CTFR 18/011,596 CTFR 96933 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/16/2026 is submitted after the non-final rejection and is being considered by the examiner, as marked “no IDS fee is required”. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims An amendment, filed 03/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-31 are pending. Claims 16-17 have been amended, amendment finds support in the specification at least in the paragraph [0029] of the instant specification of the disclosure, therefore, no new matter is presented. Claims 24-25 are withdrawn from consideration. Therefore, and claims 16-23 and 26-31 remain for examination on the merits for this office action. Status of Previous Objections to Drawings and Claims The previous objections to the Drawing has been withdrawn as Applicant submitted the new drawings submitted on 03/16/2026. The previous objections to the claim 16 and 17 have been withdrawn due to amendments of these claims. Status of Previous Rejections The previous 35 USC § 112(b) second paragraph rejections of the claim 16 18-23 and 30-31 have been withdrawn as the claim has been amended as well as Applicant’s persuasive argument. The previous 35 USC § 101 rejections of the claims have been withdrawn because claim 16 and 17 have been amended. The newly amended claim recites a new step, “ by supplying the calculated amount of oxygen to the converter and charging the calculated amount of the cooling material or the rising heat material into the converter to transform the molten iron into molten steel having the target temperature and target component concentration at the end of blowing ”, paragraph [0029] of the instant specification of the disclosure has support for the amendment. Although, Applicant’s argument about this amendment is “ Satisfy Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration Into a Practical Application”, citing from the MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(e), as a “Physical Process” as "the converter operation is a steelmaking process of obtaining molten steel by supplying oxygen to main raw materials including molten iron, scrap or the like charged into a converter to perform oxidation refining (blowing)." and a “Physical Transformation”, as the amended claims expressly recite that the control actions result in transforming molten iron into molten steel having the target temperature and target component concentration, and this is a physical transformation—the chemical composition and thermal properties of the molten metal are physically changed through oxidation refining”, does not seem to meet the requirement of transformation to a different state or thing as per MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(e). But according to MPEP 2106.05(c), transforming the molten iron into steel is being considered converting to different state of thing, as the molten iron is reacting with the additives (cooling material/heat rising material) in presence of oxygen and converting molten iron into steel with a target composition, therefore makes the claims patent eligible (See MPEP 2106.05(c)). Therefore, the previously cited 35 USC § 101 rejections of the claim 16 and 17 and corresponding dependent claims have been withdrawn, as because claim 16-17 have been amended. The previous 35 USC § 102(a)(1) rejections of the claims 16-22 and 26-30 have been withdrawn as because claim 1 has been amended. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu Xingming et.al. [CN107779540A] (machine translation) (Niu hereafter) . Regarding claims 16, Niu discloses a converter blowing control method (a converter smelting method and control blowing (calculation of heat balance before oxygen blowing), see Niu’s [0039]-[0040]), comprising: calculating, by heat balance calculation and material balance calculation (Calculation of heat balance before oxygen blowing, and material addition control (see Niu’s [0040], [0042])), an amount of oxygen to be supplied and an amount of a cooling material or a rising heat material to be charged to control a temperature and a component concentration of molten steel at end of blowing in a converter to target values (Before oxygen blowing, the amount of rising heat material (activated lime and light-burned dolomite) is determined based on the conditions of the molten iron and cooling material (scrap steel), the target temperature, and the carbon content control requirements. The total amount of ore to be added is then calculated based on the excess temperature of the furnace, and oxygen lance is controlled (see Niu’s [0041]-[0042] and [0047]); controlling the blowing in the converter based on the calculated amount of oxygen to be supplied and the calculated amount of a cooling material or a rising heat material to be charged (as shown above the heat balance calculation and controlling the blowing with material addition control steps (see Niu’s [0041]-[0042] and [0047]) by supplying the calculated amount of oxygen to the converter (as Niu teaches blow oxygen for 12 minutes see Niu’s [0050]) and charging the calculated amount of the cooling material or the rising heat material into the converter (after blowing