DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Upon reconsideration and in light of applicant’s amendment, the restriction requirement has been withdrawn. All claims are fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The chemical reaction on page 27 of the originally filed specification is illegible. Specifically, the reaction and conditions are difficult to read. Note the question marks in PGPub of the instant application, which the Office could not read while printing the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19, 22, 24 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/102128 (herein Salit).
In setting forth the instant rejection, the US equivalent on the WO document, US 2021/0171670, is relied upon as the English translation.
As to claims 16-19, 22 and 24 Salit discloses compounds with the epoxide for formula I
(see paragraph 17), wherein X1, X2 and X3 are defined identically to the instant claims in paragraph 22. The compound also comprises a C6 arene group of the formula II:
(see paragraph 25), wherein CNO reads on claimed CN+-O- (nitrile oxide). Thus, reading on claimed units A and T. Also note that the examples show that the nitrile oxide is formed from the oxime (thus A is CH=NOH). Paragraphs 25 and 28 discloses that the epoxide of formula I is connected to the arene through a “carbon-based chain” also comprising an oxygen, wherein the carbon-based chain comprises at least one carbon atom. Thus, reading on the claimed structure, wherein E is C1- or greater alkanediyl.
In other words, the broader disclosure teaches compounds with identical structures as claimed formula I with the proviso that E is broader and taught as at least one carbon, while the claim requires E to be a 5 to 10 carbon chain. Further, the examples of Salit show examples of
,
,
,
and
, which reads on the claimed formula, which differs wherein E is C1 and C3 alkadiyl instead of the claimed C5 to C10 alkanediyl. But again, the broader disclosure teaches one or more carbons. Thus, there is motivation of increasing the number of methylene (carbon) units from one and/or three to five and thereby arrive at the claimed invention because Salit teaches that E is a “carbon-based chain” that comprises “one or more carbon atoms” that are “hydrocarbon-based”.
In light of the discussion above, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the compound of Salit via increasing the number of methylene (carbon) units from one and/or three to five and thereby arrive at the claimed invention because Salit teaches such modifications are suitable via teaching that E is a “carbon-based chain” that comprises “one or more carbon atoms” that are “hydrocarbon-based”. See paragraph 28 of Salit.
As to claim 26, Salit teaches modified polymers obtained by grafting the compound onto a diene polymer (polymer having at least one unsaturated carbon-carbon bond). See paragraph 2, 7, 30-32 and examples.
As to claims 27-28, Salit teaches compositions with an additive and the compound and/or grafted compound modified polymer. See paragraph 43 and examples.
As to claim 29, see the examples that teach reactions such as:
, which utilizes an SL1 solvent (CH2Cl2, methylene chloride, DCM) and an oxidizing agent (NaOCl, sodium hypochlorite), which maps the claimed reaction scheme with E being obvious as discussed above.
As to claim 30, Salit shows examples such as:
, which shows reaction of an aqueous (H2O) solution of hydroxylamine (NH2OH), mapping the claimed reaction scheme with E being obvious as discussed above.
As to claim 31, Salit shows examples such as:
, which shows reaction of an aqueous (H2O) solution of hydroxylamine (NH2OH), mapping the claimed reaction scheme with E being obvious as discussed above. The reaction is performed at 60-80 oC, etc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARK S KAUCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764