DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/011,470 and is in response to a Request for Continued Examination filed 01/21/2026.
Claims 1 and 3-16, are previously pending, of those claims, claims 1, 5, 7, and 13 have been amended, claim 16 has been canceled, and new claim 17 has been added. All amendments have been entered. Claims 1, 3-15, and 17 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUOKA (US 2018/0287111 A1) in view of KIM (US 2020/0152931 A1).
With respect to claim 1. FUKUOKA teaches a battery pack including a stack of a plurality of cells (abstract). The battery pack includes an upper pressure plate 151 a lower pressure plate 152, and side plates 153 (paragraph 0037) these pressure plates being the claimed base and cover plates. An elastic member may be used for changing absorbing changes in the thickness of the cell group (paragraph 0117). In one example the elastic member 270a may have an elastic member 273, and an elastic member 274 disposed by symmetrically inverting the elastic member 273 (paragraph 0121 and Fig. 22A). The elastic member 270a then is taken to be the claimed elastic bead unit, and is disposed between the upper pressure plate 151 and the cell stack (Figure 22A).
FUKUOKA teaches the elastic member is disposed on an upper end of the cell group (paragraph 0120). FUKUOKA does not explicitly teach a compression pad disposed between one battery cell and an adjacent battery cell. FUKUOKA teaches the elastic member does not need to be only disposed in the two ends of the battery cell, and may be placed in the center, such that it is disposed between one battery cell and an adjacent battery cell (paragraph 0120). Further in one embodiment the elastic member 270 is disposed on the upper and lower ends of the cell groups (paragraph 0120). Therefore FUKUOKA teaches that two elastic members may be used in conjunction, and further teaches the elastic member may be placed in the middle position of the battery stack. However, FUKUOKA does not teach that the compression pad is a unitary member directly contacting the battery cell and the adjacent cell.
KIM teaches a battery module including a module frame and a cell stacking structure disposed between the sides of the module frame (abstract). The cell stacking structure may include surface pressure pads disposed between some of the battery cells, such as a predetermined number of the battery cells, to be compressed in the stacking direction of the battery cells (paragraph 0008). There is the cell stacking structure 100 may include a surface pressure pad 103 capable of being compressed in the stacking direction between the stacked cells 101 (paragraph 0025). The surface pressure pad 103 may attenuate and generate uniform surface pressure acting between the cells 101 (paragraph 0025).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the pressure pad 103 between the cells of FUKUOKA as taught by KIM, as KIM teaches such pressure pads are beneficial for attenuating and generating uniform the surface pressure between the cells (KIM paragraph 0025).
KIM teaches the pressure pads are disposed some of the cells, specifically a predetermined number of cells (paragraph 0008). Therefore KIM does not explicitly teach exactly one compression pad. However, KIM teaches that a predetermined number of compression pads may be used, therefore the choice of exactly one compression pad may be determined as a matter of experimentation to have the desired number of compression pads. As seen in Figure 3 of KIM, the compression pad 103 is a unitary member directly contacting the adjacent battery cells 101.
With respect to claim 3. FUKUOKA teaches an intermediate member 280 which comes in direct contact with the elastic member (paragraph 0118). As seen in Figure 22, the intermediate member 280 then is taken to be the claimed contact plate, and is contact with both the battery cell assembly and the elastic member.
With respect to claim 4. FUKUOKA teaches an elastic member 274 partially in contact with the plate 280 (paragraph 0121 and Figure 22A). There is then an elastic member 273 (paragraph 0121) which is in contact with the cove plate (Figure 22A). The two elastic members 273 and 274 are in contact with each other (Figure 22A).
With respect to claim 7. KIM teaches the pressure pad 103 which generate uniform surface pressure between the stacked battery cells (paragraph 0025). Therefore the pressure pad is taken to be disposed in the center of the cells in the height direction (see also Figure 3).
With respect to claims 14-15. FUKUOKA teaches an elastic member 270a (paragraph 0121). The elastic member 270a then is in contact with the upper pressure plate and the intermediate member 280 (Figure 22A). The elastic member 270a then has a concave-convex shape such that the convex portions and concave portions are alternately arranged (Figure 22A).