is started and the first batch of materials (ore, i.e. cooling material) (see Niu’s [0044]) calculated in the material addition control, are added (see Niu’s [0049]), to transform the molten iron into molten steel having the target temperature and target component concentration at the end of blowing (samples are taken and tested, for carbon content is greater than 0.30% or the steel grade requires the finished product phosphorus content the oxygen lance will stay at for 30-60s and carbonize when the carbon content drops to 0.15% -0.25% (see Niu’s [0051]). With respect to the “amount of oxygen”, although Niu is silent about the amount of oxygen, Niu teaches controlling of blowing oxygen for 12 minutes (see Niu’s [0050]), blowing oxygen for a specific time would read on the amount of oxygen, as because it would have been obvious to the ordinary skill in the art that in a specific period of time, a specific amount of oxygen would blow into the converter. Niu further teaches estimating a pre-blowing molten iron temperature that is a temperature of molten iron used as a raw material for blowing to be a target of the heat balance calculation, charged into the converter, and is in a state immediately before start of the blowing and using the estimated pre-blowing molten iron temperature as a charged molten iron temperature in the heat balance calculation (Niu teaches an example heat balance calculation (see Niu’s example, [0055]-[0056]) using raw material conditions, given molten iron temperature (1350 ℃ , i.e. given/estimated molten iron temperature), molten iron composition (see Niu’s [0057]), and target temperature requirement for steel grade (1685 ℃ ) to get finished steel composition (see Niu’s [0058]) and calculations of material consumption (charged material) is being controlled for heat rising material (activated lime, light-burned dolomite), and cooling material (iron ore) (see Niu’s [0059]). Niu further teaches that the disclosed method provides a converter smelting method which realizes single-slag operation of high-silicon molten iron, shortens smelting time, can achieve smelting balance without splashing, reduces smelting time, improves metal recovery rate, and improves gas recovery and terminal residual manganese (see Niu’s [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Niu’s teaching to ensure to have target temperature and composition of the steel, and a balanced smelting process without splashing, that reduces smelting time, improves metal recovery rate, and improves gas recovery. Regarding claims 17, Niu discloses a converter blowing control method (a converter smelting method and control blowing (calculation of heat balance before oxygen blowing), see Niu’s [0039]-[0040]), comprising: sequentially estimating a temperature and a component concentration of molten metal at progress of blowing by sequentially performing heat balance calculation and material balance during the blowing based on operation conditions and a measured value of a converter obtained at start of and during the blowing in the converter calculation (Niu’s step 1. “Thermal balance calculation” (see Niu’s [0055])), raw material condition, molten iron temperature: 1350 ℃ , molten iron composition and content and cooling material content (ordinary scrap steel) and target temperature requirement for steel grade: 1685°C, to ensure an upper limit of phosphorus content in finished product: 0.015%. (see Niu’s [0056]-[0058]) and calculation of charged material including cooling material and rising heat material (see Niu’s [0059]-[0058]) and then Niu’s step 2. “Feeding control” wherein 1) Add scrap steel first, then add iron, shake the converter to zero position, and prepare for oxygen blowing (see Niu’s [0061]), 2) after the blowing starts and the fire is ignited, add the light-burned dolomite and active lime into the furnace at one time (see Niu’s [0063]), 3) the second amount of material, one part of the active lime is added after blowing oxygen for 5 minutes, (see Niu’s [0064]) 4) when blowing oxygen for 9.5 minutes, the carbon-oxygen reaction proceeds vigorously, and the active lime in the two collecting hoppers is added into the furnace (see Niu’s [0065]); controlling the blowing in the converter based on the estimated temperature and the estimated component concentration of the molten metal by adjusting at least one of an amount of oxygen supplied (Niu’s step 3. “Oxygen control (see Niu’s [0065]) and an amount of a cooling material or a rising heat material charged during the blowing (in the first step of oxygen control, after blowing is started and the first batch of materials are added, the oxygen lance position is immediately lowered (see Niu’s [0067]) and in the second step of oxygen control, the oxygen is blowing for 12 minutes until the process test is performed (see Niu’s [0068])) to transform the molten iron into molten steel having a target temperature and a target component concentration at the end of blowing (in third step of oxygen control, after blowing oxygen for 13 minutes, the process test is completed, the process test carbon content was 0.42%, and the temperature was 1612°C (see Niu’s [0069]), in fourth and fifth