DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The 112 rejection has been modified in view of the amendment. Parent claims 1 and 45 recites a plurality of selections such as limitations F4 and F5 in the remarks; does the one ore more refers only to a selection of limitation F4 or it is both F4 and F5? Also, it is unclear, for example: if the value in F5 of a monitoring threshold applies, only if in limitation F4 was selected a monitoring threshold and so on. Please clarify.
Applicant's arguments filed 4-17-2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
As stated in the prior action the examiner interpret and equate the first monitoring configuration information set to Vajapeyam’s cell-specific DRX cycle; the second monitoring configuration information set to the UE-specific DRX cycle and the third monitoring configuration information set is the selected monitoring configuration information.
Applicant submits: “Vajapeyam does not disclose that the maximum or minimum value of the cell-specific DRX cycle and the UE-specific DRX cycle can be adopted as the DRX cycle value determined by UE 115, nor does it mention the magnitude relationship of the monitoring occasions corresponding to the cell-specific DRX cycle and the UE-specific DRX cycle respectively.”; the examiner’s position is that the claim language does not require that the maximum or minimum value of the cell-specific DRX cycle and the UE-specific DRX cycle can be adopted as the DRX cycle value determined by UE. At best, appears that one of the values can be max or minimum value, if selected. Possible interpretations in Vajapeyam for the values can be: a maximum number of monitoring instances, shortest/maximum DRX cycle and/or signal strength threshold. Please note that minimum and maximum values can be the same or not based on how they are used; for example, in a half empty glass of water a minimum value for the air can be equivalent for the maximum value of the water. The absence of a plurality of details may allow a plurality of interpretations.
Regarding the argument: “Vajapeyam merely discloses in paragraph [0101] that the eI-DRX cycle of the UE may be the shortest of a UE specific eI-DRX value, and the default eI-DRX value broadcast by the cell, which is irrelevant to the above differentiating feature F 1.”. Please note, F1 only require receiving configuration information and determining a configuration which can be for example a selection of the received information. However, the portion of Vajapeyam does read for limitations F4 or F5.
As to the argument: “Furthermore, paragraphs [0168-0179] of Vajapeyam mainly discloses that UE receives a configuration for an eI-DRX cycle including a designated paging frame, and identifies a change in a downlink channel reliability condition associated with the UE, and determines when to perform DL channel monitoring. However, Vajapeyam does not disclose determining a monitoring pattern based on the eI-DRX cycle. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Vajapeyam does not disclose the above differentiating features F1-F3 of amended claim 1.”; the examiner’s position is that Vajapeyam clearly disclose determining PFs and Paging Occasions (POs) from received configuration data see par. 0090-0093; thereby, reading in limitations F1-F3. If applicant’s determination is different, the examiner invites the applicant to include the differences in the claim for proper consideration.
In view of the argument: “Vajapeyam merely discloses the eI-DRX cycle, which may be regarded as a pre-configured basic cycle parameter for idle-mode paging and is actually different from the monitoring cycle recited in amended claim 1, because the monitoring cycle refers to the actual repetition interval for performing monitoring.” The argument is based on suggestions rather than actual claim limitations. Even the suggestions are disclosed by Vajapeyam in par. 0122, 0137.
For the argument: “Vajapeyam does not disclose that the monitoring configuration information further includes a monitoring threshold, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring occasions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Vajapeyam also does not disclose the above differentiating features F4-F5.”; the examiner’s position is that the claim language appears to only require two of the items and see par. 0074-0076, 0097-0110 for the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle and the number of monitoring occasions in a monitoring frame; monitoring threshold in par. 0025, 0127. Thereby, reading in the argued limitations.
The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above. The rejection of record stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Parent claims 1 and 45 recites a plurality of selections such as limitations F4 and F5 in the remarks; does the one or more refers only to a selection of limitation F4 or it is both F4 and F5? Also, it is unclear, for example: if the value in F5 of a monitoring threshold applies, only if in limitation F4 was selected a monitoring threshold and so on. Please clarify. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vajapeyam 20160044578.