Claim(s) 5-6, 9-10, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUOKA (US 2018/0287111 A1) in view of KIM (US 2020/0152931 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of KOTIK (US 2017/0098868 A1).
Claim 5 is dependent upon claim 4 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of FUKUOKA and KIM, and claims 6 and 12 are dependent upon claim 5. FUKUOKA teaches each elastic member 273 and 274 are provided with convex and concave shapes, so that the portions are alternately arranged (paragraph 0121 and Figure 22A). Each of the convex portions of the first elastic member is in contact with the convex portion of the second elastic member (Figure 22A). Further each of the concave portions of the first elastic member is disposed opposite a corresponding concave portion of the second elastic members (Figure 22A).
FUKUOKA teaches as seen in Figure 22A does not teach opposing ends of the first and second elastic member are spaced apart.
KOTICK teaches a battery housing in which cells are stacked, and there are elastic members being a bladder formed (abstract). The elastic member may be formed of a plurality of bladders 138 joined by webbing (paragraph 0043). The elastic member 30 serves as a compression spring, and includes a first sheet 131 and a second sheet 131 and are formed of a resilient elastic material (paragraph 0043). The first and second sheet 131, 132 are joined along a sealed line 134 that forms a peripheral edge of the elastic member (paragraph 0043). The sealed line then may be formed by heating, welding, or adhesives (paragraph 0043). As seen in Figure 7 the ends of the sheets past the sealed line 134 are spaced apart.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the ends of the elastic member of FUKUOKA be slightly spaced apart as taught by KOTICK, as KOTICK teaches a known method of sealing the ends of the elastic member, which results in the ends past the sealed spot being slightly separated. Therefore this effect would have been obvious at the time the invention as filed.
Claim 9 is dependent upon claim 1, which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of FUKUOKA and KIM, claim 10 is dependent upon claim 9. FUKUOKA teaches a battery pack which includes a plurality of stacked cells (abstract). However, FUKUOKA does not explicitly teach a pack case or a vehicle comprising the case. KIM teaches the batteries are mounted on vehicles (paragraph 0003). However, neither FUKUOKA nor KIM explicitly teaches a pack case configured to package the battery module.
The discussion of KOTIK from above is repeated here. KOTICK teaches a battery pack with the cells disposed in a housing (abstract). These battery pack are useable for electric vehicles (paragraph 0004). The battery pack 10 includes a plrual9ity of modules 15 in stacked groups of cells 20 (paragraph 0038). The battery pack is provided in a battery pack housing 12 (paragraph 0038).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the battery modules of FUKUOKA and KIM as a battery pack installed on a vehicle as taught by KOTIK, as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 17. The rejection above of claims 1, and 3-4 in view of FUKUOKA and KIM under 35 U.S.C. 103, and the rejection of claim 5 further in view of KOTIK is repeated here.
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUOKA (US 2018/0287111 A1) in view of KIM (US 2020/0152931 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FUJIWARA (US 2020/0194753 A1).
Claim 8 is dependent upon claim 1, which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of FUKUOKA and KIM and claim 11 is dependent upon claim 8. FUKUOKA teaches left and right side plates 153 (paragraph 0037). These side plates are welded to the upper and lower plates (paragraph 0084). Therefore FUKUOKA teaches side plates, but does not explicitly teach beams.
FUJIWARA teaches a power storage device 8 which includes a plurality of secondary batteries 11 (paragraph 0014). The power storage devices includes a pair of end plates 20 provided on both sides in a first direction of the battery laminate (paragraph 0015). The power storage device then includes bind bars 21 connected to the end plates (paragraph 0017). The bind bars are rod like members (paragraph 0017). The bind bars are mounted on the end plates, and the end plates are fastened to the bind bars (paragraph 0018). As seen in Figure 1 the fasteners include at least a nut, and the rod like member of the bind bars then are taken to be the claimed bolt.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated connect the end plates of FUKUOKA with the bind bars and fasteners of FUJIWARA, as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results, as the bars allow for compression of the batteries to the end plates (paragraph 0015).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUOKA (US 2018/0287111 A1) in view of KIM (US 2020/0152931 A1) and JUN (KR20170135476A).