step of oxygen control, after blowing oxygen for few more minutes, in sixth step of oxygen control, the end point secondary gun test is performed to have end point composition (carbon content 0.048%, oxygen value 0.0685%) and the target temperature 1691°C (see Niu’s [0070]-[0072]). Niu’s method comprises: estimating a pre-blowing molten iron temperature that is a temperature of molten iron used as a raw material for blowing to be a target of the heat balance calculation, charged into the converter, and is in a state immediately before start of the blowing, and using the estimated pre-blowing molten iron temperature as a charged molten iron temperature in the heat balance calculation ((as shown above, see Niu’s example, [0055]-[0056]) using raw material conditions, given molten iron temperature (1350 ℃ , i.e. given/estimated molten iron temperature), molten iron composition (see Niu’s [0057]), and target temperature requirement for steel grade (1685 ℃ ) to get finished steel composition (see Niu’s [0058]) and calculations of material consumption (charged material) is being controlled for heat rising material (activated lime, light-burned dolomite), and cooling material (iron ore) (see Niu’s [0059]). Niu further teaches that the disclosed method provides a converter smelting method which realizes single-slag operation of high-silicon molten iron, shortens smelting time, can achieve smelting balance without splashing, reduces smelting time, improves metal recovery rate, and improves gas recovery and terminal residual manganese (see Niu’s [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Niu’s teaching to ensure to have target temperature and composition of the steel, and a balanced smelting process without splashing, that reduces smelting time, improves metal recovery rate, and improves gas recovery . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 18-23 and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu Xingming et.al. [CN107779540A] (machine translation) (Niu hereafter) as applied to claim 16 and 17, and further in view of Eiichi Sakamoto, et.al. [US4043801] . Regarding Claim 18 and 26 , all the discussions above for claims 16 and 17 are applicable for claims 18 and 26 respectively, but Niu is silent a post-charging molten iron temperature change amount to a molten iron temperature during charging is used as the charged molten iron temperature used in the heat balance calculation, the post-charging molten iron temperature change amount being a molten iron temperature change amount in a period from when the molten iron is charged into the converter to when the blowing starts, and the molten iron temperature during charging being a temperature of the molten iron measured during a period when the molten iron used as the raw material for the blowing to be a target of the heat balance calculation is charged into the converter. However Sakamoto discloses a method of simultaneously controlling the temperature and composition of the steel at the end-point in an oxygen top-blown converter (see Sakamoto’s Col. 1, line 51-54) comprising an illustrative sequence of operations in an oxygen top-blown converter is as follows: (a) the preparation of raw materials required for a given heat is carried out in such a manner that the temperature of the molten steel at the endpoint is slightly higher than a target temperature at the end-point; (b) after the blowing has been begun, the amount of oxygen is calculated and indicated in accor-dance with a static model so that the carbon content of the molten steel amounts to a predetermined value depending on the desired carbon content of the steel to be produced; (c) upon completion of the blowing of this amount of oxygen, a measuring lance is introduced into the molten steel so that the steel bath temperature and the liquidus temperature are simultaneously measured by a sensor and then the steel bath temperature and the steel bath carbon content are read out by an automatic reading-out program (see Sakamoto’s Col. 2, line 1-18) and determining the temperature of the molten steel at the end point as a function of at least the material balance and heat balance, and then assembling raw materials including molten pig iron, carbon monoxide quantity and oxygen, for the molten steel bath in such quantity and relative proportions that the temperature of the molten steel bath at the end-point attains a temperature higher than a target temperature at the end-point (see Sakamoto’s Claim 1); Sakamoto’s process also comprises immediately following the measuring, a forecast heating factor and decarburi-zation parameters are calculated to determine the amount of oxygen required for causing the temperature at the end-point to hit the target temperature at the end-point when the blowing operation continued under the conditions existing at the time of the measuring (i.e., the quantity of oxygen blown in for raising the temperature up to an estimated level after the measuring), and then a calculated carbon content at the end-point is calculated from the thus calculated oxygen quantity and the decarburization parameters (see Sakamoto’s Col. 2, line 19-29) and then blowing to oxygen to the