DETAILED ACTION
Claims 14-26 are pending, of which claims 24-26 have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/3/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the technical feature of the catalyst support of claim 14 is a special technical feature. Applicant argues that this catalyst support leads to catalysts with higher selectivity. However, the selectivity of the catalyst formed from the support is not actually recited in Group I. Further, as all limitations of the invention of Group I are known in the art, no special technical features can be shared between this group and any other group.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 24-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on October 3, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the packed tube" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160354760 (“Suchanek”).
Regarding claim 14, Suchanek teaches a porous catalyst support (see e.g. paragraph [0002]). The support of Suchanek is greater than 80%, and up to 99% alpha alumina, which overlaps with the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0044]). The pore volume of the support is between 0.3 and 1.2 mL/g, almost the entirety of which is within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0044]). Suchanek teaches a tortuosity that is in certain embodiments 3 or less, and down to close to 1, which overlaps significantly with the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0056]). Although Suchanek does not specifically describe the effective diffusion parameter, Suchanek does describe that the effective diffusion is a function of tortuosity and porosity (see e.g. paragraph [0037]). Given that the tortuosity and porosity of Suchanek is the same as that in claim 1, it is understood that the effective diffusion would also likely be the same. Although Suchanek does not provide any specific examples meeting all of the limitations of claim 1 simultaneously, given the significant overlap in the ranges for each recited parameter, the porous catalyst carrier of claim 1 is obvious over Suchanek. Examiner notes that Suchanek does not use the recited image analysis techniques to determine the tortuosity or effective diffusion parameter. However, the specific method by which these parameters are measured would likely not have any significant on the measured results.
Regarding claim 16, Suchanek teaches that the surface area of the porous carrier is 0.3 to 3.0 m2/g, which is almost entirely within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claims 17-23, these claims are each product-by-process claims. As noted in MPEP §2113(I), even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. Here, Suchanek teaches or suggests the porous catalyst carrier of claim 14, and as such, claims 17-23 are likewise obvious even if Suchanek teaches a different method for making the carrier.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suchanek as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of US 20040225138 (“McAllister”).
Suchanek teaches the porous catalyst carrier of claim 14 as described above. Suchanek does not teach that the density of the carrier inside of a packed tube is greater than 450 g/L. Examiner notes, the density of the packed carrier will depend on the method of packing, as well as the size and shape of the catalyst. McAllister teaches a similar system to that of Suchanek for the catalytic conversion of ethylene to ethylene oxide, which is the same reaction as used with the catalyst of Suchanek (see e.g. paragraph [0018]). McAllister teaches that for the catalytic reaction, the catalytic performance increases with increased density, and should be above 550 kg per cubic cm, or over 550 g/L, which is within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraphs [0003] and [0034]). Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make a catalyst carrier that would have a density inside of a packed reactor tube of greater than 550 g/L as taught by McAllister in order to improve catalyst performance.
Conclusion
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736