DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11-11-2025 have been fully considered, the 101 rejection and some 112 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendment, while other remain.
The examiner thanks applicant representative for helping clarify the limitations in the remarks. For the remaining 112 rejections, the examiner is going to interpret and equate the first monitoring configuration information set to Vajapeyam’s cell-specific DRX cycle; the second monitoring configuration information set to the UE-specific DRX cycle and the third monitoring configuration information set is the selected monitoring configuration information. Please indicate if the mapping is correct.
Regarding the art rejection, applicant submits: “Vajapeyam does not discloses the first, second and third monitoring configuration information sets, and the relationship between the monitoring occasions in the first to third monitoring configuration information sets, and monitoring the first signal according to the monitoring pattern of the first signal that is determined according to the third monitoring configuration information set with fewer monitoring occasions.”; the examiner’s position is that the argument depends on showing differentiating features between the present application and the art of record. Unfortunately, the claims do not provide much to distinguish from the prior art. As indicated above, the current office action is equating the first monitoring configuration information set to Vajapeyam’s cell-specific DRX cycle; the second monitoring configuration information set to the UE-specific DRX cycle and the third monitoring configuration information set is the selected monitoring configuration information. For example, when the determined or selected third monitoring configuration information set is based on the obtained first monitoring configuration information set, the third monitoring configuration information set are not more than monitoring occasions in at least one of a first monitoring configuration information set, since they are the same monitoring configuration information set. Also, it is noted that Vajapeyam’s UE-specific DRX cycle in par. 0074 is using an attach request, since an attach request is classified as Non-Access Stratum (NAS) signaling is considered higher-layer signaling and reading in the newly amended limitation “determining a third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to high-layer signaling”. Thereby, no differentiating features are present in the claims.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., amended claim 1 can solved the problem of high-power consumption of the terminal due to useless monitoring of the paging signal) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate. The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-11 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The third monitoring configuration information set has an unclear connection to a first, and second monitoring configuration information set. It is unclear what the monitoring occasion has to do with the step of determining a third monitoring configuration information set of a first signal. Please clarify. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency. Parent claim recite: “the third monitoring configuration information set are not more than monitoring occasions in at least one of a first monitoring configuration information set or a second monitoring configuration information set” and claim 3 recites: “the third monitoring configuration information set is greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set” and since the monitoring configuration information can be monitoring occasions, it is unclear how can both be true at the same time. Appears, that claim 3 include limitations which may remove limitations from its parent claim. Please clarify.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim has multiple recitations of the limitation “comprises at least one of:”; it is unclear the actual number of limitations required. For examinations purposes, only one is required. Also, appears that instead of describing the method or device, the claim recite that the configurations may have different values, but fails to do anything in the steps, it seems that it’s just a description of information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vajapeyam 20160044578.
As to claim 1, Vajapeyam discloses a signal transmission method, comprising:
obtaining at least one of first monitoring configuration information set [cell-specific DRX cycle] or a second monitoring configuration information set [UE-specific DRX cycle] of a first signal, and determining a third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set or determining a third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to high-layer signaling or a predefined rule (see par. 0074, 0101), wherein monitoring occasions the third monitoring configuration information set are not more than monitoring occasions corresponding to at least one of a first monitoring configuration information set or a second monitoring configuration information set; wherein the first monitoring configuration information set is a cell-level monitoring configuration information set of the first signal, and the second monitoring configuration information set is a terminal level monitoring configuration information set of the first signal [1505-1510] (see par. 0074-0075, 0168-0169); determining a monitoring pattern [cycle] of the first signal according to the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal: and monitoring the first signal according to the monitoring pattern of the first signal (see par. 0170). In view of the 112 rejection it is unclear if any teaching is missing. In case that the claim includes additional limitations, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the teachings may be combined with additional teachings to improve the communications.
As to claim 3, Vajapeyam disclose wherein a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set is greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set (see par. 0032)
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of:
a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring occasions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; or wherein a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set is less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of:
a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources (see par. 0032).