converter in an amount sufficient to attain a predetermined bath carbon amount which is a function of the desired carbon content of the end product steel to be produced; simultaneously measuring the temperature and carbon content of the molten steel by a single sensor upon completing the blowing of oxygen; operating on said measured temperature and carbon content and determining a "forecast heating factor" (see Sakamoto’s Claim 1). PNG media_image1.png 774 568 media_image1.png Greyscale Sakamoto then teaches a value obtained by adding a post-charging molten iron temperature change amount to a molten iron temperature during charging is used as the charged molten iron temperature used in the heat balance calculation (see Sakamoto’s numeral step 1 to 3 in FIG.2) , the post-charging molten iron temperature change amount being a molten iron temperature change amount in a period from when the molten iron is charged into the converter to when the blowing starts see Sakamoto’s numeral step 4 to 9 in FIG.2) , and the molten iron temperature during charging being a temperature of the molten iron measured during a period when the molten iron used as the raw material for the blowing to be a target of the heat balance calculation is charged into the converter see Sakamoto’s numeral step 10 to 16 in FIG.2), Sakamoto’s FIG. 2 is a time chart of an exemplary control system for performing the novel method of the present invention. Numerals in Sakamoto’s FIG. 2 indicate the following: 1 = molten iron temperature interruption 2 = heat balance calculation 3 = raw material indication 4 = 8 minutes interruption after starting the blowing 5 = data check 6 = data error indication 7 = oxygen quantity calculation for sensor immersion 8 = oxygen quantity indication 9 = molten steel temperature interruption 10 = liquidus temperature interruption 11 = carbon content calculation by calibration curve 12 = measured temperature and carbon content indication 13 = heating factor and decarburization parameter calculation 14 = judgement of type a, b or c 15 = oxygen quantity, coolant quantity and soft-blow pattern calculation at the end-point 16 = oxygen quantity, coolant quantity and soft-blow pattern indication at the end-point. (see Sakamoto’s Col. 6 Line 23-46, FIG. 2). Sakamoto further teaches a process performed by the control system shown in FIG; 2 which provides very accurate control of the temperature and carbon content of molten steel at the end-point, wherein an example describes in greater detail the application of the Sakamoto’s novel method of this invention. A converter is initially charged with 82.8 tons of molten pig iron and 18.7 tons of scrap and the temperature of molten pig iron at the time was 1280°C. Since the desired steel is an intermediate carbon steel, an integral oxygen quantity of 4,060 Nm 3 as calculated in accordance with a static model is blown and the temperature and carbon content of the steel bath at that time are measured by means of a sensor. The bath temperature and carbon content thus measured were respectively 1584° C and 0.46%. [Col.7, Line 4-19, FIG. 2 ]. Sakamoto is to directed to converter blowing control method and therefore analogous to Niu as well as the instant claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Sakamoto’s teachings of simultaneous control of the temperature, composition and adjusting the charging material in combination with Niu’s convertor blowing control process to ensure to have a very accurate control of the target temperature and composition of the steel at the end point and a balanced smelting process with reducing smelting time, improving metal recovery rate, and gas recovery. Regarding Claim 19 and 27, all the discussions above claim 16 and 17 are applicable for claims 19 and 27 respectively, in addition, Niu teaches a value obtained by adding a pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount and the pre-charging molten iron temperature being a temperature of the molten iron measured during a period when the molten iron used as the raw material for the blowing to be a target of the heat balance calculation is held in a molten iron holding container before being charged into the converter (Niu’s step 1. “Thermal balance calculation” (see Niu’s [0055])) before blowing, using a raw material condition and a given molten iron temperature: 1350 ℃ , molten iron composition and content and cooling material content (ordinary scrap steel) and target temperature requirement for steel grade to ensure an upper required composition in finished product (see Niu’s [0056]-[0058]). Niu is silent about “a post -charging molten iron temperature change amount to a pre-charging molten iron temperature is used as the charged molten iron temperature used in the heat balance calculation, and the pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount being a molten iron temperature change amount during a period from measurement of the pre-charging molten iron temperature to charging of the molten iron into the converter, and the post-charging molten iron temperature change amount being a molten iron temperature change amount during a period from when the molten iron is charged into