DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed August 13, 2026, has been received and entered.
Claims 2, 4-9, 14, 16, 18, and 20-23 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 10-13, 15, 17, 19, and 24-32 are pending. Claims 15, 17, 19, and 24-32 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3, and 10-13 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The following limitation of claim 1 is not fully supported by the specification as filed: “wherein the composition exhibits a compressive strength that is at least about 15% greater than the compressive strength of an otherwise identical composition that lacks the microbe culture and the growth byproducts.” Example 1 is the only portion of the specification that provides values of compressive strength. In particular, Example 1 compares a conventional concrete mixture comprising water and QUIKRETE® (a control) with other admixtures comprising said conventional concrete mixture and Wickerhamomyces anomalus, with or without sophorolipids, wherein the sophorolipids are lactonic or acidic (page 27, line 24 through page 28, line 2). QUIKRETE® is known in the art to comprise sand, cement powder, and gravel, wherein sand and gravel are directed to aggregate (as in claim 3). See paragraph [0002] of Hardman (US 2007/0297275). Therefore, Example 1 tests compositions comprising a concrete mixture, wherein the concrete mixture comprises water, aggregate, and cement, meeting limitations of claim 1.
For the averages of the trials in Example 1, the compressive strengths for the control and the only two tested admixtures comprising W. anomalus and lactonic sophorolipid (SLP) are as follows: 25.7 for the control, 31.2 for admixture comprising 10 g/l W. anomalus and 0.05 ml/l lactonic SLP, and 21.5 for 10 g/l for admixture comprising W. anomalus and 0.1 ml/l lactonic SLP. See Table 1 on page 28. The concrete mixture with 10 g/l W. anomalus and 0.1 ml/l lactonic SLP had a compressive strength lower than the control which has an identical composition that lacks the yeast cells and the lactonic SLP. On the other hand, the concrete mixture with 10 g/l W. anomalus and 0.05 ml/l lactonic SLP had a compressive strength 21.4% higher than the control concrete that did not have either the yeast cells or the sophorolipids (page 28, lines 14-16). That is only one value falling within the claimed range of a compressive strength that is ‘at least about 15% greater,’ and thus, if that admixture were directed to the claimed composition (which it is not, as explained next), it would not support the full scope of the claimed range (e.g., 60% greater). However, the admixtures of Example 1 include microbe cells and the lactonic sophorolipids, but do not include a microbe culture which ‘comprises cells and the broth in which the cells are grown’ as recited in claim 1, nor does Example 1 indicate that the lactonic sophorolipids are growth byproducts of that microbe culture (W. anomalus culture comprising W. anomalus cells and the broth).
Additionally, the specification fails to provide sufficient support for the new limitation of claim 13 of “wherein, when the concrete admixture comprises an accelerator, the composition does not further comprise a corrosion inhibitor.” There is no teaching for excluding a corrosion inhibitor when an accelerator is included in the concrete admixture.
While Applicant was in possession of a portion of the claimed invention, the full scope of the claimed invention, specifically a composition that exhibits a compressive strength that is at least about 15% greater than the compressive strength of an otherwise identical composition that lacks the microbe culture and the growth byproducts, and a composition further comprising a concrete admixture wherein, when the concrete admixture comprises an accelerator, the composition does not further comprise a corrosion inhibitor, is not fully described in the specification. As such, Applicant was not in possession of the full scope of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Because the specification as filed fails to provide clear support for the new claim language, a new matter rejection is clearly proper.
Notice Re: Prior Art Available Under Both Pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madduri (US 2020/0031715. Previously cited) in view of Yanagisawa (US 2011/0237531) and Ito (JP 2010220516. Machine Translation cited below. Previously cited), as evidenced by De Graeve (FEMS Yeast Research. 2018. 18(7): foy072. 13 pages. Previously cited).
Madduri discloses a concrete blend comprising cement, water, and a composition comprising a biologically sourced surfactant (paragraph [0035]; claims 1 and 10 of Madduri), wherein a surfactant that is biologically sourced is also referred to as a “biosurfactant” (paragraph [0014]). Examples of the biologically sourced surfactant of Madduri include glycolipids (paragraph [0026]). See also Example 2 in which rhamnolipids (as a particularly desirable glycolipid surfactant according to paragraph [0027]) were combined with cement and water (paragraph [0052]).
