DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present application is being examined under the claims filed 04/08/2026.
Claims 1-12 and 15-22 are pending.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed 04/08/2026 in response to office action mailed 01/08/2026. The Applicant’s remarks and any amendments to the claims or specification have been considered with the results that follow.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112
In Remarks page 8, Argument 1
(Examiner summarizes Applicant’s arguments) Applicant argues that the pending claims satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112.
Examiner’s response to Argument 1
Applicant’s amendments overcome some of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, Applicant’s amendments bring new issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b), including issues similar to those found in the previous non-final office action.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 101
In Remarks page 9, Argument 2
(Examiner summarizes Applicant’s argument) Applicant argues that Examiner fails to establish a prima facie case that claim 1 is ineligible because the non-final office action does not analyze the claim as a whole but instead analyzes the elements in isolation.
Examiner’s response to Argument 2,
Applicant’s arguments are not convincing. Even when the additional elements are taken together with the abstract idea limitations the additional elements are still highly generic and do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application nor amount to significantly more. Furthermore, examiner points out that Applicant’s argument merely argues on technicalities without addressing the substance of Examiner’s rejection, nor does Applicant’s argument explain why they believe the claim to be eligible.
In Remarks page 10-11, Argument 3
(Examiner summarizes Applicant’s arguments) Applicant argues that the claimed invention provides improvements of significantly reduced memory costs, enabling long-range and position-based interactions, and outperforming previous approaches while being more efficient. Applicant further recites the claim elements and states that the improvement is reflected in the claims.
Examiner’s response to Argument 3
Applicant’s arguments are not convincing. MPEP 2106.05(a) recites:
After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology. […] That is, the claim must include the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. […] It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements.
Any of the alleged improvements appear to be caused by the judicial exceptions alone. That is, any improvements appear to be caused by the generation and execution of functions (a mathematical concept). The additional elements (the limitations not directed to abstract ideas) do not add anything more than generic machine learning and computer components which do not improve computer technology nor machine learning/artificial intelligence technology. Anal
Regarding prior art rejections
In Remarks page 12, Argument 3
(Examiner summarizes Applicant’s arguments) Applicant argues that Katharopoulos does not disclose claim 1, and specifically that the equation cited by examiner fails to teach “generating one or more functions based, at least in part, on a respective content function and a respective position function of each respective context element of the plurality of context elements in the context data.” Applicant argues that the prior art rejections of the analogous and dependent claims are deficient for at least the same reasons.
Examiner’s response to Argument 3
Examiner disagrees and will provide supporting rationale to the rejection made in the previous action. Katharopoulos teaches:
The self attention function Al(·) computes, for every position, a weighted average of the feature representations of all other positions with a weight proportional to a similarity score between the representations
The self attention function is a position function of each feature representation of all other positions. This is no different from the claimed “position function of each respective context element of the plurality of context elements”. The feature representations are inputs to layers and can thus be treated as context elements for those layers. Furthermore, Katharopoulos teaches:
The function fl(x) transforms each feature independently of the others and is usually implemented with a small two-layer feedforward network.
The fl function is thus a content function. Applicant’s argument does not convincingly show why Katharapoulos is deficient. Accordingly, the prior art rejections for all claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 9-10 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9 and 21
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein a batch of inputs to the one or more layers shares a positional embeddings for the relative positions between query positions and context positions.” Claim 21 recites a similar limitation. The written description does not provide support for this limitation. Applicant did not provide supporting paragraphs for the claim amendments. However a search of the specification reveals that the closest portion to the claimed invention recites:
(paragraph [0029]) “For example, processing of a single query may be divided into multi-query batches to reduce complexities and associated computational cost.”
