DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Application
The claim set and remarks filed on 10/14/2025 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-31 are cancelled.
Claims 32 and 34 are amended.
Claims 32-50 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 32-41, the claimed formulation is drawn to product claims and therefore the intended use of the formulation, for use in treating or ameliorating at least one of a mouth, tongue and throat condition” does not carry patentable weight over the teachings of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 32-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 32 is drawn to composition comprising: one or more curcuminoids, and a hydrophilic carrier or aqueous medium.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed compositions would be the material that is named, that is: one or more curcuminoids, and a hydrophilic carrier a dermatologically acceptable carrier or aqueous medium. Curcuminoids are a naturally occurring product, hydrophilic carrier or aqueous medium can comprise naturally occurring carriers that are naturally occurring unless otherwise specified.
Thus, the composition claimed in claim 32 is not markedly different from how the individual components are in nature. It is not integrated into a practical application because nothing in claim 32 relies on or uses the exception. There is nothing significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no additional elements in the claim. The instant specification discloses in Table 1 Composition A comprising 0.99 w/w% curcuma longa extract and 99.01 w/w% water without additional hydrophilic carrier. With regard to claims 33-41 the enumeration of the amounts or additional products of nature do not make the combination of the products of nature markedly different from how they occur in nature.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because the formulation at the broadest interpretation of the claim language is a mixture of products of nature comprising: one or more curcuminoids, and a hydrophilic carrier or aqueous medium, which does not appear to change the biological/pharmacological functions, chemical/physical properties, or the structure/form of said ingredients. Because the claimed formulation does not have markedly different characteristics, it is a product of nature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al. (US20050181036A1) hereinafter Aggarwal.
Regarding claims 32-50, Aggarwal is drawn to pharmaceutical compositions suitable for aerosol delivery to a subject that include curcumin dispersed in a lipid vehicle, wherein the lipid has a transition temperature of less than about 15° C., are disclosed. In addition, methods of treating a pathological condition in a subject that include providing one of the claimed pharmaceutical compositions and administering the composition to the subject (abstract).
Aggarwal discloses pharmaceutical lipid vehicle compositions suitable for aerosol delivery to a subject, the composition including curcumin, one or more lipids, and an aqueous solvent. Curcumin, lipids, and aqueous solvents for use in the present invention are discussed further in other sections of this specification. Any concentration of curcumin for inclusion in the present pharmaceutical compositions is contemplated by the present invention. In certain embodiments, for example, the average aerosol concentration of curcumin is 0.115 mg/L of aerosol [0013]. Aggarwal discloses the pharmaceutical compositions of the present invention include curcumin and one or more lipids dispersed as particles in an aqueous solvent. The particles include, but are not limited to, liposomes (micelles) [0014]. Aggarwal discloses the concentration of curcumin in the pharmaceutical lipid vehicle (in mg/ml) is about 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 0.6, 0.7, 0.8, 0.9, 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, 2.0, 2.1, 2.2, 2.3, 2.4, 2.5, 2.6, 2.7, 2.8, 2.9, 3.0, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5, 3.6, 3.7, 3.8, 3.9, 4.0, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4, 4.5, 4.6, 4.7, 4.8, 4.9, 5.0, 5.2, 5.4, 5.6, 5.8, 6.0, 6.2, 6.4, 6.6, 6.8, 7.0, 7.2, 7.4, 7.6, 7.8, 8.0, 8.2, 8.4, 8.6, 8.8, 9.0, 9.2, 9.4, 9.6, 9.8, 10.0, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 85, 90, 95, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 350, 400, 450, 500, and any concentration derivable therein or any range of concentrations derivable therein [0049].
Aggarwal does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aggarwal, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Aggarwal discloses all the required components and discloses the composition as an aerosol comprising curcumin (claims 1-2). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615