DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11-20 are cancelled. Claims 21-30 are new. Claims 1-10 and 21-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, 22, 23, 25-27, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiyama (US PG Pub. 20180259837).
Regarding claim 1, Akiyama discloses a light source device (illumination device 100 of fig. 2) comprising:
a light source unit that emits monochromatic light (LEDs 112 of fig. 2 and para. 0047; plurality of light emitting devices 112 include e.g. semiconductor lasers that output blue lights having a peak wavelength of light emission intensity of 446 nm);
a reflection plate (branch mirror 14 of fig. 2) that reflects a part of emitted light of the light source unit (LB1; illustrated in fig. 2);
a holding unit (branch mirror moving device 27 of fig. 2) that holds the reflection plate so as to be movable in a direction intersecting an optical path of the emitted light (para. 0055; branch mirror moving device 27 moves the branch mirror 14 in the arrangement direction (Y-direction) of the four light source regions 118. The branch mirror moving device 27 includes e.g. a known sliding mechanism having a slide rail, motor, etc.); and
a control unit (branch mirror control device 26 of fig. 2) that moves the reflection plate to adjust a quantity of reflected light that is the part of the emitted light reflected by the reflection plate (para. 0059; branch mirror control device 26 controls the position of the branch mirror 14 so that the branch mirror 14 may be located in one of the optical paths of the first to fourth pencils of light L1 to L4 based on the detection result of the amount of light by the first sensor 25.).
Regarding claim 5, Akiyama discloses further comprising:
a diffusion plate (diffusion plate 181 of fig. 2) that diffuses a first light beam (LB1) which is the reflected light of the reflection plate (illustrated in fig. 2); and
an optical sensor (second sensor unit 292 of fig. 2) that detects a part of diffused light from the diffusion plate (para. 0073; second sensor 292 measures the amount of the blue light LB2),
wherein the control unit moves the reflection plate such that an output value of the optical sensor becomes a predetermined value (para. 0096; the illumination device 100 includes the first sensor 25 for detection of the amount of the blue light LB0 and includes the second sensor 292 for detection of the amount of the blue light LB2. According to the configuration, compared to the case where the second sensor 292 is also used as a sensor for detection of the amount of the blue light LB0, accuracy of the movement control of the branch mirror 14 and the light amount control of the respective light source regions 118 may be respectively improved. Note that one of the first sensor 25 and the second sensor 292 may be provided and the sensor may be used for both uses for detection of open failure and adjustment of white balance.).
Regarding claim 6, Akiyama discloses further comprising:
a diffusion plate (diffusion plate 181 of fig. 2) that diffuses a first light beam (LB1) which is the reflected light of the reflection plate (14);
a phosphor unit (wavelength conversion element 21 of fig. 2) that converts, of the emitted light of the light source unit (para. 0064; wavelength conversion element 21 converts the second component into the fluorescent light LY), a second light beam (LY) which is a light beam excluding the reflected light (the blue light is converted to yellow light), into fluorescent light; and
a color-synthesizing unit (dichroic mirror 13 of fig. 2) that synthesizes a light beam that consists of diffused light (LB1) from the diffusion plate (181) and a light beam that consists of the fluorescent light (LY) from the phosphor unit (213) into one optical path,
wherein the control unit moves the reflection plate to adjust a color tone of light emitted from the color-synthesizing unit (para. 0096; the illumination device 100 includes the first sensor 25 for detection of the amount of the blue light LB0 and includes the second sensor 292 for detection of the amount of the blue light LB2. According to the configuration, compared to the case where the second sensor 292 is also used as a sensor for detection of the amount of the blue light LB0, accuracy of the movement control of the branch mirror 14 and the light amount control of the respective light source regions 118 may be respectively improved. Note that one of the first sensor 25 and the second sensor 292 may be provided and the sensor may be used for both uses for detection of open failure and adjustment of white balance.).
Regarding claim 7, Akiyama discloses an optical sensor (light sensor unit 29 of fig. 2) that detects a part of a predetermined colored light beam (LY of fig. 2) among a plurality of colored light beams (yellow and blue light beams) that are separated from the emitted light of the color-synthesizing unit (dichroic mirror 13 of fig. 2),
wherein the control unit moves the reflection plate such that an output value of the optical sensor becomes a predetermined value (para. 0096; the illumination device 100 includes the first sensor 25 for detection of the amount of the blue light LB0 and includes the second sensor 292 for detection of the amount of the blue light LB2. According to the configuration, compared to the case where the second sensor 292 is also used as a sensor for detection of the amount of the blue light LB0, accuracy of the movement control of the branch mirror 14 and the light amount control of the respective light source regions 118 may be respectively improved. Note that one of the first sensor 25 and the second sensor 292 may be provided and the sensor may be used for both uses for detection of open failure and adjustment of white balance).