the converter to when the blowing starts”. Sakamoto teaches a value obtained by adding a pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount and a post--charging molten iron temperature change amount to a pre-charging molten iron temperature is used as the charged molten iron temperature used in the heat balance calculation, the pre-charging molten iron temperature being a temperature of the molten iron measured during a period when the molten iron used as the raw material for the blowing to be a target of the heat balance calculation is held in a molten iron holding container before being charged into the converter, the pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount being a molten iron temperature change amount during a period from measurement of the pre-charging molten iron temperature to charging of the molten iron into the converter, and the post-charging molten iron temperature change amount being a molten iron temperature change amount during a period from when the molten iron is charged into the converter to when the blowing starts ( simultaneously measuring the temperature and carbon content of the molten steel by a single sensor upon completing the blowing of oxygen; operating on said measured temperature and carbon content and determining a "forecast heating factor". S aid forecast heating factor A' for raising the temperature of the molten steel bath up to a previously estimated temperature value after the measuring, the quantity of oxygen being further blown in being defined in accordance with the following: wherein, ∆Q = the quantity of oxygen further blown in for raising the temperature up to the estimated temperature, value after the measuring; WT = weight of total charge at the time of the further blowing operation; and ∆T = temperature rise after measuring at the time of the further fol lowing operation; determining the carbon content at the end-point of the process as a function of said oxygen quantity after the measuring and said decarburization parameters) (see Sakamoto’s Claim 1). Sakamoto discloses the carrying out at least one of the following: (i) still further blowing in a given quantity of oxygen at the end-point, (ii) supplying a requisite amount of coolant, the given quantity of oxygen, the requisite amount of cooling, being a function of the difference between said calculated carbon content at the end-point of the process and said target carbon content at the end-point, to simultaneously control the temperature and carbon content of said molten steel at the end-point of the process ) (see Sakamoto’s Claim 1). As shown Sakamoto ’s FIG. 2 is a time chart of an exemplary control system for performing the method, and numerals are listed above, and in ) (see Sakamoto’s Col. 6 Line 23-55, FIG. 2). Sakamoto further discloses examples wherein t he values are processed in the control system of FIG. 2 in accordance with the previously described equations and the necessary control action was performed. In this operation, the quantity of the coolant (scrap) charged was 320 Kg, the amount of oxygen blown after measuring was 660 Nm 3 (the integral oxygen quantity blown up to the end point was 4.720 Nm 3 ), the temperature at the end-point was 1651°C and the carbon content at the end-point was 0.09%. In this example, the target temperature and target carbon content at the endpoint are respectively 1660°C and 0.10% and both the temperature and carbon content nearly hit the target values [Col. 7, line 19-37]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Sakamoto’s teachings of simultaneous control of the temperature, composition and adjusting the charging material in combination with Niu’s convertor blowing control process to ensure to have a very accurate control of the target temperature and composition of the steel at the end point and a balanced smelting process with reducing smelting time, improving metal recovery rate, and gas recovery. Regarding Claim 20 and 28, all the discussions above claim 16 and 19 are applicable for claim 20, and claim 17 and 27 are applicable for claim 28, but Niu is silent about “ post-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined based on a difference between a back-calculated value of the charged molten iron temperature back-calculated from the heat balance calculation to match a measured value of a molten metal temperature during blowing performed in past blowing and the molten iron temperature during charging in the past blowing”. However, Sakamoto teaches post-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined based on a difference between a back-calculated value of the charged molten iron temperature back-calculated from the heat balance calculation to match a measured value of a molten metal temperature during blowing performed in past blowing and the molten iron temperature during charging in the past blowing, (as shown in Sakamoto ’s FIG. 2 is a time chart of an exemplary control system for performing the novel method of the present invention, wherein at step 4 after the 8 minutes interruption after starting the blowing, calculation is done for fixing any error and/or adjustment, for further controlling the temperature, composition and oxygen quantity as shown in the following steps 5 to 15, 5 = data check 6 = data error indication 7 = oxygen quantity calculation for sensor immersion 8 = oxygen quantity indication 9 = molten steel temperature interruption 10 = liquidus temperature interruption 11 = carbon content calculation by calibration curve 12 = measured temperature and carbon content indication 13 = heating factor and decarburization parameter calculation 14 = judgement of type a, b or c 15 = oxygen quantity, coolant quantity and soft-blow pattern calculation at the end-point. (see Sakamoto ’s Col. 6 Line 23-55, FIG. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Sakamoto’s teachings of simultaneous control of the temperature, composition and adjusting the charging material in combination with Niu’s convertor blowing control process to ensure to have a very accurate control of the target temperature and composition of the steel at the end point and a balanced smelting process with reducing smelting time, improving metal recovery rate, and gas recovery. Regarding Claim 21, and 29, all the discussions above claim 16 and 19-20 are applicable for claim 21, and claim 17 and 27-28 are applicable for claim 29, but Niu is silent about “post-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined for further consideration of at least one of a time from when a previous charge of a target charge is discharged to when the molten iron of the target charge is charged and a time from when the molten iron of the target charge is charged to when the blowing starts”. However, Sakamoto teaches post-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined for further consideration of at least one of a time from when a previous charge of a target charge is discharged to when the molten iron of the target charge is charged and a time from when the molten iron of the target charge is charged to when the blowing starts ( as shown in Sakamoto ’s FIG. 2 is a time chart of an exemplary control system for performing the novel method of the present invention, wherein adjustment in calculation for charging material is done in 8 minutes, 12 minutes and 15 minutes after the blowing is done from the start of the blowing, see Sakamoto ’s FIG. 2). . Regarding Claim 22 and 30, all the discussions above claim 16 and 19 are applicable for claim 22, and claim 17 and 27 are applicable for claim 30, but Niu is silent about “ pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined based on a difference between the pre-charging molten iron temperature in the past blowing and the molten iron temperature during charging in the past blowing.” However, Sakamoto teaches pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined based on a difference between the pre-charging molten iron temperature in the past blowing and the molten iron temperature during charging in the past blowing (simultaneously measuring the temperature and carbon content of the molten steel by a single sensor upon completing the blowing of oxygen; operating on said measured temperature and carbon content and determining a "forecast heating factor" in accordance with the following equation. S aid forecast heating factor A' for raising the temperature of the molten steel bath up to a previously estimated temperature value after the measuring, the quantity of oxygen being further blown in being defined in accordance with the following: wherein, ∆Q = the quantity of oxygen further blown in for raising the temperature up to the estimated temperature, value after the measuring; WT = weight of total charge at the time of the further blowing operation; and ∆T = temperature rise after measuring at the time of the further fol lowing operation; determining the carbon content at the end-point of the process as a function of said oxygen quantity after the measuring and said decarburization parameters) (see Sakamoto’s Claim 1). Regarding Claim 23 and 31, all the discussions above claim 16, 19 and 22 are applicable for claims 23 and 31 respectively, but Niu is silent about pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined for further consideration of at least one of an elapsed time from a time at which the molten iron in the previous charge of the target charge is discharged to a receiving time at which the molten iron to be used for blowing of the target charge is received in a molten iron holding container to receive the molten iron to be used for blowing of the target charge and a time from when the pre-charging molten iron temperature is measured to when the molten iron is charged into the converter.” However, Sakamoto teaches pre-charging molten iron temperature change amount is determined for further consideration of at least one of an elapsed time from a time at which the molten iron in the previous charge of the target charge is discharged to a receiving time at which the molten iron to be used for blowing of the target charge is received in a molten iron holding container to receive the molten iron to be used for blowing of the target charge and a time from when the pre-charging molten iron temperature is measured to when the molten iron is charged into the converter (a converter