OBJECTION
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Methods for detecting lung cancer by CTC enrichment and hybridization of labeled probes.
NON-PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. This claim is indefinite because ‘the subject with a CTC count greater than 5 CTC/10,000 cells’ and ‘the nodule’ lack proper antecedent basis. Correction is required.
Claims 1, 3-6, 13, 20-28, 30, 36, and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon or correlation without significantly more. The claims recite a natural correlation between number of CTC cells in a subject sample and risk for lung cancer. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because all of the recited active steps, including obtaining a blood sample, enriching for CTC, and using labeled probes to detect enriched CTC were routine and conventional in the prior art, as evidenced by Katz, Karabacak et al., and CN 107475202, as detailed below.
PRIOR ART REJECTION
7. Claims 1, 3-6, 13, 20-28, 30, 36, and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katz (US 2018/0127829) in view of CN 107475202 (2017), and further in view of Karabacak et al. (2014).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 39, Katz discloses a method comprising: obtaining a blood sample; performing CTC enrichment comprising removing plasma, contacting with an affinity agent including a CD3 antibody, and contacting with streptavidin-coated magnetic particles to deplete undesirable cells; hybridizing enriched cells with labeled probes; evaluating the signal pattern using FISH, detecting CTC based on the hybridization pattern; and identifying a subject at risk for lung cancer based on the detected number of CTC. See paragraphs 0006-0008, 0012-0016, 0043-0045, 0082-0099, 0175-0179, and 0286.
Katz does not explicitly disclose removing erythrocytes from the blood sample, nor specifically using a biotinylated affinity reagent.
CN 107475202 discloses removing erythrocytes from a blood sample prior to enrichment for CTC. See claims 1 and 4 of the attached English translation.
Karabacak discloses the use of biotinylated antibodies for use in enriching blood samples for CTC by binding to and depleting undesirable non-CTC cells, including CD66b antibodies. See pages 694-695 and ‘Reagents’ section on page 701.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Katz by removing erythrocytes from the blood sample because CN 107475202 discloses removing erythrocytes from a blood sample prior to enrichment for CTC. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the method of Katz by using a biotinylated antibody because Karabacak discloses the use of biotinylated antibodies for use in enriching blood samples for CTC by binding to and depleting undesirable non-CTC cells. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the claimed methods.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, CN 107475202 discloses removing erythrocytes from a blood sample prior to enrichment for CTC by lysing cells using an ammonium chloride lysis buffer. See claims 1 and 4 of the attached English translation.
Regarding claim 5, Katz discloses removing plasma by centrifugation. See paragraph 0013.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 40, Katz discloses an antibody to CD3, and Karabacak discloses an antibody to CD66b, see previously-noted portions.
Regarding claim 20, Katz discloses depleting neutrophils and monocytes. See paragraphs 0006 and 0013.
Regarding claims 21-25, selection of additional antibodies for CTC enrichment would have merely involved routine optimization of known-important reaction parameters, which as well established in U.S. patent practice does not support unobviousness (M.P.E.P. 2144.05).
Regarding claim 26, Katz discloses a probe comprising 3p22.1. See paragraph 0016.
Regarding claims 27-28, 30, 36, and 41-43, the further limitations also merely involve routine optimization of known-important reaction parameters or factors, such as optimizing which cell surface markers and antibodies to use.
CONCLUSION
8. No claims are free of the prior art.
9. The Office now makes of record EP 3 132 267 and Mao et al. (US 2019/0262836) as references of interest.
04/01/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681