Regarding claim 45, is the corresponding device claim of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 45 is rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vajapeyam 20160044578 in view of Tokgoz 20190110319.
As to claim 5, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set, comprises: obtaining transmission data of the first signal; and determining a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set according to the transmission data and at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
As to claim 6, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set according to the transmission data and at least one of the first monitoring configuration information set or the second monitoring configuration information set (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
scheme 1:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal is less than a first probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; in a case that the probability of the network side device to send the first signal or the probability of the node device to receive the first signal is greater than or equal to a second probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the first probability threshold is less than the second probability threshold;
scheme 2:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal is less than a third probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; in a case that the probability of the network side device to not send the first signal or the probability of the node device to not receive the first signal is greater than or equal to a fourth probability threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the third probability threshold is less than the fourth probability threshold;
scheme 3:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously is less than a first cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set; in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal continuously is greater than or equal to a second cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the first cumulative number of times threshold is less than the second cumulative number of times threshold;
scheme 4:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously is less than a third cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be less than or equal to a minimum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal discontinuously is greater than or equal to a fourth cumulative number of times threshold, setting the value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set to be greater than or equal to a maximum value of corresponding monitoring configuration information in the first monitoring configuration information set and the second monitoring configuration information set;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; and the third cumulative number of times threshold is less than the fourth cumulative number of times threshold.
Regarding the schemes, OFFICIAL NOTICE IS TAKEN THAT adjusting and/or setting values are a common and well know technique used for controlling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of control the monitoring.
As to claim 10, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining transmission data of the first signal; and adjusting a value of monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to the transmission data of the first signal (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0141, 0152, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
As to claim 11, Vajapeyam disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein the adjusting the value of monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set of the first signal according to the transmission statistic data of the first signal (see par. 0011, 0074-0075, 0168-0169). Vajapeyam fails to disclose statistic data. In an analogous art, Tokgoz discloses that signal strength is statistic data (see par. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of having additional data and improve the communication.
scheme 5:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to send the first signal or a probability of a node device to receive the first signal is less than a fifth probability threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of M;
in a case that the probability of the network side device to send the first signal or the probability of the node device to receive the first signal is greater than or equal to a sixth probability threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of N;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the fifth probability threshold is less than the sixth probability threshold, and both M and N are real numbers greater than or equal to 1;
scheme 6:
obtaining a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal; in a case that a probability of a network side device to not send the first signal or a probability of a node device to not receive the first signal is less than a seventh probability threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of P;
in a case that the probability of the network side device to not send the first signal or the probability of the node device to not receive the first signal is greater than or equal to an eighth probability threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of Q;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the seventh probability threshold is less than the eighth probability threshold, and both P and Q are real numbers greater than or equal to 1;
scheme 7:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal continuously is less than a fifth cumulative number of times threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of X;
in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal continuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal continuously is greater than or equal to a sixth cumulative number of times threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of Y;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the fifth cumulative number of times threshold is less than the sixth cumulative number of times threshold, and both X and Y are real numbers greater than or equal to 1;
scheme 8:
obtaining the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously; in a case that the number of times a network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times a node device receives the first signal discontinuously is less than a seventh cumulative number of times threshold, decreasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of K;
in a case that the number of times the network side device sends the first signal discontinuously or the number of times the node device receives the first signal discontinuously is greater than or equal to an eighth cumulative number of times threshold, increasing a value of at least one monitoring configuration information in the third monitoring configuration information set by a factor of L;
wherein the monitoring configuration information comprises at least one of: a monitoring threshold, a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring frames in a monitoring cycle, the number of monitoring positions in a monitoring frame, a length of continuous monitoring time corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of symbols corresponding to a monitoring occasion in a monitoring frame, the number of monitoring frequency domain resources, or the number of monitoring spatial domain resources; the seventh cumulative number of times threshold is less than the eighth cumulative number of times threshold, and both K and L are real numbers greater than or equal to 1.
Regarding the schemes, OFFICIAL NOTICE IS TAKEN THAT adjusting and/or setting values are a common and well know technique used for controlling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of control the monitoring.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647