DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Amendment filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 29-32, 34-37, and 50 remain withdrawn without traverse on 06/18/2025 for being drawn to nonelected group.
Claims 6, 8-11, 13, 16-17, 21-22, 24-25, 27-28, 33, 38-49, 51-66 remain cancelled.
Claims 1, 7, 20, and withdrawn claims 29-30 are amended.
Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 14-15, 18-20, 23 and 26 are pending and being examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This instant application 18012048, filed on 12/21/2022, is a 371 PCT/US2021038449, filed on 06/22/2021, which claims benefit of 63042386, filed on 06/22/2020, and also claims benefit of 63210222, filed on 06/14/2021.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
All previous claim Objection(s) / Rejection(s) as set forth in the previous Office action (mailed 02/19/2026) that are not repeated and/or maintained in the instant Office action are withdrawn, in light of applicant’s amendment and remark filed on 07/20/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “copolymer”, while claim 1 recites “(co)polymer”. The format of the same term should keep consistent throughout the claim set.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-5, 7, 12, 14-15, 18-20, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the core moiety is a branched, cyclic, or polycyclic macromolecule”. The “moiety” as defined in instant specification [0005] is “a part of a chemical compound, and include groups, such as functional groups but can include any portion of a compound.” Therefore, the moiety represents a part of a chemical compound, and it therefore cannot be “a branched, cyclic, or polycyclic macromolecule” in a whole by itself. Thus, the claim scope is indefinite. For the purpose of compact prosecution, it is interpreted as “the core moiety is a branched, cyclic, or polycyclic portion of a macromolecule”.
Claim 7 recites “an antimicrobial fragment of any of the preceding”. It is unclear what contents are included in “any of the preceding”. For the purpose of compact prosecution, it is interpreted as the composition of claim 3, wherein the cargo is crystal violet, a polyamine plant growth promoter, an antimicrobial fragment, or an antimicrobial synthetic peptide.
Claim 12 recites “the core is a polysaccharide residue”. It is unclear what functional or nonfunctional group out of polysaccharide is claimed as residue; especially in claim 1 the core is a macromolecule, not a residue. The claim renders indefinite.
Claim 14 recites “the core is a cyclodextrin residue”. Similar to claim 12 above, the claim is indefinite because there is no information on what portion of the compound cyclodextrin is considered residue, especially claim 1 defines the core is a macromolecule, not a residue.
Claims 2-5, 15, 18-20, 23, and 26 are rejected accordingly because they are directly or indirectly depending on claim 1, and they do not further clarify the issue addressed above in claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 phrase “wherein the environment-sensitive (co)polymer segment is sensitive to an aqueous environment of a cell” is interpreted as the (co)polymer segment property when it presents in an aqueous environment of a cell.
Claim 23 phrase of “the second segment oxidizes in the presence of a reactive oxygen species (ROS), becoming more soluble in an aqueous solution” is interpreted as the property of second segment. Regarding the second segment optionally comprises one or more pendant thioether, boronic ester, or selenium-containing groups, or one or more 2-(Methylthio)ethyl acrylate residues, because they are optional, therefore, they do not have to be in the segment structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 15, 18-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schilli et al. (Macromolecules, 07/23/2004, 37, 7861-7866, PTO-892).
Schilli throughout the reference teaches a composition of double-responsive block copolymer synthesized via RAFT polymerization: poly(N-isopropylacrylamide)-block-poly(acrylic acid, PNIPAAm-b-PAA (e.g., Title, Abstract).
Regarding instant claim 1, Schilli teaches PNIPAAm-b-PAA block copolymer forms starlike micelles in aqueous solutions in dependence on pH and temperature (Pg. 7866, Conclusion), corresponding to star polymer particle in instant claim. Schilli teaches that PNIPAAm-b-PAA can form starlike particles or other aggregates depending on solvent, temperature, pH, and block lengths (Figure 1, Pg. 7681, copied below), showing that one distinct part of the macromolecule block polymers, e.g., a part of acidic PAA, forming the core moiety, and the pendent block copolymer chains extending from the core moiety, the rest of the polymer segment attached to and extending from the core, and PNIPAAm segment attached to and extending from the first segment, corresponding to the copolymer segment arrangement in instant claim 1.