Regarding claim 8, Akiyama discloses a projector comprising:
a light source device (illumination device 100 of fig. 2) according to claim 1,
an optical modulator (light modulation device for red light 400R, light modulation device for green light 400G, and light modulation device for blue light 400B of fig. 1) that modulates the emitted light of the light source device to form an image (para. 0036; light modulation device for red light 400R, light modulation device for green light 400G, and light modulation device for blue light 400B include liquid crystal panels that modulate entering color lights according to image information and form images); and
a projection lens (projection system 600 of fig. 1) that projects an image formed by the optical modulator (illustrated in fig. 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Akiyama discloses a method of controlling a light source device that includes a reflection plate (branch mirror 14 of fig. 2) that reflects a part of emitted light from a light source unit that emits monochromatic light (illustrated in fig. 2), wherein the reflection plate (14) is moved in a direction intersecting an optical path of the emitted light (illustrated in fig. 2), said method comprising:
measuring a quantity of reflected light that is the part of the emitted light reflected by the reflection plate (para. 0058; first sensor 25 detects the amount of the entering light); and
moving the reflection plate such that a measured value of the quantity becomes a predetermined value (illustrated in figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 22, Akiyama discloses wherein the reflection plate (14) is configured to reflect a variable portion of the emitted light (light source unit 11 of fig. 2 is variable via the light control device 30 of fig. 2) based on a position of the reflection plate (14) relative to the optical path (L1-L4), and the control unit (26) adjusts the position to achieve a predetermined light intensity (para. 0095; the branch mirror 14 is moved so that the component to be branched may be changed to the second pencil of light L2 or fourth pencil of light L4, the excessive amount (“the predetermined amount”) of the blue light with respect to the yellow light may be made smaller).
Regarding claim 23, Akiyama discloses further comprising a feedback mechanism (first and second sensors 25 and 29 of fig. 2) that provides a signal indicative of the quantity of reflected light to the control unit (control units 25 and 30 of fig. 2), wherein the control unit (25) moves the reflection plate (14) based on the signal to maintain a constant output light quantity (para. 0078; branch mirror control device 26 whenever necessary. The measurement of the amount of the blue light LB0 may be performed continuously or intermittently.).
Regarding claim 25, Akiyama discloses wherein the reflection plate (14) comprises a partially reflective surface that reflects a portion of the emitted light (illustrated in fig. 2, the first sensor 25 is located behind the mirror 16; para. 0058; first sensor 25 is provided at the downstream of the second reflection mirror 16. Of the first pencil of light L1, the components transmitted through the second reflection mirror 16 enter the first sensor 25) and transmits a portion of the emitted light, and the control unit (26) adjusts the position of the reflection plate to vary the ratio of reflected to transmitted light (para. 0095; the branch mirror 14 is moved so that the component to be branched may be changed to the second pencil of light L2 or fourth pencil of light L4, the excessive amount of the blue light with respect to the yellow light may be made smaller. Thereby, the illumination device 100 with less waste may be obtained).
Regarding claim 26, Akiyama discloses wherein the holding unit (branch mirror moving device 27 of fig. 2) includes a linear actuator (para. 0055; branch mirror moving device 27 moves the branch mirror 14 in the arrangement direction (Y-direction) of the four light source regions 118. The branch mirror moving device 27 includes e.g. a known sliding mechanism having a slide rail, motor) that moves the reflection plate along a single axis intersecting the optical path, and the control unit controls the linear actuator to adjust the quantity of reflected light (para. 0055).
Regarding claim 27, Akiyama discloses wherein the control unit (26) moves the reflection plate (14) in response to a detected variation in the intensity of the emitted light from the light source unit to compensate for the variation (para. 0078; the first sensor 25 measures the amount of the blue light LB0 transmitted through the second reflection mirror 16 (step S12). The output from the first sensor 25, i.e., the amount of the blue light LB0 is sent to the branch mirror control device 2).
