DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 8-9 and 10-11, “from which manganese have been removed” is grammatically incorrect. This could be corrected by, for example, changing ‘have’ to ‘has’.
In claim 2, line 5, it is presumed that “case” should be replaced with “cake”.
In claim 3, line 12, “are produced” is redundant.
In claim 5, line 11, “are” should be replaced with “is”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 recites “a first solid-liquid separation step in which the washed starting material is separated into a starting material case [sic] and a filtrate” in lines 4-5 and “a leaching step in which sulfuric acid is added to the raw material cake for reaction” in line 6. As the claim clearly establishes antecedent basis for “a starting material cake”, notwithstanding the presumed spelling error, “the raw material cake” is interpreted to be “a starting material cake” which was produced in the preceding step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the starting material is… black powder…”. The term “black powder” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not further explain what is meant by “black powder”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “Black powder” could reasonably be construed to mean, for example, “black mass” recovered from an end-of-life battery (Bhar, “A review on spent lithium-ion battery recycling: from collection to black mass recovery, 2023, Fig. 2: a powder recovered from an end-of-life lithium-ion battery which has been separated from its current collector) or any powder which is black in color. For purposes of examination, either of these interpretations will be considered to read on the claim, as individual claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. See MPEP § 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 112375910 A, 2021) (the attached machine translation is referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a solvent extraction method for separation and recovery of nickel, cobalt and manganese (Li, Example 2, [0064]-[0074], referencing Example 1, [0052]-[0062]), the method comprising:
a raw material leachate preparation step in which a starting material containing nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), and manganese is pre-processed to prepare a raw material leachate from which iron components have been removed (Li, [0055], [0068], “The leaching solution chemically removes iron.”);
a first solvent extraction step in which manganese (Mn) contained in the raw material leachate is separated as a manganese sulfate aqueous solution (Li, [0068]);
a second solvent extraction step in which nickel (Ni) contained in the raw material leachate from which manganese has been removed is separated as a nickel sulfate solution (NiSO4) (Li, [0072]); and
a third solvent extraction step in which cobalt (Co) contained in the raw material leachate from which manganese has been removed is separated as a cobalt sulfate aqueous solution (CoSO4) (Li, [0070]),
wherein the nickel (Ni), the cobalt (Co), and the manganese (Mn) are separately separated and recovered (Li, [0068], manganese sulfate crystals; [0070], cobalt sulfate crystals; [0072], nickel sulfate crystals).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112375910 A, 2021) (the attached machine translation is referenced below), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao (CN 113443664 A, 2021) (the attached machine translation is referenced below).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the raw material leachate preparation step comprises:
a washing step in which the starting material containing nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), and manganese (Mn) is washed with washing water (Li, [0028], “In step S2, the solvent used to dissolve the battery powder processed in step S1 is water.”);
a first solid-liquid separation step in which the washed starting material is separated into a starting material cake and a filtrate (Li, [0028], “After filtration, the filtrate is a lithium hydroxide solution, and the filter residue is a slag containing metal elements such as nickel, cobalt, and manganese”);
a leaching step in which sulfuric acid is added to the raw material cake for reaction (Li, [0032], “In step S3, the sulfuric acid is concentrated sulfuric acid (98%), and the concentrated sulfuric acid is slowly added to the pure water slurry of the filter residue in step S2 to extract nickel, cobalt, and manganese.”; [0055]);
an iron precipitation step (Li, [0032], “The leaching solution contains a small amount of impurities such as iron and aluminum. The goethite method is used. Method to purify iron, aluminum will also co-precipitate in the process of iron removal.”; [0068]); and
a second solid-liquid separation step in which reaction products generated through the iron precipitation step are separated into a precipitate containing iron and a raw material leachate containing nickel, cobalt, and manganese (Li, [0032], “Method to purify iron, aluminum will also co-precipitate in the process of iron removal.”; [0033], “According to an embodiment of the present invention, in step S4, when the solution containing nickel, cobalt, and manganese obtained in step S3 is extracted with P204, the pH of the solution is 2.5-3.5”, where ‘the solution containing nickel, cobalt, and manganese obtained in S3’ is a raw material leachate).