Schilli teaches the radius of particles with the unimer peak being dominant indicating the particle radius at around 20 nm within 20 C to 35 C temperature range (Pg. 7863, right column, 2nd paragraph), falling within the particle diameter range of 50 nm or less as in instant claim 1. MPEP 2131.03.I states that "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
Schilli teaches that PNIPAAm-b-PAA block copolymer forms starlike micelles in aqueous solutions in dependence on pH and temperature (Pg. 7866, Conclusion), indicating the segments are sensitive in aqueous environment despite of inside or outside cell, which reads into the environment-sensitive (co)polymer segment is sensitive to aqueous environment of a cell in instant claim. PNIPAAm, is thermoreponsive and polyarylic acid is pH responsive (Pg. 7863, Left Column, 3rd paragraph), each of which can be the second segment in Fig. 1, thus the copolymer segments are environment-sensitive, and in an aqueous environment of a cell, due to the pH or temperature does not remain the same as the environment where the PNIPAAm-b-PAA block copolymer is generated, the second segment, e.g., polyarylic acid, or PNIPAAm, can become sensitive to an aqueous environment of cell. This sensitivity to an aqueous environment is interpreted as the property or intended use under such an environment of the starlike polymer, which has been taught by prior art, and therefore, the property would necessarily present or be capable of being achieved by the prior art starlike polymer segments.
PNIPAAm-b-PAA block copolymer with a PAA block length equal to 110 monomer units and NIPAAm block length of n units show very low polydispersity index of both segments independently, mostly lower than 2 (Table 1, Pg. 7862; Results and Discussion, Pg. 7862, right column), corresponding to polydispersity index in instant claim 1.
Regarding instant claim 2, Schilli teaches PNIPAAm-b-PAA is acidic and pH dependent.
Regarding instant claim 15, Schilli teaches PNIPAAm-b-PAA with PAA block length equal to 110 monomer units (Results and Discussion, Pg. 7862, right column), falling within the range and from 25 to 150 monomer residues in instant claim, and the instantly claimed range is therefore anticipated.
Regarding instant claim 18, Schilli teaches (NIPAAm)n-b-(AA)110 with PNIPAA units at 50, 54, 74, etc. and PAA as 110 monomers (Table 1, Pg. 7862; Results and Discussion, Pg. 7862, right column, last 2nd paragraph), resulting in ratio of first segment to second segment monomers at lowest as 50 : 110 (about 1 : 2.2 ), falling within the range from 1 : 1 to 1 : 7 as recited in instant claim 18, and therefore, the instantly claimed range is anticipated.
Regarding instant claim 19, Schilli teaches the segment NIPAAm, which can be the second segment in the star block polymer, is thermoresponsive (Pg. 7863, Left Column, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding instant claim 20, Schilli teaches PNIPAAm, has lower critical solution temperature (LCST) behavior in aqueous solutions, and a sharp phase transition is observed at 32 C in water (Introduction, Pg. 7861, 1st paragraph), falling within the instantly claimed range 25 C to 40 C, therefore, the claim is anticipated.
Regarding instant claim 23, in light of the claim interpretation as presented above, NIPAAm in prior art is the same second segment as evidenced by instant specification, and therefore, the property that NIPAAm oxidizes in the presence of ROS and becomes more soluble in an aqueous solution is inherent property of the segment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12, 14-15, 18-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilli et al. (Macromolecules, 07/23/2004, 37, 7861-7866, PTO-892), as applied to Claims 1-2, 15, 18-20 and 23 above, in view of Pang et al. (Macromolecules 09/02/2011, 44:7176-7183, IDS of 09/11/2023).