Regarding claim 29, Akiyama discloses wherein the reflection plate (14) is configured to reflect the emitted light toward a secondary optical path (secondary optical path is light that is directed toward the diffusion element 18 of fig. 2) distinct from a primary optical path of the emitted light (the primary optical path is light emitted toward the wavelength conversion element 21), and the control unit (30) adjusts the position of the reflection plate (14) to control an amount of light directed to the secondary optical path (para. 0078; the first sensor 25 measures the amount of the blue light LB0 transmitted through the second reflection mirror 16 (step S12). The output from the first sensor 25, i.e., the amount of the blue light LB0 is sent to the branch mirror control device 2 and further in para. 0095 states that the branch mirror 14 is moved so that the component to be branched may be changed to the second pencil of light L2 or fourth pencil of light L4, the excessive amount of the blue light with respect to the yellow light may be made smaller).
Regarding claim 30, Akiyama discloses wherein the control unit (26) is configured to move the reflection plate based on a reference value that correlates positions of the reflection plate with quantities of reflected light (para. 0095; branch mirror control device 26 moves the branch mirror 14 so that the component to be branched as the blue light LB1 may be changed to the third pencil of light L3 having the smallest amount of light of the second to fourth pencils of light L2 to L4. Accordingly, compared to the case where the branch mirror 14 is moved so that the component to be branched may be changed to the second pencil of light L2 or fourth pencil of light L4, the excessive amount of the blue light with respect to the yellow light may be made smaller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (US PG Pub. 20180259837) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirasawa (US PG Pub. 20200124956).
Regarding claim 2, Akiyama discloses an illumination system comprising a light branch element (14) that reflects a light output from at least one light source region (118) of the plurality of light source regions and branches the first color light (blue) into a first component and a second component traveling in different directions from each other (illustrated in fig. 2).
Akiyama fails to teach wherein the reflection plate includes a reflection part and a transmission part that are adjacent to each other in an in-plane direction, and the transmission part is transmissive to a wavelength of the emitted light of the light source unit, and the holding unit holds at least the transmission part so that the reflection part is inserted in the optical path of the emitted light.
Hirasawa discloses an illumination system for a projector wherein the reflection plate (reflection mirror 20 of fig. 2) includes a reflection part (light reflection regions 26 of fig. 2) and a transmission part (light transmission regions 27 of fig. 2) that are adjacent to each other in an in-plane direction (illustrated in fig. 2), and the transmission part (27) is transmissive to a wavelength of the emitted light of the light source unit (blue light), and the holding unit (para. 0110; movement mechanism corresponds to a holding section) holds at least the transmission part so that the reflection part is inserted in the optical path of the emitted light (para. 0110; The movement mechanism movably holds the reflection mirror 20 and moves the reflection mirror 20 in parallel along the LR direction. The specific configurations of the movement mechanism are not limited. An arbitrary actuator mechanism constituted of, for example, a driving source such as a stepping motor and a linear motor, a ball screw mechanism, a rack and pinion mechanism, a belt mechanism, a guide mechanism, or the like may be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Akiyama with the reflection/transmission device of Hirasawa in order to provide high brightness of the image display apparatus (Hirasawa; para. 0029).
Regarding claim 3, Akiyama discloses an illumination system comprising a light branch element (14) that reflects a light output from at least one light source region (118) of the plurality of light source regions and branches the first color light (blue) into a first component and a second component traveling in different directions from each other (illustrated in fig. 2).
Akiyama fails to teach wherein the reflection part has a quadrangular shape, and the transmission part is provided along two adjacent side parts of the reflection part.
Hirasawa discloses wherein the reflection part (reflection mirror 20 of fig. 4) has a quadrangular shape (illustrated in fig. 4), and the transmission part (light transmission surface 25 of fig. 4) is provided along two adjacent side parts of the reflection part (illustrated in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Akiyama with the reflection/transmission device of Hirasawa in order to provide high brightness of the image display apparatus (Hirasawa; para. 0029).
Regarding claim 4, Akiyama discloses an illumination system comprising a light branch element (14) that reflects a light output from at least one light source region (118) of the plurality of light source regions and branches the first color light (blue) into a first component and a second component traveling in different directions from each other (illustrated in fig. 2).
Akiyama fails to teach wherein the reflection plate is movable in first and second directions that are orthogonal to the optical path of the emitted light and that are orthogonal to each other.
Hirasawa discloses wherein the reflection plate (20) is movable in first and second directions (para. 0090; the mirror 20 is arranged at an angle of approx. 45o and the mechanism moves the mirror 20 LR direction seen in fig. 2 that is movable in first and second directions “diagonally” to both x and y) that are orthogonal to the optical path of the emitted light and that are orthogonal to each other (illustrated in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Akiyama with the reflection/transmission device of Hirasawa in order to provide high brightness of the image display apparatus (Hirasawa; para. 0029).
