DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an opening unit, a safety unit, an assembly unit, and a guiding unit in claims 4, 6, 8, and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrel et al. (WO 2019/053112 A1) in view of Sweeney et al. (US 5,746,726).
With regard to claims 1, 11, and 12, Carrel et al. teach a safety device for a needle of a medical device, the safety device comprising: a ring arranged to be fixed with regard to the needle (Fig. 1 member 22) a shield arranged to be mounted on the ring (Fig. 1 member 60) by a pivot link (Fig. 1 pivot connection at 64 and 30) so as to define a closed position in which the shield covers the needle (Pg. 10 lines 26-27) and an open position in which the shield does not cover the needle (Pg. 10 lines 35-36) a protective cap configured to surround the needle and to accommodate at least part of the shield in the closed position (Fig. 1 member 80). Carrel et al. do not disclose a locking and release unit. However, Sweeney et al. teach locking a shield to a ring via a recess on the ring and a projection on the shield (Figs. 4-6 recesses formed in 58, projection 56 attached to an arm taken as a wing) which is released via 60 (Fig. 4 which is a protrusion with a deflecting surface) to provide releasable latching (Col. 2 lines 58-64). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lock and release in Carrel et al. as in Sweeney et al. as this would ensure the shield remains securely attached to enhance safety and prevent injury.
With regard to claims 4 and 5, see pusher 83 and cam 66 (Figs. 1 and 7 of Carrel et al. Pg. 10 lines 29-34).
With regard to claims 6 and 7, as combined the arm attached to 56 is taken as a wing, the sloped surface of 58 is adapted to deflect the wing.
With regard to claims 8-10, see Reference Figure 1 below.
With regard to claim 13, see Reference Figure 1 above and needle cap 50 (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 14, Carrel et al. teach a safety needle hub adapted to be fixed on a medical device, the safety needle hub comprising a needle (Fig. 1 member 102) and a safety device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
With regard to claims 15 and 16, Carrel et al. teach a medical device adapted to inject and/or remove a fluid from a body, the medical device comprising a needle (Fig. 1 member 102) and a safety device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues 56 and 58 are disengaged by a practitioner’s finger causing deflection of 60 and as such the arm attached to 56 is taken as rigid and stationary. The Examiner maintains that when 56 and 58 disengaged the arm with 56 deflects as shown in Fig. 6, the arm changes position. The claim does not recite a particular point or plane about which the wing is flexible/deflectable relative to or degree of flexion/deflection. The Examiner finds the arm/wing to be flexible as it moves with the cap and also due to the narrowed connection between 56 and the cap there would be some flexibility to the structure. Applicant argues if combined portions 58 and 60 would be provided to 22 of Carrel not cap 70. The claim does not recite structurally how the components are provided on the cap. Member 22 surrounds the cap and thus the components are placed on the cap. Applicant argues that due to the manipulation of components by a practitioner this does not read on the components being released during a portion of a removal movement of the protective cap. Such movement by a practitioner is considered as a portion of the removal process of the cap. There is no specific recitation as to structurally what occurs during the removal movement to cause disengagement or bounds placed on the removal.
The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783