Schilli teaches a composition of PNIPAAm-b-PAA block copolymer that can form starlike particles having a diameter about 20 nm, and the particle comprising a core moiety, e.g., part of macromolecule PAA, the pendent block copolymer chains extending from the core moiety and comprising first acidic segment PAA, and second thermosensitive segment, PNIPAAm, attached to and extending from the first segment, the segments respond to temperature and pH change in aqueous environment capable of forming micelles; the pendent chains, the first segment, and second segment each independently, have a polydispersity index of no more than 2, as applied to claims 1-2, 15, 18-20 and 23 above in great detail and incorporated herein.
Schilli does not teach the start block copolymer core is a polysaccharide residue as recited in instant claim 12, and the core is cyclodextrin as recited in instant claim 14.
Pang throughout the reference teaches starlike diblock copolymers (e.g., Abstract).
Pang describes starlike block copolymers polyacrylic acid-poly(3-hexylthiophene) (PAA-b-P3HT), based on a β-cyclodextrin (as a polysaccharide, corresponding to instant claims 12 and 14)-containing PAA core (Image, Abstract), forming unimolecular micelles wherein the acidic poly(acrylic acid) is directly attached to cyclodextrin and formed the core (e.g., Abstract). The polydispersity of polymers is about 1.1-1.2 (Table 1) and the hydrodynamic diameter of the unimolecular micelles is about 20 nm (page 7181, left column, 3rd paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art prior to filing date to integrate the cyclodextrin into the star block polymer taught by Schilli to arrive at current invention. Because Schilli teaches that the PNIPAAm-b-PAA with temperature- or pH-sensitive micelles could eventually be used to confer bioadhesive properties, and pH sensitive micelles might be applied in drug delivery to endosomal compartments, it would be advantageous to keep the double responsive segment pendant chains for the star polymer, while Pang demonstrates that the star polymer with cyclodextrin core shares similar features, e.g., particle diameter and polydispersity index, moreover, using cyclodextrin as core initiation site facilitates the starlike polymer formation, as Pang specifies that cyclodextrin is a cyclic oligosaccharide consisting of seven glucose units linked by α-1,4-glucosidic bonds and the 21 substitutable hydroxyl groups on the outer surface of cyclodextrin offer the capability of generating a core with 21 initiation sites to form 21-arm, starlike block copolymers (Pg. 7177, left column, 2nd paragraph). This would have provided scientists in the field motivation to implement cyclodextrin core into the star polymer taught by Schilli for facilitated star formation. This renders obviousness as “use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way” or as “applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. See MPEP §2143. (I)(C) and (I)(D). Moreover, It is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07). See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claims 1-5, 15, 18-20, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilli et al. (Macromolecules, 07/23/2004, 37, 7861-7866, PTO-892), as applied to Claims 1-2, 15, 18-20 and 23 above, in view of Niu et al. (C. R. Chimie 6, 2003, 1049-1059, PTO-892).
Schilli teaches a composition of PNIPAAm-b-PAA block copolymer that can form starlike particles having a diameter about 20 nm, and the particle comprising a core moiety, e.g., part of macromolecule PAA, the pendent block copolymer chains extending from the core moiety and comprising first acidic segment PAA, and second thermosensitive segment, PNIPAAm, attached to and extending from the first segment, the segments respond to temperature and pH change in aqueous environment capable of forming micelles; the pendent chains, the first segment, and second segment each independently, have a polydispersity index of no more than 2, as applied to claims 1-2, 15, 18-20 and 23 above in great detail and incorporated herein.
Schilli does not teach the composition of star polymer PNIPAAm-b-PAA further comprising a cargo retained within the particle as recited in instant claim 3, the cargo is monoatomic, a non-peptidyl compound, or an antimicrobial peptide as recited in instant claim 4, the cargo comprises comprises i) Mg2+, Fe2+/Fe3+, and Zn2+, or ii) Ca2+, K+, Cu2+, Mn2+/or Mn4+, and Mo2+/ Mo6+, or iii) Ni2+ as recited in instant claim 5, or the composition further comprising a surfactant as recited in instant claim 26.
Niu throughout the reference teaches dendrimer-encapsulated metal nanoparticles (DEMNs) (e.g., Abstract).