Additionally, Madduri teaches that modern concrete blends represent a material system containing water, cement, aggregates, and specialty additives (paragraph [0003]). In illustrative embodiments, a water mixture comprising a biologically sourced surfactant may be combined with a cement to form a concrete blend of their disclosure, and in some illustrative embodiments, the concrete blends may comprise an aggregate material such as sand and/or rock (paragraph [0029]). Thus, the concrete blend of Madduri comprises a concrete mixture comprising water, aggregate (e.g., sand and/or rock), and cement, meeting limitations of the concrete mixture comprised by the composition of instant claim 1, as well as meeting aggregate limitations of instant claim 3.
The compositions of Madduri provide advantageous benefits when admixed with concrete blends, including improving mixing and handling features of concrete blends (abstract; paragraph [0015]). As such, Madduri discloses a composition to improve concrete (e.g., improving mixing and handling features), wherein the composition comprises a biosurfactant (e.g. a biologically sourced surfactant that can be a glycolipid) and a concrete mixture (blend of water, aggregate, and cement), meeting limitations of instant claim 1.
Madduri differs from the claimed invention in that Madduri does not expressly disclose:
the composition comprises a microbe culture and their biosurfactant as growth byproducts of the microbe culture; the biosurfactant is a lactonic sophorolipid; wherein the microbe culture comprises cells and the broth in which the cells are grown;
the microbe culture is present in the composition at a concentration of about 0.1 g/l to about 100 g/l and the lactonic sophorolipid (the growth byproducts) is present in the composition at a concentration of about 0.001% to about 5%; and
the composition exhibits a compressive strength that is at least about 15% greater than the compressive strength of an otherwise identical composition that lacks the microbe culture and the growth byproducts.
Regarding difference (1) (Madduri does not expressly disclose that the composition
comprises a microbe culture and their biosurfactant as growth byproducts of the microbe culture; the biosurfactant is a lactonic sophorolipid; wherein the microbe culture comprises cells and the broth in which the cells are grown):
However, Madduri discloses that the biologically sourced surfactants used in their invention are not particularly limited, and suitable biologically sourced surfactants may be glycolipids (paragraph [0026]).
Yanagisawa discloses that sophorose lipids (i.e., sophorolipids) are a type of glycolipid biosurfactant and are generally categorized into two forms, one of which is the lactone form (paragraph [0050]). Yanagisawa discloses a low-cost, efficient method of producing a glycolipid biosurfactant, in particular lactonic sophorose lipids (abstract). The glycolipid biosurfactant according to their invention can be produced by culturing a microorganism capable of producing a glycolipid biosurfactant (paragraph [0054]). For the production of sophorose lipids, yeasts of the genera Candida and Starmerella are preferable, particularly yeasts of the genus Candida, with Candida bombicola being more preferable, and Candida bombicola ATCC 22214 being most preferable (paragraph [0054]). See claim 1 of Yanagisawa, disclosing a method for producing lactonic sophorose lipids, comprising culturing a yeast of the genus Candida. In Example 1, Candida bombicola ATCC 22214 was cultured and produced sophorose lipids, 100% of which were in the lactone form (paragraphs [0083]-[0090], particularly paragraph [0090]). As evidenced by De Graeve, Starmerella bombicola has been known as Candida bombicola (page 2, right column, first paragraph), and the strain ATCC 22214 is a strain of Starmerella bombicola (Table 1 on page 3).