Regarding Claim 10 and 22
Claim 10 recites the limitation “wherein at least one position function is characterized by a scope size corresponding to a dimension of a relative position embedding tensor.” Claim 22 recites a similar limitation. The written description does not provide support for this limitation. Applicant did not provide supporting paragraphs for the claim amendments. However a search of the specification reveals that the closest portion to the claimed invention recites:
(paragraph 32) “Lambda function generation may comprise generating lambda functions from a global or local scope (e.g., global lambda functions, local lambda functions).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4-5, 9-10. 12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for including the unclear term “lambda function”. Applicant may choose to be their own lexicographer, however definitions of all special terminology must be clearly set forth in the specification (see MPEP 2173.01). The term “lambda function” has no special meaning as a term of art, and the specification does not set forth a definition for the term thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Furthermore, claims 4 and 5 each recite the limitation “wherein the one or more lambda functions are generated based, at least in part, on […]”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. In particular, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the one or more lambda functions”.
Examiner believes the claims are meant to read “wherein the one or more […]” and are thus interpreted accordingly for purposes of examination. Examiner suggests amending the claims with this language.
Regarding Claims 9-10, 12, and 21-22
Claims 9-10, 12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for including the unclear term “relative position”. Applicant may choose to be their own lexicographer, however definitions of all special terminology must be clearly set forth in the specification (see MPEP 2173.01). The term “relative position” has no special meaning as a term of art, and the specification does not set forth a definition for the term thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Regarding Claims 9 and 21
Claims 9 and 21 further recite the limitation “wherein a batch of inputs to the one or more layers shares a positional embeddings for the relative positions […]”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. In particular, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the claim term “the relative positions”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for containing an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 1 – Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is to a machine.
Step 2A – Prong 1 – Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, the claim recites the abstract ideas of:
generating one or more functions based, at least in part, on a respective content function and a respective position function of each respective context element of the plurality of context elements in the context data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to performing a judgement of known functions (for example, generating the functions by adding them together which could be performed in the human mind).
and applying the one or more generated functions to the input data as part of generating a layer output associated with the respective layer — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating data based on known functions and procedures.
Step 2A – Prong 2 – Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements:
A computing system for modeling long-range interactions with reduced feature materialization, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store: — This limitation is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
a machine-learned model configured to receive a model input and process the model input to generate a model output, wherein the machine-learned model comprises — This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using generic machine learning models to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Even if the machine learning model is implemented on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)), the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
one or more layers, wherein each of the one or more layers is configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a layer-input comprising input data and context data comprising a plurality of context elements — This limitation is directed to mere data gathering and outputting which has been recognized by the courts (as per Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 715, 112 USPQ2d at 1754) as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B – Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself?
No, the claim does not recite additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
A computing system for modeling long-range interactions with reduced feature materialization, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store: — Using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
a machine-learned model configured to receive a model input and process the model input to generate a model output, wherein the machine-learned model comprises — Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
one or more layers, wherein each of the one or more layers is configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a layer-input comprising input data and context data comprising a plurality of context elements — This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering of transmitting and receiving data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, and conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d) II.), which cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim merely recites the additional abstract idea:
Step 2A Prong 1:
wherein generating the one or more functions comprises: averaging content functions and position functions for the plurality of the context elements — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mathematical process, and mathematical calculations in particular (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. C.). The claim describes the mathematical operation of calculating an average in words.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 3 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 3). The claim merely recites the additional abstract idea:
Step 2A Prong 1:
wherein the operations further comprise: determining keys and values based on linearly projecting the context data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mathematical process, and mathematical calculations in particular (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I. C.). The claim describes the mathematical operation of calculating a hash function, and more particularly a projection function which can be calculated using a matrix multiplication.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 4
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the one or more lambda functions are generated based, at least in part, on a plurality of content functions and each respective content function of the plurality of content functions encodes a transform of query content based on the context data, independent of a target query position — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the particular type of data operated on by the content function.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the one or more lambda functions are generated based, at least in part, on a plurality of content functions and each respective content function of the plurality of content functions encodes a transform of query content based on the context data, independent of a target query position — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 5
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the one or more lambda functions are generated based, at least in part, on a plurality of position functions and each respective position function of the plurality of position functions encodes a transform of query content based on the context data, a query position, and a position in the context data — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the particular type of data operated on by the content function.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the one or more lambda functions are generated based, at least in part, on a plurality of position functions and each respective position function of the plurality of position functions encodes a transform of query content based on the context data, a query position, and a position in the context data — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 6
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
wherein translation-equivariant position interactions are determined based on positions of one or more pairs of a plurality of query positions relative to context positions of a plurality of positions in the context data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating data using a known algorithm (e.g. a math function).