As to claim 1, Vajapeyam discloses a signal transmission method, comprising:
obtaining at least one of first monitoring configuration information set [cell-specific DRX cycle] or a second monitoring configuration information set [UE-specific DRX cycle] of a first signal, and determining a third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set (see par. 0074, 0093, 0097, 0101), wherein monitoring occasions the third monitoring configuration information set are not more than monitoring occasions corresponding to at least one of a first monitoring configuration information set or a second monitoring configuration information set; wherein the first monitoring configuration information set is a cell-level monitoring configuration information set of the first signal, and the second monitoring configuration information set is a terminal level monitoring configuration information set of the first signal [1505-1510] (see par. 0074-0075, 0168-0169); determining a monitoring pattern [cycle] of the first signal according to the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal: and monitoring the first signal according to the monitoring pattern of the first signal (see par. 0170);
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises more than one of: a monitoring threshold (see par. 0025, 0127), a monitoring cycle (see par. 0029), the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring occasions in a monitoring frame (see par. 0074-0076, 0097-0110), a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources;
a value of at least one of a monitoring threshold (see par. 0025, 0127) and a monitoring cycle in the third monitoring configuration information set is greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set (see par. 0029, 0032, 0097-0100, 0122, 0137); and/or
a value of at least one of the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring occasions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources in the third monitoring configuration information set is less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set. In view of the 112 rejection it is unclear if any teaching is missing. In case that the claim includes additional limitations, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the teachings may be combined with additional teachings to improve the communications.
Regarding claim 45, is the corresponding device claim of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 45 is rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vajapeyam 20160044578 in view of Tokgoz 20190110319.
As to claim 5, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set, comprises: obtaining transmission data of the first signal; and determining a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set according to the transmission data and at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
As to claim 6, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set according to the transmission data and at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
scheme 1:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal is less than a first probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; in a case that the probability of the network side device to send the first signal or the probability of the node device to receive the first signal is greater than or equal to a second probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the first probability threshold is less than the second probability threshold;
scheme 2:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal is less than a third probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; in a case that the probability of the network side device to not send the first signal or the probability of the node device to not receive the first signal is greater than or equal to a fourth probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the third probability threshold is less than the fourth probability threshold;
scheme 3:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously is less than a first cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal continuously is greater than or equal to a second cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the first cumulative number of times threshold is less than the second cumulative number of times threshold;
scheme 4:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously is less than a third cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal discontinuously is greater than or equal to a fourth cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the third cumulative number of times threshold is less than the fourth cumulative number of times threshold.
Regarding the schemes, OFFICIAL NOTICE IS TAKEN THAT adjusting and/or setting values are a common and well know technique used for controlling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of control the monitoring.
As to claim 10, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining transmission data of the first signal; and adjusting a value of monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to the transmission data of the first signal (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0141, 0152, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
As to claim 11, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein the adjusting the value of monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to the transmission statistic data of the first signal (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
scheme 5:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal is less than a fifth probability threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of M;
in a case that the probability of the network side device to send the first signal or the probability of the node device to receive the first signal is greater than or equal to a sixth probability threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of N;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the fifth probability threshold is less than the sixth probability threshold, and both M and N are real numbers greater than or equal to 1;
scheme 6:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal is less than a seventh probability threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of P;
in a case that the probability of the network side device to not send the first signal or the probability of the node device to not receive the first signal is greater than or equal to an eighth probability threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of Q;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the seventh probability threshold is less than the eighth probability threshold, and both P and Q are real numbers greater than or equal to 1;
scheme 7:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously is less than a fifth cumulative number of times threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of X;
in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal continuously is greater than or equal to a sixth cumulative number of times threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of Y;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the fifth cumulative number of times threshold is less than the sixth cumulative number of times threshold, and both X and Y are real numbers greater than or equal to 1;
scheme 8:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously is less than a seventh cumulative number of times threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of K;
in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal discontinuously is greater than or equal to an eighth cumulative number of times threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of L;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the seventh cumulative number of times threshold is less than the eighth cumulative number of times threshold, and both K and L are real numbers greater than or equal to 1.
Regarding the schemes, OFFICIAL NOTICE IS TAKEN THAT adjusting and/or setting values are a common and well know technique used for controlling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of control the monitoring.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647