DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9 and 11-15 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 1/23/26.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9 and 11-15 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. No oath is of record.
4. The new title filed on 1/23/26 has been entered.
5. IN light of Applicant’s amendment to the claims, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), 112(a), 102 (a)(1)(in part) and 103 rejections have been withdrawn (see sections 6-11 and 16-17 of the office action mailed on 7/25/25).
6. The following rejections remain.
8. Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foster et al., (J. Allergy Clin Immunol. 2020, vol. 146, p. 218-220, IDS reference) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 7/25/25.
Foster et al. teach administration of dupilumab in treatment of Covid-19 patient with severe chromic rhinosinusitis. Foster et al further teach administration of dupilumab effects level of IL-13 and claims 3-4 are included in this rejection. Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Applicant’s response filed on 1/23/26 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that Foster reference fails to teach all the limitations of the claimed invention and the Foster reference is limited to administration of dupilumab in treatment of severe chronic rhinosinusitis.
However, unlike Applicant’s assertion, dupilumab administration eased course of COVID-19 (p. 17) and combat of covid is initiated with dupilumab therapy. The dupilumab therapy has clinical benefit in Covid therapy (p. 7-8). The rejection is maintained.
10. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Application No. 18/841,169.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘169 application recites a method of treating Covid-19 disease comprising administering dupilumab and dupilumab reads on the agent neutralize IL-13.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
As Applicant has requested that this double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter has been identified in the instant application, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
11. The following new ground of rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/23/26.
13. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Foster et al., (J. Allergy Clin Immunol. 2020, vol. 146, p. 218-220, IDS reference, of record) in view of Rincon et al (Int. Biol Sci, vol. 8, p. 1281-1290, of record).
The teachings of the Foster et al., have been discussed, supra.
The disclosures of the Foster references differ from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the combination of the Covid related medications such as IL-13, IL-6 and measurement of plasma concentrations as 1 and 9 of the instant application.
Rincon et al. teach role of tocilizumab in treatment of pulmonary inflammation and tocilizumab effects level of IL-13, IL-4, IL-5, IL-6 and IL-6 modulates neutrophils, macrophages IL-17, TGFb, IL-8 and MIP-1b (note p. 1286-1288, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize or combine various indications of Covid, treatment regimens and methods to predict Covid as taught by the Foster reference and the Rincon references suggests various mechanisms of airway related diseases including pulmonary diseases.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of dupilumab improves Covid-19 disorders as IL-6 mechanisms of tocilizumab is taught by Rincon. In addition, it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions each of which is taught by prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form third composition that is to be used for very same purpose; idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, CCPA1980, see MPEP 2144.06.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
14. No claims are allowable.
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
February 25, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641