Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-9, filed February 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 190, 191, 194-199, 201, and 202 under 35 USC 102, 103, and 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chang et al. ("Effects of water-based binders on electrochemical performance of manganese dioxide cathode in mild aqueous zinc batteries," Carbon Energy 3(3), pp. 473-481, October 2020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 190 and 202 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. ("Effects of water-based binders on electrochemical performance of manganese dioxide cathode in mild aqueous zinc batteries," Carbon Energy 3(3), pp. 473-481, October 2020).
Regarding claim 190, Chang discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a zinc metal negative electrode; an electrolyte with a pH of 4.4, which falls within the range of the instant claim, comprising water and ZnSO4; and a positive electrode comprising a current collector (titanium foil) and a positive electrode active layer comprising a hydrophilic binder (CMC), a conductive additive (acetylene black), an active material that undergoes reversible faradaic reactions with zinc (MnO2), and a gelling agent (PVA) (Chang 2.1 Sample preparation and 2.2 Electrochemical measurements).
Regarding claim 202, the gelling agent comprises polyvinyl alcohol (Chang 2.1 Sample preparation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 191, and 194-196, and 209 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 190 above, and further in view of Xu et al. ("Energetic Zinc Ion Chemistry: The Rechargeable Zinc Ion Battery," Angewandte Chemie International Edition 51(4), pp. 933-935, January 2012).
Regarding claim 209, Chang does not teach the use of a primer layer. Xu is directed to a rechargeable Zinc-ion battery (Xu title). Xu teaches that adding a primer layer comprising a binder (PVDF) and conductive particles (carbon black) to the current collector of a zinc-ion battery decreases contact resistance between the current collector and the active layer (Xu Supporting Information, Methods, 3rd paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the primer layer of Xu to the zinc-ion battery of Chang to decrease contact resistance between the current collector and the active layer.
Regarding claim 191, the binder is PVDF (Xu Supporting Information, Methods), which is hydrophobic.
Regarding claim 194, the primer layer is 5 µm thick (Xu Supporting Information, Methods), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 195, the binder is hydrophobic, so the surface will necessarily be hydrophobic.
Regarding claim 196, carbon black particles comprise electrically conductive carbon (Xu Supporting Information, Methods).
Claim(s) 193 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xu as applied to claim 209 above, and further in view of Busson et al. ("A primed current collector for high performance carbon-coated LiFePO4 electrodes with no carbon additive," Journal of Power Sources 406, pp. 7-17, December 2018).
Regarding claim 193, modified Chang does not teach that the primer coating layer provides a network of porous structures to increase the surface area of the current collector. Busson teaches that tailoring a primer coating to increase roughness of the current collector reinforces interfacial adhesion with the electrode (Busson Introduction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to increase the roughness of the primer coating, which would necessarily create a network of pores and increase surface area, in order to improve interfacial adhesion with the electrode.
Claim(s) 197 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xu as applied to claim 196 above, as evidenced by Hess et al. ("Carbon Black Morphology: I. Particle Microstructure. II. Automated EM Analysis of Aggregate Size and Shape," Rubber Chemistry and Technology 42(4), pp. 1209-1234, September 1969).
Regarding claim 197, the conductive particles comprise carbon black (Xu Supporting Information, Methods). Carbon black is formed as either spherical particles, fibrous particles, or aggregates of spherical primary particles (Hess, Results and Discussion and Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 198-199 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 190 above, and further in view of Yamahira (JP H0268855 A; citations refer to English translation attached to the office action mailed November 18, 2025).
Regarding claims 198 and 199, Chang does not teach the addition of a plasticizer to the positive electrode composite layer. Yamahira is directed to a method of forming an electrode layer on a current collector (Yamahira Abstract). Yamahira teaches that adding a weak organic acid such as oxalic acid to an active material binder improves adhesion to the current collector (Yamahira p. 3, [Effect] and [Example]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add any of the listed acids, including oxalic acid, to the binder of modified Chang in order to improve adhesion.
Claim(s) 210 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 190 above, and further in view of Dai et al. (CN 111384397 A; citations refer to attached English translation) and Kakiage et al. (US 2022/0328834 A1).
Regarding claim 210, Chang does not teach the use of polyvinyl formal or nanocrystalline cellulose.
Dai is directed to a binder for a secondary battery electrode (Dai [0002]). Dai teaches that water-soluble binders for electrodes include polyvinyl alcohol and polyvinyl acetal (Dai [0015]). Polyvinyl alcohol and polyvinyl acetal are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute a polyvinyl acetal, including polyvinyl formal, for the polyvinyl alcohol of Chang.
Kakiage is directed to a binder for a secondary battery electrode (Kakiage Abstract). Kakiage teaches that cellulose-based binders for electrodes include carboxymethyl cellulose and cellulose nanocrystal (Kakiage [0055]). Carboxymethyl cellulose and cellulose nanocrystal are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute cellulose nanocrystal for the carboxymethyl cellulose of Chang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oh et al. (US Patent 6,187,475 B1) discloses an electrode for a zinc-ion battery comprising a binder selected from a group including polyvinyl alcohol (Oh Claim 6).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722