is initially charged with molten pig iron and scrap and the temperature of molten pig iron at the time is 1280°C. After following the process of Sakamoto’s FIG.2, both the temperature and carbon content nearly hit the target values. Then FIGS. 4a and 4b show by way of example the results obtained when the simultaneous control (temperature and carbon content) according to this invention is successively applied to the production, i.e. the successive operation (a continuous charging and discharging of charging material) of a converter in accordance with the method of this invention (see Sakamoto’s Col. 7, line 19-37, FIG. 4a 4b). Sakamoto further teaches t he following remarkable advantages result from their method having a greater accuracy of the control action: 1. the carbon content of the steel bath can be controlled to the proper value, there is no danger of the oxygen content in the steel becoming abnormally high and the reduced non-metallic inclusions is ensured and moreover the steady yield of ferro alloys is ensured. 2. the simultaneous control of the steel bath temperature and carbon content, the reduced after blow and the reduced addition of coolant after the end point are ensured with resultant improvement in the steelmaking efficiency and productivity. Most effective control action is achieved by controlling a coolant (see Sakamoto’s Col. 7, line 52-680. Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have Sakamoto’s teachings in combination with Niu’s process to control the steel bath temperature and carbon content, the reduced after blow and the reduced addition of coolant after the end point are ensured with resultant improvement in the steelmaking efficiency and productivity successive operation . Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered and as shown above, the previous 35 USC § 102(a)(1) rejections of the claims 16-17 and corresponding dependent claims , and 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claim 23 and 31 have been withdrawn as because claim 1 has been amended. Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 16 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference specially on Sakamoto, applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. However, Sakamoto is being used to reject the dependent claims, wherever applicable. Therefore, a new 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claim 16-17 and other dependent claims over Niu and Niu in view of Sakamoto have been associated with this office action due to the amendments (please check the section of the 35U.S.C. 103 rejection section for further details). Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanigaki Takeshi, et.al. [JP2012087345A] ( machine translation) teaches static control of a converter steelmaking method, which calculates the target composition of the molten steel at the end of blowing and tapping, and the amount of flux and oxygen required for the target temperature, based on information of the molten iron and scrap being charged. Measuring the surface temperature of the refractory lining of the converter using a radiation thermometer, obtaining a cooling curve from the measured temperature and time information, predicting the temperature drop during subsequent blowing, and incorporating this into the heat balance calculation [see Takeshi’s 0029]. Takeshi further teaches the standard deviation of the difference between the estimated molten steel temperature calculated by static calculation and the actual molten steel temperature at the time the molten steel temperature was measured in the calculated sub lance [see Takeshi’s 0039] . 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NAZMUN NAHAR SHAMS whose telephone number is (571)272-5421. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 11:00 AM-7:30PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Merkling Sally can be reached on (571)2726297. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NAZMUN NAHAR SHAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1738 /SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 2 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 3 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 4 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 5 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 6 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 7 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 8 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 9 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 10 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 11 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 12 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 13 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 14 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 15 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 16 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 17 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 18 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 19 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 20 Art Unit: 1738 Application/Control Number: 18/011,596 Page 21 Art Unit: 1738