message, see ¶0257 & Fig. 21). Fig. 5 & ¶0200 - The inactive WTRU may, for a current paging occasion 514, receive a DL SDT indication at 512. The inactive WTRU may also receive an indication that the DL SDT payload is to be multiplexed with the paging record at 516 (e.g., of the current paging occasion 514). The inactive UE may proceed to decoding the paging record as well as the DL SDT payload at 518. The decoding may perform according to any signaled and/or activated DL SDT configurations. Over a next current paging occasion at 520, the inactive UE may be configured with (e.g., receive) any DL SDT configuration update and/or activation at 522. The update and/or activation of any DL SDT configurations may indicate dedicated PDSCH resource sets for DL SDT); wherein the parameters comprise at least one parameter indicating a plurality of locations in the first channel respectively corresponding to a plurality of UEs (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information….Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam); and based on receiving the DL data, transmitting the DL data to the UE in the RRC Inactive mode at the at a location allocated to the UE from among the plurality of locations (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information... Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0172- A DL SDT configuration may include a DL SDT indication. The DL SDT paging indication may inform a WTRU that there is any incoming DL SDT(s) as part of the paging information. (Also, DL SDT paging information <interpreted as DL SDT paging indication> may be received after receiving a connection release or suspend message. For example, the connection release or suspend message may be a radio resource control (RRC) message, see ¶0257 & Fig. 21. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0181 - An inactive WTRU may determine whether (e.g., only) to wake up and decode a DL SDT PDSCH occasion that correspond to a (e.g., selected best) DL beam, and/or decode all and/or a subset of the DL SDT PDSCH occasions and soft combine them for enhanced reliability of the first DL SDT transmission based on the PDSCH-beam association indication.), wherein the parameters further comprise a parameter indicating a distance, on a time domain, between the paging message and a first location among the plurality of locations on the first channel (Fig. 6 & ¶0201 - As shown in FIG. 6, one or more of the DL SDT PDSCH resource sets 602 may be dynamically updated. For example, in the current EPI DCI 604 (e.g., of the first paging occasion 606), the inactive WTRU may be DL SDT-paged with a DL SDT indication scrambled with the WTRU-specific RNTI. This may provide an early indication (e.g., before the next paging occasion in which DL SDT is expected) to the WTRU of the DL SDT arrival and a configuration of the DL SDT, such as the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602 (e.g., one or more PDSCH resource sets). Based on the DL SDT paging (e.g., the current EPI DCI 604), the WTRU may sleep 608 (e.g., deep sleep) up until a time associated with the configured DL SDT PDSCH resources 602 … since the DL SDT payload has been scheduled on dedicated DL SDT PDSCH resources 602. Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0171 - WTRU may receive one or more DL SDT configurations using higher layer signaling (SIB, RRC)… A DL SDT configuration may include any of (1) a DL SDT paging indication, (2) one or more DL SDT PDSCH resources (e.g., resource sets)….. (6) PDSCH-beam association information….Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam), and wherein the at least one parameter indicating the plurality of locations comprises at least one of a total number of the plurality of locations, a number of locations per a unit of the time domain, and a number of locations per a unit of a frequency domain (Fig. 21 & Fig. 3-5 & ¶0180 - A DL SDT configuration may include PDSCH-beam association information. … a RAN node may transmit one or multiple occasions of the DL SDT PDSCH resources. Each PDSCH occasion within a (e.g., indicated) DL SDT PDSCH resource set may be modulated over a certain downlink beam (e.g., PDSCH repetition over DL beams). …. If the RAN is transmitting N DL beams, and the RAN may transmit the (e.g., same) N DL SDT occasions, each one over a single DL beam. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one parameter” and “at least one of” in the limitation).
