DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (WO 2014/030921 A1) (hereafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claims 1-12 and 17: Ahn discloses the compound shown below {(paragraph [0035]: The compounds of the disclosure of Ahn are exemplified by the compounds in paragraphs [0036]-[0039]), (paragraph [0039]: Compound C-57)}.
The compound shown above does not read on the current claims, because the structures that can be equated with both of the instant L1 and L2 are single bonds, and the claims require at least one of the instant L1 and L2 to be other than a single bond.
However, Ahn teaches that the compounds of Ahn have the structure of formula 1 of Ahn, shown below {paragraphs [0013]-[0014]}.
Where L3 of Ahn can optionally be substituted or unsubstituted arylene {paragraph [0017]}.
This is exemplified by compounds C-59 to C-69, C-71 to C-74, C-77 to C-81, C-83 to C-85, C-87 to C-96, C-98 to C-100, C-102, and C-105 of Ahn where L3 of Ahn is paraphenylene {paragraphs [0038] to [0039]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound C-57 of Ahn by substituting a p-phenylene group in place of a single bond that is L3 of Ahn, based on the teaching of Ahn. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of p-phenylene would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified groups L3 of Ahn), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of chemical moieties and chemical moiety positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claims 14-16 and 19-20: Ahn teaches all of the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Ahn does not teach a specific device comprising the compound of Ahn described above.
However, Ahn teaches that the compounds of the disclosure of Ahn are useful as materials of a hole transport layer of an organic light emitting device {paragraphs [0044]-[0047], and [0113]}.
Furthermore, Ahn teaches an organic electroluminescence device having a structure of an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode {paragraph [0163]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the compound of Ahn such that it was used as the material of the hole transport layer of the device of Ahn described above, based on the teaching of Ahn. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
An organic electroluminescence device is an electronic device.
Regarding claim 20: Ahn teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above.
In the device of Ahn described above, the hole injection layer can be equated with a first hole transport layer that is closer to the anode. This is because the hole injection layer must necessarily transport holes. The layer labeled by Ahn as the hole transport layer can be equated with a second hole transport layer that is further from the anode than the first hole transport layer.
Regarding claim 18: Ahn teaches all of the features with respect to claim 10, as outlined above.
The modified compound C-57 of Ahn does not comprise a biphenylene linking group between the carbazolyl group and the amine N atom.
However, Ahn teaches that the compounds of Ahn have the structure of formula 1 of Ahn, shown below {paragraphs [0013]-[0014]}.
Where L1 and L2 of Ahn can optionally be substituted or unsubstituted arylene {paragraphs [0016]-[0017]}.
This is exemplified by compounds C-22, C-26, and C-81 of Ahn where L1 of Ahn is an m-phenylene group and L2 of Ahn is a p-phenylene group {paragraphs [0037] to [0039]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the compound C-57 of Ahn by substituting an m-phenylene group in place of the p-phenylene group as L1 of Ahn and a p-phenylene group in place of a single bond as L2 of Ahn, based on the teaching of Ahn. The substitutions would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of m-phenylene and p-phenylene would have been choices from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified groups L1 and L2 of Ahn), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of chemical moieties and chemical moiety positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Claim(s) 1-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (WO 2014/030921 A1) (hereafter “Ahn”) in view of Kamatani et al. (US 2003/0189216 A1) (hereafter “Kamatani”).
Regarding claims 1-13 and 17: Ahn discloses the compound shown below {(paragraph [0035]: The compounds of the disclosure of Ahn are exemplified by the compounds in paragraphs [0036]-[0039]), (paragraph [0039]: Compound C-59)}.
The compound shown above does not read on the current claim 11, because the carbazolyl group lacks a fluorine substituent and a structure that can be equated with the instant -L-Ar that is consistent with a compound of the current claim 11.
However, Ahn teaches that the compounds of Ahn have the structure of formula 1 of Ahn, shown below {paragraphs [0013]-[0014]}.
Where Ar1 of Ahn can optionally be substituted or unsubstituted aryl {paragraph [0018]}.
This is exemplified by compounds C-16, C-25, C-27, C-36, C-54, C-69, C-72, C-74, C-81, and C-85 of Ahn where Ar1 of Ahn is biphenyl with a p-phenylene group {paragraphs [0036] to [0039]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound C-59 of Ahn by substituting a biphenyl group comprising p-phenylene group in place of the phenyl group on the amine N atom, based on the teaching of Ahn. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of a biphenyl group comprising a p-phenylene would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified groups L3 of Ahn), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of chemical moieties and chemical moiety positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
The modified compound C-59 of Ahn does not have the structure of the current claims, because it lacks a fluorine substituent on the carbazolyl group.
However, Ahn teaches that the compounds of Ahn have the structure of formula 1 of Ahn, shown below {paragraphs [0013]-[0014]}.
Where R1 or R2 of Ahn can be fluorine {paragraph [0019]}.
This is exemplified by compound C-57 of Ahn {paragraph [0038]}.
Furthermore, Kamatani teaches that fluorine substituents allow for easier sublimation and for improved stability {paragraphs [0044]-[0046]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the compound C-59 of Ahn by substituting a fluorine group at a position equivalent to that in the instant Compound 30, based on the teaching of Ahn and Kamatani. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a compound having the properties of easier sublimation and improved stability, as taught by Kamatani. The selection of the position for the fluorine substitution would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified possible positions for substitution on the compound of Ahn), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of chemical moieties and chemical moiety positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786