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
wherein the operations further comprise: transforming the input data into one or more queries, wherein applying the one or more generated functions to the input data comprises applying at least one of the generated functions to each of the one or more queries — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating data using a known algorithm (e.g. a math function).
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 8
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 1:
wherein applying the one or more generated functions to the input data comprises combining a series of outputs resulting from applying at least one of the generated functions to a plurality of queries associated with the input data — This limitation is directed to the abstract idea of a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) which can be performed by the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III. C.). The limitation is directed to a mental process because it amounts to evaluating data using a known algorithm (e.g. a math function).
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 9
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein a batch of inputs to the one or more layers shares a positional embeddings for the relative positions between query positions and context positions — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the particular type of inputs and outputs of the layers.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein a batch of inputs to the one or more layers shares a positional embeddings for the relative positions between query positions and context positions — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 10
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein at least one position function is characterized by a scope size corresponding to a dimension of a relative position embedding tensor — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the field of the particular type of function.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein at least one position function is characterized by a scope size corresponding to a dimension of a relative position embedding tensor — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 11
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein generating the one or more functions comprises masking one or more positions of the context data — This limitation is directed to mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. Using a generic masking function to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Even if the masking function is implemented on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)), the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein generating the one or more functions comprises masking one or more positions of the context data — Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 12
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which included an abstract idea (see rejection for claim 1). The claim recites the additional limitations:
Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the machine-learned model is configured to perform an image processing task, wherein the image processing task comprises image classification, object detection, image recognition, image segmentation, image data modification, image encoding, image compression or image upscaling, and wherein the model input comprises pixel data of an image, wherein the respective position functions are based on relative positions of pixels in the image. — This limitation is directed to merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) as it merely limits the judicial exception to the technological environment of a particular set of machine learning tasks.
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
The additional elements as identified in step 2A prong 2:
wherein the machine- learned model is configured to perform an image processing task, wherein the image processing task comprises image classification, object detection, image recognition, image segmentation, image data modification, image encoding, image compression or image upscaling, and wherein the model input comprises pixel data of an image, wherein the respective position functions are based on relative positions of pixels in the image. — Merely limiting a judicial exception to a particular field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 15
Independent claim 15 is a method claim corresponding to computer system claim 1, which was directed to an abstract idea. The only difference is that claim 15 recite a method with slightly different wording that does not change the scope of the claim, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 16
Dependent claim 16 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer system claim 2, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 17
Dependent claim 17 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer system claim 3, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 18
Dependent claim 18 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer system claim 4, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 19
Dependent claim 19 is a computer-implemented method claim corresponding to computer system claim 5, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 20
Independent claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to computer system claim 1, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies. The only difference is that claim 20 recites the following additional elements treated under step 2A prong 2 and step 2B:
Step 2A Prong 2:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store: — This limitation is directed to merely applying an abstract idea using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.04(d)).
Thus, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) I.), failing step 2A prong 2.
Step 2B:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store: — Using a generic computer as a tool (see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), 2106.05(d)) cannot amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under step 2B.
Regarding Claim 21
Dependent claim 21 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to computer system claim 10, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 22
Dependent claim 22 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to computer system claim 11, which was directed to an abstract idea, therefore the same rejection and rationale applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katharopoulos et al. “Transformers are RNNS: Fast Autoregressive Transformers with Linear Attention” herein referred to as Katharopoulos.