The rejection of claim 1 in view of FUKUOKA and KIM from above is repeated here. KIM teaches the surface pressure pads 103, but does not explicitly teach that the pads 103 are a pair of compression pads.
JUN teaches a battery module capable of implementing cell swelling control (paragraph 0014). The module includes a case, and a plurality of cells accommodated within the module case, and a plurality of buffer pads disposed between the plurality of battery cells (paragraph 0015). The buffer pads may be compressed when the plurality of battery cells expand (paragraph 0015). There is the battery module 10, including a module case 100, battery cells 200, and buffer pads 300 (paragraph 0037). The buffer pads 300 are compressed when the plurality of battery cells 200 are swollen, to control the cell swelling, thereby preventing damage to the battery cells or the case due to the expansion of the battery cells 200 (paragraph 0041). The material of the buffer pads then may be a soft elastic material (paragraph 0042). The buffer pads are placed in contact with the facing battery cells to implement better vibration absorption and compression induced repulsion (paragraph 0043). JUN teaches in one example the buffer pads 500 can be manufactured as phase change material layer 520 and two elastic layers 540 and 560 separately provided and laminated (paragraph 0072). The two elastic layers 540 and 560 are taken to be the claimed pair of compression pads in contact with the adjacent battery cells (see Figure 6).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the pressure pad 103 of KIM with the buffer pads 500 of JUN, as JUN teaches such elastic members may be compressed when the battery cells expand (JUN paragraph 0069) and therefore would have achieved predictable results.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKUOKA (US 2018/0287111 A1) in view of JUN (KR20170135476A) and KOTIK (US 2017/0098868 A1).
FUKUOKA teaches a battery pack including a stack of a plurality of cells (abstract). The battery pack includes an upper pressure plate 151 a lower pressure plate 152, and side plates 153 (paragraph 0037) these pressure plates being the claimed base and cover plates. An elastic member may be used for changing absorbing changes in the thickness of the cell group (paragraph 0117). In one example the elastic member 270a may have an elastic member 273, and an elastic member 274 disposed by symmetrically inverting the elastic member 273 (paragraph 0121 and Fig. 22A). The elastic member 270a then is taken to be the claimed elastic bead unit, and is disposed between the upper pressure plate 151 and the cell stack (Figure 22A).
FUKUOKA teaches the elastic member is disposed on an upper end of the cell group (paragraph 0120). FUKUOKA does not explicitly teach a compression pad disposed between one battery cell and an adjacent battery cell. FUKUOKA teaches the elastic member does not need to be only disposed in the two ends of the battery cell, and may be placed in the center, such that it is disposed between one battery cell and an adjacent battery cell (paragraph 0120). Further in one embodiment the elastic member 270 is disposed on the upper and lower ends of the cell groups (paragraph 0120). Therefore FUKUOKA teaches that two elastic members may be used in conjunction, and further teaches the elastic member may be placed in the middle position of the battery stack. However, FUKUOKA does not teach that the compression pad is a unitary member directly contacting the battery cell and the adjacent cell.
JUN teaches a battery module capable of implementing cell swelling control (paragraph 0014). The module includes a case, and a plurality of cells accommodated within the module case, and a plurality of buffer pads disposed between the plurality of battery cells (paragraph 0015). The buffer pads may be compressed when the plurality of battery cells expand (paragraph 0015). There is the battery module 10, including a module case 100, battery cells 200, and buffer pads 300 (paragraph 0037). The buffer pads 300 are compressed when the plurality of battery cells 200 are swollen, to control the cell swelling, thereby preventing damage to the battery cells or the case due to the expansion of the battery cells 200 (paragraph 0041). The material of the buffer pads then may be a soft elastic material (paragraph 0042). The buffer pads are placed in contact with the facing battery cells to implement better vibration absorption and compression induced repulsion (paragraph 0043).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the buffer pads 300 of JUN between at least two of the battery cells of FUKUOKA, as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results. Specifically JUN teaches that the buffer pads are beneficial as being in contact with the cells they are able to better implement better vibrational absorption and compression induced repulsion.
