DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (claims 26 and 28-29) in the reply filed on January 15, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that: 1) the restriction between Groups II and V is improper because the nature of the claims is such that the claims are related as a product and a process of use of said product and 2) Nagahama does not disclose or reasonably suggest an aqueous particle dispersion comprising a polymer and a Si-O-containing moiety of Formula I or Formula II. This is not found persuasive for the following reasons. Regarding 1), Groups II and V lack unity of invention because they have a special technical feature of the aqueous particle dispersion comprising a polymer and a Si-O-containing moiety which does not make a contribution over the prior art and regarding 2), while Nagahama may not teach the recited SI-O-moiety of Formula I or II, upon further search and consideration, the Ala (WO 2020/076744) reference used below in the rejections does teach the recited aqueous particle dispersion (please see the rejection for mapping of the teachings in Ala to the claim limitations.)
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ala (WO 2020/076744) in view of Dain (US 2015/0275075).
Regarding claim 26, Ala teaches an aqueous dispersion (Abstract) comprising a colorant (page 5, lines 1-5) and an aqueous particle dispersion (Abstract) comprising a polymer (page 2, lines 27-30) and a Si-O-containing moiety with the following structure:
Which reads on Formula I when R1 is an alky group and R2 is C1-C3 alkyloxy group (page 4).
While Ala teaches that the aqueous dispersion can be used in paint formulations (Examples), however, it fails to teach that the aqueous dispersion is used as an inkjet ink.
Dain teaches a liquid coating composition can be used in many different application techniques, such as roll-coating, brush-coating as well as inkjet application ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the aqueous dispersion of Ala be an inkjet in as taught by Dain. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of printing on substrates using precision inkjet ink techniques.
Regarding claim 28, Ala teaches that the formulation can further contain a water soluble organic solvent (such as propylene glycol) (Table 1).
Regarding claim 29, Ala teaches that the colorant is a pigment (page 5, lines 1-5).
Double Patenting
Claims 26 and 29 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,369,077. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach an aqueous inkjet ink with a colorant and aqueous particle dispersion that comprises a polymer and a Si-O containing moiety.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764