Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
03/02/2026 has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2026 has been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 33-50 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESTEVEZ et al. (US 2021/0105656 A1; hereinafter "ESTEVEZ"), in view of Karampatsis et al. (US 2020/0351409 A1; hereinafter "Karampatsis").
Regarding claim 33, ESTEVEZ teaches a first core network node (FIG. 3 NSSF) comprising: at least one memory ([0057]); and at least one processor ([0225]) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
transmit, to a second core network node (FIG. 3 AMF), at least one Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) to be subscribed (FIG. 3; [0241] discloses that the first network entity may be an AMF entity, and that a subscription request message (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Subsribe Request) comprises indications of S-NSSAI as event filters, thereby transmitting, to a second core network node, at least one S-NSSAI to be subscribed);
receive, from the second core network node, a first message (FIG. 4 Namf_EventExposure_Notify) for modifying or releasing a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session of a user equipment (UE) ([0241] discloses that a Namf_EventExposure_Notify message indicating that a UE has been newly allocated to an NSI is transmitted from the AMF to the NSSF, [0219] disclose that NSSF and/or AMF decide new NSI for the PDU session of the UE based on received analytics, thereby disclosing receiving, from the second core network node, a first message for modifying a PDU session of a UE) in a case where the UE moves to an area which is not an area of a list of tracking areas associated with the at least one S-NSSAI ([0175], [0188] disclose a UE moving in or out of an Area of Interest, [0185] discloses that the Area of Interest may comprise a set of TAIs, and [0174] discloses that S-NSSAI may be used as an event filer for the Area of Interest, thereby disclosing that the UE moves to an area which is not an area of a list of tracking areas associated with the at least one S-NSSAI).
However, ESTEVEZ does not teach deactivate a session established regarding the UE; and send, to the second core network node, a second message in response to the first message, in a case where release of the established session has been triggered.
In an analogous art, Karampatsis teaches deactivate a session established regarding the UE ([0096] if the SMF 604 is informed from the AMF 602 that the has left an area of interest, the SMF 604 decides 620 to deactivate a user plane traffic of the PDU session that has a PDU session restriction policy); and
send, to the second core network node (FIG. 7 AMF 706), a second message ([0100] the AMF 706 and the SMF 708 includes a Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message) in response to the first message ([0095] the AMF transmits a notification message to the SMF, [0100] transfer of release and/or deactivation indication information), in a case where release of the established session has been triggered ([0088] discloses that the AMF notification causes the SMF to release the PDU session, [0100] discloses an N2 PDU session resource release command message, [0101] discloses that UE detects release and/or deactivation indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the session is established for the UE, which is associated with at least one S-NSSAI ([0052] the route selection descriptors may contain parameters such as S-NSSAI, DNN, and so forth that the UE uses to establish or reuse a relevant PDU session, In table 2, Network Slice Selection: either a single value or a list of values of S-NSSAI(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the first message (FIG. 4 Namf_Event_Exposure_Notify (SUPI)) comprises an identifier of the UE ([0241] discloses that a message (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Notify) indicating that a UE has been newly allocated to an NSI may comprise one or more NSI IDs and/or one or more SUPIs corresponding to the NSI IDs, thereby disclosing that the first message comprises an identifier of the UE).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the area comprises a tracking area or a cell ([0185] discloses that an Area of Interest may comprise a set of TAIs, thereby disclosing that the area comprises a tracking area).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the session comprises a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session ([0037] a network unit 104 may determine validity information for a protocol data unit session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the first message indicates a NamfEventExposure Service ([0241] discloses a message (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Notify), thereby disclosing that the first message indicates a Namf_EventExposure service).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the second message ([0100] Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message) comprises a PDU Session Release Command ([0100] In FIG. 7 communication 716, the AMF and SMF 708 includes a Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message, and communication 718 discloses that the AMF 706 transmits an N2 PDU session resource release command message to the NG-RAN 704).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the first core network node (FIG. 6 SMF 604) is configured to perform session management ([0089] communications 600 for a session management function subscribing from an access and mobility management function to be notified).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the second core network node (FIG. 3 AMF) is configured to perform mobility management ([0241] discloses that the first network entity may be an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity, thereby disclosing that the second core network node is configured to perform mobility management).