Regarding Claim 1
Katharopoulos teaches:
A computing system for modeling long-range interactions with reduced feature materialization, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store:
(page 4 column 2 last paragraph) “When it comes to training, the computations can be parallelized and take full advantage of GPUs or other accelerators. When it comes to inference, the cost per time and memory for one prediction is constant for our model”
a machine-learned model configured to receive a model input and process the model input to generate a model output, wherein the machine-learned model comprises one or more layers
(page 3 column 1 paragraph 1) “Let x ∈ RN×F denote a sequence of N feature vectors of dimensions F[*Examiner notes: ]. A transformer is a function T : RN×F →RN×F defined by the composition of L transformer layers T1(·), . . . , TL(·)[*Examiner notes: transformer layers] as follows,”
wherein each of the one or more layers is configured to perform operations comprising: receiving a layer-input comprising input data and context data comprising a plurality of context elements;
(page 5 column 1 below equation 20) “In the above equations, xi denotes the i-th input and yi the i-th output for a specific transformer layer.”
generating one or more functions based, at least in part, on a respective content function and a respective position function of each respective context element of the plurality of context elements in the context data; and applying the one or more generated functions to the input data as part of generating a layer output associated with the respective layer
(page 3 column 1 paragraph 1) “A transformer is a function T : RN×F →RN×F defined by the composition of L transformer layers T1(·), . . . , TL(·) as follows,”; [*Examiner notes: Tl(x) is mapped to the function. The function is applied to the input x to obtain the output of the layer]
Regarding Claim 2
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computing system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein generating the one or more functions comprises: averaging content functions and position functions for the plurality of the context elements
(page 3 column 1 paragraph 2) “The self attention function Al(·) computes, for every position, a weighted average of the feature representations of all other positions with a weight proportional to a similarity score between the representations.”
Regarding Claim 3
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computing system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein the operations further comprise: determining keys and values based on linearly projecting the context data
(page 3 column 1 paragraph 2) “Formally, the input sequence x is projected by three matrices WQ ∈ RF ×D, WK ∈ RF ×D and WV ∈ RF ×M to corresponding representations Q, K and V”; (page 3 column 1 below equation 2) “Following common terminology, the Q, K and V are referred to as the “queries”, “keys” and “values” respectively.”
Regarding Claim 4
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computing system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein the one or more lambda functions are generated based, at least in part, on a plurality of content functions
(page 3 column 1 paragraph 1) “A transformer is a function T : RN×F → RN×F defined by the composition of L transformer layers T1(·), . . . , TL(·) as follows,”; [*Examiner notes: The transformer has multiple layers, and each layer has at least one content function. Thus the transformer has a plurality of content functions and the functions are generated based on the plurality of content functions.]
and each respective content function of the plurality of content functions encodes a transform of query content based on the context data, independent of a target query position.
(page 3 column 1 below equation 1) “The function fl(·) transforms each feature independently of the others and is usually implemented with a small two-layer feedforward network.”
Regarding Claim 5
The computing system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein the one or more lambda functions are generated based, at least in part, on a plurality of position functions and
(page 3 column 1 paragraph 1) “A transformer is a function T : RN×F → RN×F defined by the composition of L transformer layers T1(·), . . . , TL(·) as follows,”; [*Examiner notes: The transformer has multiple layers, and each layer has at least one position function. Thus the transformer has a plurality of position functions and the functions are generated based on the plurality of position functions.]
each respective position function of the plurality of position functions each respective position function encodes a transform of query content based on the context data, a query position, and a position in the context data
(page 3 paragraph 2) “The self attention function Al(·) computes, for every position, a weighted average of the feature representations of all other positions with a weight proportional to a similarity score between the representations”
Regarding Claim 7
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computing system of any preceding claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein the operations further comprise: transforming the input data into one or more queries,
(page 3 column 1 paragraph 2) “Formally, the input sequence x is projected by three matrices WQ ∈ RF ×D, WK ∈ RF ×D and WV ∈ RF ×M to corresponding representations Q, K and V”; (page 3 column 1 below equation 2) “Following common terminology, the Q, K and V are referred to as the “queries”, “keys” and “values” respectively.”
wherein applying the one or more generated functions to the input data comprises applying at least one of the generated functions to each of the one or more queries
Equation 2
Regarding Claim 11
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computer system of any preceding claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1))
wherein generating the one or more functions comprises masking one or more positions of the context data
(page 4 column 1 paragraph 2) “The transformer architecture can be used to efficiently train autoregressive models by masking the attention computation such that the i-th position can only be influenced by a position j if and only if j ≤ i, namely a position cannot be influenced by the subsequent positions.”