Niu teaches that dendrimer/metal-ion composite materials, which are the precursors for DEMNs, are prepared by mixing solutions containing dendrimers and metal ions, such as Pt2+, Pd2+, Au3+, Ag+, Cu2+, Ni2+, Ru3+, Mn2+, and Fe3+ (Pg. 1050, right column, bottom), the metal ions are sorbed into the interior of dendrimers (corresponding to cargo retained within polymer particle in instant claim 3, cargo as monoatomic or non-peptidyl compound as in instant claim 4, and ions in instant claim 5). Niu teaches that after DEMNs being extracted from water into toluene as monodisperse inverse micelles by a surfactant, Pd nanoparticles encapsulated within fourth generation, amine-terminated PAMAM dendrimers exhibited better hydrogenation activity for allyl alcohol than water, which suggesting relatively hydrophilic interior of the PAMAM dendrimer molecule may facilitate partitioning of the substrate into the vicinity of the encapsulated nanoparticle (Pg. 1054, left column, bottom), corresponding to surfactant in instant claim 26.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art prior to filing date to implement the cargo and surfactant taught by Niu into the star polymer particles in Schilli to arrive at current invention. Because Schilli specifies that star polymer particles can be used for drug delivery to endosomal compartments, sharing intended use for loading cargo in dendrimers as nanoparticles, since dendrimers and star polymers both have extending chains from the core, it would have motivated scientists to implement the same cargo taught by Niu, especially because Niu specifies that loading these metal ions subsequently chemically reduced to yield nearly size-monodisperse, zero-valent metal particles and that these composites serve not only as a template for preparing the nanoparticle replica, but they also stabilize the nanoparticle, make it possible to tune solubility, and enhance catalytic selectivity, and these materials have been used for a broad range of catalytic reactions, including hydrogenations, Heck coupling, and Suzuki reactions, in water, organic solvents, biphasic fluorous/ organic solvents, and supercritical CO2 (e.g., Abstract). Similarly, using surfactant in the composition appears to facilitate metal encapsulation, which would have motivated scientists to explore the substance for achieving the benefit. This renders obviousness as “use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way” or as “applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. See MPEP §2143. (I)(C) and (I)(D). Moreover, It is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07). See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claims 1-5, 7, 15, 18-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilli et al. (Macromolecules, 07/23/2004, 37, 7861-7866, PTO-892) and Niu et al. (C. R. Chimie 6, 2003, 1049-1059, PTO-892) as applied to Claims 1-5, 15, 18-20, 23 and 26 above, further in view of Dimitrov (Prog. Polym. Sci. 32 (2007) 1275-1343, PTO-892).
Schilli teaches a composition of PNIPAAm-b-PAA block copolymer that can form starlike particles having a diameter about 20 nm, and the particle comprising a core moiety, e.g., part of macromolecule PAA, the pendent block copolymer chains extending from the core moiety and comprising first acidic segment PAA, and second thermosensitive segment, PNIPAAm, attached to and extending from the first segment, the segments respond to temperature and pH change in aqueous environment capable of forming micelles; the pendent chains, the first segment, and second segment each independently, have a polydispersity index of no more than 2, as applied to claims 1-2, 15, 18-20 and 23 above in great detail and incorporated herein. Niu teaches that dendrimer particles can retain metal ions as cargo within the particles.
Schilli and Niu do not teach the cargo is crystal violet, a polyamine plant growth promoter, an antimicrobial fragment, or an antimicrobial synthetic peptide as recited in instant claim 7.