Claim(s) 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (US PG Pub. 20180259837) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jian et al. (CN 104749866 A).
Regarding claim 21, Akiyama discloses an illumination system comprising a light branch element (14) that reflects a light output from at least one light source region (118) of the plurality of light source regions and branches the first color light (blue) into a first component and a second component traveling in different directions from each other (illustrated in fig. 2).
Akiyama fails to teach wherein the control unit is configured to move the reflection plate to vary a degree of intersection of the reflection plate with the optical path of the emitted light, thereby adjusting the quantity of reflected light in a continuous manner.
Jian discloses the control unit is configured to move the reflection plate (pg. 3 2nd para.; control module, coupled to the reflecting device) to vary a degree of intersection of the reflection plate with the optical path of the emitted light, thereby adjusting the quantity of reflected light in a continuous manner (pg. 3 2nd para.; the control module is used for controlling the first reflecting element and the second reflecting element to move at the same time to change out the light through the reflecting device and the relative position of the light pipe, so as to adjust the reflecting device reflecting quantity of light entering the light pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Akiyama with the adjustable reflection element of Jian in order to vary the amount of light thereby increasing or decreasing the brightness of the projection device.
Regarding claim 24, Akiyama discloses an illumination system comprising a light branch element (14) that reflects a light output from at least one light source region (118) of the plurality of light source regions and branches the first color light (blue) into a first component and a second component traveling in different directions from each other (illustrated in fig. 2).
Akiyama fails to teach wherein the control unit moves the reflection plate to continuously adjust a quantity of reflected light by varying a degree of intersection of the reflection plate with the optical path to balance a color output of the light source device.
Jian discloses the control unit is configured to move the reflection plate (pg. 3 2nd para.; control module, coupled to the reflecting device) to vary a degree of intersection of the reflection plate with the optical path of the emitted light, thereby adjusting the quantity of reflected light in a continuous manner (pg. 3 2nd para.; the control module is used for controlling the first reflecting element and the second reflecting element to move at the same time to change out the light through the reflecting device and the relative position of the light pipe, so as to adjust the reflecting device reflecting quantity of light entering the light pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Akiyama with the adjustable reflection element of Jian in order to vary the amount of light thereby increasing or decreasing the brightness of the projection device.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (US PG Pub. 20180259837) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shiraishi et al. (US PG Pub. 20190028680).
Regarding claim 28, Akiyama discloses further comprising a second reflection plate (second reflection mirror 16 of fig. 2) positioned in the optical path of the reflected light from the reflection plate (14).
Akiyama fails to teach the second reflection plate including a through-hole configured to pass the reflected light from the reflection plate.
Shiraishi discloses the second reflection plate (mirror 171 of fig. 6) including a through-hole (opening 302 of fig. 6) configured to pass the reflected light from the reflection plate (illustrated in fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify illumination system of Akiyama with the through hole of Shiraishi in order to cut the transmitted light serving as noise in the vicinity of an outer periphery of the illumination luminous flux, it is possible to improve measurement accuracy of the illuminance sensor (Shiraishi; para. 0061).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 2 that Akivama's mirror movement is for selecting a specific light path, not for fine-tuning the quantity of reflected light within a single path.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Akiyama’s branch mirror 14 is controlled by the branch mirror control device 26 for selecting the light pencil L1-L4 that has the appropriate amount of light in order to achieve the correct yellow light mixing (para. 0095; the branch mirror control device 26 moves the branch mirror 14 so that the component to be branched as the blue light LB1 may be changed to the third pencil of light L3 having the smallest amount of light of the second to fourth pencils of light L2 to L4. Accordingly, compared to the case where the branch mirror 14 is moved so that the component to be branched may be changed to the second pencil of light L2 or fourth pencil of light L4, the excessive amount of the blue light with respect to the yellow light may be made smaller. Thereby, the illumination device 100 with less waste may be obtained).
Applicant argues on page 3 that the output signal of second sensor unit 292 is supplied to light source control device 30, which controls the supply current of the light emitting element 112, but not to branch mirror control device 26.
Examiner disagrees, the branch mirror 14 is controlled by the branch mirror control device 26 (para. 0079), the second sensor 292 controls the individually currents supplied to the respective first to fourth series circuits K1 to K4 illustrated in fig. 4. The branch mirror 14 is controlled by the branch mirror control device 26 for selecting the light pencil L1-L4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 27 October 2025
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882