FUKUOKA teaches an intermediate member 280 which comes in direct contact with the elastic member (paragraph 0118). As seen in Figure 22, the intermediate member 280 then is taken to be the claimed contact plate, and is contact with both the battery cell assembly and the elastic member. FUKUOKA teaches an elastic member 274 partially in contact with the plate 280 (paragraph 0121 and Figure 22A). There is then an elastic member 273 (paragraph 0121) which is in contact with the cove plate (Figure 22A). The two elastic members 273 and 274 are in contact with each other (Figure 22A).
FUKUOKA teaches each elastic member 273 and 274 are provided with convex and concave shapes, so that the portions are alternately arranged (paragraph 0121 and Figure 22A). Each of the convex portions of the first elastic member is in contact with the convex portion of the second elastic member (Figure 22A). Further each of the concave portions of the first elastic member is disposed opposite a corresponding concave portion of the second elastic members (Figure 22A).
FUKUOKA teaches as seen in Figure 22A does not teach opposing ends of the first and second elastic member are spaced apart.
KOTICK teaches a battery housing in which cells are stacked, and there are elastic members being a bladder formed (abstract). The elastic member may be formed of a plurality of bladders 138 joined by webbing (paragraph 0043). The elastic member 30 serves as a compression spring, and includes a first sheet 131 and a second sheet 131 and are formed of a resilient elastic material (paragraph 0043). The first and second sheet 131, 132 are joined along a sealed line 134 that forms a peripheral edge of the elastic member (paragraph 0043). The sealed line then may be formed by heating, welding, or adhesives (paragraph 0043). As seen in Figure 7 the ends of the sheets past the sealed line 134 are spaced apart.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the ends of the elastic member of FUKUOKA be slightly spaced apart as taught by KOTICK, as KOTICK teaches a known method of sealing the ends of the elastic member, which results in the ends past the sealed spot being slightly separated. Therefore this effect would have been obvious at the time the invention as filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of FUKUOKA and JUN have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of FUKUOKA and KIM (US 2020/0152931 A1).
On page 7 of Applicant arguments/remarks Applicant argues that FUKUOKA fails to disclose a compression pad, and that in JUN the compression pads are located on opposite sides of the cell stack as well as between adjacent battery cells. Therefore Applicant argues that FUKUOKA and JUN does not explicitly teach the amended limitation where the cell assembly includes exactly one compression pad being disposed between one and an adjacent battery cells, and the compression pad being a unitary member direction contacting those cells. This argument is persuasive, as Applicant argues JUN would teach a plurality of compression pads located between all the cells, and not exactly one compression pad. Therefore this argument is persuasive. However, new grounds of rejection are made in view of KIM (US 2020/0152931 A1).
KIM teaches a cell stacking structure 100 which includes a surface pressure pad 103 capable of being compressed in the stacking direction between the stacked cells 101 (paragraph 0025 and Figure 3). The number of these pads may be a predetermined number (paragraph 0008), and therefore the Examiner agues that a single compression pad would have been obvious in view of KIM.
On page 8 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks Applicant notes that claim 5 has been amended to recite that the opposing ends of the elastic members are spaced apart. FUKUOKA does not teach the ends of the elastic members being spaced apart. Therefore this argument is persuasive, but new grounds of rejection are made in view of KOTIK (US 2017/0098868 A1).
KOTIK teaches KOTICK teaches a battery housing in which cells are stacked, and there are elastic members being a bladder formed (abstract). The elastic member may be formed of a plurality of bladders 138 joined by webbing (paragraph 0043). The elastic member 30 serves as a compression spring, and includes a first sheet 131 and a second sheet 131 and are formed of a resilient elastic material (paragraph 0043). The first and second sheet 131, 132 are joined along a sealed line 134 that forms a peripheral edge of the elastic member (paragraph 0043). The sealed line then may be formed by heating, welding, or adhesives (paragraph 0043). As seen in Figure 7 the ends of the sheets past the sealed line 134 are spaced apart.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722