Ito discloses obtaining sophorolipid by culturing microorganisms such as yeast, particularly producing sophorolipid from yeast belonging to Candida bombicola, specifically Candida bombicola NBRC 10243 strain (page 3, eighth and ninth paragraphs under DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS). As evidenced by De Graeve, Starmerella bombicola has been known as Candida bombicola (page 2, right column, first paragraph), and the strain NBRC 10243 is a strain of Starmerella bombicola and equivalent to the ATCC 22214 strain (Table 1 on page 3). Therefore, sophorolipid is obtained by culturing the yeast Starmerella bombicola, e.g., Starmerella bombicola NBRC 10243 which is the strain used in Example 1 of Yanagisawa (i.e., ATCC 22214 strain). The culture method may be a liquid culture (page 4, first paragraph). For the use of sophorolipid in a feed additive (page 1, paragraph under TECHNICAL FIELD), an unpurified culture containing the sophorolipid can be added to feed (page 4, second paragraph). Additionally, Ito recognizes that the sophorolipids may be either of two types, one being a lactone type (page 3, second paragraph under DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the biologically sourced surfactant (i.e. biosurfactant) of the concrete blend of Madduri with a liquid culture of yeast of the Starmerella genus (i.e. Starmerella spp.), for the predictable result of obtaining a concrete blend comprising a biologically sourced surfactant. It would have been an obvious matter of simple substitution of a biosurfactant that may be a glycolipid (as taught in Madduri) with another biosurfactant that is a glycolipid (sophorolipid of the lactone type, i.e., lactonic sophorolipid, as taught by Yanagisawa and Ito). Since lactonic sophorolipids are produced by culturing a yeast of the genus Starmerella (e.g., Starmerella bombicola), as taught in Yanagisawa and Ito, then the liquid culture of yeast of the genus Starmerella comprises a biologically sourced surfactant, specifically lactonic sophorolipid, as sought for inclusion in the invention rendered obvious by Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito, wherein lactonic sophorolipid is amongst the growth byproducts inherently present in the Starmerella culture, in particular being 100% of the sophorolipids produced by culturing Starmerella bombicola ATCC 22214 as disclosed in Yanagisawa. Because of the presence of lactonic sophorolipids in the liquid culture of Starmerella, then it would have been obvious to include said liquid culture in the composition of Madduri in order to provide the biologically sourced surfactant for inclusion in the composition. Moreover, an unpurified culture of Starmerella yeast is a suitable form for providing sophorolipid based on Ito (page 4, second paragraph). There would have been a reasonable expectation of obtaining the concrete blend as sought by Madduri with this substitution (in view of Yanagisawa and Ito) because Madduri discloses that the biologically sourced surfactants used in their invention are not particularly limited, with glycolipids (which lactonic sophorolipids are directed to) disclosed in Madduri as being suitable; and because Yanagisawa discloses that examples of applications of the glycolipid biosurfactant produced in their invention (lactonic sophorolipids produced by culturing Starmerella, e.g. Starmerella bombicola ATCC 22214) include civil engineering and building material applications such as concrete admixtures and concrete (paragraphs [0076] and [0077]). A liquid culture of yeast of the genus Starmerella inherently comprises cells of the yeast and the broth in which the cells are grown, meeting the limitation of the microbe culture of instant claim 1.
Regarding difference (2) (Madduri does not expressly disclose that the microbe culture is present in the composition at a concentration of about 0.1 g/l to about 100 g/l, and the growth byproducts (the lactonic sophorolipid) are present in the composition at a concentration of about 0.001% to about 5%):
Madduri teaches an amount of biologically sourced surfactant in their compositions may range between about 1% to about 10% by weight (paragraph [0028]) which overlaps the claimed range. Moreover, Madduri teaches specific embodiments of that amount such as about 1% to about 2% by weight (paragraph [0028]) which fall within the claimed range. Example 2 includes rhamnolipids in an amount ranging between 1 and 10% (paragraph [0052]) which includes concentrations falling in the claimed range. It would have been obvious to apply these teachings to the lactonic sophorolipid of the liquid culture of yeast of the genus Starmerella in the composition rendered obvious by Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito.