Regarding Claim 15
Claim 15 is a method claim corresponding to system claim 1. The only difference is that claim 15 recites a computer-implemented method instead of a computer system. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies to claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16
Claim 16 is a method claim corresponding to computer system claim 2. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 17
Claim 17 is a method claim corresponding to computer system claim 3. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 18
Claim 18 is a method claim corresponding to computer system claim 4. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 19
Claim 19 is a method claim corresponding to computer system claim 5. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies.
Regarding Claim 20
Claim 20 is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to system claim 1. The only difference is that claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium instead of a computer system. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies to claim 20.
Regarding Claim 22
Claim 22 is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to computer system claim 11. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katharopoulos in view of Worral et al. “CubeNet: Equivariance to 3D Rotation and Translation”.
Regarding Claim 6
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computer system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
Katharopoulos does not explicitly teach:
wherein translation- equivariant position interactions are determined based on positions of one or more pairs of a plurality of query positions relative to context positions of a plurality of positions in the context data
However, Worral teaches:
wherein translation- equivariant position interactions are determined based on positions of one or more pairs of a plurality of query positions relative to context positions of a plurality of positions in the context data.
(page 18) “We introduce a Group Convolutional Neural Network with linear equivariance to translations and right angle rotations in three dimensions. We call this network CubeNet, reflecting its cube-like symmetry. By construction, this network helps preserve a 3D shape’s global and local signature, as it is transformed through successive layers.”
Katharopoulos, Worral, and the instant application are analogous because they are all directed to neural networks.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the machine learning layers of Katharopoulos by implementing the translation-invariant position interactions disclosed by Worral because (Worral page 14 section 6 paragraph 1) “On the ModelNet10 classification challenge, we have achieved state-of-the-art for a single model, beating some much larger models, which rely on heavy data augmentation. Since our models are rotation in/equivariant by design, our CNNs need not learn to overcome rotations, the way a standard CNN does. In 3D, this is an especially important gain. As a result, our model is positioned to get better generalization with less data, while avoiding the need to perform time-costly rotation averaging at test-time”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katharopoulos in view of NPL reference Wei et al. “Fusion of an Ensemble of Augmented Image Detectors for Robust Object Detection” herein referred to as Wei.
Regarding Claim 8
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computing system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
Katharopoulos does not explicitly teach:
wherein applying the one or more generated functions to the input data comprises combining a series of outputs resulting from applying at least one of the generated functions to a plurality of queries associated with the input data.
However, Wei teaches:wherein applying the one or more generated functions to the input data comprises combining a series of outputs resulting from applying at least one of the generated functions to a plurality of queries associated with the input data.
(page 6 section 3.1) “First, the input is augmented to produce several variations[*Examiner notes: plurality of queries associated with input], so we can have augmented inputs for future stages.”; (page 6 section 3.1) “Then, the AABBFI fusion method is used to fuse the T AABBs to obtain one AABB for each object in the input[*Examiner notes: combining a series of outputs].”; Figure 2
Katharopoulos, Wei, and the instant application are analogous because they are all directed to neural networks.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the machine learning layers of Katharopoulos with the combining of outputs taught by Wei because (Wei page 18 section 5) “Our proposed system is not only fast, but also accurate, which are two important criteria in ADAS. By using this computational intelligence system, we are able to build a more robust object detection sub-system for ADAS applications, with the proposed system showing improvement in both IoU and mAP metrics. Furthermore, very good results were obtained when only utilizing three combined inputs, making the computational load roughly three-times the load for only using one input (the original image).”
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katharopoulos in view of Chen et al. “Recurrent Positional Embedding for Neural Machine Translation” herein referred to as Chen.