Dimitrove teaches thermosensitive water-soluble copolymers with doubly responsive reversibly interacting entities having remarkable phase behavior capable of self-assembly into micelles and vesicles in aqueous solutions (e.g., Abstract). Dimitrov teaches telechelic polyoxazolines with antimicrobial dodecylammonium group (corresponding to antimicrobial fragment in instant claim 7), making stable star-shaped polyoxazolines with a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane POSS core (Pg. 1289, left columm, 3rd-4th paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art prior to filing date to implement the antimicrobial cargo taught by Dimitrove into the polymer particles in Schilli and Niu to arrive at current invention. Since all prior art teach that star polymer or dendrimers can be used as cargo carriers for drug delivery, while antimicrobial drug is one of the most commonly used drugs, choosing antimicrobial drug as a cargo flows naturally based on the teachings of Schilli and Niu, while Dimitrove teaches that the antimicrobial fragment, e.g., dodeclammonium group, can be the cargo in the core in the copolymerization that is terminated with acrylic acid (Pg. 1289, right column, top paragraphs), it would motivate scientists in the field to explore the antimicrobial fragment to be incorporated into the PAA-containing polymer as a cargo for antimicrobial benefits. This renders obviousness as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see In Supreme Court KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on 07/20/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts Schilli fails to disclose or suggest a particle comprising a core moiety being a branched, cyclic, or polycylcic macromolecule, because Schilli directs to the double-responsive block copolymers and the Office Action equates for formation a portion of PAA or PNIPAAM in Figure 1 of Schilli as a core moiety; If one polymer of Schilli PNIPAAm-b-PAA is a core moiety, then Schilli only has one chain extending from the core as pendent polymer chain, while amended claim 1 reciting “the core moiety is a branched, cyclic, or polycyclic macromolecule” which is different from the pendent block copolymer, and “pendant copolymer chains” which means more than one copolymer extending from the core.
Regarding the amended claim 1, the language between “core moiety” and “a branched, cyclic, or polycyclic macromolecule” generates indefinite issues as presented above in this office action, because the definition “moiety” in instant specification specifies that it is part of a molecule or compound, not an entire molecule; therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), “moiety” does not have definite scope as how many chemical groups or how many atom numbers, any portion of a macromolecule can be interpreted as “moiety”; further confirmation of such interpretation arises from claims 12 and 14 indicate that the core is “residue”. Therefore, the amended claim 1 language still fails to differentiate the block copolymer and the macromolecule core moiety to be two different compounds or polymer entities. In other words, the macromolecule core moiety still can come from part of the block copolymer, and the block copolymer chains extending from the core moiety as pendent chains and copolymer segments. Therefore, Schilli still teaches the polymer arrangement as instantly claimed: part of the macromolecule (PAA or PNIPAAM in Schilli) is the core moiety, pendent chains extend from the core moiety including the remaining part of the first macromolecule surrounding the core moiety (as one pendent chain) and the second macromolecule pendent chains, as pendent chains generated from two different polymers. Therefore, Schilli still reads into the claim.
Applicant asserts that combination of Pang with Schilli lacks motivation, because substituting cyclodextrin of Pang into Schilli would eliminate Schilli’s polymer ability to invert and would appear to frustrate the purpose of Schilli and would not be operable in combination.
There is no evidence in Schilli or Pang that indicates cyclodextrin would cause operatable issue of Schilli’s polymer. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the reason to combine Pang with Schilli is presented in detail in the office action (copied below for reference):
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art prior to filing date to integrate the cyclodextrin into the star block polymer taught by Schilli to arrive at current invention. Because Schilli teaches that the PNIPAAm-b-PAA with temperature- or pH-sensitive micelles could eventually be used to confer bioadhesive properties, and pH sensitive micelles might be applied in drug delivery to endosomal compartments, it would be advantageous to keep the double responsive segment pendant chains for the star polymer, while Pang demonstrates that the star polymer with cyclodextrin core shares similar features, e.g., particle diameter and polydispersity index, moreover, using cyclodextrin as core initiation site facilitates the starlike polymer formation, as Pang specifies that cyclodextrin is a cyclic oligosaccharide consisting of seven glucose units linked by α-1,4-glucosidic bonds and the 21 substitutable hydroxyl groups on the outer surface of cyclodextrin offer the capability of generating a core with 21 initiation sites to form 21-arm, starlike block copolymers (Pg. 7177, left column, 2nd paragraph). This would have provided scientists in the field motivation to implement cyclodextrin core into the star polymer taught by Schilli for facilitated star formation. This renders obviousness as “use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way” or as “applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. See MPEP §2143. (I)(C) and (I)(D). Moreover, It is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07). See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
In conclusion, the arguments are not persuasive.
Please refer to the entire office action as a complete response to the remarks/arguments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DX.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616