Moreover, it would have been a matter of routine optimization to have varied the concentration of the liquid culture of Starmerella yeast in the composition rendered obvious by Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito, specifically to a concentration of about 0.1 g/l to about 100 g/L, because the skilled artisan would have recognized that the concentration of the culture affects the amount of the lactonic sophorolipid produced which the skilled artisan would have recognized as a result-effective variable since the biologically sourced surfactant (i.e., biosurfactant) is a critical component in the Madduri invention for conferring advantageous benefits on the concrete blend (e.g., improving mixing and handling features of the concrete blend, see paragraph [0015] of Madduri) and in order to obtain a lactonic sophorolipid concentration in the range of between 1 and 10%, e.g. about 1% to about 2%, in the composition rendered obvious by Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito (as rendered obvious in the preceding paragraph). It is noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding difference (3) (Madduri does not expressly disclose that the composition exhibits a compressive strength that is at least about 15% greater than the compressive strength of an otherwise identical composition that lacks the microbe culture and the growth byproducts (lactonic sophorolipid)):
Since Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito renders obvious a composition comprising the components of instant claim 1 wherein the Starmerella culture and the lactonic sophorolipid are present in the composition at concentrations meeting the microbe culture and growth byproducts concentration limitations of instant claim 1 (as discussed in the preceding paragraphs), then the composition necessarily exhibits a compressive strength that is at least about 15% greater than the compressive strength of an otherwise identical composition that lacks the microbe culture (the Starmerella culture) and the growth byproducts (lactonic sophorolipid). As indicated in MPEP 2112(I), “‘[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.’” Moreover, MPEP 2112(I) also states, “Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.” Though the references do not expressly disclose the claimed compressive strength property, that property is necessarily possessed by the composition rendered obvious by the references.
Therefore, Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito renders obvious instant claims 1, 3 (sand, rock), and 10 (obvious to use Starmerella bombicola, e.g. the ATCC 22214 = NBRC 10243 strain as disclosed in Yanagisawa and Ito discussed above for producing the biosurfactant, as the Starmerella).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madduri, Yanagisawa, and Ito, as evidenced by De Graeve, as applied to claims 1, 3, and 10 above, and further in view of Farmer (WO 2018/160995. Previously cited) and De Graeve.
As discussed above, Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito (as evidenced by De Graeve) renders obvious claims 1, 3, and 10. The references differ from claim 11 in that they do not disclose that the microbe culture (the liquid culture of Starmerella yeast) is in a vegetative state. The references differ from claim 12 in that they do not disclose that the microbe culture (the liquid culture of Starmerella yeast) is in a spore form.
Farmer discloses environmentally-friendly compositions using microorganisms and their growth byproducts to degrade polymers used in fracking wells (abstract). The composition comprises one or more microorganisms and/or a growth byproduct thereof (claim 1 of Farmer). Amongst the microorganisms, Farmer teaches Starmerella bombicola ATCC 22214 as an effective producer of sophorolipid biosurfactants (page 13, lines 13-19). The microorganisms can be in a vegetative form or a spore form in their composition (page 22, line 22). When discussing the microorganism used in their invention, including Starmerella bombicola, Farmer teaches that the microbe can be in spore form (page 25, lines 10-14).
De Graeve reviews Starmerella bombicola, particularly their production of biosurfactants (abstract). De Graeve discloses the vegetative reproduction of S. bombicola, as well as production of spores of S. bombicola during sexual reproduction (page 5, left column, last paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to use Starmerella bombicola, in vegetative or spore form, as the Starmerella yeast of the liquid culture included in the composition rendered obvious by Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Starmerella bombicola is an effective producer of sophorolipid, Starmerella bombicola is recognized as being included with a growth byproduct thereof in a composition in which the microorganism is in vegetative or spore form (as taught in Farmer), and Starmerella bombicola is known as being present in vegetative or spore form when reproducing (as taught in De Graeve). Thus, instant claims 11 and 12 are rendered obvious.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madduri, Yanagisawa, and Ito, as evidenced by De Graeve, as applied to claims 1, 3, and 10 above, and further in view of Gandelman (US 2016/0221884).
As discussed above, Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito (as evidenced by De Graeve) renders obvious claims 1, 3, and 10. The references differ from claim 13 in that they do not disclose that their composition further comprises a concrete admixture, wherein the concrete admixture comprises at least one ingredient selected from accelerators (elected species), bonding agents, corrosion inhibitors, air entraining agents,…(non-elected species), wherein, when the concrete admixture comprises an accelerator, the composition does not further comprise a corrosion inhibitor.