Yet, Esswie does not expressly teach receiving downlink (DL) data for the UE from a core network; based on receiving the DL data, transmitting a paging message to the UE;
However, in the analogous art, Löhr explicitly discloses receiving downlink (DL) data for the UE from a core network; based on receiving the DL data, transmitting a paging message to the UE; (Fig.1/Fig. 6 & ¶0113 - NW 603 sends a paging message (see messaging 602) to indicate to the UE 601 to trigger/start the SDT procedure for the purpose of DL (MT) data, e.g. DCI format 1_0 with P-RNTI and corresponding PDSCH. In one example the paging message (e.g., PDSCH), e.g., paging record, includes some information that instructs the UE 601 to start the (UL) SDT procedure to receive some DL (MT) data in RRC_INACTIVE. Please note that UPF < User Plane Function> 131 <See Fig.1 > is a part of Mobile Core Network 130, responsible for packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, receives/transmits data packet from external Data Network 150 as shown in Fig.1; UPF 131 <part of Core Network>, sends DL Data to gNB 103 <part of RAN>, which sends a paging message (see messaging 602) to indicate to the UE 601 to trigger/start the SDT procedure for the purpose of DL (MT) data as shown in Fig.6.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Esswie’s invention of method and device for downlink small data transmission (DL SDT) and reception in inactive radio access network (RAN) state in a wireless communication system to include Löhr’s invention of a system and a method for downlink (“DL”) transmission/reception procedures for small data transmissions (“SDTs”) in RRC_INACTIVE in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device and signaling overhead in the a wireless communication system, in particular, for cases where network (“NW”) sends small and infrequent DL data packets. (¶0002-¶0003, Löhr)
Re. Claim 19, Esswie and Löhr teach claim 17.
Yet, Esswie does not expressly teach wherein the transmitting the paging message comprises generating the paging message comprising a parameter indicating a cause of the paging message to be a small data transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Löhr explicitly discloses wherein the transmitting the paging message comprises generating the paging message comprising a parameter indicating a cause of the paging message to be a small data transmission. (Fig. 6 & ¶0113 - NW 603 sends a paging message (see messaging 602) to indicate to the UE 601 to trigger/start the SDT procedure for the purpose of DL (MT) data, e.g. DCI format 1_0 with P-RNTI and corresponding PDSCH. In one example the paging message (e.g., PDSCH), e.g., paging record, includes some information that instructs the UE 601 to start the (UL) SDT procedure to receive some DL (MT) data in RRC_INACTIVE. Fig. 6 & ¶0114 - paging message includes information indicating whether the UE 601 shall trigger the CG-SDT or RACH-SDT procedure. Based on this new indication which could be e.g., a one-bit flag, a UE in RRC_INACTIVE triggers an SDT procedure. Fig. 6 & ¶0130 - UE generates, during an SDT procedure in response to receiving a PDSCH transmission and decoding such PDSCH, a MAC CE indicating either the successful reception of the PDSCH transmission),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Esswie’s invention of method and device for downlink small data transmission (DL SDT) and reception in inactive radio access network (RAN) state in a wireless communication system to include Löhr’s invention of a system and a method for downlink (“DL”) transmission/reception procedures for small data transmissions (“SDTs”) in RRC_INACTIVE in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving power consumption of a wireless device and signaling overhead in the a wireless communication system, in particular, for cases where network (“NW”) sends small and infrequent DL data packets. (¶0002-¶0003, Löhr)
Re. Claim 20, Esswie and Löhr teach claim 17.
Esswie further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Fig. 5, RAN 113 & memory as disclosed in ¶0442) having recorded thereon instructions (Fig. 5, RAN 113 & ¶0444-¶0445) executable by at least one processor (Fig. 5, RAN 113 & processor as disclosed in ¶0442) for performing the method (Fig. 3-5 & Fig. 21 & ¶0141/0171-¶0172) of claim 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 15 and 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 7 – wherein: the identification information of the UE is a numerical value; andthe UE determines the location allocated thereto, from among the plurality of locations, based on A mod B, where A is the identification information of the UE and B is a total number of the plurality of UEs.
Claim 15 – wherein: the identification information is a numerical value; and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to determine the located allocated thereto, from among the plurality of locations, based on A mod B, where A is the identification information of the apparatus and B is a total number of the plurality of UEs.
Claim 18 – wherein: the first channel is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); the location of the first channel allocated to the UE is determined, from among the plurality of locations, based on A mod B, where A is a numerical identifier of the UE and B is a total number of the plurality of UEs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/24/2026 with respect to claims 1, 10 and 17 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
There exists NO specific allegation for any prior arts, hence, moot.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 1, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esswie.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 10 and 17, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467