Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“flap-like interaction means” in claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, 16-18.
“one sensor means” in claim(s) 12 and 17
“lifting means” in claim(s) 13-14
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Gunnar (GB 2573796 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising a frame (15) with at least two support arms (30) for carrying the component, at least one flap-like interaction means (20) for interacting with blowing wind provided at the frame (15) or a support arm (30), flap-like interaction means (20) movable from a non-working position a working position, in which is set against the wind.
Regarding claim 2, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein several flap-like interaction means (20) are arranged at different positions at the frame (15) and/or at least one support arm (30).
Regarding claim 3, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one or the several flap-like interaction means (20) are arranged close to or at end of the frame (15) or at top or bottom or side of the support arm (30).
Regarding claim 4, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the several flap-like interaction means (20) are arranged close to or at both ends of the frame (15) or at the top or the bottom or the side of both support arms (30).
Regarding claim 5, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the or at least one of the several flap-like interaction means (20) is mounted pivotally at the frame (15) or support arm (30) (see fig. 6a-7 below).
Regarding claim 6, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the or at least one of the several flap-like interaction means (20) is movably by shifting at the frame (15) or support arm (30) (see Fig. 6a-7 below).
Regarding claim 7, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the flap-like interaction means (20) is linearly movable, or in a combined linear and curved movement (see Fig. 6a-7 below).
Regarding claim 8, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one or each flap-like interaction means (20) is shiftable along the frame (15) or the support arm (30) to change frame or arm position (see Fig. 6a-7 below).
Regarding claim 9, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one controllable actuator (54) is arranged for moving a flap-like interaction means (20) from the non-working position to the working position and/or for changing position at the frame (15) or support arm (30) (see Fig. 10a-10b below).
Regarding claim 10, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the actuator (54) is a hydraulic or pneumatic or electric cylinder or an electric motor (56).
Regarding claim 11, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one control device (51) is provided for controlling movement of the at least one flap-like interaction means (20), by controlling the actuator (54).
Regarding claim 12, Gunnar discloses the Lifting Apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein at least one sensor means (55) for sensing a given or upcoming vertical tilting of the lifting apparatus or of the frame (15) or of at least one arm (30) is provided, whereby the control device (51) is configured to control the movement of the at least one or of the several flap-like interaction means (20) depending on the sensor means information (Col. 10, lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 13, Gunnar discloses the Crane as claimed in claim 1, comprising a lifting means with a lifting apparatus (10).
Regarding claim 14, Gunnar discloses the Crane as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lifting means (10) comprises one or more lifting cables (16), to which a connection device is attached (Col. 6, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 16, Gunnar discloses a method for lifting a component using a crane as claimed in claim 13, wherein during the lifting process, when a vertical tilting movement of the lifting apparatus (10) or at least possibility of vertical tilting movement is detected, the at least one flap-like interaction means (20) or one or more of the several flap-like interaction means are moved from the non-working position to the working position for counteracting the tilting movement (Col. 5, lines 5-20).
Regarding claim 17, Gunnar discloses a method for lifting a component using a crane as claimed in claim 16, wherein during the lifting process orientation of the lifting apparatus (10) is constantly sensed by at least one sensor means (55) of the lifting apparatus (10), whereby the one or more flap-like interaction means (20) are controlled by a control device (51) based on the provided sensor means information (Col. 9, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 18, Gunnar discloses a method for lifting a component using a crane as claimed in claim 17, wherein the control device (51) controls movement of the flap-like interaction means (20) from the non-working position to the working position as well as movement for changing position of the respective flap-like interaction means at the frame (15) or support arm (30) (Col. 9, lines 15-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunnar (GB 2573796 A) in view of Soerensen (US 20120328408 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Gunnar discloses the Crane as claimed in claim 1.
Gunnar fails to disclose wherein one or more taglines are attached to the lifting apparatus.
However, Soerensen teaches wherein one or more taglines (40 and 42) are attached to the lifting apparatus (10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein one or more taglines are attached to the lifting apparatus on the crane of Gunnar as taught by Soerensen in order to control the torque about the bearing wire (Para. 0090).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654