Li does not explicitly teach that the iron precipitation step entails adding hydrogen peroxide and nickel hydroxide (Ni(OH)2) to the reaction products formed through the leaching step. However, Zhao teaches an analogous method for precipitating iron from an acidic leaching solution of nickel and cobalt sulfate, where iron is precipitated by adding nickel hydroxide and hydrogen peroxide to the solution (Zhao, [0036], steps a) and b)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected nickel hydroxide (NiOH)2) and hydrogen peroxide as reagents in Li’s method for precipitating iron, as Li already teaches chemically precipitating iron (Li, [0032]), and Zhao teaches that nickel hydroxide and hydrogen peroxide are suitable for this purpose (Zhao, [0036], steps a) and b)). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 112375910 A, 2021) (see the attached machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Zhao (CN 113443664 A, 2021) (see the attached machine translation), as applied to claim 2 above, and further evidenced by Bhar (“A review on spent lithium-ion battery recycling: from collection to black mass recovery”, 2023).
Regarding claim 18, modified Li renders the method of claim 2 obvious, as discussed above, wherein the starting material is a black powder (Li, [0011], dynamically reducing and roasting the waste power battery powder to obtain reduced-roasting battery powder; Bhar, Fig. 2, “black mass” is a powder recovered from an end-of-life lithium-ion battery which has been separated from its current collector. In accordance with the interpretation set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd Paragraph above, “black mass” is considered to read on “black powder”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/011,321 (reference application, “’321”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-19 of ‘321 together require all of the limitations of instant claims 1-4 and 9-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Potential Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-17 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the provisional double patenting rejection discussed above was overcome. Claims 5-8, 13-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Li (CN 112375910 A, 2021) (the attached machine translation is referenced below), Zhao (CN 113443664 A, 2021) (see the attached machine translation), Fraser (U.S. 10,995,014), Sonu (U.S. 2013/0192425), and Xiao (CN 102181665 A, 2011) (the attached machine translation is referenced below) are considered to be the closest prior art to the instant claims.
Regarding claim 3 and its dependent claims 4-17 and 19, Li teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the first solvent extraction step comprises:
a first preloading step in which a nickel sulfate aqueous solution (NiSO4) is added to a first solvent to produce a manganese extracting solvent (Li, [0068], nickel saponification; Xiao, [0015] demonstrates that nickel saponification (adding an organic extractant with nickel sulfate solution pre-dissolved) is the same as “pre-loading”);
a first-first extraction step in which the raw material leachate is added to the manganese extracting solvent so that the raw material leachate is separated into a first organic phase solution containing manganese (Mn) and a first aqueous phase solution containing nickel (Ni) and cobalt (Co) (Li, [0014], “S4: Use P204 to perform nickel soap extraction on the solution containing nickel, cobalt, and manganese obtained in step S3 to obtain a sodium-containing saponified aqueous phase, manganese-extraction solution, zinc-aluminum counter-extraction solution, and cobalt-magnesium-nickel raffinate liquid”; [0068]); and
a first back-extraction step in which back extraction is performed to extract manganese (Mn) remaining in the second organic phase solution and to produce a third organic phase solution not containing manganese (Mn) and a third aqueous phase solution containing manganese (Mn), and a manganese sulfate aqueous solution (MnSO4) is obtained from the third aqueous solution (Li, [0068], “The impurity-removed organic solution is subjected to stepwise back extraction to obtain a solution containing calcium, manganese, and copper, and a small amount of copper is removed by a sulfide chemical method. After the removal of copper, the liquid directly enters cyanexe [sic] 272 to extract manganese, and back-extraction obtains a pure manganese sulfate solution”; the third organic phase after back-extraction of manganese is P204 free of manganese.).
Li does not teach or suggest that, in the first-first extraction step, the first organic phase solution contains nickel and cobalt in addition to the manganese which is present. In fact, Li’s table detailing the purity of the resulting manganese sulfate crystals does not list cobalt and nickel as impurities in the list of impurities present at the ppm level (see table in Li’s original disclosure, [0064]-[0065]). As there is no reason to expect these impurities to be present in appreciable quantities, it would also not be obvious to incorporate a first-second extraction step of separating the first organic phase solution into a second organic phase solution containing manganese and a second aqueous phase solution containing nickel and cobalt (i.e., a scrubbing step to remove impurities from the organic manganese-containing phase). While there is precedent in the prior art for implementing such a step, as in Fraser (Fraser, Col. 25, lines 29-31, “The loaded organic extractant was then scrubbed to remove weakly affiliated impurities before the Co/Mn was stripped from the organic extractant with a sulfuric acid solution.”), there is no indication in Li or the other cited prior art references that such a step would be beneficial in Li’s particular method.
As none of the cited prior art references teach or suggest a “first-second extraction step” as claimed, the claim is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the cited prior art.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736