Regarding claim 42, ESTEVEZ teaches a method (FIG. 3) for a first core network node (FIG. 3 NSSF) comprising:
transmitting, to a second core network node (FIG. 3 AMF), at least one Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) to be subscribed (FIG. 3; [0241] discloses that the first network entity may be an AMF entity, and that a subscription request message (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Subsribe Request) may comprises indications of S-NSSAI as event filters, thereby transmitting, to a second core network node, at least one S-NSSAI to be subscribed);
receiving, from the second core network node, a first message (FIG. 4 Namf_EventExposure_Notify) for modifying or releasing a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session of a user equipment (UE) ([0241] discloses that a Namf_EventExposure_Notify message indicating that a UE has been newly allocated to an NSI is transmitted from the AMF to the NSSF, [0219] disclose that NSSF and/or AMF decide new NSI for the PDU session of the UE based on received analytics, thereby disclosing receiving, from the second core network node, a first message for modifying a PDU session of a UE) in a case where the UE moves to an area which is not an area of a list of tracking areas associated with the at least one S-NSSAI ([0175], [0188] disclose a UE moving in or out of an Area of Interest, [0185] discloses that the Area of Interest may comprise a set of TAIs, and [0174] discloses that S-NSSAI may be used as an event filer for the Area of Interest, thereby disclosing that the UE moves to an area which is not an area of a list of tracking areas associated with the at least one S-NSSAI).
However, ESTEVEZ does not teach deactivating a session established regarding the UE; and sending, to the second core network node, a second message in response to the first, in a case where established session has been triggered.
In an analogous art, Karampatsis teaches deactivating a session established regarding the UE ([0096] if the SMF 604 is informed from the AMF 602 that the has left an area of interest, the SMF 604 decides 620 to deactivate a user plane traffic of the PDU session that has a PDU session restriction policy); and
sending, to the second core network node (FIG. 7 AMF 706), a second message ([0100] Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message) in response to the first message ([0095] the AMF transmits a notification message to the SMF, [0100] transfer of release and/or deactivation indication information), in a case where established session has been triggered ([0088] discloses that the AMF notification causes the SMF to release the PDU session, [0100] discloses an N2 PDU session resource release command message, [0101] discloses that UE detects release and/or deactivation indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the session is established for the UE, which is associated with at least one S-NSSAI ([0052] the route selection descriptors may contain parameters such as S-NSSAI, DNN, and so forth that the UE uses to establish or reuse a relevant PDU session, In table 2, Network Slice Selection: either a single value or a list of values of S-NSSAI(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the first message (FIG. 4 Namf_Event_Exposure_Notify (SUPI)) comprises an identifier of the UE ([0241] discloses that a message (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Notify) indicating that a UE has been newly allocated to an NSI may comprise one or more NSI IDs and/or one or more SUPIs corresponding to the NSI IDs, thereby disclosing that the first message comprises an identifier of the UE).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the area comprises a tracking area or a cell ([0185] discloses that an Area of Interest may comprise a set of TAIs, thereby disclosing that the area comprises a tracking area).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the session comprises a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session ([0037] a network unit 104 may determine validity information for a protocol data unit session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the first message indicates a NamfEventExposure Service ([0241] discloses a message (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Notify), thereby disclosing that the first message indicates a Namf_EventExposure service).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the second message ([0100] Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message) comprises a PDU Session Release Command ([0100] In FIG. 7 communication 716, the AMF and SMF 708 includes a Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message, and communication 718 discloses that the AMF 706 transmits an N2 PDU session resource release command message to the NG-RAN 704).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically Karampatsis teaches wherein the first core network node (FIG. 6 SMF 604) performs session management ([0089] communications 600 for a session management function subscribing from an access and mobility management function to be notified).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an PDU session as taught by Karampatsis within the system of ESTEVEZ. One would have been motivated to so in order to improve enforcement of background data transfer conditions, thereby benefiting network operation and resource management (Karampatsis [0051]).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of ESTEVEZ and Karampatsis, specifically ESTEVEZ teaches wherein the second core network node (FIG. 3 AMF) performs mobility management ([0241] discloses that the first network entity may be an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity, thereby disclosing that the second core network node is configured to perform mobility management).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0360371 A1 (Qiao et al.) discloses a gateway mobile location center (GMLC) receives, from a location services (LCS) client, a request for a capability of a positioning service level for a wireless device.
US 2022/0286895 A1 (LEE et al.) discloses a method and device for controlling the rate of data transmitted/received by a terminal in a wireless communication system.
US 2022/0386229 A1 (SUN et al.) discloses a success rate of accessing a slice can be improved, so that user experience is improved.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413