Gandelman discloses a chemical formulation including at least one cement dispersant selected to disperse cementitious particles disposed in a water-based, flowable cementitious mixture; a surfactant selected to reduce a surface tension of the mixture; and an accelerator selected to accelerate setting of the mixture (abstract). The cement accelerator is selected to accelerate the hardening of the concrete and other cementitious materials (paragraph [0066]). Gandelman discloses their invention as an admixture that may be used to increase the workability of the concrete, to produce concrete at low water to cement (w/c) ratios, or to reduce both water and cement contents in the mix (paragraph [0063]). Also, in various embodiments, the admixture may enhance mix rheology, improve workability of concrete at a given water to cement ratio, and/or improve concrete compressive strength at a given effective water to cement (w/c)eff ratio (paragraph [0064]). Gandelman does not disclose any instance of including a corrosion inhibitor in their invention.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to further include an admixture comprising an accelerator as disclosed in Gandelman in the composition rendered obvious by Madduri in view of Yanagisawa and Ito (as evidenced by De Graeve). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because the admixture of Gandelman would have conferred the benefits of increasing the workability of the concrete at a given water to cement ratio; improving concrete compressive strength at a given effective water to cement (w/c)eff ratio; and accelerating the setting of the concrete mixture of the composition rendered obvious by Madduri, Yanagisawa, and Ito. Since the admixture disclosed by Gandelman does not comprise a corrosion inhibitor, then the references render obvious instant claim 13 (elected species accelerators, wherein, when the concrete admixture comprises an accelerator, the composition does not further comprise a corrosion inhibitor).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 10 as being unpatentable over Madduri in view of Sadasivan and Ito, as evidenced by De Graeve; the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 11 and 12 as being unpatentable over Madduri, Sadasivan, and Ito (as evidenced by De Graeve), in further view of Farmer and De Graeve; and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claim 13 as being unpatentable over Madduri, Sadasivan, and Ito (as evidenced by De Graeve), in further view of Terzo, have been fully considered and are persuasive. In particular, the rejections do not address the new limitations of lactonic sophorolipid as the biosurfactant, the combination of the claimed microbe culture concentration and the claimed growth byproducts concentration, and the compressive strength. Also, Terzo teaches a concrete admixture comprising an accelerator and a corrosion inhibitor, thus teaching away from new limitation of claim 13 of ‘wherein, when the concrete admixture comprises an accelerator, the composition does not further comprise a corrosion inhibitor.’ Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously cited references (Madduri, Ito, De Graeve, Farmer) in combination with newly cited references Yanagisawa and Gandelman, as necessitated by the amendments to the claims. The amendments to the claims necessitated a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
To the extent Applicant’s arguments are directed to the new grounds of rejection, they are unpersuasive. Applicant cites Example 1 and Table 1 of the published application (paragraphs [0195]-[0206]) as evidence of unexpected results under MPEP 716.02 that rebuts any prima facie case of obviousness. However, Example 1 is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. As explained in the new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), the admixtures of Example 1 include microbe cells and the lactonic sophorolipids, but do not include a microbe culture which ‘comprises cells and the broth in which the cells are grown’ as recited in claim 1, nor does Example 1 indicate that the lactonic sophorolipids are growth byproducts of that microbe culture (W. anomalus culture comprising W. anomalus cells and the broth). Additionally, the evidence is with respect to Wickerhamomyces anomalus cells as a component of the composition, but the claims do not require W. anomalus as the microbe. Though claim 10 recites W. anomalus, it is recited as an alternative to Starmerella bombicola. Therefore, the evidence of improvement in compressive strength as argued with respect to Example 1 of the specification is unpersuasive.
Regarding Ito, Applicant asserts that it is not analogous art under MPEP 2141.01(a). The Applicant argues that Ito’s teaching is limited to the antibacterial and growth-promoting function of sophorolipid in animal digestion, in the field of veterinary antibacterial treatment via feed additives, and bears not reasonable pertinence to solving the problems faced by the inventor as described in the specification’s background. Applicant submits that Ito fails both the “field of endeavor” test and the “reasonably pertinent to the problem” test under In re Bigio, 381 F. 3d 1320 (Fed. Cir. 2004). However, Ito is analogous art since it is directed to sophorolipids as a microbial product.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sef
/SUSAN E. FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1651