DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The limitations that are interpreted under 112(f) are found in lines 2-3 of claim 9.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following non-limiting informalities:
Regarding claim 1:
Line 5 and line 12 recite “at the bottom”, but should recite “at the bottom of the insulated door leaf”
Line 12 recites “the one or more intermediate baffles comprise”, but should recite “the one or more intermediate baffles each comprise”
Line 13 recites “the top”, but should recite “the top of the insulated door leaf”
Line 17 recites “the intermediate baffles”, but should recite “the respective intermediate baffle”
Line 19 and line 21 both recite “the cords”, but should recite “the one or more cords”
Regarding claim 7:
Line 4 recites “which top and bottom part”, but should recite “which top and bottom parts”
Regarding claim 10:
Line 7 recites “a top”, but should recite “the top”
Lines 8-9 recite “the horizontal direction”, but should recite “a horizontal direction”
Lines 9-10 recite “the flexible web does not conform to the bottom face”. This is interpreted as merely requiring a state where the flexible web does not conform to the bottom face, rather than always requiring this, which is consistent with the applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 14:
Line 1 recites “the flexible web”, but should recite “each flexible web”
It is up to the applicant to find and correct all issues similar to those described above. Appropriate correction is required. The claims are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanahan (US 20170218683) in view of Villella (US 5547241) and Ungs (US 20120018102).
Regarding claim 10, Shanahan teaches an immediate baffle comprising an insulating baffle (20) extending in a width (the height direction in fig. 7) and towards a bottom (left in fig. 7) and a top (right in fig. 7) and adapted to (functional language) engage with a bottom baffle at the bottom via one or more cords (84) to extend from the bottom baffle through one or more common cord channels (64a) in the intermediate baffle, the intermediate baffle comprising a bottom face (left side of 20) towards the bottom baffle and an opposite top face (right side) towards the top;
wherein the bottom face is concave and the top face is convex (figs. 7-8).
Shanahan does not teach that the immediate baffle comprising an insulating baffle extends horizontally in the width and vertically towards the bottom with the one or more common cord channels extending vertically in the intermediate baffle, nor that the intermediate baffle is wrapped in a flexible web wrapped around the horizontal direction and covering the bottom and top faces, and wherein the flexible web does not conform to the bottom face.
Villella teaches a baffle with one or more cords extending through baffle channels, the baffle extending horizontally in a width and vertically towards a bottom with the one or more common cord channels extending vertically (figs. 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shanahan so that the orientation is like that of Villella with the immediate baffle comprising an insulating baffle extending horizontally in the width and vertically towards the bottom with the one or more common cord channels extending vertically in the intermediate baffle. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a known orientation of common roll type garage doors.
Ungs teaches (fig. 8), an insulated door leaf with a baffle (12) that is individually wrapped in a flexible web (36) wrapped around a horizontal direction and covering bottom and top faces, wherein the flexible web does not conform to the bottom face of the baffle (fig. 8 clearly shows that the flexible web is separated from the bottom of the baffle when there is not another baffle pushing it against the bottom of the baffle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shanahan so that the that the intermediate baffle is wrapped in a flexible web wrapped around the horizontal direction and covering the bottom and top faces, and wherein the flexible web does not conform to the bottom face. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a better seal between the baffles.
Regarding claim 13, modified Shanahan teaches an insulated door leaf comprising an intermediate baffle according to claim 10 (see claim 10 rejection above), the insulated door leaf extending in a height from a bottom to a top in a vertical direction and in a width in an intended horizontal direction (see modification to claim 10 above) for a corresponding gate (everything in fig. 1) that extends vertically in a height from a bottom to a top and horizontally in a width (see fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 5-9, 12, and 14 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/2025 have been fully considered are considered persuasive regarding claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive concerning claim 10, where the examiner notes that only one insulated baffle is required by the claim. The above combination teaches the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634