Regarding Claim 9
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computer system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
Katharopoulos does not explicitly teach:
wherein a batch of inputs to the one or more layers shares a positional embeddings for the relative positions between query positions and context positions
However, Chen teaches:
wherein a batch of inputs to the one or more layers shares a positional embeddings for the relative positions between query positions and context positions
(page 1361 abstract) “In this approach, these recurrent positional embeddings are learned by a recurrent neural network, encoding word content-based order dependencies into the input representation.”
Katharopoulos, Chen, and the instant application are analogous because they are all directed to neural networks.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the machine learning layers by using the positional embeddings as taught by Chen because (Chen page 1361 Abstract) “The experimental results revealed that the proposed approach improved translation performance over that of the state of-the-art Transformer baseline in WMT’14 English-to-German and NIST Chinese-to English translation tasks.”
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katharopoulos in view of Shen et al. “TaxoExpan: Self-supervised Taxonomy Expansion with Position-Enhanced Graph Neural Network” herein referred to as Shen.
Regarding Claim 10
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computer system of claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
Katharopoulos does not explicitly teach:
wherein at least one position function is characterized by a scope size corresponding to a dimension of a relative position embedding tensor
However, Shen teaches:
wherein at least one position function is characterized by a scope size corresponding to a dimension of a relative position embedding tensor
(page 492 section 5.1.4) “For TaxoExpan, we use a two-layer position enhanced GAT where the first layer has four attention heads (of size 250) and the second layer has one attention head (of size 500). For both layers, we use 50-dimension position embeddings and apply dropout with rate 0.1 on the input feature vectors”
Katharopoulos, Shen, and the instant application are analogous because they are all directed to neural networks.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the neural network layers of Katharopoulos by using the scope size of Shen because (Shen page 493 column 1 paragraph 1) “Finally, our proposed TaxoExpan has the overall best performance across all the metrics and defeats the second best method by a large margin” and (Shen page 487 column 2 second to last paragraph) “Comparing with these methods, our TaxoExpan framework explicitly models the local structure around each candidate position, which boosts the quality of expanded taxonomy.”
Regarding Claim 21
Claim 21 is a computer-readable medium claim corresponding to computer system claim 10. Therefore, the same rejection and rationale applies.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katharopoulos in view of Yu et al. “Generative Image Inpainting with Contextual Attention” herein referred to as Yu.
Regarding Claim 12
Katharopoulos teaches:
The computer system of any preceding claim 1
(see rejection of claim 1)
wherein the machine- learned model is configured to perform an image processing task, wherein the image processing task comprises image classification, object detection, image recognition, image segmentation, image data modification, image encoding, image compression or image upscaling
(page 7 column 1 second to last paragraph) “Image completions and unconditional samples from our MNIST model can be seen in figure 3. We observe that our linear transformer generates very convincing samples with sharp boundaries and no noise. In the case of image completion, we also observe that the transformer learns to use the same stroke style and width as the original image effectively attending over long temporal distances.”
Katharopoulos does not explicitly teach:
and wherein the model input comprises pixel data of an image, wherein the respective position functions are based on relative positions of pixels in the image.
However, Yu teaches:
and wherein the model input comprises pixel data of an image, wherein the respective position functions are based on relative positions of pixels in the image.
(page 5505 column 2 paragraph 1) “The core challenge of image inpainting lies in synthesizing visually realistic and semantically plausible pixels for the missing regions that are coherent with existing ones.”
Katharopoulos, Yu, and the instant application are analogous because they are all directed to neural networks.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the machine learning layers of Katharopoulos by using the pixel locations as inputs as taught by Yu because (Yu page 5505 column 2 paragraph 1) “Filling missing pixels of an image, often referred as image inpainting or completion, is an important task in computer vision. It has many applications in photo editing, image-based rendering and computational photography [3, 23, 28, 29, 34, 39]. The core challenge of image inpainting lies in synthesizing visually realistic and semantically plausible pixels for the missing regions that are coherent with existing ones.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Fuchs et al. “SE(3)-Transformers: 3D Roto-Translation Equivariant Attention Networks” teaches translation-equivariance in transformers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/DAVID YI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126